Dubs could change their jersey manufacturer

Nice bit of business and sure all sorted now

Dublin GAA is to pen a lucrative new jersey deal with O'Neills.

Star Sport reports that the an agreement to stay with O'Neills was reached in the early hours of yesterday morning following talks at a Dublin County Board meeting.

It is understood that the deal is performance related and is likely to generate in excess of €100,000 for the capital's coffers.

This will be in the form of a lump-sum payment plus a cut of jersey sales.

Apparently, Dublin chiefs turned down a better offer from Italian company Macron because of GAA rules.

O'Neills, Kukri and Azzurri are the three GAA approved brands with companies outside of Ireland not allowed to supply gear.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 17/02/2016 11:21:06    1826035

All counties should be getting a cut of jersey sales.... it appears to be an additional add on to Dublin's new deal with O'Neill's

I would have thought this was always the case?

Are other counties not getting cuts of their county jersey sales?

I think other CB's around the country should be looking at their current deals with O'Neill's off the back of the Dublin deal

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 17/02/2016 11:28:49    1826038

Aye Jimbo, I think Kerry should be the next to knock on their door!!!

If Dublin can get it, no reason why Kerry can't!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 17/02/2016 13:45:55    1826103

Aye Jimbo, I think Kerry should be the next to knock on their door!!!

If Dublin can get it, no reason why Kerry can't!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts:1067 - 17/02/2016 13:45:55 1826103
_______

100% agree...

Plenty of more to add to that list too....

O'Neill's appear to need a bit of a kick up the bottom!

That's what happens when you've pretty much monopolised the available market.. typically Irish isn't it!

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 17/02/2016 14:29:22    1826129

The same people who were moaning about development grants were moaning about Dublin potentially looking elsewhere for a sportswear deal.

They've gone with O'Neills.

But if they'd have gone for a bigger deal with a sportswear giant and got cash, their need for development grants would be lessened freeing up more funds for smaller counties.

But then the O'Neills biggest client would have gone and possibly cost Irish jobs.

I always get the feeling Dublin are in a no win situation. Whichever course they take will always be open for criticism.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 17/02/2016 14:38:20    1826132

Dont think this will be the end of this TBH. if Macron came in with an offer better than that of O'Neills i doubt they will stop trying to break into the market. as a lot of Dubs have said on here they would have been grilled if they done it but the cynic in me thinks a Kildare, Offaly, Meath might go a bit more under the radar and might find the money too good to turn down. I think these companies are just looking an in and the first to go for it will be the ones who get the big money.

the_watcher (Antrim) - Posts: 128 - 17/02/2016 14:47:30    1826137

The same people who were moaning about development grants were moaning about Dublin potentially looking elsewhere for a sportswear deal.

They've gone with O'Neills.

But if they'd have gone for a bigger deal with a sportswear giant and got cash, their need for development grants would be lessened freeing up more funds for smaller counties.

But then the O'Neills biggest client would have gone and possibly cost Irish jobs.

I always get the feeling Dublin are in a no win situation.

_________

You'd have to question the motives of some JayP

You don't need me to tell you that

If / when the GAA makes the decision and cuts the current games development investment

I'd be surprised if Dublin CB haven't already taken steps to cover the shortfall

Also don't forget the current AIG deal was done at a time of great uncertainty, and a lot of the negotiation advantages were in AIG's favour - the next sponsorship deal could very possibly be larger than the current deal and I'm sure the Dublin CB will be pushing for that.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 17/02/2016 15:02:42    1826141

Good to see Dublin abide by the rules and taking a less lucrative deal.

The issue likely will come up again with another county. GAA probably needs to decide whether the want the rule or not.

I'm fairly non-plussed. On the one hand it is good to support Irish business and jobs and on the other hand we're probably not getting our money's worth out of O'Neills.

To give Dublin the benefit of the doubt maybe they were playing hardball with O'Neills to strengthen their hand against them and that's why this story was leaked.

