Who is the most skilful Footballer playing now?

Definitely Gooch. Great ball carrier and great at dispossessing opponents. Shane Walsh great but he has moments of greatness not entire games but he's still young. 3 most skilled players I ever had the pleasure of watching were Padraic joyce, Ja Fallon and maurice fitzgerald , absolute legends

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1679 - 18/12/2015 14:30:31    1813488

*three

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1679 - 18/12/2015 14:58:14    1813499

Horsebox, in fairness, O'Shea has contributed on plenty of big days - more than most players in the country Id argue. It is just unfortunate for him, and probably telling of his influence, that on the days he hasn't been at his best, mayo have lost. What becomes apparent is we only seem to have our games classed as big, when we lose... Truth be told, Diarmuid Connolly is a guy who has been marked absent on a lot of big days, but his team won so it wasn't viewed as an issue. It is an interesting quirk.

Most skilful player in the game is Lee Keegan. He has the most complete skillset of any individual playing today. He could literally play anywhere and be an asset. I don't think the same can be said of Murphy, Connolly or McManus.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 18/12/2015 15:10:50    1813505

The Master - "What becomes apparent is we only seem to have our games classed as big, when we lose"...Maybe that's because a lot of the games ye fail to perform in are all ireland finals!

Rocky.Road (Galway) - Posts: 374 - 18/12/2015 15:27:33    1813513

True - Keegan is the type of player who could probably adapt and excel in any position on the field. A sickeningly great footballer! Karl Lacey was the same in his pomp.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9161 - 18/12/2015 15:29:03    1813515

Mm for me.. Lee keegan who filled the togs against the dubs.. You're having a laugh.

marvinberry (Donegal) - Posts: 39 - 18/12/2015 16:28:01    1813535

Diarmuid Connolly

Adamski (Dublin) - Posts: 339 - 18/12/2015 18:56:52    1813549

Diarmuid Connolly.

Angus (Dublin) - Posts: 283 - 18/12/2015 20:25:25    1813563

Skill wise Diarmuid Connolly by a mile, just like Ciaran McDonald in the past, tank wise Aiden O'Shea

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 18/12/2015 21:15:16    1813571

At present it would be Murphy and Connolly for me- and I would be happy with either!

browncows (Meath) - Posts: 2342 - 19/12/2015 14:20:32    1813586

Some brilliant players around at the minute

Complete players

I think the likes of Jack McCaffrey / Lee Keegan would stand out for me

Just from a Jack McCaffrey side of things

Can kick off both feet, can score points / goals, great ball handling skills, incredible injection of pace, great balance, excellent distribution, his defensive side has improved, some great turn overs, he can read a situation very well, make himself available to put in the tackle or to receive the ball, creates a lot of what is good on an already excellent Dublin team

Almost the complete package, not there yet... more to come

He's still very young, I think he could turn into a truly great player and already has a massive skill set

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 21/12/2015 14:01:16    1813794

Bryan Sheehan deserves a mention in any post regarding skill.

Martin Clarke of Down, Keith Higgins of Mayo and Cillian O'Connor haven't been mentioned yet are really great players.

GetOverTheBar (Tyrone) - Posts: 1388 - 21/12/2015 17:10:25    1813811

Hard to believe that Jamie Clarke hasn't had a mention!!

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 21/12/2015 18:34:14    1813819

Cora is fairly handy too.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7373 - 21/12/2015 19:38:15    1813824

Conor McManus!... 2 footed, points from either foot any angle, even when double-treble marked!

Monaghan Exile (Monaghan) - Posts: 442 - 21/12/2015 19:54:40    1813827

Yeah McManus

Outstanding forward.. you cant fully appreciate these lads if you haven't played the game

Some of the scores they take are just superb

Always a top sign of a top sportsperson is when they make something look so easy

Think Ronnie O'Sullivan etc.. it's the same with top GAA players - they make something that's actually very technical and difficult look so easy

I often hear some soccer head's say.. sure he just kicked it over the bar... enough said.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 22/12/2015 09:22:10    1813840

McManus is a very accurate kicker and a good ball winner. He doesn't have much defensive skills though. Surely the most skilful player, would require having the most accomplished skillset?

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 22/12/2015 10:37:04    1813851

McManus is a very accurate kicker and a good ball winner. He doesn't have much defensive skills though. Surely the most skilful player, would require having the most accomplished skillset?

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts:14588 - 22/12/2015 10:37:04

He wouldn't be the worse defensively. Didn't he start his Monaghan career as a wing back?

Gael85 (Dublin) - Posts: 1433 - 22/12/2015 11:57:07    1813863

Horsebox, in fairness, O'Shea has contributed on plenty of big days - more than most players in the country Id argue. It is just unfortunate for him, and probably telling of his influence, that on the days he hasn't been at his best, mayo have lost. What becomes apparent is we only seem to have our games classed as big, when we lose... Truth be told, Diarmuid Connolly is a guy who has been marked absent on a lot of big days, but his team won so it wasn't viewed as an issue. It is an interesting quirk.

Most skilful player in the game is Lee Keegan. He has the most complete skillset of any individual playing today. He could literally play anywhere and be an asset. I don't think the same can be said of Murphy, Connolly or McManus.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts:14588 - 18/12/2015 15:10:50

Keegan is best half back in country. Could play midfield. Not a forward shooting lets him down at vital moments in tight games. Bryan Sheehan and Johhny Buckley are most skilful palyers in my book. Ian Ryan of Limerick too ,always a handful for our backs too

WilliePower12 (Australia) - Posts: 25 - 22/12/2015 12:26:33    1813872

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts:14590 - 22/12/2015 10:37:04 1813851

Neither does the Gooch , and he aint half bad

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 22/12/2015 13:33:48    1813893