Tyrone send on player to get man sent off?

just read that story. Far as I am concerned the Derry lad should do one of 2 things

1. Tell us what McCarron did/said and shame the life out of him and Tyrone
2. if your not going to say, then shut up and say nothing about it.

This craic of "he said something mean, he did something bold", but refusing to tell what it was is a load of shite. Twas the same with our own Kevin O'Brien a few years back.
If you are going to go to the bother of telling people there was an issue, then either tell us what happened, or say nothing,

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts:6405 - 12/01/2016 18:08:28 18

Well said Liam.

PS I see the partitionist is being a bit hypocritical in his posts.

Tom1916 (Armagh) - Posts: 2001 - 13/01/2016 08:54:42    1816215

If this was a serious incident then the Derry player should come clean and tell the whole story. If not, then man up and take it on the chin it's Derry v Tyrone ffs!

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2386 - 13/01/2016 09:07:39    1816217

So Tyrone do the same thing year in year out and yet teams keep taking the bait? Sledging for me is part and parcel of the game. I'm sure people on here including me have marked some annoying mouthpiece who will not shut up for the hour, it is up to the player to deal with it whatever way he can. And I know some people will tell me sledging is not acceptable, that may be the case but it is very easy to get away with it. All in all I still think it is purposely highlighted more when Tyrone are involved.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 13/01/2016 09:14:50    1816219

Here we go again, we're on the road again...... It's winter time FFS - the time for a bit of good sledging. But once again it seems that there are those who think that this is a Tyrone and Tyrone only problem. There are none so blind........ As for the player himself coming out and gurning about it - have a look at yourself and learn a bit more restraint instead of blaming your sending off on a player who you say was just brought on to wind you up and get you sent off. Well, it worked because you let it work - seems they had their homework done! :-)

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 13/01/2016 10:13:07    1816241

This is all about gamesmanship on derry,s part going forward to the championship to put pressure on the ref, jesus lads and ladies read between the lines this really is a non story. There,s to much of this going on were a player comes out and says he was targeted in some way and then says nothing about what happened I'm not buying this lets move on.

Yourjoking (USA) - Posts: 706 - 13/01/2016 10:25:40    1816245

Disgraceful stuff if true but, to be fair to Tyrone, I don't remember too many people getting upset when Darragh O Sé advised similar tactics be used against Dermot Connolly in the Irish Times last summer. I remember quite a few slagging off the Dublin county secretary when he pulled O Se up about it.

Mickmick (Dublin) - Posts: 104 - 13/01/2016 10:28:40    1816252

Lads, this is a fairly simple one. Tyrone play Derry 4 times this year (possibly 5, depending on how Derry get on in the back door). Already, we've won the first 2 meetings, dominating both games.

This is Derry starting to put pressure on refs and officials, in the hope of gaining an edge come the championship. If they focused on finding a few footballers instead of whispering accusations, they might have a bit more success.

Thomas Clarke (Tyrone) - Posts: 1002 - 13/01/2016 11:02:01    1816263

"Outrage as manager replaces defender on yellow card shocker"

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 13/01/2016 11:03:21    1816265

This stuff about so and so said something but I can't say what is redicilous.
Its whistleblowing without the whistle or omertà practice which has gone on year in and year out. If a team now wants to employ this tactic they know the opposition will huff and puff but blow shag all down at the end of the day.
Officials have some part to play too as they look the other way all day long no matter how close up the incidents.

SLLY (Dublin) - Posts: 463 - 13/01/2016 11:13:19    1816268

If all Tyrone wanted to do was get someone sent off why didn't they just move someone who was on the pitch and not on a yellow on to him. Ridiculous stuff from the Derry camp.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 13/01/2016 11:26:17    1816271

Unlike the majority of folks posting on this thread I was at this game and there's a wee bit more to the story than 1 incident between McCarron & McGuckin.
Throughout the 1st half McGuckin was having a fair auld time of it pushing around young Hampsey who was having his 2nd start at senior level with them both ending up rolling around on the ground just before half time picking up a pair of yellow cards. Decision clearly made at half time that Hampsey needed protecting from a likely red card so the more streetwise McCarron was sent on.
Of the actual incident McCarron appeared hold onto McGuckin to prevent him from making a run, McGuckin retaliated and both of them ended up holding onto each other with both hands and went to ground and wrestled for a while, Umpires called the ref to it.
All-in-all it was such a non-newsworthy event with the sort of tangle that most backs/forwards have been engaged in since christ was a small child.

If Harte hadn't mad the switch at half time the most likely senario would have been that Hampsey & McGuckin would've been both sent off at some stage for a similar wrestling incident.
So in my eyes the slightly cuter Harte managed the evolving situation better than the less experienced Barton and the complaint from the Derry player to the press is somewhat embarrassing as his own management team were somewhat outfoxed. As I've said a completely non-newsworthy event

downredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 567 - 13/01/2016 12:44:42    1816305

same old crap again this year from down, why am I not surprised

Why am I not surprised, expected so much of them this year and they start of as they left off!

Getting hammered out the gate at every opportunity lol!!

You're only hoping for not conceding a record amount in the league is if you get big benny wedged in between the 2 white posts!

redhanddefender (Tyrone) - Posts: 913 - 13/01/2016 13:05:32    1816313

Smart move by harte, naïve from barton

redhanddefender (Tyrone) - Posts: 913 - 13/01/2016 13:08:36    1816316

mc Guckin probably shouldnt have commented afterwards regarding the incident hopefully lessons learned and all that, probably derry would have got a result if he hadnt been sent off.Their will be changes to both teams come championship so losing in two minor cup competitions we wont loose much sleep over it nothing like a tyrone fan being over confident at the minute regarding their total domination of this fixture.

93vintageyear (Derry) - Posts: 301 - 13/01/2016 13:15:13    1816317

Redhanddefender, I have to say i find your response pathetic. As I said before, I am well aware of the state of Down football and you're right we are getting beat out of every gate, I have no qualms in admitting that. However, see if you look at the title of this forum it's about Tyrone so try and stick to the topic instead of having a go at my county.

MissDownFanatic (Down) - Posts: 411 - 13/01/2016 14:22:29    1816339

I havent renewed my season ticket, because there has been more written about this sort of thing than the game itself.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 13/01/2016 14:47:46    1816345

Why don't players man up and if they are sent off take responsibility for it. As someone who has attended Tyrone v Derry games all through the years this is small beer.

Byanthon (Tyrone) - Posts: 1780 - 13/01/2016 16:25:17    1816375

Missdown, moderator deleted my post for some reason, but it went along the lines of you can't say "I am not criticising tyrone" and then proceed to tear in to them at every opportunity and not get anything back. You are on here at every opportunity.

The more you do it the more I will remind you where down are at all year long!

As for the game, it means nothing, they probably got mc guckin right after the game when he was blaiming himself and lashing out. He deserved to go and instigated most in the first half. shrewd move by mickey to teach hampsey a lesson

redhanddefender (Tyrone) - Posts: 913 - 13/01/2016 16:39:27    1816385

This is a load of rubbish and Tyrone lads would do well to ignore it. To me the the biggest eejit here is the Derry player.
Tyrone posters, ye have a big year ahead for a good young team, pay no heed to this. When an issue is real it deserves attention, when its just a fella having a whinge, its doesnt deserve the time of day
Move on....

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 13/01/2016 16:49:43    1816392

"If you build it they will come".

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 13/01/2016 19:59:40    1816435