Hopefully others benefit from a similar arrangement also.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4241 - 17/02/2016 16:38:00    1826167

In your opinion tell me what's wrong with Meath GAA at present - I have Meath lads responding to me thinking their the s*hit for making a profit - is that a measurement of success these days in Meath?
Please educate me to the problems within Meath that could be better and why is Meath GAA underperforming so badly at the minute
It's easy to say I don't have a clue without you actually helping to inform me

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts:14828 - 17/02/2016 11:12:27 1826034

Jim firstly Jay mistakingly thought it was me that stated you didnt have a clue about Meath football but that was another Meath poster not me but anyway you've asked a few questions so here goes;

Underage:
No I'm not happy with said structures, we have done reasonably OK at minor overall but our last Leinster title was 2008 and last good year was 2012 when we reached the All Ireland Final v Dublin via the backdoor. At U21 we have been worse not having won a title since 2001 and only reaching the final once since then. I firmly believe we fell asleep at the wheel since the early 00's and believed that we would alsways dine at the top table, I believe complacency set in and succesive county boards did not do enough to improve basic facilities and develop our youth squads and finance coaches. Only lately have we finally got good training facilities in place and are beginning to work on strenght and conditioning which has ben a huge problem. However funding for such improvements has not been readily available, see finance below.
Division 2 & 3 - We havent been promoted because we havent been good enough and have missed key players through injury the past two years, we were relegated to Division 3 because again we werent good enough and had a manager in charge that tried in vain to get Meath to instantly play a game that was alien to them instead of gradual alteration of a system. Any Meath team that gets hockeyed at home to Louth in a relegation match deserves nothing less
Finance - If you think €200,000 odd profit is good for a county like Meath then I dont agree, we are not financially happy. This year Tayto Park are giving a base sponsorship of €55'000, that figure in reality wouldnt sponsor a good club team. It may rise depending on performances but as a base figure its derisory, compare that to the sponsorship of our nearest and greatest rivals being yourselves, were not in the same universe and I am not aware of any other potential sponsors queing up. We borrowed €1.25 million to finish Dunganny and are facing a hefty bill, even allowing for grants and other funding, to redevelop a county ground that is totally substandard. We have lost income through health and safety and floodlight issues at Navan. The only reason we have a surplus at the minute is that the current board seemingly called in outstanding monies owed that the previous board didnt chase up on.
Population- A myth, yes the population of Meath has incresaed greatly largely due to the amount Of Dublin folk moving out but whilst a lot of the Dubs play club football and hurling in Meath very few have a desire to try for a Meath Jersey, many still go into Dublin trying to get their place on already talent laden squads and fail, but they wont try their luck with our panels, its not appealing to them. Equally try and sell a Dub a fundraising ticket for Meath GAA development, Ive tried and I wont tell you what I was told to do with said ticket. So our county squads are not benefitting from the population influx and it may be another generation before we do, some in fairness do pin their colours to the Meath cause but not enough to make a significant difference.

Hope that gives you some insight, Im not saying Im right but it smy opinion on certain issues for what its worth.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 17/02/2016 17:09:13    1826181

Whammo86 (Antrim

Yeah!

Feck the free market... we love zero competition in Ireland.. sure it's great ;)

Nah in all honestly I reckon that offer was def made and it then acted as leverage

I agree.. hopefully more Counties can do this because O'Neill's weren't such before being forced

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 17/02/2016 17:13:00    1826183

I appreciate you going to the trouble even though you didn't say it - I must have missed something there

