Dublin v Kerry

Your right there hermit.Kilkenny do indeed bring players into the senior set up after first serving their apprenticeship in the 21's & Intermediate's and a few years training with the seniors etc.Cody seems to like blooding lads in their early to mid twenties;battle hardened and mad for road.Didnt Kilkenny give a debut to a 28 year old corner back in last years All Ireland final?

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 28/01/2016 14:01:07    1820030

Cue you honestly believe if Cody didn't have an outrageous panel already that is more than capable of winning Liam that he wouldn't have a 19 year old in there? Trust me if he was managing Carlow and a 19 year old Henry shefflin ability wise showed up he wouldn't play him? I think we both know the answer to that.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 28/01/2016 14:28:01    1820050

Fair point clondalkin.Being spoiled for choices gives Cody,and any other Kilkenny manager,the luxury of blooding lads with a bit of maturity.No doubt about that.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 28/01/2016 15:00:42    1820063

Well Kerry has named more or less the strongest side they have available. Tommy is selected as full forward, so that's going to be a fascinating aspect to tomorrow. He is under huge pressure this year given the false dawn last season proved to be.

I am disappointed with the full back selection. Griffin has been tried there every League for the last 3-4 years and while he shows flashes of being a serious prospect, he has never built on that potential.

Our bench is the big worry tomorrow, the Dubs have named a strong one whereas we don't have too many recognisable faces on there to bring in and influence the match.

That could be our downfall tomorrow unless we get a good start and go in at half time a good score up.

I suppose yer all travelling up for tomorrow lads?

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 29/01/2016 11:21:17    1820286

I'd love to go for a few drinks before and after but the taxi business has been very slow for January,and with a lot of people getting paid this week im hoping for a busy weekend.If i go on a session tomorrow thats Sat & Sun gone.I may just attend game,or i may change mind and hit my usual haunts of the north inner city.
Looks a strong Kerry team alrite.It's early doors but its Dublin v Kerry so i think it will be quite competetive and keenly contested.I fancy Dublin to win by a few.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 29/01/2016 11:44:54    1820295

Have the Dubs named their team Hermit? I haven't seen mention of it anywhere but see you say we've named a strong bench?

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 29/01/2016 11:51:24    1820299

Sorry CroiGorm I meant to say that I presume Gavin will name a strong bench and maybe an experimental enough starting 15. That what he usually tends to do in the League.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 29/01/2016 12:22:25    1820312

Dublin (NFL v Kerry): Stephen Cluxton; Jonny Cooper, Michael Fitzsimons, David Byrne; James McCarthy, John Small, Davy Byrne; Cian O'Sullivan, Denis Bastick; Tomas Brady, Diarmuid Connolly, Ciaran Kilkenny; Paddy Andrews, Dean Rock, Paul Mannion.

Even shorn of some blue chip players from recent times, most significantly Rory O'Carroll from the full back position, Paul Flynn from arguably the best half forward line to ever to play the game and the peerless Bernard Brogan from the full forward line, Dublin still look such a menacing side. They toyed with Kerry last September but perhaps in retrospect showed them too much respect by being overcautious when one feels had they really cut loose, they could have easily won by 10 rather than just 3 points, such was their clear superiority. Not only have Dublin more superior footballers now than Kerry but they are the more intelligent and far cuter on the field and on-line ( What a 360 in this historical rivalry.) and I expect Dublin to emphasise their superiority once again this evening and a win big (prediction +7).

JamesH (Mayo) - Posts: 465 - 30/01/2016 14:16:57    1820637

Dubs -3 evens thats printing money.

Yourjoking (USA) - Posts: 706 - 30/01/2016 16:14:11    1820657

A strong Dublin team despite the absentees. I think they will win by 7+ points.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 30/01/2016 16:19:58    1820660

Yet more favoritism shown towards Dublin, this time from Setanta. On the Dublin line out the two Byrne's were marked as David Byrne and Davy Byrne. The two Walsh's on the Kerry team were marked as Walsh and Walsh. This is not right and they're getting their way with a lot of things over the last number of years. The time has come for the 31 other counties to come together and challenge the likes of the GAA and Setanta to do as much for each county as they do for Dublin. And if that's not adhered to a breakaway All Ireland should be set up.

Oddball (Roscommon) - Posts: 889 - 30/01/2016 19:35:12    1820703

Well it was all so very predictable. Dublin's superiority against inferior opposition was there for all to see, especially as they ramped up through the gear (I say gear rather than gears because Dublin didn't need to go past 1st!). Kerry were chasing shadows as Dublin teased and tormented them with their superior football skill and physicality. Now real losers will make excuses, they always do! The truth is every team day suffers injuries and players being absent (every team!). Dublin are missing players and they have injuries too but the truth really is rather more simple - the Dublin team are a far superior team to Kerry and everybody else just now. Ignore the dummy that states 'yerra it's only January' - Dublin were superior last September and they will be superior to Kerry any time they meet this year! Kerry have become like Meath for Dublin, once they were opposition they respected and perhaps feared but now they just swath them away like a fly.

JamesH (Mayo) - Posts: 465 - 30/01/2016 20:36:08    1820718

Dont be so triumphalist JamesH.
Yere record against the Kingdom (much like ours and pretty much everyone else in the country bar the Dubs and Tyrone between 2003-2008) is atrocious.
I dont blame you for disliking Kerry though. Ye would have won about 5 all Irelands in the last 20 years if it wasnt for them.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 30/01/2016 21:02:18    1820725

JamesH-- that was Dublin's all ireland. They have peaked too soon

bert09 (Meath) - Posts: 1792 - 30/01/2016 21:11:42    1820730

Oddball, I'm going to assume your post was a joke and that it's not meant to be taken seriously because it's the funniest post I've read in a while!!

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 30/01/2016 21:26:37    1820733

Ya seriously oddball, setanta not naming either of kerrys Walshes?
In the words of Ghandi- "Who gives a fiddlers f**k at the end of the day,like"?

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 30/01/2016 21:31:08    1820735

maybe it was just cute kery hoorism...dont give the first names and it might confuse the opposition!!

superdub (Dublin) - Posts: 392 - 31/01/2016 09:23:41    1820753

For a first league game I have to say both teams looked really fit and competitive but Dublin never looked like loosing and had a couple of those goal chances gone in it could as in last years AI have been a lot more.Cracking display though and good to be back on the hill!

SLLY (Dublin) - Posts: 463 - 31/01/2016 09:36:46    1820755

Well I was kinda half right ...up to half time anyhow! Thought the Dubs might have a bit of an AI hangover and might be there for the taking.

How wrong I was , they were streets ahead of us this evening. Thought Begley did very well to keep at it and did not let the head drop after a hectic opening 20 minutes. It was good to see him attacking towards the end.

Disappointing overall though, particularly that we still seem to have no answer for Dublin's runners from both their back lines. Tactically we did not seem to make too many changes this evening.
I suppose it was good to give new players some experience and Darren looked lively enough.

How are we going to match Dublin's speed though? And I don't just mean by positioning players around the D - we need attacking speed from the back line and unfortunately we do not have this.We are miles away from Dublin in this regard. That's the big question for me.

much work to do to win Sam

kerryrowz (Kerry) - Posts: 833 - 31/01/2016 09:38:17    1820756

Pity any team having to head to Croke Park to take on Dublin in the league. They were streets ahead of Kerry.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 31/01/2016 10:10:17    1820765