Division 1 Football

cannot understand why the Rossies keep going on about Senan Kilbride. A very good club player but I have never seen him deliver for Ros in the championship. Fair enough Murtagh and Harney have big potential and Donie Shine if they get him fit.

It doesnt matter about the forwards though if the Rossies cannot find a way of competing in the air at midfield. Otherwise teams will just need to press their kickout and force their keeper to kick long.

centerfield (Mayo) - Posts: 360 - 28/03/2016 20:42:24    1838594

cannot understand why the Rossies keep going on about Senan Kilbride. A very good club player but I have never seen him deliver for Ros in the championship. Fair enough Murtagh and Harney have big potential and Donie Shine if they get him fit.

It doesnt matter about the forwards though if the Rossies cannot find a way of competing in the air at midfield. Otherwise teams will just need to press their kickout and force their keeper to kick long.

centerfield (Mayo) - Posts:110 - 28/03/2016 20:42:24

Good post centerfield you are bang on, Rochford got tactics perfect yesterday on kickouts against previous opposition they prob didn't have enough homework done on us and let us take quick short kickout and suited us down to the ground. Sunday Mayo pushed up on our kick outs and starved us of possession. Only other game we were forced to kick out long this year was against Monaghan and we lost game as a result of been dominated at Midfield. Not overly worried as we have plenty of players to come in here with Cathal Shine soon back and Cathal Compton showed well when introduced and should stake a claim after u21 finishes hopefully not after Saturday though.

In truth it answered a lot of questions and we will learn a hell of a lot more from the defeat than if we had won. We were papering over the cracks in few positions and they have been found out so up to management now to sort them few lads just not up to it and had we stayed winning its hard drop lads. Murtagh showed his class when he came in and as you mentioned Harney to come back also. Donie Smith showed great potential earlier in career and hasn't got a good run since because of injury but hopefully he will be back soon. I was amazed at the stat that we outscored Mayo 1-4 to 1-3 from play and the Mayo goal should never have stood with steps taken it doesn't show well that they realistically could have only scored 3 points from play in a game they had 75% possession.
Just a question had Diarmuid O'Connor got a straight red yesterday would it have effected u21 next Saturday?

Pingcity (Longford) - Posts: 568 - 29/03/2016 09:13:07    1838637

Don't really rate Senan Kilbride at intercounty either to be honest. There is a lot of talk about Roscommon forwards, but I think they have been fortunate that they haven't been pitted against many top teams come championship time. They have looked good against teams in the qualifiers etc. (Not that they aren't good players. More that they are probably rated higher because of facing poorer teams).

Funnily enough, it is the exact opposite for ourselves. For example, Jason Doherty had a very good season up to the Dublin games last year. He was chipping in with a couple of points in every match, winning lots of breaks and generally doing well when he got on the ball. But he struggled in Dublin's blanket defence and was written off. Even though the gooch and all the kerry lads struggled even more in it.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 29/03/2016 10:06:51    1838650

Grasping at straws with the regan steps thing I believe. He flicked the ball up and McDermott paws at him twice before buying the dummy at which point he hops the ball. It may be more than 4 steps but the guy was being tackled aggressively. If you want to start applying that rule strictly then we would have 20 more frees a game.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 29/03/2016 10:23:10    1838662

Grasping at straws with the regan steps thing I believe. He flicked the ball up and McDermott paws at him twice before buying the dummy at which point he hops the ball. It may be more than 4 steps but the guy was being tackled aggressively. If you want to start applying that rule strictly then we would have 20 more frees a game.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts:15193 - 29/03/2016 10:23:10

