Division 1 Football

monaghanmad,
What a small minded little post!! It's not that long since Monaghan were the new boys on the block & their supporters were, rightly, in effusive good humour & maybe losing the run of themselves a bit. Same with Roscommon last year & Westmeath a few years back.

As for speaking on my behalf, don't even dream about it!!

Well done Cavan, welcome to Div 1.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 03/04/2016 19:41:21    1841081

Good man monaghanmad, after three yrs in div 1 and hammering Cavan by a point in the last two ulster championships, you have every right to feel aggrieved at the reemergence of the kings of ulster.

Dr.who (Cavan) - Posts: 24 - 03/04/2016 20:03:54    1841104

It goes without saying that monaghanmad speaks for himself alone. Monaghan and Cavan is one of the oldest derbies in the country, and isn't it great that we'll contest it in Division 1? Who would have called that a few years ago. And sure it's a handy 2 points to get us going! ;)

Another great escape by ourselves today. It's a pity we didn't build on our first two wins and left it this late, but the lads showed great grit and experience to come from behind and grind out the win.

patk (Monaghan) - Posts: 936 - 03/04/2016 20:04:18    1841106

Your must be reading me wrong. I still claim we have better players than those county's and I said the next 18 months will prove that. I didn't say we would go down what I said is Roscommon and Cavan will probably be favourites for the drop. Total different thing sure wernt we favourites along with Down for drop this year.How did I contradict myself?

Pingcity (Longford) - Posts: 568 - 03/04/2016 20:05:58    1841108

monaghanmad you will see that Cavan will beat Armagh handy and then nick Tyrone too in the championship. Donegal Cavan Ulster final this year, a 1983 repeat.
their promotion was earned

Eddie the Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 1058 - 03/04/2016 20:20:04    1841131

Since the new league structure was introduced in 2008

Dublin are the first team to win all 7 Div 1 league games

Some form for a team already going for 4 in a row and defending AI champs.

Very tough games remain of course but as a fan... very happy with the commitment this group of players have already put in this year.

Finishing top, giving many players a chance, Young lads really playing well, and great to see EOG back and playing a crucial part in Dean Rocks excellent goal - great performance from Rock today.

Onwards and upwards - great weekend for Dublin Football

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 03/04/2016 20:27:00    1841140

Cork won't find it easy in dv2 next year,they are very flakey

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 03/04/2016 20:33:33    1841154

Congratulations Cavan. Seriously strong League campaign & a truly well-earned promotion. We have played many a good game against you, particularly at U-21 so we DL folk know what you are made of. Don't mind that Monaghanmad (clearly just plain 'mad') poster & his/her sour grapes. It is great to see you back in D1 & a serious statement as the Tyrone poster, Tyroneed, stated that half D1 is comprised of Ulster teams. Long may it last!

Glynners (Donegal) - Posts: 109 - 03/04/2016 21:12:39    1841221

Never mind monaghanmad, he must be trying to live off scraps about Cootehill or somewhere, and that can't be easy for him

Only joking lads, well done Cavan. The job is not done yet though. There is nothing like going into the championship with a national title under your belt. That Div 2 title is winnable. Go for it.

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 03/04/2016 21:13:23    1841223

Agreed Jimbo

KerryKillers (Dublin) - Posts: 711 - 03/04/2016 21:23:46    1841239

Congrats to the Caaaavan team great to see a return of a traditional power.

While bitterly disappointed with today I am also happy to see Monaghan stay up they have some great players and supporters.

However on that note I cant believe how bad this booing is catching on in the games recently. Every time Michael Murphy was taking a free today it was an absolute disgrace (almost as loud as cheering for a scored goal) and I think fans should really be ashamed of themselves.

From Donegals point of view lots of work to be done...a 7 point lead need I say more. Fair play to Monaghan though 15 warriors.

