Mayo v Dublin

Disappointed with the score, happy with Mayos performance, looking forward to Donegal match when we have a full squad to chose from. Thought ref was very inconsistent with playing advantage. Dublin were given advantage for the guts of 30 seconds for an incident, Mayoman was fouled but broke through tackle and was through on goal and the ref blows for a free. Johnny cooper was pulling sweeneys arm all night, this is cynical fouling and refs must stomp this out.

saddam (Mayo) - Posts: 414 - 07/02/2016 12:26:35    1823000

Defensive football was played by one team and they weren't wearing blue jerseys, the worst pitch in Ireland is still the worst pitch in Ireland , lads I know your sick of us beating you but to not cut the grass was embarrassing , b team hahaha I promise you we'd as Much missing as you's and the two black cards were extremely harsh also no need to kick our player when he's defenceless on the ground really chicken stuff from that mayo player. Let's be honest here they don't like us and we don't like them.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 07/02/2016 12:31:18    1823002

You'd think after the silly amount of money spent on that white elephant... They'd have budgeted for an aul Flymo once over now and again...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 07/02/2016 12:49:36    1823008

really enjoyed the game despite the terrible conditions
as regards aiden o shea he tries to bully his way to goal
not going to work even though hes a strong man
but heres the thing hes taking out 2 sometimes 3 men with him
why dont mayo work something where o sheah draws the men lays off ball to incoming forward

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 07/02/2016 13:35:04    1823021

Who had the task of marking O'Shea ? and how did they do

MonaghanGlory (Monaghan) - Posts: 738 - 07/02/2016 14:17:41    1823033

Great effort by our boys and we made Dublin really earn it who also showed great character in digging out this result. Dublin are a well seasoned streetwise outfit with the confidence of winning the big prizes at this stage and it shows. However, in the end there was a kick of ball between the sides (not for the first time). I've sang this Dublin team's praises for a long time on here and they are a great side. They've won All Ireland's and league titles but they do still need to goad? You would think those players would have good self esteem by now. I can't understand what some of there players are at and one person (who did get a black card) keeps getting away with leaving the foot and knee in late. Is there a better player at the accidentally on purpose?

JamesH (Mayo) - Posts: 465 - 07/02/2016 15:09:09    1823047

Haha yeah grass length had to be a clear plan from mayo as it was way too long to be just left.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 07/02/2016 15:57:09    1823068

Says your man whose corner back keeps getting away with murder for years now , in '11 he gave everyone he marked a haymaker and again last night struck our player on the ground, but were the bad boys and you's are poor Mayo who everyone feels sorry for.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 07/02/2016 16:04:31    1823075

Also I learnt last night your allowed to superman dive into tackles and not a thing will happen to the superman player, also Colm Boyle is allowed to do whatever he likes.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 07/02/2016 16:06:48    1823078

I think clondalkin is spot on. Theres no love lost now between both teams and sets of supporters but sure isn't that the way it always is with fierce rivals! Saddam, 3 times our boys were through on goal when we got the 3 quick points...3 times he didnt allow advantage...just watched the game back there and even Horan said as much. However he must be inside the Dublin players heads when he said Dublin thought they could just saunter down to Castlebar and win. Commentators who make assumptions like that are thinking with the heart not the head.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 07/02/2016 16:27:09    1823089

Off course Dublin played defensive football when it suited them and my initial point was that your very own Senan Connell was bragging about this part of their game.Nothing wrong with that either lads.

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 07/02/2016 16:42:07    1823091

It's ALL Tyrone's fault.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 07/02/2016 17:23:06    1823120

Element of truth there Seanie, your entitled to a wry smile when you hear a certain commentator talking about defence being an art form, as if this was a new phenomenon.
With Dublin, off course we are more defensive. But also it's more a case of if we meet a blanket defense set up like last night, instead of tearing forward all the time, we will play it around the pitch in our own half until an opening appears. We learned after 2014 that patience has to be used in certain games.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 07/02/2016 17:44:25    1823129

It's ALL Tyrone's fault.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts:7578 - 07/02/2016 17:23:06

Another great contribution from the Antrim man!!

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 07/02/2016 17:59:22    1823140

Where was that six Goal man V Sligo game last year
Was he playing you know the man I am talking about the fellow who done all that scoring when Sligo was down on there knees

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 3861 - 07/02/2016 18:43:14    1823158

Thought it was a hard game of football to watch last night. Although how is good football going to be played in those conditions. Will be a lot different come championship time if the two sides go up against each other.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 07/02/2016 18:45:11    1823160

2 things spring to mind after last nights game, the League shouldn't start until 1st April and narrow the champ fixtures, weather is awful and majority of venues can't keep the fans in shelter on a bad night, at least a daylight game you can see the rain coming, at night you can't until the deluge starts, the second thing what does Aiden O'Shea have to do to win a free, is his name blackened like Galvin for Kerry used to be, he couldn't win a free either as refs assumed he was always in the wrong

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 07/02/2016 21:07:03    1823246

He caught one ball all night and then took around 20 steps while holding onto Fitzsimons jersey and was rightly judged by the ref to be overcarrying and when your own James Horan watched the replay he agreed with the refs decision, you's are a bunch of whinge bags take your beating like men ffs.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 07/02/2016 21:43:35    1823281

Riverboys,
Mayo lad got away with a blatant off the ball body check on Jack mc Caffrey to block his run. James mc Carthy got caught high across the face . Boyle was winding everyone up , so id say ye got off lightly , Both teams were going at it hard end of story.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 07/02/2016 21:57:56    1823291

Thought we would've been beaten by a lot more give that we had half of our championship team unavailable. Aidan O'Shea is about 30% fit and obviously wasn't overly concerned about the match. Lot of positives to take from the game from a Mayo point of view. Plenty of room and potential for improvement.

pdempsey (Mayo) - Posts: 1313 - 08/02/2016 08:23:44    1823294