Dubs could change their jersey manufacturer

We'll probably just stop trying so hard to generate revenue for Dublin GAA games development as we'd just have to hand it over to a bunch of money grabbing, bankrupt gombeens.

Interesting point. Obviously you haven't considered that much of that 47% grant you have been getting has actually come from the rest of the country. Dublin only has 1/5 (20%) of the population of the island, a large number of whom, by your own admission, don't get involved in the gaa. Which would suggest that only around 15% of that grant is actually coming from Dublin themselves. So 32% is coming from the other counties INTO Dublin. Basically those gombeens have been funding you for the past 10 years. Ditto with the sports council grant.
So it is a bit rich not wanting to hand over your revenues to gombeens, when if it wasn't for those same people handing over money to the Dublin-based gombeens to get them into shape in the first place, you wouldn't be where you are now. Truth be told, you probably owe those gombeens a lot. Maybe you should consider paying them back at the very least?

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 18/02/2016 16:20:17    1826411

Its never been a fair fight

I know but its also never been more unfair

realman2 (Kildare) - Posts:273 - 18/02/2016 16:06:21 1826408

_________

You're also just a bit rubbish now compared to far better Kildare sides.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 18/02/2016 16:20:26    1826412

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts:14840 - 18/02/2016 16:20:26 1826412

Even our best sides couldn't hold a candle to this Dublin team.

Kildare get flack (especially from Dublin) for underperforming. Kildare get to the quarters most years, we are the 7th largest county in Ireland, our performances are about par.

We can compete with Dublin at underage most of the time, there are signs we could get closer to Dublin to compete with them but as for actually beating them. I would say it won't happen in the future. The current gap is just too great.

realman2 (Kildare) - Posts: 464 - 18/02/2016 16:30:04    1826415

I wouldn't be so sure about that themaster - I mean do you need it explained....

I mean seeing what Dublin brings into the GAA a fair aul whack of that funding was easily made up from what Dublin GAA brought in in the first place

Without a shadow of a doubt if you're interested in fairness

Surely the County that brings in the most should get the most - the many millions brought into the GAA by Dublin GAA and then spent on the entire association would easily outweigh anything invested back into Dublin by GAA HQ - Hence one of the main reasons why we were probably getting funded in the first place.

50% of the current level of funding is coming from Dublin GAA... and coming up in maybe 2-3 years we'll have to put 60-70%

I cant wait to see the nation wide transformation

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 18/02/2016 16:36:39    1826420

True to form from you! I'd say the other Mayo posters wince when they see your posts.
Poorly thought out comment. If 31 counties vote to pool resources. Great! Work away! Dublin will just say no. The GAA can't make Dublin give their cash over. Dublin would just terminate their contracts! And take a smaller sponsorship deal!
This would force Dublin to play all games in Croke Park as the GAA would need the cash? Real brainiac idea there.
JayP

Actually I would say it is your comment that isn't thought out. First off, 31-1 is still a majority, so the sponsorship money goes. Secondly if Dublin were to refuse the will of the gaa at that point, what do you think happens to them across all levels in all codes? Put it this way, they wouldn't have to worry about sponsorship - because there wouldn't be any teams competing to sponsor.
But at least you would have plenty time for the Dublin club championship, although they wouldn't get to compete in leinster any longer.
As for playing in croke park, that would be a thing of the past for Dublin, you would be over to parnell park indefinitely, playing out club games amongst yourselves. Many of your young players would inevitably head for Oz with nothing to hang around for, or maybe move to Meath or Kildare, and play for them. Their new AIG sponsorship deals probably funding the moves.

As for the rest of us, well we would just carry on as before, one less team wont matter that much. Plenty of good games still there. Sam always need a winner.

You see jayp, Dublin need the gaa far more than the gaa need Dublin, and the rest od the gaa has far more power than Dublin alone. One season of that, and you lads would be handing over your last penny to get back in. Who knows, maybe we decide we don't want you back. Maybe we decide that that would be a good time to split Dublin up into a few teams.

Trying to dictate from a point of weakness never works.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 18/02/2016 16:40:34    1826421

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts:14840 - 18/02/2016 16:20:26 1826412

Even our best sides couldn't hold a candle to this Dublin team.

Most teams would - it is the best Dublin team of all time and probably in the top 5 best teams of all time.

If I'm honest - once Cluxton , Brogan, Flynn, Connolly goes.... we'll soon be struggling again...

We're only a few players better at the minute

Last time I looked Kerry won 4 titles in the 00's and lost 3 finals wasn't it... and Tyrone won 3 titles in the 00's

If it wasn't for Tyrone and Armagh - Kerry would have won 7 TITLES!!

Dublin are nowhere near that level of dominance and your prediction is nowhere near correct...

The hysteria out of some of yiz speaks volumes of your true intentions...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 18/02/2016 16:50:23    1826425

Do the maths jimbo, it is there in front of you. 1/5 of the population of the island therefore 20%. A quarter of dubs are not involved, therefore 15%. If Dublin were getting 15-20% of the pot (which is still the lions share by the way), then your post would be relevant. They are getting 47% though. So obviously those funds are coming from outside Dublin.

Bit of a crash maths lesson for you. Just because Dublin bring 35,000 to one game, doesn't mean that they are bringing 47%. The same weekend there will be 25 odd thousand at a mayo - galway game, 25,000 at a cork-Kerry game - two games and the dubs take has already been shattered... You have seriously over-estimated your own importance here.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 18/02/2016 16:51:10    1826426

themaster

The scenario you're describing will never come into being and just to inform you... doesn't actually exist

You're speaking like it's around the corner. It's simply not.

