What's going on in Dublin hurling ?

Things don't seem to be running too smoothly in the Dublin hurling camp with another one of our top players choosing to step aside and the two other lads being let go from panel. CK likely to retire also and a couple of others opting out previously. What exactly is going on. Last season was poor enough in general and looks like there is unrest within the camp.

SLLY (Dublin) - Posts: 463 - 08/12/2015 10:29:22    1811923

The team did need a bit of a shake up after Daly, but the noises coming out of the camp lately don't sound too good. I'd hold fire on Ger Cunningham for now though. We don't know why Sutcliffe is stepping out, it might be to do with his studies, and Keaney was always going to be considering his future in 2016, he's 33 and Boden are in the AI club semi-final.

Lambert, Carton and Alan Nolan all gave great service and aren't happy to be let go but the manager has to be allowed to pick his squad.

Mickmick (Dublin) - Posts: 104 - 08/12/2015 10:41:00    1811926

Hard to know if it is unrest. A lot of the players were together a long time with Anthony Daly. Change is inevitable really.

If it is unrest, the players look to have left it very late in the year to kick up.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 08/12/2015 10:41:15    1811927

Sutcliffe is irreplaceable.One,if not the best forward,we've ever had.Himself and M Schutte had that commodity all defenders hated - raw pace.If he's definately gone,i'd say our chances of success will go with him.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 08/12/2015 10:41:23    1811928

Sutcliffe's a fantastic talent but he didn't have a great year in 2015. A year out might do him the world of good.

Mickmick (Dublin) - Posts: 104 - 08/12/2015 10:54:51    1811934

Mickmick

1811934 Sutcliffe's a fantastic talent but he didn't have a great year in 2015. A year out might do him the world of good.

A year out my do him good? Ah come on now, the chap is in his mid twenties he should be in his prime. Last year he was coming back from a long term injury which can explain his loss of form. But form is temporary, class is permanent. This year he should be coming back stronger than ever, not taking a year out. Carton walked last year (not dropped remember) and now Sutcliffe. Two of our main players and possibly the best forward we've ever had walkin from the panel is not a good sign I dont care what anyone says. Hope this mess is sorted out before the start of the campaign.

ConnollyDub (Dublin) - Posts: 2007 - 08/12/2015 12:34:48    1811971

Mickmick

1811934 Sutcliffe's a fantastic talent but he didn't have a great year in 2015. A year out might do him the world of good.

Agreed he didn't have a great year , equally he was most times double marked , hence not at his best he contributed , no amount of spin will change the loss he is to our team

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 08/12/2015 12:37:29    1811974

Mickmick

A year out my do him good? Ah come on now, the chap is in his mid twenties he should be in his prime. Last year he was coming back from a long term injury which can explain his loss of form. But form is temporary, class is permanent. This year he should be coming back stronger than ever, not taking a year out. Carton walked last year (not dropped remember) and now Sutcliffe. Two of our main players and possibly the best forward we've ever had walkin from the panel is not a good sign I dont care what anyone says. Hope this mess is sorted out before the start of the campaign.

ConnollyDub (Dublin) - Posts: 2007 - 08/12/2015 13:21:38    1811983

Didn't take long for the wheels to come off this bandwagon

costm (Laois) - Posts: 92 - 08/12/2015 13:46:29    1811996

Didn't take long for the wheels to come off this bandwagon

What bandwagon would that be? Elaborate please.

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 08/12/2015 13:54:50    1812001

Yes , would be concerned at the amount of guys who are leaving or being let go. For a county who are always going to be in the shadow of the footballers and struggling to compete with traditional counties this is not a good sign.Sutcliffe will be a loss big time and whatever the reason for him leaving the panel when you hear Lambert not happy with reasons he was given it sounds like bad vibe in the camp. I was all for giving Cunningham a chance to prove he could carry on where Daly left off and I hope I'm wrong but I have my doubts now. Hopefully they can overcome whatever the issues are and get back to winning ways.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 08/12/2015 14:24:17    1812009

Didn't take long for the wheels to come off this bandwagon What bandwagon would that be? Elaborate please.

CroiGorm (Dublin) - 08/12/2015 13:54:50

Not so long ago we were being told that Dublin would be winning hurling All Ireland tiles. Or are you going to deny that and try and blame others for it?

costm (Laois) - Posts: 92 - 08/12/2015 14:37:49    1812018

Not so long ago we were being told that Dublin would be winning hurling All Ireland tiles.

