Money divided equally?

Daytona as opposed to importing managers and players from Kerry, Armagh and lest we forget Cavan, very strong stance to take considering the recent past. The GAA have a responsibility to ensure the games are still viable for the next generations and having all resource pooled in one area is both unsustainable and undesirable from the standpoint of growing the game.

Dublin raise a fair few shillings and thats great but the attitudes of people on here is very reminiscent of the old English rugby football union when they tried to sell the 6 nations broadcast rights to sky when they weren't theirs to sell as they were the big draw, they provided X, Y and Z. Once a team believes it is bigger than the game the game is in trouble.

Just because teams have no tradition of success doesn't mean they should be consigned to the scrap heap and that is what is being advocated, the goal should be to try and ensure the number of competitive counties is such that the championship is still a viable product as if that number dwindles the interest levels will go with it also.

duckula20 (Antrim) - Posts:91 - 22/12/2015 16:11:50 181392

Exactly the point I am trying to make Duckula. We have tried tapping into other counties talent pool and resources, much to the disgust of many a Kildare fan and it didn't work.

Anyone who has been on here long enough will tell you that I was opposed to the Johnson thing and taught McGeeney should have gone long before he did. Antrim hurlers have used external managers I'm sure?

I'm of the opinion that we should stop comparing our organisation to the NFL,IRFU or soccer.

We are different in the our games are owned and shaped by the man on the ground.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 23/12/2015 10:48:06    1814018

Why is it Dublins responsibility all of a sudden!? When Kerry were winning these teams were in their current plight.

No problem when Kerry were winning all Ireland's all around them.

Only an issue as people are belly aching about Dublin winning every all Ireland for the next millennium.

Relax boys, we won't be on top forever. It's cyclic lads.

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 23/12/2015 11:48:32    1814027

It follows the rural narrative in general

Dublin gets everything while we have to suffer

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts:14747 - 23/12/2015 10:46:26 1814

Which is generally the truth.

People from Dublin aren't forced into 2/3 hour commutes every day.They're not forced to leave the place they were brought up in and in GAA terms this has a massive benefit for Dublin as it is easy for Dublin's players to find good jobs in their own home county and not having a massive commute or leave their home county and therefore the obstacles in their way to make the commitment to play inter county football are nowhere near as big as in the rest of Ireland.

The fact is that the governments of this country have let the whole country down by not having some sort of plan over the last 40 or 50 years to spread out the development, employment and population of this country.It's having massive effect on the GAA and will have an even bigger effect in the future.

uibhfhaili1986 (Offaly) - Posts: 1296 - 23/12/2015 11:49:14    1814028

Exactly the point I'm making

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 23/12/2015 12:15:13    1814033

Uibhfhaili.....

Belly aching! Dublin arent the government.

The woes of rural Ireland arent Dublins responsibility.

People dislike Dublin. We get it. They dont want Dublin to win.

But are fine with Kilkenny winning every year.

Couldnt make this stuff up!!!!

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 23/12/2015 13:07:14    1814043

It follows the rural narrative in general

Dublin gets everything while we have to suffer

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts:14747 - 23/12/2015 10:46:26 1814

Which is generally the truth.

People from Dublin aren't forced into 2/3 hour commutes every day.They're not forced to leave the place they were brought up in and in GAA terms this has a massive benefit for Dublin as it is easy for Dublin's players to find good jobs in their own home county and not having a massive commute or leave their home county and therefore the obstacles in their way to make the commitment to play inter county football are nowhere near as big as in the rest of Ireland.

The fact is that the governments of this country have let the whole country down by not having some sort of plan over the last 40 or 50 years to spread out the development, employment and population of this country.It's having massive effect on the GAA and will have an even bigger effect in the future.

uibhfhaili1986 (Offaly) - Posts:745 - 23/12/2015 11:49:14 1814028

Not Disagreeing with you , but remind me where most of the TDs in Ireland come from ?
This thread reminds me so much of work , I work now in city centre where Im surrounded by two types of people from the country , one who has settled and takes the pi77 everynow and then and openly admits to favouring every other GAA county bar Dublin and when asked why he say Ah Com on ! this fella I drink with .
Then theres number two who hates Dublin , lives in Dublin , hates the people , blames them for everything that's gone wrong in his life , there fault he had to up sticks .
On this site most have figured which camps there in even though some like the Master may protest at least Ulsterman is honest with his utter distain .
Point being an argument about Dublin resources/ home advantage / population / is a substitute for some small minded people on here to vent their obvious hatred of the capitail , and its been that way for quite awhile , truth be told a lot of discussions are hijacked on here by those people .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 23/12/2015 13:12:29    1814044

Damo you should work for the census office,

Question 1: Where in Ireland do you live A: Dublin B: Anywhere else

Question 2: If you answered B which kind of Dublin hater are you A: Pretend because everyone knows Dublins ace; or B: You're wrong.

