Money divided equally?

This is'nt generic rural outrage which by the way is patronising in the extreme. There is a clear disparity in proportional central council funding. This was decided upon in 2005 when Dublin were in the midst of a 10 year All Ireland drought, not domination at all levels from underage up we are currently seeing.

Explain to me exactly why Meath and Kilare should PROPORTIONALLY receive 24 cent and 20 cent for every Euro Dublin get. Do you not think that proportionally it should be euro for euro.
To break this down for you if Dublin get €1.46 million, Meath should get €182,400, not the €45,600 they got this year.
No one is saying that other counties should get 1.46 million, what we are saying is it should be distributed equally. You have no argument.

highking12 (Meath) - Posts: 184 - 03/02/2016 15:36:28    1821965

Note the larger Dublin clubs pay a fair whack of the GPOs wages. Bear in mind there are no "centres of Excellence" in Dublin, there is no plush county ground, clubs have little or no training facillites. My own club probably the largest in Ireland owns ONE pitch. Dublin gives a really good return to the GAA in terms of profile, attendance, games promotion, excellence etc etc.
So do we take money off Dublin and chuck it at developing Hurling in Leitrim? I think people have to educate themselves to the reality of the sports they profess to love this money is actually spent on what it is supposed to be spent on Games Promotion - you know future bums on seats and feet on the pitches.

You're dead right, Dublin GAA don't get enough money: http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/500000-shortfall-costs-dublin-gaa-nama-site-at-spawell-31397602.html

And of course the only option is to either give it to Dublin or promote hurling in Leitrim? There is no inbetween.

The hubris of Dublin posters is a

realman2 (Kildare) - Posts: 464 - 03/02/2016 15:37:41    1821966

Jimbo,

Dublin are receiving roughly 35 times more funding than Antrim and Belfast.

Whilst I know its not all set aside for coaching that's the equivalent to 70 coaches at 20k each in Dublin as opposed to 2 in Antrim.

So tell you me why its not scandalous?

bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 03/02/2016 15:42:56    1821967

Jimbo 47% of the population doesn't live in the capital. Why do they get 47% of the funding? I'm really not having a go at the dubs here. They are taking the money given to them. Who the hell would say no to it? It's hq i'm having an issue with. Why don't they put some of that funding into paying football coaches in Fermanagh or Leitrim?

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 03/02/2016 15:46:23    1821971

Does anybody have any of the following information?
1. A breakdown of the total number of adult players, hurling and football, in each county?
2. A breakdown of the total number of juvenile players, boys and girls, hurling, camogie, football in each county?
Any links would be appreciated.

donegaldouble (Donegal) - Posts: 310 - 03/02/2016 15:49:56    1821973

I'm no expert on how county's are funded,but these figures don't add up.There is too much disparity between what Dublin receive and what the other counties receive.I think it should be addressed in the coming years.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 03/02/2016 16:01:05    1821984

In many ways Dublin are right.

They say no one cared about these figures till they started winning all irelands. Its pretty much true and its the fault of largely GAA journalists who should have been looking into this scandal and writing about it.

Dublin started to have a huge share of CC funds at about 2005 and ever since then they have got annual grants that were more than every province.

This has grown into a monster to the point that they are now ready to breach 50% of the total annual grants available for the year and remember a lot of that money would be going abroad to the US, UK and Europe who don't even complete against Dublin.

If you take Dublin against every competing county they would probably be closer to 60% of the total sum than 50%.

It is and has been a scandal for a decade.

The most amazing (and perhaps suspicious) thing is to those that were educated on the issue and wrote about it is that so many GAA talking heads choose to ignore it.

realman2 (Kildare) - Posts: 464 - 03/02/2016 16:16:23    1821995

Leveraging off the UEFA CL model, why not have a 'Solidarity Payment' to each county (regardless of size), and then any excess distributed to each county (based on size/ population).

