Michael Murphy - Over rated?

Sheehan and Murphy are both great long distance kickers of a dead ball.
They are similar type players with Murphy being the harder worker for his team,
I prefer to enjoy the skills of Connolly,Cooper, O'Donoghue,Murphy, Brogan, McManus, O'Connor etc without dwelling on who is the highest rated,
Just accept that they all are/have been key players for their teams

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 507 - 31/01/2016 17:22:33    1820912

agree curlew 66

But the thread/ opening post isn't about if Murphy is greater than Gooch or brogan or whoever - it suggests that by picking him in a top 15 of the current era or rating him ahead of Eamon McGee is rating him too highly - given that Eamon doesn't have an all star (with 9 of current squad having that honour or YPOTY) therefore suggests murphy is at best mid ranking in current squad let alone a leading player - this to me is the point to debate though given the credibility of that assertion it's probably to be expected that things have digressed somewhat

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 31/01/2016 19:13:29    1820977

Yes ruanua, think we are both in agreement about the original post... I gave my twopence worth on 19/12.

(great win for you in Newry last eve, very impressed with the consistency of your underated player Frank Mc Glynn over the past five years .. Mr Duracell !)

Curlew66 (Roscommon) - Posts: 507 - 31/01/2016 20:45:07    1821040

Michael Murphy could not be overrated; he is a stand out player and has been well before Jim McGuiness shaped Donegal into a winning team.

He isn't in the style of Maurice Fitzgearld or Bryan Sheehan, he is a potent bull of a man who can control the field and is nearly always a danger to any opposition. In the last few minutes of the 2014 AI final it was Murphy who bulldozed himself through the dense Kerry defence to go for goal...which if it had succeeded would have drew the teams. That's just an example of his determination and leadership; his skill and power are easy to see. Top 15 of this era, without a doubt in my books!

kerrykerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1779 - 31/01/2016 21:53:00    1821093

If you want to discuss overrated forwards - Conor MacManus should be the first name out of your mouths. Capable of a decent performance once/twice a year (DL 13, Tyr and Kil '14 (combined 11 points, all from frees, and DL 15), and normally saves them for when he plays Donegal. If he isn't scoring he isn't doing much else. Which is a problem, as he is their only scorer.

He had one good performance both years they won Ulster and won All Stars both of those years. The very definition of overrated.

squareball_1988 (Donegal) - Posts:334 - 19/01/2016 15:20:13

So he can play well against the most defensive team in the history of the game. Do you not see the contradiction here or are you blinded by hate for him. Murphy had a poor season last year for one reason or another, but he is still the best full forward in the country (by some distance). Mc Manus, who very often has too much to do for Monaghan is one of the best corner forwards in the country. You don't get Allstar(s) awards for nothing, especially with the quality of player in the top 4 teams recently

mhunicean_abu (Monaghan) - Posts: 1044 - 01/02/2016 09:29:53    1821129

Good man Mhunicean, I was wondering what was keeping you Farney boys so long in coming to the party when that one went up

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 01/02/2016 13:36:37    1821265

No.

Condorman (Dublin) - Posts: 983 - 01/02/2016 14:56:24    1821306

Murphy had a poor year last year? I disagree not as good as some of his previous years but those are high standards. He was not let play by Tyrone who literally dragged out of him for the entire match regardless o where the ball was on the pitch yet he stood up and hit a couple of worldy frees to seal the deal. He was excellent in the Athletic grounds. Again the game against Derry was a difficult game to flourish in yet he hit some exceptional scores including another worldy from out the field when the game was in the melting pot. He was poor against Monaghan but there were exceptional mitigating circumstances for this including carying an injury. He was his usual exceptional self against Galway especially in the second half. Then against Mayo he was the only Donegal player to come out with any credit by carrying the fight to May getting some great scores in the process.

I disagree regarding McManus being over rated def one of the top forwards in the country without question.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 01/02/2016 15:20:06    1821320

Can't believe this thread is still going!!!!

We'll be looking back and talking about Michael Murphy in 50 years time! He is a supremely gifted footballer. There's very little he can't do on a football field.

He'd be a star on any team, in any era.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 01/02/2016 16:04:43    1821337

Ceart agus fíor MesAmis.

The man is a colossus. Put him in any position on the field, (even in goals! His power, intelligence and accuracy from kickouts would be advantageous) and he'd do a job.
He is irreplaceable for Donegal, and would be in any team in Ireland.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9154 - 01/02/2016 21:40:57    1821490

Mhunicean Abu.
Your good Craic.

letterkennyGuy (Donegal) - Posts: 153 - 04/02/2016 11:44:34    1822146

Super player! Absolutely class! As most posters have said he can play anywhere on the field, if anything I'd say we haven't seen the best of him yet, because of his versatility he gets moved from forward play into midfield or vice versa, I'd say if he was left in at full forward he'd be more consistent and would be a bigger asset to Donegal than he already is! He's irreplaceable for that Donegal team and I think they'd struggle badly without him! "

DUBJOHN (Dublin) - Posts: 932 - 04/02/2016 15:15:51    1822252

Yesterday's performance by Michael Murphy was the best I've witnessed any Donegal player ever put in : if he wasn't dragged out a few times , he would have got a couple of beautiful goals .

I think we would be in serious trouble if he got injured .

Can someone name a better all round player ?

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 14/03/2016 09:56:03    1834456

Yesterday's performance by Michael Murphy was the best I've witnessed any Donegal player ever put in : if he wasn't dragged out a few times , he would have got a couple of beautiful goals .

I think we would be in serious trouble if he got injured .

Can someone name a better all round player ?

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts:1033 - 14/03/2016 09:56:03

Ah now don't know about that he didn't get a sniff when he was inside and was beaten to every ball yesterday. Done alright when he went out the field but Roscommon had him well handled.

Pingcity (Longford) - Posts: 568 - 14/03/2016 10:02:50    1834461

Two opposing views their lads.Didn't see the game myself but the highlights last night showed very little of M Murphy ; very little of Donegal,in fact.Super stuff from the Rossies.Kerry,Cork and Donegal all beaten in their own back yard.Hats off.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 14/03/2016 10:14:02    1834473

No way is he over rated ... but he's defiantly over relied on in the done gal set up at the moment

rossy15 (Roscommon) - Posts: 619 - 14/03/2016 10:30:21    1834494

Ah now don't know about that he didn't get a sniff when he was inside and was beaten to every ball yesterday. Done alright when he went out the field but Roscommon had him well handled.

Pingcity (Longford) - Posts:302 - 14/03/2016 10:02:50 1834461

? He claimed 2 long balls which went in near the end and if he hadn't been fouled Roscommon's clean sheet might have been in danger.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9154 - 14/03/2016 10:46:45    1834509

His a beast at times it's like watching a big u16 playing in a u12 game.
Enjoy him donegal his 1 in a lifetime

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 14/03/2016 11:12:34    1834533

He's outstanding absolute machine best footballer to ever play for Donegal no doubt about that the man is class. If he got injured then that's the end of Donegal's chances. He'll go down as one of the greats and would make any 15 in any era.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 14/03/2016 12:35:56    1834589

He's outstanding absolute machine best footballer to ever play for Donegal no doubt about that the man is class. If he got injured then that's the end of Donegal's chances. He'll go down as one of the greats and would make any 15 in any era.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts:7168 - 14/03/2016 12:35:56

That's it, QED, definitely over-rated.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12121 - 14/03/2016 13:45:16    1834642