U-21 Championship

Is Tommy "Goals" Conroy still playing football? I know he had a very personal tragedy last year and there is more to life than the football. Himself and Darragh Doherty (RIP) formed a formidable full forward line with Irwin on the 2013 All Ireland minor winning team.

Another question, how many of this year's U21 team are eligible for the grade again next year? Along with Cian Hanley.

Toney (Meath) - Posts: 298 - 04/05/2016 16:46:16    1852006

Toney - Tommy Conroy was not available for the u-21 run due to injury.
As for next year, I believe 7 of the team/squad are u-21 again next year.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 04/05/2016 17:17:15    1852023

Ballaghdereen Gaa Wiki - club was founded in 1885 while the town was still in County Mayo and went under the name "Faugh A Ballagh". In 1898 Ballaghaderreen was transferred from County Mayo to County Roscommon under the Local Government Act

centerfield (Mayo) - Posts: 360 - 04/05/2016 19:46:49    1852082

Can anyone tell me was the u 21 tournament ever finished. It was contested by Mayo v Donegal and I think they played twice , both games ending up as draws. I don't think it was ever finished
I think it was a North -west tournament at U 21.

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 04/05/2016 20:09:33    1852092

Ballaghdereen Gaa Wiki - club was founded in 1885 while the town was still in County Mayo and went under the name "Faugh A Ballagh". In 1898 Ballaghaderreen was transferred from County Mayo to County Roscommon under the Local Government Act

centerfield (Mayo) - Posts:119 - 04/05/2016 19:46:49

Also, from the Ballaghaderreen GAA website:

In 1898 Ballaghaderreen was transferred from County Mayo to County Roscommon under the Local Government Act relating to Poor Laws Union. The Gaelic Athletic Club steadfastly retained it's affiliation to Mayo County Board.

http://ballaghaderreengaa.com/history/

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 05/05/2016 15:03:20    1852335

Replying To Mr_Pundit:  "I think Kerry are too injury hit to make impact this year. Cork to beat them in Munster.

Roscommon will need Harney,Murtagh 100% fit and in flying form to beat Mayo and that doesn't look possible.

Dublin are well capable of beating Kildare

Ulster will probably be Tyrone again but I don't think they are as strong as last year.

Cork v Mayo U21 final I'd fancy which would be a repeat of the 2006 final when Mayo won their last All Ireland at this level."
That was some call

BarryPD (Dublin) - Posts: 34 - 05/06/2016 19:25:43    1861901

Replying To Pingcity:  "If Mr.Pundit is a bluffer/Bul*sh***** he's good at it because in all fairness his is right unless we have Harney and Murtagh on 100% we won't beat Mayo for we do the two of them would probably beat Mayo themselves there that good but the two of them were poor against Sligo and very rusty lacking game time big time. Hopefully there up to scratch in two weeks time if they are we will win its as simply as that.
Pingcity

Two good young players but let's not get carried away here. It is mayo that have the YPOTY in their ranks and as I recall murtagh was well stifled by one of the mayo corner backs the last time they met...

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts:15159 - 22/03/2016 12:18:41 1836701

Not getting carried away but only reason O'Connor got YPOTY was because he was only player eligible that played at latter end of the championship. He had one good game last year for Mayo and I would have the two players I mentioned every day of the week ahead of him IMO. Not saying he isn't a brilliant player I just think two lads I mentioned are a different level too him. Murtagh was quite in game you are on about three years ago but he was man of match the last time Roscommon and Mayo met at u21 level when we hammered Mayo. Also had the Black card rule been around back in 2013 in game your saying Murtagh was stifled Mayo would have had all there subs used by half time amount of times ye had drag Harney down."
U21 Player of the year too , humble pie I thinks.

BarryPD (Dublin) - Posts: 34 - 05/06/2016 19:31:06    1861911