Underage:
No I'm not happy with said structures, we have done reasonably OK at minor overall but our last Leinster title was 2008 and last good year was 2012 when we reached the All Ireland Final v Dublin via the backdoor. At U21 we have been worse not having won a title since 2001 and only reaching the final once since then. I firmly believe we fell asleep at the wheel since the early 00's and believed that we would alsways dine at the top table, I believe complacency set in and succesive county boards did not do enough to improve basic facilities and develop our youth squads and finance coaches. Only lately have we finally got good training facilities in place and are beginning to work on strenght and conditioning which has ben a huge problem. However funding for such improvements has not been readily available, see finance below.
Division 2 & 3 - We havent been promoted because we havent been good enough and have missed key players through injury the past two years, we were relegated to Division 3 because again we werent good enough and had a manager in charge that tried in vain to get Meath to instantly play a game that was alien to them instead of gradual alteration of a system. Any Meath team that gets hockeyed at home to Louth in a relegation match deserves nothing less
Finance - If you think €200,000 odd profit is good for a county like Meath then I dont agree, we are not financially happy. This year Tayto Park are giving a base sponsorship of €55'000, that figure in reality wouldnt sponsor a good club team. It may rise depending on performances but as a base figure its derisory, compare that to the sponsorship of our nearest and greatest rivals being yourselves, were not in the same universe and I am not aware of any other potential sponsors queing up. We borrowed €1.25 million to finish Dunganny and are facing a hefty bill, even allowing for grants and other funding, to redevelop a county ground that is totally substandard. We have lost income through health and safety and floodlight issues at Navan. The only reason we have a surplus at the minute is that the current board seemingly called in outstanding monies owed that the previous board didnt chase up on.
Population- A myth, yes the population of Meath has incresaed greatly largely due to the amount Of Dublin folk moving out but whilst a lot of the Dubs play club football and hurling in Meath very few have a desire to try for a Meath Jersey, many still go into Dublin trying to get their place on already talent laden squads and fail, but they wont try their luck with our panels, its not appealing to them. Equally try and sell a Dub a fundraising ticket for Meath GAA development, Ive tried and I wont tell you what I was told to do with said ticket. So our county squads are not benefitting from the population influx and it may be another generation before we do, some in fairness do pin their colours to the Meath cause but not enough to make a significant difference.

Hope that gives you some insight, Im not saying Im right but it smy opinion on certain issues for what its worth.

Ok, I've read that and it confirmed a couple of things that I thought regarding your underage structures, and perhaps having those two golden generations back to back with Boylan in charge would make you think it would last forever. I always had that in the back of my head..

In fact it's very similar to ourselves for a long time "Ah sure it will just happen" - It doesn't just happen unless you're lucky, and it's far safer to make your own luck.

As you said - it's your own opinion but in fairness to you that's all you can give and once again I appreciate the response.

It's an honest assessment - we went through the very same thing for a long time.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 17/02/2016 17:35:06    1826188

Richieq your point above about the influx of dubs in meath and said dubs not having any interest in "helping" meath gaa is exactly the kind of point us Dubs have been making about our 1.5 million population in the capital! We have the population alright but a huge number of our population are country people who return to their native county at the weekend and then we have the culchies who live in Dublin but have no desire to get involved in Dublin gaa and then we have a vast number of foreign nationals who wouldn't know an oneills size 5 from a 42 hurl, but our population is still used as a kind of " sure why wouldn't youse dubs be successful with the huge population you have " point! On the other hand the people that tell us we have a much bigger population than all the other counties and that is why we should be successful then have a big problem when we receive funding to reflect the afore mentioned population! It seems us poor dubs can't win either way!

DUBJOHN (Dublin) - Posts: 932 - 17/02/2016 17:40:13    1826190

Richieq....

I apologise if I mistaken thought it was you that said Jim didnt know too much about Meath Football. (And I am too lazy to read back to tell you did!)

I have known a couple of lads in Meaths Minor set up in the last couple of years. Kildare have been doing quite well at Minor, theres not much between them and the Dubs at present. This also hasnt helped Meaths cause.

Its so frustrating as 55K is a terrible sponsorship deal for a county like Meath with tradition and numbers......but you know that deal was signed when Meath were at a low ebb unfortunately. Success breeds success both on and off the pitch. Im sure if Meath get competitive again they will be able to attract new sponsorship or hardball a better deal from Tayto.

DubJohn......

Dublin cant win with regards to sponsorship, funding and population. I just give in explaining it to people. You just end up repeating yourself.....alot! Dublin have talented footballers. That bit seems to be lost on people. These things are cyclic......Look at Tyrone, werent at the races the last few years....but didnt panic and knew it was a matter of hanging on whilst they introduced youth into their senior squad. Its a transitional phase. You might only have one or two players good enough off any Minor Squad who will make that jump to Senior Level. And if you havent been replenishing your squad every year.....then waiting periods will occur.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 17/02/2016 19:01:45    1826207

@dubjohn

You receive more per person in development funding than everyone else. By a huge multiple, even before factoring in that your playing population is a smaller percentage of the overall population number than other counties would be.