Ah not don't start I said Mayo were by far better team and fully deserved there win on the day but cop yourself on if you think Regans goal should have stood you simply don't know the rules of the game, Took roughly 10 steps hopped the ball took another 9 and scored. McDermott had paws on him for about first 8 steps of move then Regan sold him win dummy. No excuse for ref missing the steps taken. And your statement about having 20 frees more a game is pathetic. Look even though ye played us off the pitch Sunday with a proper ref the Mayo goal wouldn't have stood and Diarmuid O'Connor would have got a straight red. Nice Mayo man behind me in stand seen how frustrated I was getting with way we were playing and the decisions going against me and he said if its any consolation I agree with yeah the ref is ****

Pingcity (Longford) - Posts: 568 - 29/03/2016 10:49:47    1838675

pingcity, id say that Mayo fan was taking the **** outa ya and that disgrace of what you call a pitch. The ref gave Ros at least 3 soft frees. The final scoreline flattered ye. Ye were given a footballing lesson, so dont believe your own hype. Hon Mayo!!!

saddam (Mayo) - Posts: 414 - 29/03/2016 11:05:24    1838686

Dublin's blanket defence hahahaha as the Nordy's would say "catch yourself on"

Jason Dohery
Freeman
O Loughlin
3 players that when it comes to the big days are not good enough it's the reason you havent got over the line.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 29/03/2016 11:15:16    1838697

I suppose he is a nice man because he agrees with you...
Listen, McDermott pushes regan in the back after he flicks up the ball, then swings out of him as he turns, which muddies the waters a bit. There is an argument to say he was fouled in the exchange. It was touch and go and I can understand the ref giving a bit more leeway because of that and you see refs do it often. You are hanging onto this strict adherence to 4 steps argument, but that simply isn't applied in the sport in general. It isn't as clear cut as you are making out. He was probably lucky to get away with it, but that is about it. You are talking like it is some completely outrageous decision.

Re O'Connor, I agree it looked bad in real time but it was never a red card as the replay showed that the ball bobbled up as he went to kick it, which resulted in his missing it.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 29/03/2016 11:34:30    1838706

Dublin's blanket defence hahahaha as the Nordy's would say "catch yourself on"
Jason Dohery
Freeman
O Loughlin
3 players that when it comes to the big days are not good enough it's the reason you havent got over the line.

Playing two sweepers, clogging up the scoring zone with bodies and double marking (even triple marking on occasion) an opposing dangerman is a blanket defence man. Being able to score at the other end doesn't change that.

Also 'o loughlin' destroyed Dublin on his own in 2012, 'dohery' skinned the famous 'ROC' in the same game and freeman gave tyrone a torrid time in the 2013 semi. But these things are forgotten because we didn't win the final. Im not saying they are superstars, but they definitely get harsher judgement than some other forwards simply because they have tougher opponents to face. Had Mayo faced London, Sligo, Cavan and Fermanagh alone last year, Im sure those lads would have looked as good as, if not better than the Roscommon lads.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 29/03/2016 11:49:15    1838716

Midfield is an outdated concept come the summer. The dubs just bypass it has no one copped on to that yet.

Scarabin (Dublin) - Posts: 116 - 29/03/2016 11:50:31    1838719

How's everyone feeling about their counties League performance with one game left to go?

Pretty happy with things down Kingdom way at the moment. Division 1 status is secure for another year and we have uncovered a few new faces while some lads who have been around the panel for a while, like Grifffin, have started to show the potential they have.

We should make the semi's and I think Kerry have a good chance of making a final then if they want it bad enough.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 29/03/2016 11:59:22    1838725

Midfield is an outdated concept come the summer. The dubs just bypass it has no one copped on to that yet.
Scarabin

It is while you have cluxton and the likes of mccaffrey to break forward at speed for the lay off. But mccaffrey is gone this year, it will be interesting to see how Dublin's kickout routine functions without that option. Similarly, it would be interesting to see how it would work if cluxton got injured.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 29/03/2016 11:59:27    1838726

2012 your really scraping the barrel there master jaysis , Doherty done no such thing to The Roc and freeman score a few frees and a peno against Tyrone , they've gone missing when Mayo needed them most.

