Dubs could change their jersey manufacturer

Give examples of other counties turning money or opportunities down ,? there are so many on here remind me of the fella who says if he won the lotto he'd give half to charity , very easy to say until you have the winning ticket .

Damo no harm but that is crap, where do the exceptional players come from, the underage structures, these structures are run by paid coaches etc and many, many volunteers, and since we have found out that central council are bankrolling the coaches your exceptional players are products of a GAA scheme as well as the volunteers blood sweat and tears. As long as some posters continue this soccer mentality of my team above all else we're on a shaky path.

How long before Dublin try to sell their own TV rights to games, before they have their own TV channel (cue comments re RTE but not my intention), if they enact EU legislation to try and feather their own nests it is not a case of having the winning lottery ticket its a case of playing in your own lottery and telling everyone else where to go.

This is reminiscent of the english rugby union trying to sell rights to the 6 nations which they did not own many moons ago, they thought they were bigger than the competition until the other teams told them where to go. What is more appealing to Dublin fans a competition where they watch their own team(s) in their own stadia and the rest of us play our own championship or a more equitable championship.

Dublin may have the biggest pool of resource but they'd do well to recognise they're nothing without the rest of us.

duckula20 (Antrim) - Posts:101 - 15/02/2016 12:38:35 1825465

Sorry to burst your bubble I can name at least 5 current players that were setting the world alight from age 13 upwards prior to involvement with any academy development , they were born with a talent and determination and every cat and dog knew they had an x factor , its no coincidence those same players formed the backbone of two minor teams in both codes , its equally no coincidence since they left minor we have achieved nothing of note in either code .
It suits many on here to put out that we manufacture players and that theres a conveyor belt of talent , it denies the most obvious of ingredients talent .
As for another poster pointing out an all Ireland semi as an example of success in hurling , well Id ask what weve achieved since then , nothing , ask any Dublin fan of hurling how he see,s current crop of players and he will tell you the talent is not there , theres that word again lads talent your at nothing without it .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 15/02/2016 13:21:15    1825492

Damo that's fair enough but there have been plenty of players in Dublin over the years that have shown raw talent, plenty in other counties too, but having the abundance of support and development structures in place to maximise their potential is a gift not available to most counties as they can not afford it. I could cite Kilkenny and Kerry as exceptions as hurling and football are considered religions in both counties and the competition within those counties is almost legendary and guaranteed to help produce good intercounty players, but other counties need help to develop their talents and ensure they get the best coaching and supports available. The raw talents you speak of still needed help and support past their 13th birthday and irregardless of their talent, of which I have no doubt, they still needed good systems in place to ensure their brilliance developed properly on both the underage and senior intercounty stage. Dublin have those systems, and fair play to them, but others haven't a hope of achieving that level of preperation or dedication to young talent as it can not be afforded, that is a sad reality but an honest one even for my own county so the funding pot needs to be addressed, I fear many top brass in the GAA don't want to ruffle Dublin's feathers such is the return they garner from them but the truth is unless a reasonable level of competition is restored, particularly in Leinster, then the time will soon come that a Leinster Football final will be fit to be held in any current provincial venue because the crowds will not be sustained if the present domination continues. As for the Dublin hurlers well I have often got a sense of apathy towards them from some Dubs, they don't seem to have the same support or love shown to them as the footballers, they play to smaller crowds, a smaller Hill when they are in Croker and they flamboyance and showmanship we see from the footballers is not replicated with the hurlers, they have talent at their disposal major talent in fact but I think there is a mindset with the Dublin hurler that he is never going to get the same support as his football cousin, never going to get the same appreciation and respect shown to him as his football cousin never going to get the same attention of the media of his football cousin, essentially he is eternally in the shadow of a footballer. That is somewhat a restraining thought and a mental state of mind that could easily halt progression, maybe I'm wrong in that but it's always a theory I had.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 15/02/2016 14:17:34    1825521

Damo your missing the point completely. Yes these players have had talent I am certain every poster here can name 5 players from their own counties who were superstars in the making but if the structures aren't there to nurture them through then other temptations can have a big influence on the path they take. Nobody mentioned manufacturing players, what Dublin have is a mechanism to get talented underage players through to senior, other counties don't have that, Laois footballers, Limerick and Galway Hurlers had excellent underage teams which never quite fulfilled their potential that wont be an issue with Dublin.

I dont know the answer to this but how many Dubs have went to AFL and stayed, I know Kilkenny went out and came back so you have an example of someone who knew they'd be looked after in the GAA structures and spurned the opportunity of professionalism. So for a county with the greatest population the numbers taking on the chance of professionalism is disproportionally low from anything I can see, is that because the structures are already in place in Dublin and they dont need to look at professionalism. Just a thought.

Anyway back on topic trying to justify breaking the ethos of the GAA to make a quick buck is not something I would have thought Dublin would have wanted to be associated with, as you said posters are quick to downplay your successes don't give them more ammunition and that is exactly what this discussion is doing.

duckula20 (Antrim) - Posts: 175 - 15/02/2016 14:25:32    1825525

What do the Gaa get out of having Dublin in Croke Park for all home league games, and most championship? They give Dublin 1.46m..

