Division 1 Football

Decent win for us after a shaky start, didn't make it up to Newry(great spot for games and pints)as I'm recovering from my stags today ha ha. Semi final far from certain with 5 teams still battling it out for top 4 so some tasty enough games to look forward to in the last two rounds....the same goes for down the bottom. I'm glad we guaranteed top 4 for ourselves before we play Donegal and away to an impressive Roscommon side who are playing some good football and will Connacht a right rattle this summer.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 14/03/2016 10:09:43    1834470

Good win for the Kingdom yesterday, momentum is starting to build now.

Though trip up to Monaghan at Easter and I wouldn't underestimate Cork either but we might have a decent chance at a semi-final spot now if we keep improving.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 14/03/2016 11:17:54    1834537

Kerry had pretty much their Champ side out against Mayo

Think aul Eamo could sense the wolves at his door a couple of weeks ago

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 14/03/2016 11:33:59    1834549

Jimbo, 6 of our probable championship side are still laid up so no, we have a bit of strength in depth to come back the whole time.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 14/03/2016 11:44:24    1834558

Jimbo, 6 of our probable championship side are still laid up so no, we have a bit of strength in depth to come back the whole time.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts:1151 - 14/03/2016 11:44:24

Who are the six?

Pingcity (Longford) - Posts: 568 - 14/03/2016 12:38:04    1834593

Will six points be enough to avoid relegation, could be that more than two teams finish on 6 points, would it then go down to points difference. In any event we need a win from somewhere either Kerry or perhaps a winner takes all clash with Donegal... Jaysus perish the thought

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 14/03/2016 13:01:38    1834608

O'Donoghue, Moran, Maher, Paul Geaney, Mike Geaney and possibly Kieran O'Leary

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 14/03/2016 13:11:03    1834614

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts:1151 - 14/03/2016 11:44:24

Who are the six?

Pingcity (Longford) - Posts:304 - 14/03/2016 12:38:04 1834593

David Moran, Anthony Maher, Killian Young, Paul Geaney, James O Donoghue were part of the starting championship team last year and are out injured. Michael Geaney is just back training after his back injury ensured that he missed the late stage 2015 championship. Tommy Walsh is injured at the moment but hard to tell if he will get a starting place, Kieran O Leary was captain in 2014 and is also due back but proberly will be a sub. Also I would expect some of the U21 team to join the squad especially Brian Ó Beaglaoich who played earlier in the league and maybe Cillian Spillane

kerrykerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1779 - 14/03/2016 13:23:36    1834622

Story of the championship The Rossies , I for one did not think they would do as well , yes they had strong underage teams but mixing it with the big boys on the back of last seasons championship nope didn't give them a prayer , but obviously a combination of good management team and instilling belief into a team with potential has been the key , after first result they have seriously bounced back , looking forward tp playing them and that's not something I thought Id say this year.

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 14/03/2016 13:24:55    1834623

David Moran, Anthony Maher, Killian Young, Paul Geaney, James O Donoghue were part of the starting championship team last year and are out injured. Michael Geaney is just back training after his back injury ensured that he missed the late stage 2015 championship. Tommy Walsh is injured at the moment but hard to tell if he will get a starting place, Kieran O Leary was captain in 2014 and is also due back but proberly will be a sub. Also I would expect some of the U21 team to join the squad especially Brian Ó Beaglaoich who played earlier in the league and maybe Cillian Spillane
kerrykerry (Kerry)

Yea but apart from that.......

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 14/03/2016 13:30:57    1834630

Cillian Spillane cant even start for Kerry u21 he is no where near senior level. Watched him in Junior All Ireland club final and he didn't exactly light it up at a poor level. Tommy Walsh who you claim to be carrying a knock wouldn't have started your last two league games anyway due to poor form. Anyway its easy say team has such an amount of injuries. We are missing at least 12 squad member due to injury at the minute 6 of who would be certain starters if they were fit and we still handled ye,Cork and Donegal fairly comfortable with two thirds of our best 15

Pingcity (Longford) - Posts: 568 - 14/03/2016 14:09:36    1834651

Jaysus a couple of wins and Roscommon are already All Ireland champions in waiting judging by the above.

