Galway, Derry, Tyrone and Cork to dominate 2016

oakleafersir - you must be on some serious juice today son.
Those forwards you've listed are all fair to middlin at best.

pdempsey (Mayo) - Posts: 1313 - 28/01/2016 17:17:14    1820117

avonali, if I said to you I think Kerry will make the AI final this year as they have the Leinster side of the draw in the semis, are you trying to tell me you wouldn't realise the underlying message there about Dublin? If you don't you are foolish. Furthermore, this guy always does the same thing. It doesn't bother me, you always have biased people, I just think that bringing it up on every thread is to the detriment of the threads.

Derry poster, (cant remember the name) I don't mind if that is your opinion, fair play, you weren't the one I was referencing.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 28/01/2016 17:19:30    1820118

Cant see past The Dubs,kerry,mayo,Donegal still difficult opponents tyrone also emerging strongly,Derry maybe a crack at ulster or a decent run in back door,Barton will hopefully bring us in the right direction.Its along time till august so form teams at minute mean very little.

93vintageyear (Derry) - Posts: 301 - 28/01/2016 17:40:12    1820125

The Master is indeed the master of paranoia. You should get it checked out. Seriously though re read Belclare's original post on this. His view on his own county is the dominant message. If you cannot see that or admit same it says far more about you than anything else.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 30/01/2016 13:54:54    1820631

Cork and Tyrone are well capable of causing a few shocks (and may even win it) but Galway and Derry? Nah.
I still cant look past the Dubs though.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 30/01/2016 16:14:57    1820658

Cork could do anything...don't put money on them whatever you do....Cork should just forget the Munster championship (play under 21s), try and get in the backdoor, concentrate on that and see where it takes us..when we lose then we are out and we can be happy

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 30/01/2016 16:28:33    1820665

The Master a bit like you not being able to afford anything positive to say about Dublin. (such is your anger at anything blue ,which is indeed very tiresome) I suspect Belclare is similar about Mayo (although certainly not with the same obsession or hatred that you afford the Dubs )
Although to be fair to him he is only stating that he believes that either Mayo, Galway or Roscommon (or who ever represents Connaught this year)wont be good enough to get past Ulster opposition in the semifinal .
An opinion he is entitled to.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 31/01/2016 14:42:27    1820830

Il keep my opinions on other countys to myself for NOW.Good win today against mayo only first game of league but it looks promising on to next week

blackrockeddie (Cork) - Posts: 160 - 31/01/2016 17:23:53    1820913

Sorry lads but the Dubs are the team to beat in the race for the League and indeed the race for Sam.
Cork are one county who could come from the pack to mount a challenge, the have the players and the right attitude unlike some.
Up to you 'The Master ' if you want to take that as a dig at Mayo.

Condorman (Dublin) - Posts: 983 - 01/02/2016 15:17:25    1821318

Eddie,you never had an opinion on any other county than Cork anyway,so why start now?

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 01/02/2016 16:08:47    1821340

Go on Blackrock Eddie...give them hell. Don't let some smartass Dub bully you

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 01/02/2016 18:07:36    1821391

Derry and Galway will be in diviosion 1

oakleafersir (Derry) - Posts: 808 - 01/02/2016 19:47:51    1821430

It will take an off day for Dublin and an outstanding performance by one of only 2 counties IMO ( Cork or Tyrone ) to stop anything other than another procession to another AI title for the Dubs. An All Ireland Quarter Final appearance for Derry would signal good progression for Derry and for that we would need to produce something special to beat Tyrone in the first round of Ulster or have a very good back door run which we have failed to do in the last number of years.

kingpuck71 (Derry) - Posts: 690 - 01/02/2016 19:50:39    1821432

Cuederocket I always have a opinion it may not be always right but I have a opinion on all gaa matters. Is a matter a fact if you look through last years posts you will see I tipped dublin to win sam so there I do comment on other peoples countys. However that was last year and as I said I won't make any comment on other countys YET. So cue back in your box lad. Can't be having bad manners like that now can I rockies lol

blackrockeddie (Cork) - Posts: 160 - 01/02/2016 21:38:36    1821489

You must have backed us when Cork exited the championship eddie.If your predictions were correct Cork would be going for 10-in-a-row in both codes!Go way outta that ya langer ya(:

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 01/02/2016 21:53:49    1821496

kingpuck71 - i think you're underestimating Kerry, Donegal and Mayo. They are the most likely teams to upset Dublin's quest for 2 in a row. I've a feeling Donegal will win Sam.

pdempsey (Mayo) - Posts: 1313 - 02/02/2016 10:25:19    1821529

It would be great to see traditionally strong counties like Galway, Cork, Meath etc get back to the top table. Now I know these things are cyclical and Donegal may or may not be in the top 5 indefinitely but increased competition can only be good for the sport overall.

oakleafsir you're obviously on a windup if you consider those Derry forwards top level. They're all decent yes, but I'd trust an email from a Nigerian prince faster than I would those boys to do the necessary damage at the business end of the championship.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9136 - 02/02/2016 10:46:32    1821533

Sorry lads but the Dubs are the team to beat in the race for the League and indeed the race for Sam.
Cork are one county who could come from the pack to mount a challenge, the have the players and the right attitude unlike some.
Up to you 'The Master ' if you want to take that as a dig at Mayo.

Condorman (Dublin) - Posts:420 - 01/02/2016 15:17:25

Eh, what exactly are you basing the second part of this post on? Nothing Cork have done in the past several seasons suggests that they are contenders. They hardly displayed the "right attitude" when they exited tamely to Kildare in the qualifiers last year (a team that Kerry subsequently put seven goals past). Unless you're basing it on the opening league game of the season...

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 02/02/2016 12:12:52    1821588

Honestly Derry have forwards that are as good as Dublin or better

Ryan Bell
Shane Heavran
James Keilt
Sammy Bradley
Enda Lynn
Caolan O'Boyle
Conor Mc Atamney
and a few other ones

Now for Galway

Gary Sice
Damian Comer
Danny Cummins
Pual Conroy
Adrian Varley
Peader Og O'Grifa
Shane Walsh
Micheal Martin
Thomas Flynn
and a good few others

but both teams just need to be careful for their backs

Unlike Cork and Tyrone

oakleafersir (Derry) - Posts:34 - 28/01/2016 15:59:29

Can't agree that all those galway forwards are as good as dublin or even come close , comer sice and walsh are the only 3 i could make a case for, although i like cummins he wouldn't be near as good as the dublin forwards. Maybe sweeney at 100% fit which we havent seen yet and as he's been out injured for months probably wont see until next year. Michael martin isnt even a standout at club level and hes no longer with the panel

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 02/02/2016 12:49:04    1821608

Backed dublin? Ah come now cue do yourself a favour have a bottle of cop on and lie down.jayus lad its only febuary and your getting out of your pram what will you be like in august/september

blackrockeddie (Cork) - Posts: 160 - 02/02/2016 16:10:27    1821677