Division 3 Football

Good game between Limerick and Tipp. Limerick did well to hold Tipp in the first half to 1.5 to 4 when Tipp had the strong wind, then Limerick dominated the first 20 of the second half and raced into a 1.10 to 1.7 lead. It felt like Limerick had 75% possession but Tipp managed to scrape a goal and dig out the draw. Finished Limerick 1.12 Tipp 2.9

blackspot91 (Limerick) - Posts: 1055 - 31/01/2016 16:50:48    1820888

Mixed first day as usual Sligo and Longford now looking over their shoulder already. Limerick showing great battle as usual strong at home to take a point. Could be a costly point for Tipp. Clare are flying and face Tipp next. Dark horses maybe!!

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 31/01/2016 17:30:07    1820916

Good win for Kildare. 2 great goals in the first half. Only 3 points in the second half with the wind but at least that gives O'Neill a few areas to work on. A good result against Offaly next week should set us up nicely for the 3 week break.

jimski (Kildare) - Posts: 381 - 31/01/2016 18:07:47    1820940

I keep expecting Tipp to build on the underage success they've had. It might take them a few more seasons. Galway had a lot of U21 level success and are only coming good now.

crikey (Australia) - Posts: 355 - 03/02/2016 11:34:44    1821844

Surprised with Westmeath losing 2 games already and playing catch up. At this stage Kildare already seem to be home and hosed. Probably played two of the toughest games you would get against your near neighbours Westmeath & Offaly. I dont think anyone else is bound to trouble them.

Second is looking like a ding dong battle already everyone is beating each other although Tipp & Kildare unbeaten , Tipp have a few tricky games on the road. Wouldn't rule out a Sligo or Clare charge yet for promotion. Shaping up nicely!!

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 08/02/2016 16:11:23    1823591

very dissapointed that limerick threw away a 5 point lead with 10 to go against longford. Plenty of good footballers in limerick not being picked because they're playing soccer or rugby as well. also william o donoghue is tied up with na piarsigh in the hurling but would be a great option at midfield. him and hegarty dominated cork in the u21s last year at midfield

blackspot91 (Limerick) - Posts: 1055 - 08/02/2016 16:20:55    1823602

Blackspot ye probably should have beaten Longford and Tipp as well last week. Very unlucky not to have 4 points on the board. Didnt know Will played football his some hurler he might get picked for the hurlers first or would he not be that close yet to making TJs panel ?

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 08/02/2016 17:08:43    1823625

Kildare were impressive yesterday. Offaly struggled big time around the middle but did really well to get within four points in the end. Sligo and Clare at home in our next two games are crucial.

PortInFaithful (Offaly) - Posts: 472 - 08/02/2016 17:09:49    1823627

you're right wildpundit he'd have a good chance of starting for the hurlers this year so the footballers are losing out again unless he goes down the duel route like hegarty. although I thought Hegarty looked a tired man against longford. Playing both fitzgibbon, sigerson, county football and hurling.

blackspot91 (Limerick) - Posts: 1055 - 09/02/2016 11:49:19    1823869

Kildare were impressive yesterday. Offaly struggled big time around the middle but did really well to get within four points in the end. Sligo and Clare at home in our next two games are crucial.

PortInFaithful (Offaly) - Posts:103 - 08/02/2016 17:09:49

ProtinFaithful

Kildare were impressive for the first 20mins but in common with many performances over the last few years, when they were 8 points up half way through the second half they failed to kick on. When the lead was down to 3, memories of late comebacks by Tyrone and Down in the last couple of years came flooding back. There were positives though - Feely and Dan Flynn in midfield, and as the game wore on Neil Flynn with his free-taking.
Away to Longford next and then 3 of the last 4 are at home so prospects look good for promotion.

jimski (Kildare) - Posts: 381 - 13/02/2016 12:03:43    1825055

No surprise to see Clare on the verge of Div 2.well deserved. Tipp have fallen apart and could b relegated.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 27/03/2016 18:41:23    1838202

Kildare promoted but only yesterday did they finally show the potential they have. A number of players on the U21 panel will further bolster the squad when available but for now their focus is on Leinster U21 Final next weekend in Navan.