All joking aside Kilkenny dont cop the same flak because they have neither the advantage in population or central funding and the resentment which comes with that is not there, Dublin can't do much about the population but the funding they should be more self sufficient. People will always give out to perceived inequalities and that is what we are talking about here not some ingrained hatred of Dublin, the biggest pick, the most funding and so on and so on we've all heard and seen the discussion.

I didn't have any takers for my earlier question so will try again for the Dublin GAA fan would it be more palatable for Dublin, or the other strong counties to be split or would they prefer to see smaller teams withdraw from competition.

duckula20 (Antrim) - Posts: 175 - 23/12/2015 14:04:42    1814052

As I have stated I think you're seeing the bigger picture now

The fact is that the governments of this country have let the whole country down by not having some sort of plan over the last 40 or 50 years to spread out the development, employment and population of this country. It's having massive effect on the GAA and will have an even bigger effect in the future

That's the real problem right there - that's the exact point I'm making

The GAA mirrors this socio-economic problem

As such there has, and always will be a massive imbalance, because there's not enough nationwide infrastructure in place to stop the outward migration from rural counties and this has a massive impact on the imbalance seen in the GAA.

It's not a problem with the GAA, it's a problem with Ireland... that unfortunately directly effects the GAA

And there's feck all a wee bit of redistribution of central coffers will do to rectify the above as that problem is on a far greater scale

Time to wake up and smell the coffee lads... Dublin needs the revenue it makes for itself, in order to simply sustain itself and fight off the many other options available to young people in Dublin

A redistribution from central coffers sounds great, and sure give it a go... but it really wont have much of an impact

There's plenty of counties that have spent big chasing wins and have really not progressed at all

It's about raw material and being able to hold onto it and bring it through

That's where Dublin's main advantage lies... we have the opportunities in place for young people to hold onto them and nurture their talent

It still takes a lot of work though and massive endeavour.... don't be so naïve to think that we don't have our own issues to deal with

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 23/12/2015 14:14:24    1814054

Damo you should work for the census office,

Question 1: Where in Ireland do you live A: Dublin B: Anywhere else

Question 2: If you answered B which kind of Dublin hater are you A: Pretend because everyone knows Dublins ace; or B: You're wrong.

All joking aside Kilkenny dont cop the same flak because they have neither the advantage in population or central funding and the resentment which comes with that is not there, Dublin can't do much about the population but the funding they should be more self sufficient. People will always give out to perceived inequalities and that is what we are talking about here not some ingrained hatred of Dublin, the biggest pick, the most funding and so on and so on we've all heard and seen the discussion.

I didn't have any takers for my earlier question so will try again for the Dublin GAA fan would it be more palatable for Dublin, or the other strong counties to be split or would they prefer to see smaller teams withdraw from competition.

duckula20 (Antrim) - Posts:92 - 23/12/2015 14:04:42 1814052

ha ha , you don't need to do a poll , the ones on a Friday are the decent skins the ones with Alex Ferguson scowls are the real Dublin haters , to be avoided after 10 in the summer 16.30 in the winter .
Seriously Id hate to see Dublin split , I am born a breed northsider but could never support a Dublin North team , just wouldn,y do it ,
As fot the smaller counties of course Id hate to see them out of the competition equally I honestly don't think any amount of funding would ever bring some counties up to our,s or Kerrys level , same way as no amount of funding would ever make Wicklow as competitive as Kilkenny in hurling .
Honestly don't feel Dublin are going awat as we have a good young crop of players , equally don't believe for a second its as doom day as some people make out , luck was on our side this year v Mayo that desserts you just as likely to see Tyrone Mayo or Kerry win in Sept , equally for all the funding one minor title to show .
Panic sets in when we win , slagging sets in when we lose.

