Division 1 Football

How long till someone says they're peaking too early?

valley84 (Westmeath) - Posts: 1890 - 28/02/2016 16:29:00    1828870

Just in from the Donegal Mayo game which was a very enjoyable hour of football for the end of February.

By the looks of things Down & Cork, who were Donegal's first two opponents, have real problems so this was a real test of where Donegal are & they came through it well against a Mayo team that had a good number of players back.

Onward & upward.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 28/02/2016 16:34:38    1828874

Really enjoyed the Mayo Donegal match. Great intensity throughout and a great win by Donegal.
Kerry had the handiest of wins , Down look a very very poor outfit

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 28/02/2016 16:53:03    1828885

From what i saw of game,Michael Murphy was colossal once more.The best footballer in Ireland right now for me.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 28/02/2016 16:57:49    1828890

Fair enough Dubs I am chastened. Mayo - Donegal match was excellent and very enjoyable. Some good football on show and Donegal moved the ball brilliantly at times, they are a serious contender for honours again. Roscommon seem reborn, they are putting together some great results and fair play to them. Down are a pale shadow of a once great footballing county while Derry are very inconsistent.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9702 - 28/02/2016 17:06:05    1828897

What about the meekish rebels?Fair play to the Rossies on another fine victory,but Cork being beaten out the Pairc Ui Rinn gate by a ludicrous 21 ponts is nothing short of a disgrace.This after being walloped up in Donegal a few weeks back.Where was the reaction?In front of their own fans they put in a no-show like that?Pathetic.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 28/02/2016 17:19:29    1828912

I see dubs had to bring b brogan back from hibernation to win the game last night still depending on the ol lads I see.

chicago09 (Kerry) - Posts: 694 - 28/02/2016 17:20:48    1828915

I see dubs had to bring b brogan back from hibernation to win the game last night still depending on the ol lads I see.

chicago09 (Kerry) - 28/02/2016 17:20:48

Haha! Dependeng on the 'ol lads'?! Remind us how old Marc O'Sé and Aidan O'Mahony are chicago09??

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 28/02/2016 17:26:38    1828923

Good man Chicago, BB is still a starter on our 15, I see you brought back the Gooch to avoid relegation :D

KerryKillers (Dublin) - Posts: 711 - 28/02/2016 18:14:53    1828948

chicago09 (Kerry) - Posts:517 - 28/02/2016 17:20:48 1828915

Come championship Kerry will have 9 players aged 30 or over

Marc O'Se (36)
Aidan OMahony (36)
Kieran Donaghy (33)
Colm Cooper (33)
Donnacha Walsh (32)
Bryan Sheehan (31)
Darran O'Sullivan (30)
Anthony Maher (30)
Brendan Kealy (30)

Gael85 (Dublin) - Posts: 1433 - 28/02/2016 19:23:57    1828983

Great result today and very enjoyable game even though the ref tried his best to ruin it. I thought both teams were excellent in the second half. The pace of the game for this time of year was great to see and some excellent scores. It was an important win for us as we are away to Kerry and Dublin next. Ticking along nicely but we need to improve at midfield and stopping runners further out the field. We also need a keeper that can catch a ball.

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 28/02/2016 20:24:19    1829028

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal)

We don't need a keeper who can catch the ball, we need a keeper who can adopt a kick out strategy, Gallagher and Cooney spent most of the game running messages to Boyle in the first half in particular.

His philosophy was head down, kick it hard and far!!!! Then he was dressed down by Rory after circa 20mins and tired to hit the wings, we seen how that went. I was surprised he wasn't hauled off at HT.... He cost us alot of possession and scorers in the first half....

beidhmeanseo (Donegal) - Posts: 137 - 29/02/2016 09:25:26    1829109

i woulnt be too hard on Boyle. If you looked at our league and championship performances last year against mayo, we got totally cleaned out at mid field. Durcan might have been a bit more clever with his selections, but there is only so much a keeper can do when faced with opposition who has an excellent mid field

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 29/02/2016 09:47:34    1829116

Donegal v Mayo was a very enjoyable game of football for the time of year.

Both sides impressed me. I think Mayo will be alright in terms of relegation. I fancy them to pick up points versus Kerry, Roscommon and maybe Monaghan.

Donegal the most impressive team in the league so far. Quality all over the pitch, didn't play well all day yesterday but was impressed with their response after the Mayo goal.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13708 - 29/02/2016 09:48:15    1829118

Down were completely outclassed yesterday and a lot of the Down fans I was sitting beside were saying they think the team is out of its depth at this level.

So we won't be installing ourselves as All Ireland champions in waiting just yet but it was still heartening to see flashes of the real Kerry yesterday. Some wonderful attacking plays and beautiful scores, the kick passing throughout, especially into the full forward line was a joy to watch. Great to see Gooch back and his point was wonderfully taken.

Donegal will be a huge test next Sunday, but what with it being reopening of Austin Stacks and the massive improvement I saw yesterday, I'm a bit more confident than I was last week!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 29/02/2016 09:48:30    1829120

As I expected we beat Cork but with a bit more ease than I would have taught. Anyone of the opinion this is a poor Cork side just needs to remember the hammering they gave Mayo down there a month ago so our lads deserve great credit. Fancy us to make semis with wins against Down and Mayo and I also think we will beat Donegal TBH.

I think Mayo are in real trouble after a disastrous start and the new management team look way out of there dept. Poor call from Mayo players getting rid of previous management from the looks of things so far

Pingcity (Longford) - Posts: 568 - 29/02/2016 10:38:40    1829149

Fancy us to make semis with wins against Down and Mayo and I also think we will beat Donegal TBH.

Won't be surprised to see Roscommon make the semis, and I hope they do. Think they'll beat Down and Mayo but i don't see them beating Donegal. They're very hard to beat at home.

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 29/02/2016 10:45:25    1829156

Yes, if Kerry don't get anything against Donegal next week the Kerry v Mayo game in Castlebar looks like being a relegation decider!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 29/02/2016 10:48:42    1829160

Won't be surprised to see Roscommon make the semis, and I hope they do. Think they'll beat Down and Mayo but i don't see them beating Donegal. They're very hard to beat at home.

This time yesterday people were saying the same about Cork

Pingcity (Longford) - Posts: 568 - 29/02/2016 10:59:55    1829178

stamping on the penalty spot had to be a knew low in our game and done by more than one player, I'm all for big hits and tough tackling but that was shameful. Also how is certain player getting away with constantly roaring at the opposition free taker as he's about to kick the ball it's going on 5 years now and he's still getting away with it.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 29/02/2016 11:04:19    1829182