I think everyone is in agreement that Dublin deserve the most. They just don't agree that they deserve 4 times as much per person as Kildare or Meath get.

It's not that difficult.

Something that's been really frustrating on all these threads for a non-Dublin person is that you are so defensive on the subject.

Most on here aren't criticising Dublin, they're criticising the GAA.

Some are saying insinuating that Dublin's success is primarily to do with the money that's pumped in.

I think that's a simplistic assessment of the situation.

I think probably Dublin's greatest advantage is that club football at all levels in Dublin is more competitive. You look at the size of clubs in Dublin in terms of playing numbers. kilmacud, Na Fianna, St Vincent's, Ballymun. Look at the number of children they're getting competing with one another for playing time with their teams. That competitive environment is brilliant for bringing the most out of players and getting them working harder at a younger age. I think that's a huge reason why the Dubs are so good now. I think that has been helped by more money going into Dublin as it's increased participation rates. So the money has definitely helped.

I also think it's a good thing for the GAA though, I think a successful Dublin team is an indicator that the game is in a healthy state in its most populous area.

I am frustrated though as to me a development fund is about trying to promote the game in the areas where it is most needed.

I think Dublin is less of a concern now than it was 10-15 years ago but by their own admission the GAA are finding it hard now to divert the money out of the capital and into other counties. I know they're looking at addressing the problem but it doesn't sound like an easy fix. A lot of the money spent in Dublin is on jobs that have been created. You just can't go firing people. It seems that it is going to be a long time before the money starts flowing more widely and that is why people are frustrated at the GAA.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4241 - 17/02/2016 20:02:20    1826218

To perhaps encapsulate all this frustration we in Meath feel in particular in comparison to Dublin I'll say this;

For many years both Meath and Dublin did a lot for the GAA and particularly Leinster Council both collectively and individually, many in Meath still feel we are a big county despite our current position, many also feel that we contributed a lot to the GAA, particularly with Dublin, during the 80's, 90's into the 00's. The four games in 1991 not only saved the Leinster Council from bankruptcy but allowed them to thrive and develop coaching programmes they had up to that point only dreamed of, our success in the 90's brought more crowds and more replays (Mayo '96, Kildare '97, Westmeath '01). So we have, like others, fairly done our bit for the GAA coffers, then our population began to grow and like other counties we also experienced a growing surge in those playing other sports but having a large part of the county, indeed you could now say all the county, in the Dublin commuter belt many felt we would be looked after adequately in terms of funding for coaching and development from the GAA that whilst not equal in amount to Dublin would not be light years away from it given our growing population and expanding towns, but that didn't happen. And now look at the difference, Dublin are flying having rightly used the finances at their disposal in a proper fashion to gain great success, they play in Croker regularly have numerous fantastic sponsorship deals, a merchandising officer and are a team in demand, in Meath we have suffered in part from lack of investment and lack of care. We have a run down stadium, poor sponsorship, a struggling supporters club and generally we feel pretty shit. Now some of those in charge of Meath GAA must also shoulder the blame here, we were too nice and weren't shouting enough at the powers that be to help us out, to recognise the problems that were developing not just in Meath but in other Leinster counties in relation to funding for coaching, development squads etc. Our men in suits thought we could always battle on, always be competitive and that our spirit, toughness and stubbornness would sustain us. They were wrong and this new found weakness was epitomised by the recent decision to switch the forthcoming U21 championship fixture between Meath and Dublin from Pairc Tailteann to Parnell Park, just because at present we have no floodlights in Navan. Instead of trying to plan the fixture for Simonstown or Ashbourne who both have adequate floodlights and facilities, or at least a neutral venue, we seemingly roll over and give away home advantage. Now it's hard for any Meath team to get a win over any Dublin team at present but when you do something like give up home advantage so easily, well in essence your raising the white flag and admitting that we are no longer in your league, you are our betters and our only option is to prostrate ourselves before you and be in awe. So from being a powerful rivalry that benefitted each other and the GAA in general we now are poles apart, many in Meath feel unappreciated, that we have been kicked to one side and worst of all is the opinion of many that there are some in the GAA hierarchy who are not one bit sorry to see us decline, we caused enough trouble, rattled enough cages, showed little respect and brought the association at times into disrepute. Undoubtedly we could have done more to help ourselves but equally, as a county that has contributed much to the success of Leinster Council, I feel more could have been done for us also. So there you are the musings of a seriously frustrated Meath man, I might be right or I might be wrong but no point thinking one thing and saying another, it might help an odd Dub understand the reason for our frustrations and apparent anger.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 17/02/2016 20:12:07    1826222