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 23/12/2015 14:25:12    1814056

Ok well then shouldn't kerry split their money to because they have won more all Irelands and munster titles than anyone and kerry foods don't just give them a few quid they get well looked after I'd say very close to what Dublin get from aig but most forget the money from aig goes between every Dublin team from minor to the top in both football hurling and women's sport not like before when women had to look after themselves

delboydub (Dublin) - Posts: 665 - 23/12/2015 16:50:58    1814081

It's not the govenment's responsibility to manage the GAA.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7363 - 23/12/2015 17:43:04    1814090

If Dublin pulled out of competitions and the money would be spread equally amongst every county......

Who would win in each code?

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 23/12/2015 18:14:44    1814096

Uibhfhaili.....

Belly aching! Dublin arent the government.

The woes of rural Ireland arent Dublins responsibility.

People dislike Dublin. We get it. They dont want Dublin to win.

But are fine with Kilkenny winning every year.

Couldnt make this stuff up!!!!

JayP (Dublin) - Posts:1286 - 23/12/2015 13:07:14

Some people dislike Dublin.I certainly don't they play great football and a good Dublin team in both codes is good for the GAA in general.

That doesn't mean that the GAA can't do a better job trying to level the playing field and spread out resources a bit more equally.

The woes of rural Ireland are not Dublin GAA's responsibility but GAA in rural Ireland is the GAA's responsibility and they should be doing everything they can to ensure that the smaller county teams across the country are able to compete at a better standard and allocation of money is one of the ways this can happen.

People are bored to death of Kilkenny winning and that is expressed quite a lot of the internet the reason you don't hear as much of it on HoganStand is because this website is probably 80% or more a football website.There is very little hurling talk on here.

uibhfhaili1986 (Offaly) - Posts: 1296 - 23/12/2015 18:42:49    1814099

Kilkenny are not 'The Jackeens'. Us Culchies like Kilkenny because they're Culchies like us. And Kilkenny don't have a population or money advantage over other hurling counties. Tipp and Clare accepted that in recent times, refused to believe The Cats were supreme beings and won All Irelands. Dublin are different. 10 years ago they weren't a top football team. Just The Jackeens. Not much threat to us Culchies football-wise, though every good culchie should dislike Dublin people, even salt-of-the-earth Dublin GAA people. Rumour has it that even Southsiders with a few quid are GAA people. Imagine that!
Now the Dubs are lifting Sam on a regular basis. Unfair advantages: population, more money, play championship games at home. Was this not all true 10 years ago? Just looking for reasons to give up without trying to compete against the Dubs. Kilkenny are a much more dominant force in hurling yet Tipp and Clare are recent All Ireland winners.
If Conor McGregor was from Kilnaleck he'd be on a national icon status with Katie Taylor, Sonia O'Sullivan and Roy Keane. He's loud, arrogant, maybe naturally maybe because he's selling himself as a brand but the man is a winner. More than a bit of begrudgery, I think, because he's a Dub. We don't like the Dublin team that much as Culchies, we don't have to, they don't care much for Mullahs either. But some of us secretly admire their football and wish our county management would not only try to get some ideas from what they're doing right but to copy and try to improve on it. They've raised the bar, time to try and get to their level instead of the tired "Sure the Jackeens have all the advantages" excuse. If extra money counted for All Ireland success they'd have 10-in-a-row, not 1.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7363 - 23/12/2015 20:49:51    1814114

lads have a look at some of the posts around page 19 of the thread "does gaa get fair coverage compared to soccer and rugby" -
how ironic people are saying the the lack of funding of connacht rugby compared to other provinces was to to snobbery elitism etc etc in the context of the main topic in this thread.

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 11/01/2016 16:59:39    1815874

The lack of funding for Connacht wasn't down to snobbery Janesboro. It was a stitch up to preserve the status quo and guarantee Heineken Cup qualification in perpetuity for Leinster, Munster and Ulster. The issue of money making a difference in Gaelic Games is a cause for increasing concern.

