Expectations for 2016 Season

Football- Hopefully stay in Div 1 and a good run in the Championship
Hurling- Hopefully promotion and Ulster Championship

dufferman (Down) - Posts: 156 - 07/01/2016 08:31:33    1815008

impossible for a Dub to comment on this thread. If we say we hope to make a final, we are accused of being cute hoors playing the game. If we say we think we will win sam, we are typical arrogant jackeens
Liamwalkinstown

Maybe because people are tired of listening you try to play the cute hoor - poorly, non-stop for the last 2 years?
Stop trying to make the thread about yourself and just answer the question.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 07/01/2016 10:11:38    1815027

I hope we win ulster, and after that it is all on the day.

I can see us avoiding relegation in the league and blooding in more new lads.

Hurling, I hope we make more progress, but is is hard to compete with other sports in the county at the moment.

In football, I expect dublin to be the main players, with mayo in close 2nd. If kerry field their best team they have a chance. After that it seems the status quo has been established in the rankings. I expect Tyrone to push hard.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 07/01/2016 10:39:38    1815038

I'll be happy enough if we keep our 100% record in 2016!

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7360 - 07/01/2016 10:52:02    1815043

Feckin iPhone
I expect us to win the AI, Mayo being our main threat, Kerry not good enough, yet!

KerryKillers (Dublin) - Posts:102 - 06/01/2016 17:29:23 18

Oh you have an iPhone do you?

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12121 - 07/01/2016 12:09:14    1815060

enough if we keep our 100% record in 2016!

The only 100% record Mayo have is not winning All Ireland's so you must be easily pleased.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 07/01/2016 12:10:52    1815061

Humour is lost on you Clondalkin. Nonetheless I will say happy New Year to you and yours. A good auld spot Clondalkin village. Had a few pints in The Wheel and The Laurels back in the 90s, man!

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7360 - 07/01/2016 13:08:43    1815075

The only 100% record Mayo have is not winning All Ireland's so you must be easily pleased.
clondalkindub (Dublin)

Of course. The gaa started in 2011 don't you know..
The last mayo team to win an all Ireland managed a two in a row. Will the current Dublin team match them?

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 07/01/2016 13:17:10    1815077

For the Wee County promotion out of Div 4 and a good run in the Championship. Louth have only only reached one Leinster semi-final since 1998. To get there wee must beat Carlow and Meath.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 07/01/2016 15:21:44    1815106

Very low expectations this year with Danny opting out for the year. Hard to see us progressing too much. The Cunningham era has certainly been underwhelming so far. We'll see what the league brings I suppose and hope for the best. Best case scenario at this stage is staying in the top tier and maybe a quarter-final appearance again.

As for the big ball, hard to know imo. ROC is a big loss but if they can cope with that then we're obviously in with a shout. Retaining Sam has become such a rarity in the modern era that my personal expectation is relatively low. However a lot will depend on how other sides are shaping up; Mayo, Kerry and Tyrone in particular. If those three regress or stand still then Dublin have a great chance of retaining the title. If they improve though then, considering how difficult it has proven to match the performance levels for 2 years, then it'll probably prove a little too much, as was the case in 2012 and 2014.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 07/01/2016 15:23:36    1815107

Football: A soft run in last year's championship came to a crashing end when we came up against a Donegal team many considered on their last legs. Not exactly a great sign for the year to come. KW's second year at the helm, and he'd want to be aiming at getting us out of Div 2 which while being competitive and entertaining these last few years has clearly shown itself to be light years behind Div 1. That said, I think most Galway fans will be relieved if we manage to avoid relegation...

Hurling: Who knows. Seriously. I've given up any attempt to foretell how this bunch of jokers will perform. They could come out with a fire under them looking to answer their critics after the Player Putsch. Alternatively, they could just as easily come out disorganized and have a shambolic year. Knowing the Galway hurlers I expect a little from column A and a lot from Column B. So expect to see them hammer KK by 50 points in the semi final, only to go on and loose by as much to Clare in the final.

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 07/01/2016 18:24:24    1815168

Major goals for Limerick are to be promoted to 1A in hurling and stay in Division 3 in football. For the championship, Munster is wide open in hurling, Waterford are the early season favourites imo but all 5 counties will fancy their chances, theres no outstanding team. If we can get it right we may get a run as far as the semi final and who knows from there. In football, our chances of beating tipp or cork in the munster semi final are slim but hopefully we can put together a run in the qualifiers.

McFan88 (Limerick) - Posts: 447 - 08/01/2016 09:19:45    1815238

Hurling wise , I think expectations are quiet low considering the developments recently. If we manage to maintain top tier level in the league it could bolster the squad and give rise to a better than expected run in the championship.

On the football front, with ROC gone it will bring about a fresh challenge that will require moving outside the comfort zone and a challangr like this can help focus minds too. Now alternative , it could mean we will suffer against the other top contenders and it will be a sharp learning curve that is sure to be tested but who knows it might just help in a funny way to keep everyone sharp when trying to retain Sam.

SLLY (Dublin) - Posts: 463 - 08/01/2016 11:01:21    1815252

for my beloved limerick -realistic targets
Hurlers - Prmotion to 1a and All ireland semis (both difficult but achievable)
To see our 21 players progress to senior

Football - stay in div 3 - beat clare in first round (difficult) and perform against kerry in semi, and then win a qualifier

Na Piarsaigh - to get to club final (again difficult but achievable)

underage - minor and 21 footballers to win a game
and more of the same from our 21 hurlers

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 08/01/2016 18:03:47    1815373

None really.
Kilkenny will win the all ireland in hurling.
As for the football, itll be Kerry,dublin or Mayo, but we wont win it anyway.
Getting to an all ireland semi and/or giving one of the above three a good game would be great progress.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 09/01/2016 15:49:52    1815463

Stay in Div 1 would be a big plus
Beat Monaghan in championship and who knows after that

topdownfan (Down) - Posts: 555 - 09/01/2016 15:59:45    1815467

I'd be happy enough if we won a couple of games, because being in Division One of the league and playing Monaghan in the first round of the Ulster Championship, I can't really see where one is going to come from.

OgraAnDun (Down) - Posts: 406 - 10/01/2016 16:46:39    1815600

Of course. The gaa started in 2011 don't you know..
The last mayo team to win an all Ireland managed a two in a row. Will the current Dublin team match them?

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts:14663 - 07/01/2016 13:17:10

Who knows?, a year is a long time in football, however 3 all irelands in 5 years is some achievement
maybe you should stop thinking about Dublin and concentrate on Mayo for "Once"!!

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 10/01/2016 17:38:12    1815620

my new years resolution is to ignore all posts from TheMaster.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts:656 - 02/01/2016 14:10:02 1814138

Damm my new years resolution is broken already lol....

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 10/01/2016 17:54:10    1815627

Hope to beat Longford and hopefully have a bit of banter playing Meath (if they win) in OBC final. Then enjoy league and some away days.
Enjoy being All Ireland Champs and worry about championship when we see who's available come June.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 10/01/2016 18:15:32    1815630