SamT2012 (Donegal) - Posts: 66 - 03/04/2016 21:56:01    1841278

However on that note I cant believe how bad this booing is catching on in the games recently. Every time Michael Murphy was taking a free today it was an absolute disgrace (almost as loud as cheering for a scored goal) and I think fans should really be ashamed of themselves.

SamT2012 (Donegal) - Posts:34 - 03/04/2016 21:56:01 18

To be fair, I don't think the supporters were booing Murphy, they were booing the referee frustrated that he blew a number of very soft frees in succession.

Niall85 (Monaghan) - Posts: 13 - 04/04/2016 08:13:59    1841284

SamT2012 (Donegal) - Posts:34 - 03/04/2016 21:56:01

Some Dubs obviously got lost on their way to Carrick.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13708 - 04/04/2016 08:20:23    1841286

Dublin Donegal semi....q the champing at the bit and the village criers bemoaning the death of Gaelic football.Dublin, the all-singing, all-dancing saviours of football, have scored 97 points in League. Donegal, the kings of puke football, have 96....and if I'm correct the Dubs had 4 home games compared to Donegals 3.

The above stat surely pours cold water on the nae sayers who like nothing more than showing their ignorance of our great game now that they have a social media outlet such as twitter to vent their bile.

bcfb (Donegal) - Posts: 18 - 04/04/2016 09:52:30    1841319

bcfb (Donegal) - Posts:7 - 04/04/2016 09:52:30

Donegal had a chance to show off their footballing skill a couple of weeks ago and did anything but...

Hopefully the game on Saturday/Sunday will be a little more entertaining... because Donegal are capable of great football

But sure setup either way... we are well versed to it now

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 04/04/2016 10:09:42    1841331

I reckon it will be a scoreless draw between Donegal and Dublin,Donegal to pinch it in the penalty shoot-out :P

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 04/04/2016 10:18:02    1841341

I think this is the game we want leading up to the championship. Indeed we always play well against Dublin and only for silly mistakes in the game on Easter Sat Donegal could have been closerBut if we get well beaten on Sunday the management will have to have a long hard look at how we play and also some of the players on the team at present as I think a few are not up to county standard
I still thought on Easter Sat that in the first half especially the blanket caused Dublin plenty of problems and if you rerun the game I'd say Donegal errors gave Dublin 1-2 at least
My main concern with Donegal is the poor scoring return -- it will be difficult to win games with what we are posting on the scoreboard But I still think we can win on Sunday and hopefully we will improve but we are in a better position than Cork or Armagh or Westmeath and must be thankful we are still in Div one and indeed could still win the Div one title
The spirit of August 2014 must raise its head on Sunday

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 04/04/2016 10:56:02    1841389

This game might be more entertaining than people think. Last year Donegal found themselves in a league semi final against Cork and just played it like a challenge game. Think it ended up 4-11 to 0-20 or something like that. Now it could be a lot riskier playing that way against the Dubs, you could end up on the end of an awful whipping! But I wouldn't be too surprised if there was a fair amount of scoring done here.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9136 - 04/04/2016 11:08:22    1841404

Looking forward to us playing Kerry again at the weekend on a dryer pitch suit us better than last two weekends and hopefully Murtagh and Harney will get game time. Three losses in a row wouldn't be the best end to the league campaign but we have achieved our goal of staying up.
SamOnErrigal I think if Donegal lose to the Dubs 5 losses in a row before championship is nightmare preparation. The problem with Donegal IMO is they have No scoring forwards apart from Murphy and they have play him to far out the field. When Donegal won the All Ireland they had another top class forward in McFaddan now they have nothing but Murphy

Pingcity (Longford) - Posts: 568 - 04/04/2016 11:18:28    1841416

SamofEirrgal the blanket cause Dublin plenty of problems are you being serious? If you put 15 junior b players in there own half for most of a game it would cause Dublin problems ha it's not rocket science pal.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 04/04/2016 11:23:05    1841421