So say, for every 64 euro - half is distributed equally (1 euro to each county); with the other half by population (e.g. Dubs get additional 9 euro, 28% of 32 euro). Given the fixed payment portion, counties get less per head as population grows - You can say that's unfair or a means to striking competitive balance.
Either way, there is still motivation for the Dubs (or any county) to grow the pie as they keep more than a quarter of incremental gate and commercial interest income.

omahant (USA) - Posts: 2615 - 03/02/2016 16:33:21    1821998

Lads again

Let's say the GAA redistributes €900,000 of that sum (I don't see it but let's aim for a big portion)

Leaving their investment in growing the sport in Dublin to €500,000 a year

€900,000 divided by 32 = €28,125 extra to each county

This will of course be helpful, but on the grand scheme of things there would be zero impact

Forget about applying the 1.47 Million to your own county and seeing what you'd get with it...

Dublin is like no other county.

I'm all for redistribution... but honestly that's not the real problem.

The real problem is far greater than that and people are burying their heads in the sand if they think a few extra quid will solve the imbalance. It will help a little bit.... but wont change a damn thing.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 03/02/2016 17:29:30    1822011

Lads again

Let's say the GAA redistributes €900,000 of that sum (I don't see it but let's aim for a big portion)

Leaving their investment in growing the sport in Dublin to €500,000 a year

€900,000 divided by 32 = €28,125 extra to each county

This will of course be helpful, but on the grand scheme of things there would be zero impact

Forget about applying the 1.47 Million to your own county and seeing what you'd get with it...

Dublin is like no other county.

I'm all for redistribution... but honestly that's not the real problem.

The real problem is far greater than that and people are burying their heads in the sand if they think a few extra quid will solve the imbalance. It will help a little bit.... but wont change a damn thing.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts:14767 - 03/02/2016 17:29:30 182

What in the name of jesus can the GAA do about a urban-rural population imbalance? We aren't burying our heads in the sand, we are just discussing the topics that the GAA can affect.

The only thing GAA can do for that is to spilt Dublin or join up counties and already know you are not for spilting Dublin.

realman2 (Kildare) - Posts: 464 - 03/02/2016 17:48:01    1822015

What in the name of jesus can the GAA do about a urban-rural population imbalance?

Exactly......

That's exactly my point.

A few extra quid (and that's all it will be) will make very little difference

Far bigger problems at play here in Ireland and sadly GAA sports are directly linked to those massive issues

Those are the real issues at play

Hence the imbalance. It has always been there but it's getting worse thanks to the on-going financial difficulties here in Ireland

A few extra quid = Pissing against the wind.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 03/02/2016 18:30:41    1822021

Jimbodub

The issue here is not about trying to finance teams to win an All-Ireland.

It is about fairness.

Why is more spent per person in Dublin on games development than in every other county in Ireland.

It may not make much difference at the elite level and be realised as All Ireland titles.

But it will be felt at a grassroots level.

We always think about the goddamn elite level.

How many children can get coached by a full time coach every year for €28k across the country. That's not p***ing in the wind, that's making a proper difference to the children in that county and improving their enjoyment of the game.

The reason why the GAA is spending a disproportionate amount on Dublin is to ensure they remain competitive at the elite level, because that drives their commercial interests.

I don't believe that should be the priority for a sporting organisation. It should play a part but I mean you have to look after everyone.

Dublin should get more than everyone. They should even get more per person than everyone as the money probably does go,farther per person in Dublin, so it is likely more efficiently used but the extent to which this is currently the case seems disproportionate to me.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4241 - 03/02/2016 20:00:10    1822049

whammo +1

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 03/02/2016 20:53:45    1822066

Jimbo, you're just wrong.

Saying splitting the funding Dublin have received in two wouldn't have any major is nonsense talk.

Also saying 1.4 million isn't much money is even greater nonsense.

In the world of gaa which is a volunteer driven sport giving one county half the development funds amounts to financial doping.

realman2 (Kildare) - Posts: 464 - 03/02/2016 21:24:14    1822077

Hahaha

"You're just wrong"

Great argument...