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts:1268 - 15/02/2016 11:25:58 18

its the rest of the country who makes on it not dublin.
dublin have to rent the use of croke park for league games
the money from gate reciepts goes into a pot and divided out to all counties for league fixtures.
so think again parnell park with 10 thousand capacity or the 30 thousand that attended in croker for dublin v kerry.
its more money for other counties.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 15/02/2016 15:17:08    1825544

i have heard it all now players like connolly sutcliffe and so on only have talent because they were coached by money from the gaa.
seriously get a life lads i grew up on devlopment squads with connolly andrews and flynn and few more guys.
there was no money floating around in them days we had no paid coaches either.
we trained the same as any other team and the players put the work in to become what they are.
you either have the talent and commitment or you dont.
crossmaglen rangers are a great example of a club who got on with it regardless of the situations they faced
and look how successfull they have been over last 25 years.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 15/02/2016 15:23:51    1825548

Let's blame the Dubs. Yawn.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 15/02/2016 15:28:17    1825551

i have heard it all now players like connolly sutcliffe and so on only have talent because they were coached by money from the gaa.
seriously get a life lads i grew up on devlopment squads with connolly andrews and flynn and few more guys.
there was no money floating around in them days we had no paid coaches either.
we trained the same as any other team and the players put the work in to become what they are.
you either have the talent and commitment or you dont.
crossmaglen rangers are a great example of a club who got on with it regardless of the situations they faced
and look how successfull they have been over last 25 years.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts:10469 - 15

That's not what's being said at all Hill but once again you have incorrectly read the points made no one is or has suggested that the players you mention are only as good as they are because of GAA money, of course they had core talent and good application, they could not succeed without those qualities, but the supports and back round teams that Dublin can afford and expose their players too have maximised their potential as players and have helped them achieve the maximum in their careers. Now we have the potential of further money coming their way by means of a potential huge kit deal, the chasm is getting dangerously wide is the only point I make and it must be addressed.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 15/02/2016 15:49:41    1825556

JayP (Dublin) - Posts:1296 - 15/02/2016 15:28:17 1825551

Let's get all defensive and ignore whats actually being said. Yawn
It's already been highlighted by posters that they don't blame Dublin at all for this it's the GAA that have created this not Dublin but it has now given Dublin an elevated sense of importance and power which is not good for the game.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 15/02/2016 15:55:40    1825559

Diarmuid Connolly, Paul Flynn, Jack Mccaffrey and the rest are great footballers.

But what if when they were 10 years of age and no one was there to coach their underage their team and they went off and played soccer instead. Or what if they were 14 and got messed around by a coach that was uncommitted and constantly slept in after drinking sessions rather than have one that was paid through development funds from central council to have to be there and who was going to do a great job because it was his job rather than some lad who was just there without much of a clue how to develop players.

I would say most of the lads with All Ireland medals would say why they won them had plenty to do with Natural ability but to suggest it is the only factor as is being said here is complete and utter tripe.

There are many many things that make a player great and natural ability is one but quality coaching is hugely hugely crucial.

realman2 (Kildare) - Posts: 464 - 15/02/2016 16:09:27    1825561

The big problem here is the inequality of these sorts of things.

Dublin get a disproportionate amount of the development money. If they got their fair share they'd still be a great team challenging every year.

Why do they get more than their share? It's not fair.

Why are Parnells GAA allowed to host soccer matches on their grounds yet a club in Longford gets fined for running a soccer camp?

If they do go down the road of a non-Irish kit supplier I'd be disgusted. It'll have shown a complete disregard for GAA rules. Going over the head of the proper channels which would involve bringing a motion to congress. It'd be all in the name of money.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4241 - 15/02/2016 16:50:01    1825583

JayP (Dublin) - Posts:1296 - 15/02/2016 15:28:17 1825551

Let's get all defensive and ignore whats actually being said. Yawn
It's already been highlighted by posters that they don't blame Dublin at all for this it's the GAA that have created this not Dublin but it has now given Dublin an elevated sense of importance and power which is not good for the game.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts:2373 - 15/02/2016 15:55:40 1825559

Equally Richeq a lot of points being made by Dubs are ignored , I hate bringing my own family into it , I will keep it brief , last week my son made the cut for this years under 16 hurling panel , no one knows more than me what HE has done to deserve this , I have travelled to the following places Cork , Clare , Antrim , Limerick Waterford, Wexford and Laois . I speak to those I meet at these events we compare notes , trust me the role of Development squads is greatly over exaggerated , this myth that theres quality coaching going on every week is laughable .
My lad made the squad by constantly playing one two years out of his age group purely because he played for a team in the lowest division in Dublin ,he was coached by Dads with no experience of hurling , no paid coach had anything to do with it , he put the hours in at a wall in our estate to become equally efficient off both sides , hes not alone theres many lads doing this they are personally driven and want to achieve ,
Only two counties I came across in my travels would I have considered less well off in regards to training , access to facilities etc Offaly and Antrim , everyone else was on a par .
This weekend a lad from my club lined out at minor for Dublin I would know his family quite well , only at u17 did anything like what gets portrayed on here actually take place , conditioning coaching etc
It might make for better debate if guys actually knew what went on at under age level instead of falling into cliché city .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 15/02/2016 16:58:09    1825587