It's a real pity Dublin didn't sign a contract with a non Irish manufacturer.

If the GAA themselves can sign contracts with non Bruce Springsteen and Beyonce (who as far as I know aren't Irish) or get the grass that is on Croke Park from a non Irish company (this happened in the past) then why the hell shouldn't counties be able to get the best deal possible for themselves.

Even if Dublin did break the rules the GAA would have done absoulutely nothing to punish them anyway and then every other county would have been free to get who the wanted to supply their jerseys.

The GAA themselves and various teams in the GAA get sponbsorship from non Irish companies yet for some reason teams wearing a jersey manufactured by a foreign company is deemed to be wrong.It's complete bull of the highest order.

We are probably going to have another backward step at congress soon when the TV right probably won't be allowed to be sold to Sky anymore.

uibhfhaili1986 (Offaly) - Posts: 1296 - 18/02/2016 08:15:44    1826237

Also don't forget the current AIG deal was done at a time of great uncertainty, and a lot of the negotiation advantages were in AIG's favour - the next sponsorship deal could very possibly be larger than the current deal and I'm sure the Dublin CB will be pushing for that.

Let's hope so. Because that will only force the hand of the rest of gaa even further, and when push comes to shove, the people really holding the power will come to the fore. Remember jimbo, Dublin for all their talking about how important they are to the gaa, only have one vote, the same as Carlow or Leitrim or anyone else. The rest could vote to pool all money, and there wouldn't be anything you could do about it - other than pull out of the gaa, which we all know, you wont do.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 18/02/2016 10:03:49    1826253

uibhfhaili1986

I'll have you know Brucie is a Lillywhite!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 18/02/2016 10:57:00    1826273

themaster

The GAA are actually looking into redistributing funds now and that's only right

IMO the Dublin CB will need to cover the additional costs to games development within the next 2-3 years

That's when the AIG deal will be up and I'd expect a better deal next time - don't forget - The Vodafone deal was actually worth more. The AIG deal was negotiated at a far more precocious time and now with the positive signs in the Irish economy , it will give Dublin CB more leverage as its a far more advantageous time

So I'd expect an increased sponsorship deal next time

If there's a loss in games development funding any increase in sponsorship / additional revenue streams will go to fill that void.

So really we wont really be getting more with having to fill the gap left by the GAA's lack of investment

I reckon we'll have to increase our 50% investment up to maybe 60-70%

Again... for all this talk

Unfortunately none of that is going to stem the loss of up to 30,000 people a year leaving rural Ireland to live in Urban areas in Ireland and beyond - Dublin being the biggest draw seen in Ireland. That a very big problem, and there's very little the GAA can do about that as the lack of investment in rural Ireland at government level over many decades is to blame for that. The GAA mirrors these disadvantages I'm afraid...

As I type green field sites are being investigated around the M50 to build entire new town centres - Cherry Wood being the first and there will be more. The demand is there... just watch... several entire new towns housing 100's of thousands of new people.

So nothing will really change.... We'll plug the hole, everyone will get a few extra quid... not very much, and things will continue.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 18/02/2016 11:05:35    1826277

The rest could vote to pool all money, and there wouldn't be anything you could do about it - other than pull out of the gaa, which we all know, you wont do.
______

We'll probably just stop trying so hard to generate revenue for Dublin GAA games development as we'd just have to hand it over to a bunch of money grabbing, bankrupt gombeens.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 18/02/2016 11:09:09    1826279