Well done Roscommon

Can I just say well done to Roscommon yesterday great result for them beating the mighty kingdom in there home patch is some achievement. Cathal Cregg and number 8 whose name escapes me were both outstanding yesterday, hopefully Connaught won't be so easy for Mayo this summer.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 08/02/2016 14:06:39    1823498

Well done the Rossies! Very impressive display, Killarney is always a very hard place to get a result but you should have had a bit more to spare on the scoreboard, if you keep that type of performance going no-one will look forward to playing you in the championship if you get a bit of a run going, and your not lacking in the physicality stakes either! Team of the weekend!

DUBJOHN (Dublin) - Posts: 932 - 08/02/2016 14:20:00    1823508

Should have won by much more too! A great result for the Rossies and fair play to the numbers who travelled down given the horrible weather and the bad road it is from Kerry to Roscommon, I've driven it many times.

When they ran out on the pitch before the game you'd swear it was a home game from them such was the racket in the stands.

For the first 10-15 minutes they looked out of their depth but they stuck at it and in fairness, Stephen O'Brien's goal flattered us at half time. Given the wind and rain they had to play into in the second half, they played some great football and they got better and better the longer the game went on.

We went 19 mins in the first half without a score and a good 20 mins in the second half without one either. That tells you all you need to know.

Ho-hum another year and another relegation battle in the League, I honestly can't understand why under Fitzmaurice they get some complacent. Given the performances of the last two weeks, its hard to see at the minute where Kerry are going to get the points to keep them up :(

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 08/02/2016 15:33:15    1823565

Did you ever think just maybe your not that good hermit ? Like of the great 00's team how many of yesterday's team would make that team?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 08/02/2016 16:18:13    1823598

The lads showed great fight and determination, we probably still need 4 points to stay up which is not going to be easy but it gives them a fighting chance of staying up. The talked about Kerry missing players on league Sunday last night which is fair enough but what the didn't mention that Roscommon were missing 12 players for the game yesterday

ros1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1211 - 08/02/2016 18:21:09    1823653

Well Clondalkin, I naively thought this was all just about saying well done to Roscommon.

I didn't realise it was just for having another pop at Kerry!!!

Listen Kerry in the League and Kerry in the Championship are two different animals, as you'll be shown again come the summer.

No, this Kerry side are not as good as the great team of the 2000's, but they still have an All Ireland title to their name and they managed to defend that title up to the All Ireland final last September.

And seeing as you've made this about Kerry, I'll say something about Dublin.

For all the time and effort the Dublin media and fella's like yourself are putting into creating this myth of Dublin being the greatest side to ever grace Croke Park. THIS Kerry have still managed an All Ireland during 'Dublin domination' .

And THIS Kerry team have managed something Dublin haven't got near, actually making it to successive All Ireland finals.

So keep the powder dry and stopping dancing on the graves of team's that are still alive and kicking.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 08/02/2016 19:03:21    1823667

ROS1 what 12 players are we missing that will start any of our games.Id say we are missing 6 to 7 that will be pushing for a starting spot.the likes of Higgins ,carty,murtagh, harney, Kennan, donie shine,cahal shine..the likes of donie smith mark healy cahal compton thomas Corcran will find it very difficult to get game time this year.

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1062 - 09/02/2016 14:27:14    1823966

Indeed well done to Roscommon and the Roscommon supporters (who were great at the banter). Roscommon played a fast enough pace game of football. Some stand out players and they were also unlucky to lose against Monaghan last week. Roscommon showed good tackling and skill especially in the second half playing against the wind. Roscommon looked a way fitter than the Kerry lads and you could see that Aidan O Mahony, Darran and Buckley were struggling in the last quarter.

I can see Roscommon causing another few upsets and staying up in Division 1. When is Donie Shine back ?

kerrykerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1779 - 09/02/2016 15:16:09    1824004

Well done to Roscommon.
Really showed up some great guts and once they got in front Kerry lacked ideas to get back into the game.

But cant really be overly harsh on Kerry at the moment. Dublin had their holiday done and dusted before christmas. In kerry most of the players play club district championship until Christmas thus no choie but to go on a January team holiday. Players are obviously lacking fitness at the moment. But also some of the decision making by the team leaves a lot to be desired that cant be blamed on fitness alone.

