The Roc = Barrett
Cian O Sullivan = Lee Keegan
Brian Fenton = Seamie O Shea
MDMA = Barry Moran
Paul Flynn = Kevin McLoughlin
Bernard Brogan = Cillian O Conor
Kev Mac = Andy Moran
Eoghan O Gara = Alan Dillon

Now if you want to keep going on about players your missing we can play that game to cause I've loads more names I can use that didn't play Saturday.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 08/02/2016 08:36:39    1823298

Can't count Philly McMahon......he started. It was his own ill-disciple them got him a black card.

However Dublin were missing quite a few players as clondalkindub has stated. Quite simple....Dublin better on the night. Mayo will struggle to stay up.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 08/02/2016 09:48:51    1823323

This game will bring Mayo on a lot. They were close to Dubs. Not far off and were unlucky a bit not to draw. This game will bring on Mayo physically.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2520 - 08/02/2016 20:43:42    1823722

Id argue that you couldn't count O'Carroll either as he is gone for at least the year. While mayo were also missing Durcan and Clarke. Furthermore, Dublin are far better equipped to manage losses to their squad, due to having such a huge selection of players available, so they will always have an advantage on that front.

Personally, I think it is a great result for us. They are only back training a couple of weeks. Truth be told we should have been losing that game comfortably. I was thinking a solid 8 points with Dublin pulling up.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 09/02/2016 09:17:46    1823773

We had eight players out.Ye had ten players out...blah blah blah...lads this is silly carry on.It was a good workout for both sides.Dublin were more efficient in second half,led by the tireless James McCarthy.Conditions were deplorable.Mayo showed improvement.Dublin have started as they mean to go on.Roll on Round 3.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 09/02/2016 09:56:09    1823784

Here... stick with 14 men behind the ball and scoring 3 from play at home in front of 10,000

It's the way forward

Rochford did the right thing fair play to him... No point getting hammered again so soon after the Cork game, Donegal away next isn't it... I'd go 14 behind the ball again, best way forward... Hopefully the weather will be as bad too!

Nothing like being bottom of the league with 0 points to spur you on to better things - best of luck

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 09/02/2016 09:57:46    1823785

Dublin the team to beat again this year!! On a side note the pitch was terrible, grass looked very long!

Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 09/02/2016 10:04:24    1823788

Hard to know what to make of the result from a Mayo perspective, really. A lot of people probably feared the worst seeing the injury list and that the Mitchels players would be missing, but the performance was much more dogged than against Cork, which was pleasing. Some old failings manifested themselves, though- missing some kickable frees, going too long without a score for spells. It will definitely become difficult to avoid relegation if we don't pick up something in the Northwest in a few weeks' time.

As to the complaints about the pitch: of course it was pretty bad, which is inevitable given the weather conditions. The West of Ireland has been battered by storms for the past three months, which will make any pitch heavy and soft, something that fool from Clondalkin has failed to factor into his "analysis". Hope the rest of the Dubs enjoyed their trip down to West Mayo.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 09/02/2016 10:30:42    1823805

Sure if it's not writing articles to the media trying to sway referees and bring their reputation into question a couple of days before a big game, it's standing in front of Cluxton kicking his hands and the ball away, it's targeting players to get them sent off and running off to rat, or it's fabricating lies to the media about getting head butted... Now it's not cutting the grass and keeping the pitch to a stadium that just so happened to bankrupt their county board... in a terrible state to try and win a league match!!

A great bunch

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 09/02/2016 10:39:10    1823812

Before you get carried away with your hubris jimbo, you might want to consider that O'shea was being marked by 3 men against Dublin last year. Not even donegal were that defensive.

Great to see we get under your skin so much though.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 09/02/2016 10:44:16    1823814

Haha

Sure I don't mind though

It's not like Mayo won anything off the back of it

Awful desperate though but losing 7 finals in a row will do that

A desperate bunch who can't even afford to cut the grass to their lavish dump.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 09/02/2016 10:49:33    1823817

Sure if it's not writing articles to the media trying to sway referees and bring their reputation into question a couple of days before a big game, it's standing in front of Cluxton kicking his hands and the ball away, it's targeting players to get them sent off and running off to rat, or it's fabricating lies to the media about getting head butted... Now it's not cutting the grass and keeping the pitch to a stadium that just so happened to bankrupt their county board... in a terrible state to try and win a league match!!
A great bunch

Ha, Christ almighty.

Sure ye get all the money to put all those great processes in place to cut grass jimbo! 50% of the funding and ye cant throw an auld flymo on the back of the bus? Im sure the gaa pay ye to employ someone to do that anyway - isnt that Bernard Dunne's job?

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 09/02/2016 10:58:05    1823825

We only left the grass long because Gavin said he expected Mayo to be waiting in the long grass.

I'll get the tumbleweed !

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7360 - 09/02/2016 11:18:19    1823842

No he wasn't marked by 3 players but you keep telling everyone that maybe someone will believe you, Mayo delighted they lost the other night no wonder they never win Sam, you put 15 players in your own half if that's the way forward for this manager he's no genius , anyone can do that and on such a terrible night and disgraceful pitch it was no great achievement.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 09/02/2016 11:25:54    1823846

Biggest bunch of whinge bags I've ever come across I use to hope they'd win Sam some day now I love that they don't and hopefully never in my life time,

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 09/02/2016 11:29:07    1823850

Ya of course you don't mind.
I was just going to say, that is exactly the impression your posts give...

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 09/02/2016 11:30:28    1823851

No he wasn't marked by 3 players but you keep telling everyone that maybe someone will believe you, Mayo delighted they lost the other night no wonder they never win Sam, you put 15 players in your own half if that's the way forward for this manager he's no genius , anyone can do that and on such a terrible night and disgraceful pitch it was no great achievement.

Biggest bunch of whinge bags I've ever come across I use to hope they'd win Sam some day now I love that they don't and hopefully never in my life time,

Is the second post a description of the first one?

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 09/02/2016 11:35:28    1823858

Mayo's issue the last few years has been conceding goals in big matches. All-Ireland finals of 2012 and 2013 as well as the 4 semi finals in 2014 and 2015. Rochford is maybe trying to sort that out and make them more solid at the back where they seem easy got at. Early days yet but I'd be fairly optimistic that Mayo will get the balance right.

Relegation, although still unlikely imo, wouldn't be the worst thing in the world especially if Rochford gets the balance right come summer.

League matches in early February are that important but I think both sides will be happy with the performance seeing as both were missing big players, although Dublin slightly happier with the result.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 09/02/2016 11:39:51    1823859

*aren't

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 09/02/2016 11:48:25    1823868

Great to see we get under your skin so much though.

Comedian, Dublin LIVE under YOUR skin, I've been reading on here for years and it's one of the most obvious things that jumps out at you on these threads, lol you couldn't make it up as you say. Keep doing it though, it is fun to observe :D

KerryKillers (Dublin) - Posts: 711 - 09/02/2016 12:20:44    1823887