Division 2 Football

Hi, lads. We're back!

MourneArmy (Down) - Posts: 1787 - 27/03/2016 15:41:30    1838101

Mournearmy

lol! Hopefully Meath will be playing ye next year!

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 27/03/2016 16:01:27    1838110

Hopefully galway aren't playing ye mournearmy ;-)

gaillimhboy (Galway) - Posts: 339 - 27/03/2016 18:56:01    1838211

i would like to see Galway playing you next year . that would be a very attractive fixture.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 27/03/2016 19:13:18    1838224

Lol, fair play lads, four good posts in a row

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 27/03/2016 19:48:53    1838250

I feel Cavan would be better equipped than Galway to cope with divsision 1 football next season, They have a settled playing style and with Seanie Johnson on fire are an outside bet for Ulster. Galway are an easier team to beat, and are maybe 1 or 2 seasons away from being a top flight team.

Tyrone will certainly be competivitive in next seasons division 1, in true Mickey Harte fashion. I do think they have a quality team, but until they beat a top bracket side there will be question marks of them. It's a toss of the coin between themselves and Donegal for Ulster in my opinion. If I was to choose I'd say Tyrone will win Ulster.

As for my own county, I fully expected us to be relegated the minute we we promited last season. That was a very weak division 2 last season, Roscommon aside, none of the other teams would've have coped much better in division 1 this season than ourselves. We are struggling badly with a team unrecognisable to even last season. A massive turnover of players in the last 5-6 years has taken its toll. I would say this is the weakest Down team of my lifetime. I can't even see where are next win is coming from to be honest, and I'm genuinely already worried about relegation to division 3 next season. But sure as they say, the darkest hour is just before the dawn!

MourneArmy (Down) - Posts: 1787 - 28/03/2016 11:14:29    1838357

Mournearmy

lol! Hopefully Meath will be playing ye next year!

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts:4812 - 27/03/2016 16:01:27 18

I'm sure you do. A guarenteed 2 points for Meath!

MourneArmy (Down) - Posts: 1787 - 28/03/2016 11:17:22    1838359

Can't wait for Cavan V Galway in Breffni Park which will decide who goes up along with Tyrone. Looks like Seanie Johnston may not make it but we ave an ample replacement in Eugene Keating and a strong bench also. Galway are a very good team and we need to get out of the blocks fast and try to get on the front foot. Should be a championship type of game. The best team on the day will deservedly go up! Delighted to see what Cavan have been able to produce once we abandoned the defensive football style and have been the top scorers in division 2 and have the second best scoring difference in all 4 divisions after Antrim. (What do ya think of that, Joe Brolly?)

Come on Cavan!!

Reformation (Cavan) - Posts: 356 - 28/03/2016 11:36:32    1838367

Just looking over the division 2 results.

I fancy Cavan to go up .

It's highly doubtful Galway have closed the gap on Mayo out west . I would expect another comfortable win for Mayo this year . Mind you I hope I'm wrong as a good Galway side makes for a good Connacht Champo .

As for Cavan , I think they could surprise a few in Ulster this year .

Meath and Laois will be a dog fight . Couldn't call it although I always find home advantage a massive swing .

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 28/03/2016 11:49:25    1838374

What happens if teams finish level on points at the bottom of the table?

MourneArmy (Down) - Posts: 1787 - 28/03/2016 12:08:41    1838378

Head to Head then if that was a draw it comes down to score difference.

sceptical (Cavan) - Posts: 544 - 28/03/2016 12:29:05    1838387

Same as promotion, head to head first , if more Tha 3 on same points it's score difference. Id expect Meath to beat Laois but it wont be easy. However that cannot be used as a excuse by mod to remain, he must go after this year. No exception......

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 28/03/2016 12:33:33    1838390

If we lose to Laois I would suggest MOD has to go before championship..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 28/03/2016 12:53:36    1838402

Indeed ziggy , however regardless of our league position, there is absolutely zero justification for mod to continue next year.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 28/03/2016 13:43:31    1838416

Oh I agree 100%

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 28/03/2016 13:56:41    1838421

Looking forward to travelling to Breffni Park next week for the promotion showdown. Galway seem to be inconsistent and tend to make unforced errors which has been their downfall. Had the game against Fermanagh all but won being 2 points up at the 70. They are failing to close out the games. It is hard to see Cavan not getting a win here

Lyreenside (Carlow) - Posts: 21 - 28/03/2016 15:08:38    1838451

I hope our final minutes against derry don't come back to haunt us. we had so many opportunities to get something from that game and between taking wrong options and poor execution we let it slip away. I suppose the only consolation is that promotion is in our own hands on the final day.
Galway are the draw specialists another draw would suit us fine.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 28/03/2016 18:13:36    1838526

ya I can't see Galway winning in Cavan,could be that Cavan go up and their beloved neighbours Monaghan go back to dv 2.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 29/03/2016 10:01:54    1838648

Yeah S Goldrick- Que sera sera. We probably were a bit slow out of the traps start of the league what with injuries, players coming back not up to speed and tweaking certain positions. But we can't complain about our league position. If we are good enough to go up we will go up. Same for Galway- I'm sure they'll lament some of their games but it's still in their hands as well. We're actually building a nice squad of players at the moment and I would love to see them compete in Division 1. No reason why we couldn't hold our own especially as we should be that little bit stronger 12 months down the line. If we go up I hope Monaghan stay up there- can't beat an El Classico!!!!

Hardtimes (Cavan) - Posts: 1056 - 29/03/2016 12:02:48    1838729

agree hardtimes. The table doesn't lie and if we don't go up then it will be because over the 7 games we wern't good enough. if you look at the games we played against Meath,Armagh and Fermanagh we beat them all fairly handy in the end with a combined score difference of +28 I think.
whereas Galway drew those 3 games (with obviously a combined score difference of 0. But that score difference means nothing now and it's all down to what happens on the day. It's a 50-50 game in my opinion. I hope we keep our composure and trust in our ability. There alot of changes since the corresponding fixture last year (I think 8 in all) but i think our panel and match-day squad is stronger. The proof of the pudding is in the eating so we will know for sure Sunday evening.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 29/03/2016 13:33:35    1838796