The relegation scrap will be fascinating next weekend - Limerick on 1 pt are already relegated, but then you have Westmeath on 5 pts and 4 teams on 6 so there is a strong chance that you will have a team relegated with 6 pts!

jimski (Kildare) - Posts: 381 - 27/03/2016 19:24:29    1838233

I was expecting Tipperary to get promoted to Division 2 based on the under age success they've had. Maybe next year when those players are more mature.

crikey (Australia) - Posts: 355 - 28/03/2016 11:48:11    1838373

Tipp could still get relegated. If Offaly beat Limerick, Westmeath beat Longford and Sligo beat Tipp, Tipp are relegated because of their head to head with Longford. All to play for next weekend as any 5 could be relegated with Limerick and possibly that again could be promoted with Kildare!

Spinx (Longford) - Posts: 1236 - 28/03/2016 12:49:28    1838398

In my opinion, Liam Kearns comments from out of Tipp were a joke and very disrespectful towards the Clare footballers and indeed the two lads who were brave enough to try make it with their county hurlers. Bitterness and arrogance shone through with his assumption that Tipp would be in the promotion places if they had them and I assume its Clare's place he thinks they would take. He was pointing fingers in every direction but never once looked at himself. I hope Tipp get rid of him as he hasn't improved a talented crop of footballers and after that I wouldn't hold my breath of the O Brien and Kennedy playing under him next year.

Banner.Abu (Clare) - Posts: 92 - 31/03/2016 15:02:44    1839688

Potentially five teams going for one promotion place to join Kildare on Sunday. Realistically though Clare with their superior scoring difference should be promoted even if they lose to Kildare

lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 2990 - 31/03/2016 15:04:22    1839689

Does it not come down to head to head too in d promotion and relegation places? If Tipp beat Sligo they shud get promoted as long as westmeath beat Longford giving dat we beat Clare and Offaly. However shud we lose we need westmeath to lose and limerick to beat offaly. Tipp have not improved at all missing O,Riordan, O,Brien, and probably Kennedy are the biggest losses don't think Kearns knows what his doing at the moment. With a good pick from U21 and minor winners it's not working out. I would have been happy to finish behind kildare and westmeath at the start of the league but it's a massive game Sunday v a good Sligo team and we cud find ourselves in the basement division going backwards if we lose. On d flip side a win and other results going our way we cud b in the second division.

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 31/03/2016 20:20:40    1839871

Wildpundit it goes to score difference if its more than two teams it doesnt matter if you have beaten the other two teams you are tied with. This is Clares big advantage this weekend i think apart from Westmeatj and Kildare we are the only ones with a positive score difference and we are on plus 30. You need Tipp Kildare to win and Limerick and Westmeath to get something from their games so its only Clare and Tipp on 8 points. Then my friend Tipp are promoted

Banner.Abu (Clare) - Posts: 92 - 31/03/2016 20:45:56    1839883

Wild Pundit it is head to head if there are two teams on the same points. If there are more than two teams it goes on points difference.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 31/03/2016 21:20:09    1839910

Congrats to my native Banner county on their richly deserved promotion to div 2. Considering the dearth of resources (both in no. of clubs and money invested by co. board) and lack of tradition, this is arguably the greatest achievement by any county in the four divisions this year (even cavan going up to div 1!)

There as a really spine-tingling moment shortly after full time at newbridge today when the players went off the field waiting nervously for results elsewhere in the division. When the news filtered through from the selector, the collective burst of emotion was unforgettable. Kildare fans were staring at them as if they had six heads on them!

Although they have a very low profile nationally, players like Gary Brennan, Jamie Malone, Cathal O'Connor and Kevin Hartnett would get on most div 1 county panels..

There's no doubt it's going to be an extremely tall order to survive in Div 2 next year but the lads will certainly give it everything.

banner_boy (Clare) - Posts: 1285 - 03/04/2016 20:35:28    1841159