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 11/01/2016 20:29:41    1815928

Kilkenny are not 'The Jackeens'. Us Culchies like Kilkenny because they're Culchies like us. And Kilkenny don't have a population or money advantage over other hurling counties. Tipp and Clare accepted that in recent times, refused to believe The Cats were supreme beings and won All Irelands. Dublin are different. 10 years ago they weren't a top football team. Just The Jackeens. Not much threat to us Culchies football-wise, though every good culchie should dislike Dublin people, even salt-of-the-earth Dublin GAA people. Rumour has it that even Southsiders with a few quid are GAA people. Imagine that!
Now the Dubs are lifting Sam on a regular basis. Unfair advantages: population, more money, play championship games at home. Was this not all true 10 years ago? Just looking for reasons to give up without trying to compete against the Dubs. Kilkenny are a much more dominant force in hurling yet Tipp and Clare are recent All Ireland winners.
If Conor McGregor was from Kilnaleck he'd be on a national icon status with Katie Taylor, Sonia O'Sullivan and Roy Keane. He's loud, arrogant, maybe naturally maybe because he's selling himself as a brand but the man is a winner. More than a bit of begrudgery, I think, because he's a Dub. We don't like the Dublin team that much as Culchies, we don't have to, they don't care much for Mullahs either. But some of us secretly admire their football and wish our county management would not only try to get some ideas from what they're doing right but to copy and try to improve on it. They've raised the bar, time to try and get to their level instead of the tired "Sure the Jackeens have all the advantages" excuse. If extra money counted for All Ireland success they'd have 10-in-a-row, not 1.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts:2055 - 23/12/2015 20:49:51 181411

Fair play to you Greenandred you always come across as a fair poster as long as I'm here anyway.Cannot be easy to post considering this year's semi finals and whatnot but it's refreshing compared to a lot of the other stuff we get on here.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 11/01/2016 20:58:11    1815938

11/01/2016 20:29:41 Greengrass (Louth) - Posts:4178
The lack of funding for Connacht wasn't down to snobbery Janesboro. It was a stitch up to preserve the status quo and guarantee Heineken Cup qualification in perpetuity for Leinster, Munster and Ulster. The issue of money making a difference in Gaelic Games is a cause for increasing concern.
It wasn't a stitch up. Connacht are smaller than the other provinces in every metric so of course they'll get less funding.

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 11/01/2016 20:59:50    1815940

11/01/2016 20:29:41 Greengrass (Louth) - Posts:4178
The lack of funding for Connacht wasn't down to snobbery Janesboro. It was a stitch up to preserve the status quo and guarantee Heineken Cup qualification in perpetuity for Leinster, Munster and Ulster.

Some people would argue that bigger counties having greater access to funding preserves the status quo and guarantees they compete for all ireland honours in perpetuity

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 12/01/2016 09:58:43    1815976

Well I for one don't agree with what greenandred has posted. It simply doesn't apply to me and I find it littered with the parochialisms that we are laboured with in the gaa - parochialisms that we need to shake off to move forward. I don't consider myself a 'culchie' for a start. The term means nothing to me. Nor do I identify with other people who also fall under this term. Why would I? I have little in common with someone from Kilkenny, and some nickname made up by someone I have equally little in common with doesn't change that. However, I credit them because they have dominated without advantages. There is nothing Kilkenny can do that the average county up and down the country cant equally do, and that is the big difference. If Dublin or anyone else did the same Id give them the same credit.

I don't get this idea that people harp on about 'oh nobody cared before Dublin were winning' like they are catching you out. They weren't making good use of the advantages so people were willing to turn a blind eye to them. They are now, so it can no longer be ignored. Id consider that being very fair on Dublin - nobody wanted to kick them when they were down. Splitting Dublin when they were getting hammered in semi finals would only serve to kill the game off in the county - why would anyone push that argument? People took the pragmatic approach of let it go while it isn't affecting anyone else. Now it is and people want to turn around and use that against the same ones who done them a favour by turning a blind eye? I don't think so. It is a disingenuous point as far as im concerned. Just like nobody is making a big deal of Antrim's big population when they aren't making use of it. Should we be pushing for them to be split also? Of course not.

The point about McGregor I also disagree with. People dislike him because he is full of sh**, not because he is from Dublin. His latest rant about oppression to Floyd Maywether, while a few weeks previous, wearing a poppy underlines this. What has that got to do with Dublin?

Finally, the 10 in a row example is overly simplistic. It was never all down to money. There are other factors at play. No team will ever win 10 in a row regardless of what they have. However, advantages can be used to load the scales in a team's favour far more than anyone else, and once you are crossing the point of having 10 times the average population, something has to give. Can people not see that it is going to negatively affect the game itself? Look at the SPL for example, that is where we are headed. One team running away with it, other teams bankrupting themselves trying to keep up.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 12/01/2016 10:24:09    1815980