Roscommon Fairytale Continues

Question - would Ros have gone into qualifiers if they lost yesterday or would they be simply out of Championship 2016 like New York are?

northernsoul (Leitrim) - Posts: 78 - 02/05/2016 12:29:23    1851286

Anybody writing off the Rossies based on last night would do well to remember that London took Mayo to extra time in Horan's first season. They went on to win Connacht and beat Cork that year...

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 02/05/2016 14:18:04    1851324

How come theres no 'Congratulations Roscommon' thread? Great win over a county drawing on over 11 million people.....

Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 02/05/2016 14:34:27    1851332

Northernsoul, I think after Galway's close shave a few years ago they realised there was no provision for a team who lost to NY to enter the qualifiers, so since then they have created a theoretical qualifier preliminary round for the loser to enter.

CastleBravo (Meath) - Posts: 1644 - 02/05/2016 14:41:43    1851334

It's time to split new york in two maybe three teams. According to knowledgeable Rossie fans roscommon have better players than kerry or mayo. Now if new york can take the second best team in the land to within a point with no meaningful warm up games then in the next decade we're looking at a period of unprecedented new york dominance. For the sake of football split new york now.

sceptical (Cavan) - Posts: 544 - 02/05/2016 16:14:51    1851370

The usual trolls and anti Roscommon posters on here i see anyway i don't see a match day thread on here so i will pop this post in here.

Oh my oh my our inconsistency and complacency remains the cancer of Roscommon senior football.

I was at the game yesterday what i and many other Roscommon supporters saw from our county team was abysmal. From the off it seemed that the majority of our players didn't want to be there. Very few of our players wanted to put in the hard graft we had lads pulling out of tackles others hugging the touchline to avoid any contact while some other lads standing around with their hands on the hips honestly i could believe what i was watching.

We led by 4 points at half time which was mostly thanks to a converted penalty (the correct call BTW) when we were 0-4 to 0-2 behind. Goal chance after goal chance we wasted and with each save or missed opportunity you could see the poor body language of our players. We were leading 1-14 to 0-11 with 10 minutes to go after a truly awful performance yet we had the opportunity then to close out the game instead we produced atrocious conclusion to the game. It all started off with a goal chance for New York that Claffey our goalkeeper managed to save, at that stage the New York tails were up and they could smell blood our lads simply didn't have the belly for the fight which to be honest was shameful.

We won and lived to tell the tail i really don't know where we go from here after that performance all i know is the players owe it to themselves and supporters to respond with a positive performances in the next few games.

ispeakwisdom (Roscommon) - Posts: 2487 - 02/05/2016 17:25:27    1851393

Hard luck NY. Ye were done by a very soft decision from Deegan. From where I was I can honestly say it wasn't a penalty but Deegan was closer to the action. Come the end of the game I was delighted he gave it!! We have a lot to do to get back on track. Still fancy is to easily beat Leitrim by about 12 points. After that we'll just have to wait and see.

Oddball (Roscommon) - Posts: 888 - 02/05/2016 17:42:53    1851398

Maybe you will beat them by 12 points or more, though if a team thrown together with virtually no prep can bring you to the brink I wouldn't bet on it. More importantly if any Rossie fans wonder why people enjoy seeing you humbled see post above. After your last game you should hold off on predicting a hammering for anyone. Especially when playing your dear neighbours away from home.

sceptical (Cavan) - Posts: 544 - 02/05/2016 17:59:27    1851404

Sceptical.You'll get plenty of humility from me.We were a shambles yesterday and we're very lucky to still be in the Connacht championship.Fair play to the New York lads who fully justified themselves yesterday.Our only defence is that we have a lot of players out injured.If we don't get them back in the next few weeks, we're in for a short Summer.Best of luck to the Breffni who seem to be building a strong team.We know them well from underage over the last few years when both of our counties have been strong.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2164 - 02/05/2016 18:29:28    1851410

I do believe yous will win against leitrim and sligo not sure how much further yous will go but who knows

sceptical (Cavan) - Posts: 544 - 02/05/2016 18:41:21    1851412

It would seem that Roscommon took their eye of the ball, but that in no way should detract from what was a excellent performance by ny, by all accounts that is the story not Roscommon (who I'm sure will bounce back) but the effort put in by ny, fair play to all concerned in the big apple.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 02/05/2016 18:54:15    1851417

We were poxed but I suppose we didn't have that luck last year and Sligo fermanagh rightly beat us when we didn't perform.
Fair dues to NY I didn't see it coming or the team it looks like.
At this stage we seem to be stumbling from game to game as in we had a round of league last week which all the lads took part in and next week we have championship club beginning to wonder if lads are focused at all for the early championship start.

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 02/05/2016 18:57:26    1851418

Fairytale of NY

liner (Mayo) - Posts: 756 - 02/05/2016 19:22:00    1851430

Sceptical, that was so funny I couldn't stop laughing. Is that typical Cavan humour? BTW, good luck against Armagh but if it is another walloping we might have to consider splitting Cavan.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 02/05/2016 20:51:06    1851451

All i can say, is congrats to the Rossies on the win, but I'm a very happy New Yorker today for the dedication and effort put into that match yesterday. To start off, the weather was bad misting rain and dull gray skies (I guess what Irish weather is like most times haha) but from the throw in, it was an exciting match. The Rossies will definitely bounce back and get better as the matches progress, but our boys did us proud yesterday!!!! Hope all the Rossies that traveled to the Boogie Down Bronx got home safe and enjoyed a few hot whiskeys to celebrate the occasion. New York Abu!!!

NarrowBack914 (USA) - Posts: 181 - 02/05/2016 21:51:11    1851461

Posters from other county's quick to kick Roscommon when there down and a lot of these county's have had
there own bad days out . A long summer ahead.

1rossiejim (Roscommon) - Posts: 80 - 03/05/2016 08:54:41    1851468

Posters from other county's quick to kick Roscommon when there down and a lot of these county's have had
there own bad days out . A long summer ahead.
1rossiejim

Yes they have, but they are still entitled to get stuck into your team when they have been talked up as an elite side and then produce a performance like that. It is part and parcel of dining at the top table in gaa. Nobody is going to ignore your bad games any more. People are now going to question your top players, e.g. where were these famed superstar Roscommon forwards when they were needed?

Get used to it.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 03/05/2016 09:58:33    1851492

Agree that there is a long summer ahead, i think its the type of fright they needed. Im sure Kevin Mc Stay will get it right between now and three weeks. I still believe Roscommon will cause Mayo problems in Connacht. We Galway had our own scare some years ago, and i believe Mayo got a right scare in London as well so other counties shouldnt be too quick to have a laugh..

Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 03/05/2016 10:05:15    1851496

Belclare1, you forgot to mention Galway nearly losing to New York...

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 03/05/2016 10:18:52    1851507

Congrats to Roscommon on pulling through but that's some result for NY, teams really have to be wary heading over there and no offence intended but you'd wonder what the result would have been if NY had of been playing Leitrim on Sunday.

The other thing of course is that once again the Gaa starts the championship with a whimper, I know it always starts around about this time of year but I only found out specifically this Sunday that the championship was starting later on the same day. I mean that is absolutely ***** promotion by the Gaa!

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 03/05/2016 10:20:19    1851508