We were told? Were we? Told by who? There aren't any Dublin hurling fans posting on this forum that talk about Dublin winning All Ireland's at the moment. And anyone that tries to claim Dublin hurling has a bandwagon support hasn't a clue what they're talking about.

Or are you going to deny that and try and blame others for it?

Am I going to deny it? Eh yes I am because I never said any such thing and have no clue what you're talking about. And to be honest I'm not pretty sure what 'others' i should be blaming for it? The media maybe? Which has got nothing to do with bandwagon supporters.

You seem to have a serious issue with anything Dublin be it our footballers, hurlers or even Dublin posters on this forum. It's pretty pathetic to be honest. Maybe focus on your own county and stop worrying about us.

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 08/12/2015 14:57:38    1812031

Not so long ago we were being told that Dublin would be winning hurling All Ireland tiles. We were told? Were we? Told by who? There aren't any Dublin hurling fans posting on this forum that talk about Dublin winning All Ireland's at the moment. And anyone that tries to claim Dublin hurling has a bandwagon support hasn't a clue what they're talking about. Or are you going to deny that and try and blame others for it? Am I going to deny it? Eh yes I am because I never said any such thing and have no clue what you're talking about. And to be honest I'm not pretty sure what 'others' i should be blaming for it? The media maybe? Which has got nothing to do with bandwagon supporters. You seem to have a serious issue with anything Dublin be it our footballers, hurlers or even Dublin posters on this forum. It's pretty pathetic to be honest. Maybe focus on your own county and stop worrying about us.

CroiGorm (Dublin) - 08/12/2015 14:57:38

Exactly the answer I expected. Here and other forms like it up until last year had Dubs, and no elese, were going on and on about how it was only a matter time before they won an All-Ireland.

Didn't say you did now did it? Why make up that?

In the same way Dublin posters have issues with countless other counties? Or is that different?

No the pathetic thing is Dublin posters saying what they like about others but crying when the same is said about them. That and of course trying to deny the hype they build up themselves and trying to blame others when they lose. A little like your comments here in fact

costm (Laois) - Posts: 92 - 08/12/2015 15:28:46    1812048

Here and other forms like it up until last year had Dubs, and no elese, were going on and on about how it was only a matter time before they won an All-Ireland.

Waiting patiently for copies of those posts, off you go now!

trying to blame others when they lose. A little like your comments here in fact

Ha ha I wasn't aware this was a competition!!

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 08/12/2015 15:38:21    1812056

Come on lads,we've all had a drink(:

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 08/12/2015 15:43:24    1812065

Here and other forms like it up until last year had Dubs, and no elese, were going on and on about how it was only a matter time before they won an All-Ireland. Waiting patiently for copies of those posts, off you go now! trying to blame others when they lose. A little like your comments here in fact Ha ha I wasn't aware this was a competition!!

CroiGorm (Dublin) - 08/12/2015 15:38:21

Id give a proper reply to this but I've just realised that it's just you jimbo under another name so there's no need to look for those posts because if memory serves me right you were making plenty of them yourself.

Then again its probably hard to keep track of all of your usernames on here

costm (Laois) - Posts: 92 - 08/12/2015 15:47:55    1812069

Id give a proper reply to this but I've just realised that it's just you jimbo under another name so there's no need to look for those posts because if memory serves me right you were making plenty of them yourself.

Then again its probably hard to keep track of all of your usernames on here

Hahahaha you're obsessed with Jimbo and whether or not he has more than 1 username!

You're slowly becoming the most entertaining/amusing poster on here. The sad thing is though, you're not trying to be funny. Well done, that was quick after only a few posts.

Just so you know, I'm female. Not male. I'm only posting here a few months and have no idea who Jimbob is.

I'll leave you be to go stalk Jimbo a bit more.

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 08/12/2015 15:53:55    1812072

Jaysus this costm has the serious hots for Jimbo. Can't see the wood for the Jimboesque trees it seems. Or is he right? Is everyone secretly Jimbo?

Am I?! ;)

Je suis Jimbo etc

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13729 - 08/12/2015 16:00:36    1812078

In anyways. Things not looking good for 2016 already. Danny is a massive loss, one of our only genuinely top class hurlers.

I rate Nolan highly too, he'd be my choice over Maguire being honest so it seems a strange decision to let him go from the panel completely.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13729 - 08/12/2015 16:02:50    1812080