Christmas/Newyear do for Top posters on H/S

Tomsmith here

It is proposed that the top(Intelligent) posters over the year on Hoganstand have a get together in order that this would be organised for a proper function in 2016 where all posters irrespective of standard of posts be invited to come along and mix with the top brass
This is only a suggestion or as would be said in industry a working document that can be tweaked as required

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 3863 - 20/12/2015 13:12:00    1813646

Maybe a better idea would be that all those armchair experts be a little kinder to the players.
Remember, these players are performing at a high level, and it does not take much intellegence to criticize these players when they are obviously performing at their highest level.
From my own county, Aidan Walsh has taken a lot of unprovoked barbs from various posters here.
Aidan has contributed more to Cork Football and hurling than all the posters here combined.
I certainly wouldn't waste my time speaking with them.

Rockies (Cork) - Posts: 947 - 20/12/2015 16:27:23    1813674

It would be worth going to just to see if you start every conversation with 'Tomsmith here' like you do on here.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2391 - 20/12/2015 16:38:48    1813678

Only if we have it in coppers

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 20/12/2015 17:08:09    1813682

Nowlan Park might be a good venue!

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 21/12/2015 11:38:00    1813769

Nah - the GAA will get wind of it and insist it is in Croke Park as there will be Dublin posters involved.... ;-)

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 21/12/2015 12:13:49    1813778

This was proposed a few years back.

I have two issues with your proposal.

1. There is no 'top brass' on a forum - it's an even playing field. There may be some that think they are but how is this defined?? Number of posts?? That's ridiculous if so as some people have simply more time on their hands than others etc, and some low posters may post less frequently but contribute just as much to strong threads when they do.

2. The beauty of a forum is the fact that your identity is unknown. Again - that makes it an even playing field where all opinions are accepted irrespective of age or experience etc in a particular sporting area.

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 21/12/2015 12:26:26    1813781

How does TomSmith define intelligent posters? I think he is being a bit arrogant in only selecting some posters for this proposed do.
Surely any poster can attend, and where is the venue.
Try again Tom.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1755 - 22/12/2015 18:28:12    1813947

1. There is no 'top brass' on a forum - it's an even playing field. There may be some that think they are but how is this defined?? Number of posts?? That's ridiculous if so as some people have simply more time on their hands than others etc, and some low posters may post less frequently but contribute just as much to strong threads when they do.

2. The beauty of a forum is the fact that your identity is unknown. Again - that makes it an even playing field where all opinions are accepted irrespective of age or experience etc in a particular sporting area.

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts:4127 - 21/12/2015 12:26:26 1813781

How does TomSmith define intelligent posters? I think he is being a bit arrogant in only selecting some posters for this proposed do.
Surely any poster can attend, and where is the venue.
Try again Tom.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts:367 - 22/12/2015 18:28:12 1813947

Tomsmith here Mr Brolly from Monaghan I have one issue with your post and that is your naivety to think that No top brass posters exist on this site Well brolly I can tell you that I would consider myself to be in the premier league and I would consider ( name deleted ) to be in the bottom of division 4 and last but not least I post as Tomsmith all the time I do not use any other name or nom de plume

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 3863 - 22/12/2015 19:15:37    1813955

Christmas/Newyear do for Top posters on H/S
20/12/2015 13:12:00 tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts:2501
Tomsmith here It is proposed that the top(Intelligent) posters over the year on Hoganstand have a get together in order that this would be organised for a proper function in 2016 where all posters irrespective of standard of posts be invited to come along and mix with the top brass
This is only a suggestion or as would be said in industry a working document that can be tweaked as required
What is a top poster? Why do you troll like this.
Why do you say tomsmith here when we know its you posting anyway. Do you speak like that when talking to people?
21/12/2015 12:26:26 Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts:4127 -
This was proposed a few years back.
On point 1 I agree with in relation to this forum but there is clear ranks used on many other forums.
Forums don't have to be anonymous and are as anonymous as users want them to be

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 22/12/2015 19:30:25    1813957

can i come Tom can i come can i come!!!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 22/12/2015 19:30:45    1813958

Noone likes a snob tom!!

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 22/12/2015 20:05:03    1813965

t) posters over the year on Hoganstand have a get together

I'm embarassed, I think I've gotten Tom all wrong. I'm very impressed by his generosity in organising a do that he doesn't even qualify to attend:-p

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4247 - 23/12/2015 09:46:36    1813998

Admin have been taking us top brass on a night out every year for the last while. It's always a great nights craic.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12133 - 23/12/2015 10:32:19    1814008

Hi Tom Smith there - presume you are bringing the Christmas Crackers?

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 23/12/2015 10:46:23    1814015

Why do you say tomsmith here when we know its you posting anyway. Do you speak like that when talking to people?

MedwayIrish here (I had to do it just once)

Two questions out of this one,

1) Tom Smith - Is your real name Tom Smith?

2) Ormond - The Tom Smith here thing really seems to bother you for some reason, is it almost as irritating for you as people calling you Ormo? Just asking.

MedwayIrish over and out :)

MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts: 2324 - 23/12/2015 10:47:32    1814017

Admin have been taking us top brass on a night out every year for the last while. It's always a great nights craic.

Do they threaten to delete you, in person if you say something they don't like?

MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts: 2324 - 23/12/2015 10:56:32    1814019

Maybe we should pick 4 or 5 people at random and do a come dine with me week of TV.

It would be brilliant seeing Tom knock on the other people's doors and say 'Tom Smith here'. When he is the host, he could get someone else to open his door, then jump out and say 'Tom Smith here'.

Tom, I like your posts. You are an interesting character.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 23/12/2015 11:17:27    1814023

Lads,i think ye're being a bit harsh on Mr Smith here.He did a fine job at last years function.He had the mens restroom in tip-top condition and offered a vast range of aftershave's and deoderant's.The Joop was my personnel favourite.
The only downfall was Mr Smiths incessant talking about the Polo Grounds in 1947 which,unfortunately,had me frequenting the ladies room towards the tail end of the night.Give him a chance lads.Ye wont be disappointed.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 23/12/2015 11:22:30    1814025

Brolly here Tom,

You should have been a Fr Ted character.. Fr Tom Smith here!! (Played by Graham Norton of course).

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 23/12/2015 14:28:44    1814058