Thanks for explaining what a blanket is but we don't have one and thanks answering my Connolly question.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 29/03/2016 12:17:46    1838736

The Hermit

From a Roscommon point of view extremely happy at the end of last year I saw our main goal for 2016 was to maintain D1 status and we achieved that with little or no worry. Saying that a major worry for me was way we were dominated by Mayo yesterday I hate to see lads like Horan sticking the boot in like he did with his comments but to be fair we should have been beaten by double figures sunday and now after bit of reflection its prob a bigger worry for mayo the amount they missed and how we only lost by 4 considering their dominance. We mixed it and showed we can compete at this level and that is what this year was about.
The positives so far for us is that we seem a lot more structured and have a more suited gameplan. We have players well capable of scoring and just need find right balance between defence and attack.
The negatives like all most counties is injuries to key players and we have not got to see our better players yet in the league and at this level, Another negative would be some of the team selections but after yesterday hopefully management have noticed this.

Pingcity (Longford) - Posts: 568 - 29/03/2016 12:21:57    1838741

2012 your really scraping the barrel there master jaysis

So 2011 must be ancient history then...
The same guys were playing in 2012, therefore it is relevant.

Doherty done no such thing to The Roc

He did. One score in the 1st half in particular underlined it, where he won the ball in front of him, shrugged off his tackle on the turn, powered away from him and whipped it over the bar. It's no big deal, all defenders struggle with a certain type of player. You shouldn't be so precious about it.

and freeman score a few frees and a peno against Tyrone

Won plenty of those frees himself, and won the majority of ball that came his way. He was the difference between the teams, if that isn't enough then nothing is.

they've gone missing when Mayo needed them most.

Well you see that is relative. We needed them those days I mentioned too and they did deliver. D Connolly hasn't delivered in a lot of big games for Dublin in his time, but they went on to win them so nobody took notice.

Thanks for explaining what a blanket is but we don't have one and thanks answering my Connolly question.

I didn't explain the blanket defence - I explained the system Dublin play....
I guess that means we are in agreement on Dublin's defensive system.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 29/03/2016 12:49:45    1838761

Pingcity: hate to see lads like Horan sticking the boot in

Your taking everything being said to much to heart. In fairness I probably used to myself. You will get jibes after loosing big games. We do get a fair slagging by some national media commentators ourselves and will continue to until we finally win a senior All Ireland. Think of it along the lines sometimes it's worse than not to be talked about at all....Roscommon are certainly worth taking about this year.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11232 - 29/03/2016 12:53:55    1838765

Not one bit you's were the defensive team last year not us. What were your thoughts on the Mayo crowd booing Connolly?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 29/03/2016 13:07:57    1838776

Your putting up Doherty who once skinned the roc according to you , Alan Freeman and McLoughlin to Dermot Connolly who has been outstanding for Dublin the last 5 years , watch the 11 final back it's Connolly whose involved in our comeback the most even in '12 against Mayo Connolly was very good that day. Even last year with Keegan dragging out of him the whole game he still score 1-3 in the first game.actually why am I even bothering, to even put them players in the same bracket as Connolly is laughable enough.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 29/03/2016 13:14:09    1838785

Not one bit you's were the defensive team last year not us. What were your thoughts on the Mayo crowd booing Connolly?

Mayo played a sweeper, I never claimed they didn't. Dublin played 2, blocked up the area in front of their own goals and surrounded one forward with bodies at all times. If you think that isn't defensive you don't know what you are talking about.

Re Connolly, how about answering the points on the actual topic before you start trying to dictate the debate to everyone else?

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 29/03/2016 14:36:43    1838834

Sorry, didn't you just say that 2012 was scraping the barrel and penalties don't count?

Connolly has flattered to deceive in some big games. Personally, I have yet to see him stand out against my own team. Im not trying to criticise him, plenty guys have bad games, im just making a point about perception and how it is moulded by external factors. Stop being so precious.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 29/03/2016 15:13:03    1838851