Take €900,000 off that amount - divide it equally = what was it again 28,000 or something

(That's also on the extreme level of money being redistributed - I don't think it would be anywhere near that level - so that up figure will most certainly be as high as that)

Again I'm 100% behind the GAA making more central coffer funds available to help promote our games nationwide - that seems lost on some

But a few of ye will need to wise up a bit... there's far bigger issues at play

There's very little the GAA can actually do about it... the problems exists because of how our country is actually setup

Decade after decade of poor management and this is especially exposed as times of financial difficulties

20 odd grand more a year will help a little... but it wont do much outside of the grass root level

It wont bring teams closer from top to the bottom and isn't that the point of this argument??

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 04/02/2016 09:31:49    1822105

I think the money argument is a smoke screen used by people outside of Dublin to have a pop. Nowhere do you see anyone highlighting the strategic planning and huge work done by volunteers at County Board and Club level in Dublin to drive the games forward. People are simply clueless about the huge work done. They see the big numbers in clubs like a Cuala, Boden, Vins etc and the presumption is that this is only built around money.

The inference is that Dublin GAA and Dublin GAA people are only about money.

I have one question. People here are complaining about the 1.4M € given to Dublin. Again the inference is that we are taken money from other counties pockets......so many question is this......

How much money does Dublin GAA and its teams generate and when we take off the 1.4M€ from this number what is the net result?

The answer to this many help us understand if Dublin are 'stealing' from the rest

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 04/02/2016 10:31:01    1822121

Are people on this forum aware that starting in 2005 Dublin GAA received at least a million in funding a year.

People don't seem to realise that Dublin's games development funding has exceeded every PROVINCE for 10 years.

Good luck to Dublin its not their fault but it is financial doping.

When you throw in the commercial revenue and population advantage it baffles me that the GAA allowed this to happen.

The other point being that 1,4 million this year does not mean much Dublin's chances in the All ireland in 2016, the financial doping from 2006-2013 did. Even if Dublin's funding is cut now then it will be a while before Dublin suffer from the cut at senior level and in that time people from other counties care less and less about going to intercounty GAA matches when they have no hope of winning anything meaningful.

realman2 (Kildare) - Posts: 464 - 04/02/2016 10:41:01    1822126

Where does redistribution come into future budgeting?. GAA Finance Officers if doing their job properly will plan future distributions in a sensible fair manner. Seeing as Someone got it ridiculously wrong in the past, If professional they should not copy forward a job done badly.Dublin know that stroking 50% of development funds for the whole country in the past does not give a right to always get away with it.

Ashrules (Dublin) - Posts: 518 - 04/02/2016 10:52:08    1822130

I think the money argument is a smoke screen used by people outside of Dublin to have a pop.
witnof

Ah come on, have a pop?
Listen, Dublin being awarded over a euro PER CAPITA, while their nearest rivals get only 22 cent PER CAPITA, on top of all the money Dublin can generate themselves anyway, is a real issue. It indicates that something is seriously wrong at the top of the gaa. Obviously, the motivations are not sporting related here, and what we are seeing in leinster, and beyond, is very much the gaa's own doing. This has to change for the good of the game. People are being critical of the gaa, not Dublin, so to say people are having a pop is just nonsense.

Also, no poster making a defence of the system has referenced the per capita issue. It is hard to take any of them seriously until they do.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 04/02/2016 11:58:00    1822155

Ashrules -good post. arock so you think that if Leitrim got their fair share of funding then they would put it all into hurling- have you ever been to Leitrim to see what the spend?!. I'd expect that Leitrim like most counties are well able to wisely use whatever resources the receive and if Dublin continue to get 50% of the National funding then Leitrim like all the other counties will have little time and effort in spending their paltry share. If the money is distributed per head of population then Antrim and London would get a fair whack!

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 04/02/2016 12:57:14    1822184