Division 1 Football

Pat O'Shea, Jack O'Connor and Jim Gavin all took over teams that had won all Ireland's very recently to them taken over. Mickey Harte won an all Ireland with a team he had basically brought through from underage and were well drilled on his game plan. Rome wasn't built in a day. Majority of our players would have never worked with McStay and McHale previously and its there gameplan we adopting the long quick kick pass. Don't forget they are taking over a team that were playing against Kilkenny in D4 only 5 short years ago with a good few new young lads. For you to think we should have new managements gameplan perfected and down to a T in 4 months of which at least two were fitness based is complete bull and shows you have probably never kicked a ball and definitely not in modern era

Pingcity (Longford) - Posts: 568 - 23/03/2016 17:25:01    1837136

Mad stuff altogether. Better players than kerry cork and Donegal? I do not believe that cavan have as good players as this and if suggested same I would be laughed at. Yet we have a better midfield than roscommon a better full back and possibly better backs over all. Cavan for Sam 2017??

sceptical (Cavan) - Posts: 544 - 23/03/2016 18:20:55    1837147

Pat O'Shea, Jack O'Connor and Jim Gavin all took over teams that had won all Ireland's very recently to them taken over. Mickey Harte won an all Ireland with a team he had basically brought through from underage and were well drilled on his game plan. Rome wasn't built in a day. Majority of our players would have never worked with McStay and McHale previously and its there gameplan we adopting the long quick kick pass. Don't forget they are taking over a team that were playing against Kilkenny in D4 only 5 short years ago with a good few new young lads. For you to think we should have new managements gameplan perfected and down to a T in 4 months of which at least two were fitness based is complete bull and shows you have probably never kicked a ball and definitely not in modern era
Pingcity (Longford) - Posts:338 - 23/03/2016 17:25:01 1

I agree with everything you just said.

Roscommon are currently playing Division 1 football for the first time in god knows how long, they have a new and very clever management team with new idea's, and the team are adapting to those idea's like ducks to water. Roscommon are going in the right direction, and have the look of a top 8 team.

Going by recent trends, generally a new challenging team needs to lose a All Ireland Semi Final before going on to win the actual All Ireland. I don't think an All Ireland Semi final is beyond Roscommon, but I do think an All Ireland title is unlikely at first real attempt in years. Not Impossible, but unlikely.

Word of warning though, Roscommon have got a fairly free reign so far. But they haven't faced deep tactical scrutiny yet, something that will come if you continue to play well. And that is the real challenge against the big guns, as Derry found out to their detriment in 2014 after beating the likes of Dublin, Kerry and Mayo in the league. You can beat anybody if they don't consider you a serious threat, but once you come to their attention as a serious outfit, you soon find playing these big teams becomes a hell of a lot harder and your key men get little or no space.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 23/03/2016 18:45:00    1837155

Exactly time will tell, Kerry are an ageing team and I would be confident of beating Kerry again should we meet. I just said that was my opinion why do you reckon its so baffling? how much do you know about our players or our players coming through? Look I am honestly not trying come across as over cocky but working in Dublin I made the brave prediction to the lads I work with when I started three years ago that we would be in the top 2 or 3 in country in next few years and I haven't had any doubts yet. All we needed was right direction and a solid gameplan to bring out best in our lads and bring a bit of consistency to our game.I am not overly worried about result in next two league games I would rather we relax a bit and then hit form again for championship, The only negative thing for us so far is we havnt got see possibly our two best players yet Murtagh and Harney and the sooner there back 100% the better

Pingcity (Longford) - Posts:338 - 23/03/2016 16:26:06 1837118

Thats no problem at all of course your entitled to your opinion. However I have yet to see anything to back it up. Yes Roscommon won a few league games and fair play to them for doing so but that doesnt put ye in the top 2 or 3.

I barely remember Roscommon in the championship where it really matters over the last number of years..maybe ye did make the quarter finals a few years ago but not much otherwise. Yes of cpurse you have better knowledge of the players but Im very confident Kerry players are still are a level above your guys for now.

Would of course be great for a team like Roscommon to make a breakthrough but you have to walk before you can run.

Hope im wrong though would be great to see a successful rossies team back again

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 23/03/2016 19:38:38    1837166

Roscommon are a team for the future. There's potential there, but potential is all it is until they win something more meaningful than a few league matches in the early part of the year.

All the same, I wouldn't be surprised to see Mayo relegated. They just don't look up to speed just yet, but I would imagine their eyes are on the summer in any case.

ZeitChrist (UK) - Posts: 154 - 23/03/2016 20:42:19    1837179

Pingcity would you ever take a chill pill, we have won a few early season league matches before the other half got out of bed, no more.
Late July early August will tell us where we are.

giveballaghback (Roscommon) - Posts: 296 - 23/03/2016 20:46:40    1837181

So what you're saying Pingcity is that the players were already there in these counties so a new manager coming in and stamping his own systems of play was easy and didn't have a detrimental effect on their chance of success. But Roscommon, what with having better players than Cork, Kerry and Donegal won't be able to fulfil their potential for the next couple of years because a new management team is in place and trying to implement a new game plan and system of play? This with probably 3 or 4 training sessions/ get togethers on an average week, weekend training camps, backs coaches, forward coaches, video analysis, team meetings, one to one meetings etc etc. Not following your logic, seems more like your getting your excuses in early just in case the whole thing blows up in your face again like last year.
Look Roscommon may well come good, I hope they do, but until then I would hold off on the idle boasts of the likes your making. As i said earlier we're still in March.
As for your assumptions on my playing career or lack off, well whatever you think yourself, I certainly was no Peter Canavan, but hey who was. However I did play under at least 10 different managers at senior level, some better than others and if we lowly club players could adapt to new managers and game plans on two training sessions a week surely it will be simple for the rising superstars in Roscommon

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 23/03/2016 21:28:00    1837187

So what you're saying Pingcity is that the players were already there in these counties so a new manager coming in and stamping his own systems of play was easy and didn't have a detrimental effect on their chance of success.