Equally Richeq a lot of points being made by Dubs are ignored , I hate bringing my own family into it , I will keep it brief , last week my son made the cut for this years under 16 hurling panel , no one knows more than me what HE has done to deserve this , I have travelled to the following places Cork , Clare , Antrim , Limerick Waterford, Wexford and Laois . I speak to those I meet at these events we compare notes , trust me the role of Development squads is greatly over exaggerated , this myth that theres quality coaching going on every week is laughable .
My lad made the squad by constantly playing one two years out of his age group purely because he played for a team in the lowest division in Dublin ,he was coached by Dads with no experience of hurling , no paid coach had anything to do with it , he put the hours in at a wall in our estate to become equally efficient off both sides , hes not alone theres many lads doing this they are personally driven and want to achieve ,
Only two counties I came across in my travels would I have considered less well off in regards to training , access to facilities etc Offaly and Antrim , everyone else was on a par .
This weekend a lad from my club lined out at minor for Dublin I would know his family quite well , only at u17 did anything like what gets portrayed on here actually take place , conditioning coaching etc
It might make for better debate if guys actually knew what went on at under age level instead of falling into cliché city .

Good luck to him but that happens in every county, what doesn't happen in every county is millions contributed from Central Council towards player development.

realman2 (Kildare) - Posts: 464 - 15/02/2016 17:05:11    1825593

Good luck to him but that happens in every county, what doesn't happen in every county is millions contributed from Central Council towards player development.

realman2 (Kildare) - Posts:252 - 15/02/2016 17:05:11 1825593

Agreed
Now address the point or myth ? Coaches development squads
I was addressing the point that your nowhere without talent ?
I was making the point that it wasn't just Dubs that were ignoring points made and you come out with your reply , you couldn't make it up

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 15/02/2016 17:20:24    1825595

Manufacturing talent eh, hmmm could you manufacture me some luck while you're at it, maybe a lotto win!!?

KerryKillers (Dublin) - Posts: 711 - 15/02/2016 18:25:43    1825613

Here's what we could end up with :)

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 16/02/2016 10:05:35    1825674

I was making the point that it wasn't just Dubs that were ignoring points made and you come out with your reply , you couldn't make it up

Your "points" are just anecdotes that you say you have seen. You are saying most counties have the same facilities that Dublin have even though Dublin are given half the country's development funds. People can make up their own mind on whether that is creditable.

What other points would you like to see addressed?

realman2 (Kildare) - Posts: 464 - 16/02/2016 10:08:42    1825676

Richieq

Stop it now. What you are saying is just embarrassing.

Name one player from Dublins football set up who had these "Supercoaches" you are portraying? More.......Name one of these coaches, because I'm sure most u13 coaches in Dublin would love them out at their sessions to make their teams great. As someone said already you are living in cliché-Ville. Ignoring your points, yes.......Yes I am. Because you haven't a Scooby what's going on in Dublin underage football or hurling.

Kerry were winning all around them in the noughties......Kilkenny have been butchering the pack in the hurling. Not a word said about "chasms" then.

Certainly with the football......it's cyclic . Relax. Dublin won't win forever. Just stop with the usual waffly statements.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 16/02/2016 10:16:20    1825679

JayP, whether Dublin are winning or not is irrelevant. People might not be as bothered about it as the spotlight on Dublin would not be as intense, but that doesn't mean it should be allowed.

If Dublin were still waiting on another All Ireland since 1995, it would still not justify the facts that the GAA are shoveling the majority of their development funding into the capital, that they are going to allow Dublin to flaunt bye laws to source lucrative sponsorship deals for their jerseys etc etc.

Yes Kerry and Kilkenny are very successful, but we don't receive a disproportionate amount of central funding. We get out fair share and use it as best we can.

Yes, every county is entitled to maximise their earning potential by looking for the best commercial deals they can, it is up to Croke Park to step in and ensure that it doesn't lead to a situation where one county has such a massive advantage over every other.

For example, take the AIG deal. If Dublin are getting twice as much as the next county due to that sponsorship well then shouldn't their funding from Croke Park be curtailed and used instead to benefit some county that's only being given a few grand a year from their own sponsor?

The GAA is a 32 county organization, and it administers an amateur sport. No county should be allowed to have the advantages Dublin are now being allowed.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 16/02/2016 11:03:40    1825688

Ya its cyclical - sure it feels like only yesterday when mayo had a 4 million sponsorship deal, played every game in McHale park and had the rest of the country paying towards their 47% of the entire gaa grant...

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 16/02/2016 11:17:06    1825692

Ya its cyclical - sure it feels like only yesterday when mayo had a 4 million sponsorship deal, played every game in McHale park and had the rest of the country paying towards their 47% of the entire gaa grant...

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts:14929 - 16/02/2016 11:17:06 1825692

Haha, great post

realman2 (Kildare) - Posts: 464 - 16/02/2016 11:28:41    1825695