Roscommon Fairytale Continues

Hands up straight away, as soon as they were promoted I had them ear-marked to go back down. They've exceeded all expectations already and how much will this propel them in Connacht this summer??!

KerryKillers (Dublin) - Posts: 711 - 13/03/2016 16:39:35    1834130

Me too! Just saw that Cathal Cregg (sp?) turn and shoot point. Unreal! I'm a bit nervous heading to the Hyde!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 13/03/2016 16:44:41    1834138

That's if the Hyde is open for our game!?

KerryKillers (Dublin) - Posts: 711 - 13/03/2016 16:46:50    1834139

yeah they deserve huge credit,they just beat Meath to promotion last year,but some difference in both teams now.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 13/03/2016 16:50:58    1834144

They could well add to that fairytale by helping to relegate Mayo

That's a must win game now for Mayo

Roscommon have now shown enough to suggest that they could well make the final...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 13/03/2016 16:55:35    1834150

They are a very good team if they took their goal chances they'd be out of sight in what is now a tight game.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4898 - 13/03/2016 17:01:38    1834161

Definitely looking like they're going to be our biggest test in the league so far. Fair play to them. Well deserved.

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 13/03/2016 17:06:57    1834169

People laughed at John Evans when this time last year he claimed we have the players to compete for All Irelands. We are heading in right direction anyway. Those of you who wouldn't know to many of our players wouldn't realise we have 4 or 5 lads currently injured that when fit are definitely starters so we are still understrength. Ultan Harney,Cathal and Donie Shine, Diarmuid Murtagh, Kevin Higgins and last years captain Niall Daly have all missed nearly all the league thus far with injuries

Pingcity (Longford) - Posts: 568 - 13/03/2016 17:07:23    1834170

Their youth set up has been good for a while so it's no real surprise they are making strides at senior level now. Great to see a new name emerging and challenging.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 13/03/2016 17:07:31    1834171

Niall Carty I meant as last years Captain

Pingcity (Longford) - Posts: 568 - 13/03/2016 17:07:48    1834172

Regarding Evans, Roscommon wouldn't be riding as high if he was still in charge, just my opinion!

KerryKillers (Dublin) - Posts: 711 - 13/03/2016 17:13:10    1834177

Showing their hand too early.

GallantJohnJoe (Cavan) - Posts: 329 - 13/03/2016 17:13:25    1834179

From little acorns tall oaks are grown. They are seeing the fruits of their labour underage and fair play to them. A tiny county able to compete with the best in Div 1. Go figure!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 13/03/2016 17:24:17    1834189

So Jackeen you are saying financial assistance doesn't help counties? In that case should Dublin give back the 16 million Euros they have received from Croke Park over the past decade?

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 13/03/2016 17:30:37    1834193

Great for the Rossies and great for football.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 13/03/2016 17:35:49    1834200

As far as I know the one and only ambition for the league was to stay up.

worple (Roscommon) - Posts: 340 - 13/03/2016 17:36:18    1834203

Jesus Ulsterman, do you have to hijack every topic with your anti-dublin cr *p. This is about Roscommon not Dublin.

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 13/03/2016 17:43:31    1834209

Well done Ros. Perhaps we can look forward to a real Conn C/Ship this year.

liner (Mayo) - Posts: 756 - 13/03/2016 17:43:40    1834210

So Jackeen you are saying financial assistance doesn't help counties? In that case should Dublin give back the 16 million Euros they have received from Croke Park over the past decade?

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts:7736 - 13/03/2016 17:30:37

Ulsterman will you please stop taking over every thread banging on about how much funding Dublin gets. They can only put out 15 players on field same as every county and cant buy players in transfer market. Also stop banging on about how you think the whole world is against Ulster.

Pingcity (Longford) - Posts: 568 - 13/03/2016 17:44:22    1834211

Keep er lit Ulsterman lol.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 13/03/2016 17:53:37    1834225