Yes that's exactly what I am saying Jim Gavin for instance took over a Dublin team that had won an Ireland just over 12 Months before he took over, O Shea and O'Connor story is similar they took over teams already at the top table and a little tweak here and there is all that was needed for them to get over the line. Same with McStay when he took over St.Brigids and won the club All Ireland they were already a fairly established and well drilled team this time however Roscommon starting base is way down on any off above mentioned and a new type of professionalism that our players wouldn't not be used to I say it again it doesn't happen over night.

This with probably 3 or 4 training sessions/ get togethers on an average week, weekend training camps, backs coaches, forward coaches, video analysis, team meetings, one to one meetings etc etc.

Roscommon train twice a week Tuesdays and Thursday if your ever done and want to have a look out of the panel of about 40 only 6 are based in county cant ask lads come back from Dublin,Galway and Limerick 4 times during the week

However I did play under at least 10 different managers at senior level, some better than others and if we lowly club players could adapt to new managers and game plans on two training sessions a week surely it will be simple for the rising superstars in Roscommon

At least 10 managers? that a lot in a club career. You obviously didn't win too much with that turn over of managers. Did you ever stop to think that maybe ye were getting rid of managers too quick and hadn't fully perfected their gameplan in the short space of time they were over you?
Maybe players are "Slower" as you say now a days but I can assure you it takes time to perfect a gameplan so that in the heat of championship match or any important game for that matter that the gameplan doesn't go out the window. I have been involved myself in successful and not successful teams and in my experience the chances of winning are greatly increased when gameplan is perfected by whole panel and that takes months.

Pingcity (Longford) - Posts: 568 - 24/03/2016 08:36:05    1837202

Pingcity has to be on a wind up. There is no way he/she could think that Roscommon have better players than Cork, Kerry and Donegal.

How many under age All Ireland titles has these outrageously talented players got??? Surely if they were that good then they would have won something regardless of the managers.

A Connacht final win and a 1/4 final appearance would be a massive achievement for this Roscommon team considering have their recent championship performances.

I cant believe I have taken the time to respond to probably the most delusional posts I've ever seen

Goalie2016 (Mayo) - Posts: 36 - 24/03/2016 10:56:35    1837251

Yes Pingcity it takes months not years. Twice a week? Never meet up at the weekends? Would meeting up once at the weekends plus two mid-week training sessions make three times a week?
As for myself (which has no relevance to what we are talking about so I don't really know why I'm feeling any need to justify myself to you) a different manager for an average of every two years, some longer, some for only one, not that extraordinary for a club team I would hazard a guess.
Anyway that's the last I'm going to say to you on this topic because as the goalie says, your obviously on a wind up, either that or delusional so either way I can't win.

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 24/03/2016 13:50:03    1837338

I can't understand Why you retain Longford as your county? Is it because until the last few seasons Longford had more success than Roscommon?

sceptical (Cavan) - Posts: 544 - 24/03/2016 14:49:46    1837366

I can't understand Why you retain Longford as your county? Is it because until the last few seasons Longford had more success than Roscommon?

sceptical (Cavan) - Posts:393 - 24/03/2016 14:49:46

This is second time you or another Cavan poster has asked and like I said the last time I am a Rossie who lived in Longford at the time off setting up this profile. I have since moved home. I have never claimed to be from Longford or posted about Longford I have always identified myself with Roscommon football. Can you tell me how I change it to say Roscommon can you????? what you doing in a D1 thread anyway??

Pingcity (Longford) - Posts: 568 - 24/03/2016 15:52:58    1837389

Anyway on our game this weekend I think it will tell us a lot about where we are. I know we have the ability to compete with the top teams but have we the mental strength. Against Cork,Kerry and Donegal nobody really gave us a chance and now when people are expecting us maybe to get a result there is a bit extra pressure on us. Our first time to play in the hyde this year in front of a large attendance will bring added pressure. Under Evans we cracked when we were expected to perform hopefully things have changed

Pingcity (Longford) - Posts: 568 - 24/03/2016 16:06:25    1837395

Cool off pingcity and let's see how the year develops. It's great that we will be playing in D1 again next year. However, until we get a settled, competitive midfield we are unlikely to get near any silverware.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 24/03/2016 16:25:07    1837403

Good man PingCity,
Stick up for your county, they are playing well at the moment and hopefully carry the form through into championship.
If you believe your county has the better players , sure why not say it.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 24/03/2016 17:28:43    1837429

Mayo way better team so far they should be out of sight but there forwards are kicking so many wides.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 27/03/2016 15:55:31    1838108

Shocking conditions for the Mayo v Roscommon game. No bounce on the ball at all.

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 27/03/2016 15:57:29    1838109

Yeah if the ball doesn't bounce naturally cause of the water on the pitch it should of been called off. Brutal stuff hopefully the second half is better.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 27/03/2016 16:13:31    1838116

Serious turn out here in the Hyde pitch conditions awful. We are very lucky to be only two points down but we have very makeshift team out missing at least 7 starters come summer and have no midfield. Ref gave Mayo some amount in first half hope someone has word with him during the break

Pingcity (Longford) - Posts: 568 - 27/03/2016 16:24:09    1838120

Cooking the lamb , wine in the hand actually finding the game entertaining conditions truly shocking ,running between kitchen and sitting room

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 27/03/2016 16:27:19    1838122