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 10/02/2016 10:53:00    1824303

Glad to see this post , was a bit disappointed to see on earlier threads quite a few negative comments , when Roscommon exited the championship last year with head between the legs many were quick to put the boot in on here , fairplay should be sitting on 4pts , but taking two points in Kerry which we failed to do is a fine achievement

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 10/02/2016 11:11:05    1824311

Glad to see this post , was a bit disappointed to see on earlier threads quite a few negative comments , when Roscommon exited the championship last year with head between the legs many were quick to put the boot in on here , fairplay should be sitting on 4pts , but taking two points in Kerry which we failed to do is a fine achievement

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts:3038 - 10/02/2016 11:11:05

Thanks Damo it is a fine achievement and I am happy with how we are progressing. I would say we are a month or two in fitness and training ahead of the likes of Kerry,Dublin and Mayo but to catch up on the top tier counties like those named we have to be. Great progress was made under John Evans and just because we had bad championship last year people forget the great strides we made. We had a lot of injuries in games we lost to Sligo and Fermanagh and zero luck with offical's.

The new management have started well and are still putting there own look and gameplan on team so it is a work in progress but we seem to be heading in the right direction. Management were also able to get Fintan Cregg back involved this year. He was our best player against Monaghan and had great game against Kerry also. Fintan has been the stand out player in club football in Roscommon for last 5 years but never fully committed to county so his addition this year is a great boost.

Against Kerry we were missing maybe 6 or 7 starters of our strongest 15 which people who wouldn't know much about Roscommon wouldn't have known. Ultan Harney is only on his way back from injury and I would expect our team to be built around him in coming years. Any of the older folk in the county would compare him to the great Dermot Early so you can only imagine how highly rated he is in the county. Add in Cathal Shine who wasn't fit enough to start, Donal Shine, Diarmuid Murtagh,Donie Smith, Senan Kilbride,Kevin Higgins,David Keenan,Donal Ward and Ciaran Cafferky all who have been regulars last year or two when they come back to fitness. We will hopefully be able to compete with almost anyone,

Pingcity (Longford) - Posts: 568 - 10/02/2016 12:22:06    1824338

Good on Roscommon!

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 10/02/2016 14:52:09    1824409

Well done Roscommon? For what? Beating an undestrength, undercooked Kerry on the first Sunday in February? Give me a break.
If I was a Rossie I would find this thread patronising in the extreme.

Condorman (Dublin) - Posts: 983 - 11/02/2016 17:22:05    1824760

Why not enjoy it Condor man, they have climbed the divisions and beat Kerry in Killarney. It's sport , victories should be enjoyed. Rossies fans are very passionate about their county and it's good to feel the hard work pays off.
Reading about their county beating Kerry I'm sure has put a smile on a lot of their fans faces this week going to work and sure why not.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 11/02/2016 21:58:24    1824840

I would also save my praise for roscommon for the last day of the league. This will all be quickly forgotten if they go back down, win in killarney or not. Well done roscommon if they beat either galway or especially mayo in connaught, or in croke park in august.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 12/02/2016 08:50:14    1824844

Well done Roscommon? For what? Beating an undestrength, undercooked Kerry on the first Sunday in February? Give me a break.
If I was a Rossie I would find this thread patronising in the extreme.

Condorman (Dublin) - Posts:424 - 11/02/2016 17:22:05 1824760

Not everyone is a Dub and has our success , from were they were a few years ago beating Kerry is an achievement , success is measured differently but if you think otherwise good luck , seems to me this forum is more appreciated when spite and bile are the order of the day , say congrats to someone on what you genuinely feel was a good result and its called patronising , you just cant win .
By the way I certainly didn't think theyd win and neither did anyone else I spoke to

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 12/02/2016 09:43:59    1824855

I think it's the first time they beat Kerry down there and if not it's a rarety. Why not give a compliment or is that twisted to be patronising by the usual misery gut brigade that love nothing but to trade insults and petty tripe whenever the opportunity arises. Cop on to yourselves and grow up.

SLLY (Dublin) - Posts: 463 - 12/02/2016 10:58:21    1824874

Not many teams savour success down in Killarney.Any day you beat Kerry is a good day.Especially away from home.That win will do wonders for Roscommons confidence.If you can't enjoy a win like that,it's time to hang up the boots.Well done Rossies!

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 12/02/2016 11:40:56    1824878

Lads leave it out,ros team and supporters are over it and thinking ahead, our young lads are all about proving themselves and competing at a high level congratulate us if we stay up..

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 12/02/2016 12:03:08    1824887

Slow news week . Wha. ..
Time to park it n move on boy's us rossies defiantly have
Thanks !

rossy15 (Roscommon) - Posts: 620 - 12/02/2016 12:27:10    1824893