Alan Brogan retires from inter - county football

Silly .... There were plenty in Cavan as good as him this past 20 years .

Awwwwnow (Cavan) - Posts: 1050 - 15/12/2015 17:28:05    1813048

One of Dublin's great forwards thrilling player in his pomp. When you saw him doing the high bounce you knew something good was coming. Delighted that he finished on pitch and scored the point that will stay long in the memory. He carried the Dublin team for a long time in the leaner times.

theduke66 (Dublin) - Posts:111 - 15/12/2015 14:06:56

It wasn't the refs whistle for overcarrying ,that's for sure :-)

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 15/12/2015 17:30:21    1813049

Class player. Should have been player of the year in 2006. Best of luck to him in his retirement.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7360 - 15/12/2015 17:32:37    1813051

one of the greats, a class football brain he had, he always came over as a total gentleman off the field, the photo of him with his son after the donegal game was one of the best sports photos of the year

stmunn (Wexford) - Posts: 181 - 15/12/2015 17:41:44    1813053

Awwwwnow (Cavan) - Posts:268 - 15/12/2015 17:28:05 181

Ye done a good job hiding them !

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 15/12/2015 18:50:28    1813059

Awwwwnow (Cavan) - Posts:268 - 15/12/2015 17:28:05 18130

Sure there were,but they must be playing hurling.

SLLY (Dublin) - Posts: 463 - 15/12/2015 18:55:54    1813061

He was probably the main reason that the Dubs finally made the breakthrough in 2011. His experience of so many defeats in semi finals and finals was vital when the Dubs got their current crop of young players. A great player in any era!!

MARNELL (Westmeath) - Posts: 728 - 15/12/2015 20:20:47    1813073

Dublin legend who seemed to conduct himself very well on and off the pitch. Deserved his eventual All Irelands after a few years of sore results. Good luck to him.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 15/12/2015 20:50:16    1813077

A sad day for Dublin football to see Alan Brogan retire. One of greatest players to wear the Dublin jersey developing from a poacher into one of the games best playmakers. Played 122 games for Dublin between championship and league scoring 17-206. A remarkable record scoring considering only 2/3 were frees. Really retired on a high scoring that insurance point against Kerry in final. Will be remembered as Dublin legend who won most major honours in game.

3 Senior All Irelands
11 Senior Leinster
3 National Leagues
1 U21 All Irelands
2 U21 Leinster
1 Leinster Minor
Senior Player of Year

Gael85 (Dublin) - Posts: 1433 - 15/12/2015 21:41:58    1813085

A sad day for Dublin football to see Alan Brogan retire. One of greatest players to wear the Dublin jersey developing from a poacher into one of the games best playmakers. Played 122 games for Dublin between championship and league scoring 17-206. A remarkable record scoring considering only 2/3 were frees. Really retired on a high scoring that insurance point against Kerry in final. Will be remembered as Dublin legend who won most major honours in game.

3 Senior All Irelands
11 Senior Leinster
3 National Leagues
1 U21 All Irelands
2 U21 Leinster
1 Leinster Minor
Senior Player of Year

Gael85 (Dublin) - Posts:1089 - 15/12/2015 21:41:5

He only has 2 Senior All Irelands. He didn't play in 2013.

uibhfhaili1986 (Offaly) - Posts: 1296 - 16/12/2015 08:14:13    1813089

He was on the panel in 2013 didn't play due to injury much like the Goouch in 2014.

dubshurling7 (Dublin) - Posts: 1017 - 16/12/2015 10:19:28    1813100

3 Senior All Irelands
11 Senior Leinster
3 National Leagues
1 U21 All Irelands
2 U21 Leinster
1 Leinster Minor
Senior Player of Year

Gael85 (Dublin) - Posts:1089 - 15/12/2015 21:41:5

He only has 2 Senior All Irelands. He didn't play in 2013.

uibhfhaili1986 (Offaly) - Posts:735 - 16/12/2015 08:14:13 181

He was on subs and got a medal

Gael85 (Dublin) - Posts: 1433 - 16/12/2015 10:20:28    1813102

Brilliant footballer, Alan Brogan was one of the main concerns for Meath fans when we played between 2005-2010, there wasn't much difference between the teams then, but he could always cause havoc and be that difference with a touch of class. Seems like a decent enough fella off the pitch as well, heard him on Newstalk yesterday and he came across very well and I think he made the right the decision in retiring because it's a huge commitment and he just wasn't starting enough games these days, all the best to Alan in retirement.

Ps, I never knew he started off as a back......pity the fecker didn't stay in the backs!!!

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 16/12/2015 10:25:31    1813106

Brilliant footballer, Alan Brogan was one of the main concerns for Meath fans when we played between 2005-2010, there wasn't much difference between the teams then, but he could always cause havoc and be that difference with a touch of class. Seems like a decent enough fella off the pitch as well, heard him on Newstalk yesterday and he came across very well and I think he made the right the decision in retiring because it's a huge commitment and he just wasn't starting enough games these days, all the best to Alan in retirement.

Ps, I never knew he started off as a back......pity the fecker didn't stay in the backs!!!

Played 2 years for Dublin minors at right half back. Tommy Lyons corner him to corner forward after a backs and forwards training session

Gael85 (Dublin) - Posts: 1433 - 16/12/2015 10:33:50    1813107

Over rated and nothing special. Devoid of any real star quality e. g the Gooch.

Jimin10 (Meath) - Posts:601 - 15/12/2015 12:59:48 1812995

I suppose Brogan never won a 6 nations medal or scored a try in Croker like the great Joe Sheridan

Gael85 (Dublin) - Posts: 1433 - 16/12/2015 10:35:44    1813108

Great competitor and delighted he was able to go out on a high after this years AI victory. Every dog has his day and it is probably the right time to bow out.
Best of luck to him.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 16/12/2015 11:30:39    1813116

An excellent player who had the right attitude towards the game. I'm glad he has decided to go as it would be sad to see him wind up as a bit-part player. All gales should wish him well

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 16/12/2015 12:14:29    1813127

Awwwwnow (Cavan) - Posts:269 - 15/12/2015 17:28:05 1813048

Nonsense. He was a brilliant footballer.

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 16/12/2015 15:35:44    1813175

Over rated and nothing special. Devoid of any real star quality e. g the Gooch.

Jimin10 (Meath) - Posts:601 - 15/12/2015 12:59:48 1812995

I suppose Brogan never won a 6 nations medal or scored a try in Croker like the great Joe Sheridan

Gael85 (Dublin) - Posts:1092 - 16/12/2015 10:35:44

Funny you mention Joe Sheridan because it's obviously because I am from Meath that I have given a biased opinion! You Dubs are quick to attack the poster not the post ;) Big Joe had a head on his shoulders. A cuteness if you will. Put an average player like Brogan in the full forward line against lesser teams and he cleans up. That's the thing that sets a star quality forward like the Gooch apart from the crowd. They clean up against all teams not just the cannon fodder.

Jimin10 (Meath) - Posts: 783 - 16/12/2015 18:08:25    1813196

jimin10

Well done

You don't have a clue

It's now been confirmed.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 17/12/2015 10:52:47    1813267