I know you'd love to get more hand-outs and money for absolutely nothing but we already do more than enough for the GAA

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 18/02/2016 16:54:09    1826427

50% of the current level of funding is coming from Dublin GAA... and coming up in maybe 2-3 years we'll have to put 60-70%

are you seriously implying the 50% of the GAA's revenue comes from Dublin?

realman2 (Kildare) - Posts: 464 - 18/02/2016 16:54:18    1826428

themaster
The scenario you're describing will never come into being and just to inform you... doesn't actually exist
You're speaking like it's around the corner. It's simply not.
I know you'd love to get more hand-outs and money for absolutely nothing but we already do more than enough for the GAA

Doesn't exist? I'll think you will find it does.
As for handouts, I don't want any. As for doing enough for the gaa, well the gaa will decide that.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 18/02/2016 17:04:39    1826433

are you seriously implying the 50% of the GAA's revenue comes from Dublin?

50% of the current level of games development funding in Dublin is coming from Dublin GAA

I would like to know of the overall % though as it goes without saying that it would be considerably higher than most counties

Would that not be important to factor into this argument? IMO... of course it is

Probably one of the main reasons why the GAA continues to invest in Dublin is because it brings in additional revenue over their original investment

You know... that's how investments usually work if you're smart. You invest a certain amount - it brings in profit and you continue such because that's a good thing.

I have seen the term "Cash Cow" banded around in reference to Dublin GAA and its relationship with the GAA

In saying that - I see no harm in the GAA now looking at their current level of investment - it just means we'll have to shore up the shortfall in investment

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 18/02/2016 17:23:24    1826445

All counties coming together to demand an equal funding pool exists?

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 18/02/2016 17:24:37    1826446

Bit of a crash maths lesson for you. Just because Dublin bring 35,000 to one game, doesn't mean that they are bringing 47%. The same weekend there will be 25 odd thousand at a mayo - galway game, 25,000 at a cork-Kerry game - two games and the dubs take has already been shattered... You have seriously over-estimated your own importance here.
________

Ludicrous to suggest that it's only bums on seats that brings money into the GAA

But that's what I'm up against I suppose.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 18/02/2016 17:28:22    1826450

Dublin are nowhere near that level of dominance and your prediction is nowhere near correct...

10 leinsters in 11 years and getting it easier every year & 3 all irelands in 5 years & 3 in a row in a league. So in the past three years in the 3 major competitions they enter into they have a record of won 8 trophies and lost one.

Domination is what I call that.

Its funny that Dublin supporters are actually in denial about how all conquering their team is. It just shows how warped the whole situation has got.

realman2 (Kildare) - Posts: 464 - 18/02/2016 17:51:35    1826463

I agree, there is an arrogant sense of entitlement that is driving most of the Dubs views on this. I have seen this before with Rangers, Linfield, Man Utd fans. Once they start on a winning streak after a while they believe it is their right to win, the natural order, the way it is and everyone will just have to accept it. However all it does is alienate other fans. I am absolutely loving the fact that all those above sides are currently struggling as it has wiped the smirks off those who follow them. I worked with fans of all of them and they were the most unsufforable crowd going; Dublin are going that way too but they should stop and look at these other sides and what's happened to them. Croke Park also need to take their heads out of the sand and stop ignoring what is going on with Dublin who are the tail wagging the GAA dog now.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 18/02/2016 18:08:10    1826471

________

Ludicrous to suggest that it's only bums on seats that brings money into the GAA

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts:14846 - 18/02/2016 17:28:22 1826450

Jim
You are all intelligent poster, passionate Dub and I would love to go for a pint with you but this 50% maybe 60-70% hyperbole is incorrect. You have Dublin to much credit in regards to what they give to the GAA.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 18/02/2016 19:37:20    1826494

To be fair to jimbodub, he's saying that Dublin GAA match the contribution given to them through the GAA development money. He's simply saying that they're get 1.5m now, they're putting 1.5m in themselves. If this gets cut to 1m they'll have to stump up another 500k to keep their current structures going.

He's not saying they contribute 50% of the GAAs revenue.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4241 - 18/02/2016 21:40:34    1826517

________

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts:14846 - 18/02/2016 17:28:22 1826450

Jim
You are all intelligent poster, passionate Dub and I would love to go for a pint with you but this 50% maybe 60-70% hyperbole is incorrect. You have Dublin to much credit in regards to what they give to the GAA.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts:46 - 18/02/2016 19:37:20 1826494

Apologies if I picked that up wrong Jimbo.......I may have misunderstood,a lot going on in this thread!!!!!!

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 18/02/2016 21:51:09    1826519

Jim

Fridge

No that's what we'll have to contribute to game development funding once the GAA reduces their level of funding

At the minute Dublin GAA is picking up 50% of the bill for games development

Once the GAA looks at this again - IMO we'll be looking at having to cover a further 10-20% reduction

Bringing up our own input to probably anything between 60-70% of the total spend on games development in Dublin

Something that would be easier to accomplish with a re-negotiated sponsorship deal at a more advantageous time compared to when the last AIG deal was struck

Or perhaps look to move to another sponsor if the need arises

Hope that makes more sense

Ha-ha - chief if we went for a pint we'd soon get off the GAA BS and just have a laugh....

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 19/02/2016 08:59:26    1826524

To be fair to jimbodub, he's saying that Dublin GAA match the contribution given to them through the GAA development money. He's simply saying that they're get 1.5m now, they're putting 1.5m in themselves. If this gets cut to 1m they'll have to stump up another 500k to keep their current structures going.

He's not saying they contribute 50% of the GAAs revenue.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts:164 - 18/02/2016 21:40:34 1826517

Yes that was it Whammo

Fair play for going to the trouble of pointing that out

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 19/02/2016 09:01:49    1826526