Mayo v Dublin

Ah it was a poor pitch a few years ago when there was more sand on it than Dollymount strand but it was ok last year. You would have to fancy the Jacks but we sometimes have a habbit of going from heroes to zeroes in the space of a few days. The Mayo support will be full of voice, just like last year, and if we don't silence them early on, anything can happen.

Toby's in Westport for the jars.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 05/02/2016 12:37:43    1822540

Explain that one please Clondalkin.If you said 'most deluded' I'ld have no issue.

Condorman I believe most people are rightly proud of their county. Can you though give me an example of us being the most deluded though please?
and don't come back here with the usual crap saying Mayo people think they will win sam....have we not had that right being in the top 3 teams and getting to the past 5 semi finals including two finals...?

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 05/02/2016 13:16:08    1822558

If Mayo are developing a new defensive strategy then our only hope this evening is to see it working. That said it was obvious the last day that the lads just don't have the legs yet. I'd take Jimbo's one point loss right now.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 06/02/2016 10:26:48    1822769

If Mayo are developing a new defensive strategy then our only hope this evening is to see it working. That said it was obvious the last day that the lads just don't have the legs yet. I'd take Jimbo's one point loss right now.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts:1314 - 06/02/2016 10:26:48 1822769

Will New Mayo Management go for a sweeper or two this year or none . Barry Moran was chosen last year against us last year and didnt work . Interesting when the game was in the melting pot against us he was taken off and AOS moved back to midfield . This gave Phillly mc Mahon more freedom.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 06/02/2016 11:40:10    1822782

Yew tree,i think condorman has ties to Galway.He got very touchy when i slated Galway's second half no show v Kilkenny in last years All Ireland final,even though a lot of Galway lads agreed with me.He seems to have little time for Mayo.That is quite evident on here.Condorman cannot hide his Galway blood!

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 06/02/2016 12:03:43    1822788

Good luck to the Dubs and Dubs fans tonight in Mayo.Hope it's a good test for us on the road and another 2 points would be nice to come away with.Football in January isn't a great yardstick for some teams but in more recent years the top teams tend to take it more seriously and winning is a good habit.Dublin to win by 6-8 points.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 06/02/2016 12:58:45    1822800

Athcliath, if we don't do the full Tyrone we'll get stuffed!

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 06/02/2016 13:16:50    1822809

Not a great game by ant streatch Dont know why Vaughn got booked But Sloppy game for a Sloppy day

cluichethar (Mayo) - Posts: 454 - 06/02/2016 19:45:21    1822903

and the referee....

Angus (Dublin) - Posts: 283 - 06/02/2016 20:17:12    1822908

Usual low scoring in horrible conditions, better team won.

KerryKillers (Dublin) - Posts: 711 - 06/02/2016 20:47:25    1822919

Dublin were better but Mayo were very sloppy. They worked hard to get the ball back and then they go and give it away immediately. Dublin make much fewer mistakes.

Difficult conditions to referee a game but he is a very frustrating ref. He should play advantage more.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 06/02/2016 20:54:43    1822921

The two teams tried their best in what looked like awful conditions. I thought Mayo were the better team in the first half and expected them to push a longer ball into O'Shea at 14 in the second half but it just didn't materialise. This was probably down to the Dublin tactic of putting pressure high up the pitch and not allowing an accurate long ball.

The game really could have went either way but fair play to Dublin, even the Wild Atlantic Way didn't halt their march!!

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 06/02/2016 21:09:05    1822930

Awful conditions for both teams and its hard to really get any good patches of open play in such weather.Mayo a bit sloppy in their handling and passing etc.Dublin seemed more in control more often.Have to laugh at Declan O'Sullivan and Senan Connell now making the case for defensive football.When Dublin do it its a great part of their game to admire but when its from them boys up north,not so pretty to look at lol.You couldn't make it up.There you have it though,defensive football is now a legitimate part of the modern game.They were even comparing the Dublin style to that of the Donegal of a few years back,remember....them from Ulster that almost destroyed football! You're preaching to the choir lads....glad to see you've caught up by catching yourselves on lol!!

seanie_boy (Tyrone) - Posts: 4235 - 06/02/2016 21:54:01    1822955

Nobody has an issue with defensive football - minus the diving and cheating. I dont recall anyone slating mccann for being back in his own defence last year...

Mayo defended well in periods. Poor in attack though. Aidan oshea making poor decisions in possession and hennelly doing likewise on a few kickouts cost us at a vital time. Well done dublin on beating mayos b team

One thing i have an issue with is this pulling a guy back just outside the box when they break through on goal. Its probably the most cynical thing you can do, yet isnt even a black card. Cadogan done it last week, it was done to regan this week. Both times it prevented the goal.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 07/02/2016 09:40:13    1822967

It wasn't pretty but by God that was a good run out for February.
Mayo were always going to come out fighting and really put it up to us but these lads don't lie down. Win pretty or ugly they can play either game.

SLLY (Dublin) - Posts: 463 - 07/02/2016 10:09:52    1822972

Wasn't far from our own 'B' team either, great win in difficult conditions against our main rival!

KerryKillers (Dublin) - Posts: 711 - 07/02/2016 10:11:37    1822973

Seance boys how can you day Dublin played defensive football. I don't know what a camera shows you but mayo had 13 back throughout the match so how they can make out Dublin went defensive is baffling. If anything Dublin were more open than other games as we pushed ten men up in mayos half for kick outside even. The one thing we have learned to do is not to run into blind alleys when teams bring back thirteen men in their own half. Instead we now are being patient and working the ball until the other teams comes out of their shell. When we are winning it's sensible as the it her teams needs to come out and play now pointing in US turning over possession just like they want us to do.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 07/02/2016 10:34:18    1822976

Delighted with that win in awful conditions in a somewhat hostile environment away from home against a top 3 team. The lads were patient and dug it out. A few observations .....the pitch was in dire need of a cut....though as was pointed out to me the storms have made it quite difficult to do that. Also, Colm Boyle was so wound up last night. He was very aggressive altogether. Philly absolutely no need to do what ge did and deserved black. DoC i think it was was lucky to stay on the pitch for his 2 superman like dives on our boys. An enjoyable game for Feb. Onwards!

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 07/02/2016 10:53:42    1822979

Fair play to Rochford - did the right thing and lucked out with the weather!

13-14 men behind the ball from the offset and scores just don't come easily playing like that or against it! So its most pleasing to beat teams setup like that away from home on such a poor night for football

Shows how well we've now adapted and well done to the more inexperienced players

No point looking too much into it though as both teams were missing players, but it was full blooded stuff and the supporters were well into it!

A lot of p****d off Mayo fans around me... and there was a lot of verbals going on but all in good spirits. I just kept the head down and enjoyed the show! A great crowd of over 10,000 on such a night in early Feb... Great stuff! A lot of people forgot it was close to two B teams on show... 15 Mayo men v 15 Dublin men (well for most parts) was all that mattered... and boy did it matter!

So it's another 2 points and a most pleasing start to the year with wins home and away against our nearest and dearest, nice to beat Mayo away from home two years on the bounce, another couple of wins and we should be exactly where we want to be!

Onwards and upwards and that game will really stand to Dublin. More blankets on the way...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 07/02/2016 11:53:43    1822994

Grass length was no accident
Sure they even paid Mother Nature to deal us the worst of the west :)

KerryKillers (Dublin) - Posts: 711 - 07/02/2016 12:10:26    1822999