I'd keep the powder dry myself for a while longer.

I seem to remember Derry having a great League campaign in 2014 a year later they were sent back to Divison 2.

One swallow and all that....

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 14/03/2016 14:34:43    1834664

Cillian Spillane cant even start for Kerry u21 he is no where near senior level. Watched him in Junior All Ireland club final and he didn't exactly light it up at a poor level. Tommy Walsh who you claim to be carrying a knock wouldn't have started your last two league games anyway due to poor form. Anyway its easy say team has such an amount of injuries. We are missing at least 12 squad member due to injury at the minute 6 of who would be certain starters if they were fit and we still handled ye,Cork and Donegal fairly comfortable with two thirds of our best 15

Pingcity (Longford) - Posts:307 - 14/03/2016 14:09:36 183

Pingcity, sure you're the one that asked who was on the injury list!!!!

surfdude62 (Kerry) - Posts: 46 - 14/03/2016 14:50:04    1834676

Pingcity fair play to the Rossies really great league so far.
You had a great league last year too then wheels came off when it mattered.
I think you have a real chance in connaught this year.
Maybe we might meet in the semis .. you'll have a few of those lads back might give us another beating...

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 14/03/2016 14:50:07    1834677

Nobody is claiming we will be anywhere near Sam this year if we lose every other game this year we have already achieved our goal of retaining D1 status. And I am not biggin us up our anything only I don't buy these excuses from Kerry players saying we have such and such to come back. Ye are missing no more than anyone else. And posters claiming fellas are going to make an impact when they cant even make an u21 side is beyond belief

Pingcity (Longford) - Posts: 568 - 14/03/2016 14:51:11    1834678

Pincity you are turning into our RD please contain your enthusiasm till we at least get into a provincial final something we haven't achieved since 2011.
Let the cute kerry hores and the fans of the team who play all championship games in croker get the novelty factor out of us.
Let the media hype us, we don't have to do there work.

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 14/03/2016 14:51:27    1834679

Nobody is claiming we will be anywhere near Sam this year if we lose every other game this year we have already achieved our goal of retaining D1 status. And I am not biggin us up our anything only I don't buy these excuses from Kerry players saying we have such and such to come back. Ye are missing no more than anyone else. And posters claiming fellas are going to make an impact when they cant even make an u21 side is beyond belief

Pingcity (Longford) - Posts:310 - 14/03/2016 14:51:11

No one claimed we were missing more then anyone else.

Why would any kerry fan be making excuses..excuses for what?? Won the last three games and good chance of making the semis

Jimbo claimed to have our championship 15 out yesterday but my fellow kerry posters simply pointed out that a 3rd of our starting team still to return..Maher, Moran, Young, O Donoghue, Geaneys and I wouldnt be surprised if Brian O Beaglaoich is a starter too

No reason why a couple of the other u21s cant make an impact either..wouldnt rule them out because of a poor game for their club

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 14/03/2016 15:24:18    1834710

Just on Cillian Spillane I watched him in that junior final and I wasn't impressed , yes if you were looking at him as a junior player he did well but we're looking at him as the next superstar of Kerry football and I'm not sure he will be. Maybe he's young and needs time but from what I seen he won't be playing for Kerry this year or anytime soon.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 14/03/2016 15:58:18    1834733

Players come on at different rates; I have seen Cillian play many times and he does have potential but we will see, you couid be right and it's too early for him. Now Brendan O Sullivan whose 26 is only this year making making roads into the senior squad. Now I wouldn't be surprised if they use him more in the championship.

What's the story with Donie Shine? When will he be back?

kerrykerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1779 - 14/03/2016 16:26:08    1834743

He's back training at the moment and played for his club last week.I'd imagine he will start Sunday week vs mayo.

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1057 - 14/03/2016 16:38:41    1834749