Dubs crying about money!

Rehand

TBH

Any top county is being professionally run these days

The players at the top of the game have access to the best of the best

But they are all still students or hold down a full time job, keep the mortgage paid, keep their families warm and fed

All takes ultimate dedication

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 09/12/2015 13:03:43    1812279

Just had a look at the name of the thread and was thinking.

Costello is attending to his duties on behalf of dublin. Why are all the other County Secretaries not crying about getting more money filtered down. I appreciate that the GAA are way ahead of other sporting bodies in this regard, In other sports all head office personnel are on very lucrative and unjustified contracts.

But no harm to keep pressure on our boys in croke park to avoid slippage. Look at how the IFA turned out to be making a priority on remuneration to the people who mattered.

Ashrules (Dublin) - Posts: 518 - 09/12/2015 13:37:28    1812297

Yet another thread denigrates into population blah blah blah as if the person announcing it has had a eureka moment and is telling us something we didn't know .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 09/12/2015 13:50:18    1812305

Damothedub

1812305 Yet another thread denigrates into population blah blah blah as if the person announcing it has had a eureka moment and is telling us something we didn't know .

As you as you see this

"Ah sure don't Dublin have a population of 1.5 million"

You should just straight away strip this person of any sort of rational thinking...

It's just hear say nonsense and it's spout so regularly that you'd just have to sit back and laugh.. and enjoy the fact that they have the mental capabilities of a wet brick.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 09/12/2015 14:17:04    1812321

Sorry Jim, what are you talking about? Facts about population are hearsay???? Am I missing something.

No Dublin attract all the money and support because of the brand, not your population size. In fact half those in the hill aren't even from Dublin, wise up again

redhanddefender (Tyrone) - Posts: 913 - 09/12/2015 14:47:19    1812329

Look Dubs can't all be stupid but how can anyone throw out the we bring more people to games than anyone else. Dublin vs Longford a good example. Of course Dublin deserve more support after the paltry crowd from Longford who attended croke park. Sure there were about 30000 dubs there. Why could Longford not get their act together and match that. Oh hold on a.... Look with Dublins population set to mushroom NOW IS THE TIME TO DO SOMETHING. The smallest populated county ie Leitrim has 30000 people. No county should operate with more than 10 times that. I know Down and Antrim would exceed but religious divide makes their case different. Don't be coming back with the other sports in du link crap either. Soccer and rugby exist in every rural county. I don't want to hear about kerry either. Their population may be small compared to Dublin but it's still over 150000. There is no argument against the fact that a county with 1.5 million population playing say Longford with 33000 is frankly rediculous. It's time to split dublin before the leinster championship becomes as irrelevant as club rugby.

sceptical (Cavan) - Posts: 544 - 09/12/2015 18:00:52    1812384

Dublin have had the best access to sponsorship/advertisement and of course they will have the best finances available as they have the biggest population and fans dont have far to travel all through the year but this has been the same for years.

Its up to other counties to look after there own business. Yes the gaa could do more for the lesser counties to help with financing games and training/travel throughout the year but the likes of counties like Meath Kildare Cork Mayo etc should be well capable of looking after their own affairs instead of complaining about the dubs.

Not much was heard about this before the dubs were successful on the pitch during the last few years and it would be a lot worse if they continued to be unsuccessful given the resources at their disposable. Fair play to them for getting the maximum return from the work they have put in.

Cork, Mayo, Meath, Kildare and similiar counties should be doing alot better but instead they barely have any success between them in years.

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 09/12/2015 18:28:14    1812390

Jimbo, may I ask how do you think this 'appreciation' from other counties should manifest itself? What should we do?

Also you keep saying it has nothing to do with the fans, yet you are asking for fans of other counties to show this 'appreciation'.

Finally, have you ever stopped to appreciate how all the other counties allow Dublin to operate on such a different level to themselves and yet still compete against them in the AI series?

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 10/12/2015 09:45:07    1812447

Jimbo, may I ask how do you think this 'appreciation'

Appreciation is a two way street...id love to know how many thousands us Mayo fans have spent in the capital down the years traveling to support our county. Same goes for other counties. I demand the business people of Dublin form a line and bow down and thank us :p

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 10/12/2015 10:12:11    1812453

Absolutely yewtree. You can extend that to county investment. I believe the population of Kerry are giving the equivalent of over 30 euro per person to the county cause. That is putting your money where your mouth is. Where is their appreciation?

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 10/12/2015 17:02:14    1812557

It's not an adequate comparison - not even close in fact.

After all we're talking about money going into the central coffers of the GAA

Which then benefits the grass root levels within the GAA

Not into the pockets of a small handful of private business owners.. many of which aren't even from Dublin

Quinns was owned by Sean Quinn for a very long time as just one example

I know it's hard pill to swallow lads because it doesn't suit your own agenda's

after all... the hear say narrative is all about what Dublin gets... time and time again

There's never a balance to the revenue generated by Dublin GAA to the tune of many millions a year

And it extends far beyond bums on seats as well you know of course.

But the fact remains - Dublin GAA contributes millions into central coffers that goes onto benefit everyone

We'll continue to do what we do better than anyone else

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 10/12/2015 18:16:17    1812578

1812447 Jimbo, may I ask how do you think this 'appreciation' from other counties should manifest itself? What should we do?

How about trying to add a little bit of balance to your opinions?

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 10/12/2015 18:45:35    1812584

jimbodub - But the fact remains - Dublin GAA contributes millions into central coffers that goes onto benefit everyone
We'll continue to do what we do better than anyone else

What ye do best....well ye have the biggest population by far and don't come back with there are many non gaa people in Dublin, of course they are but you have the biggest support because you have the biggest population.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 11/12/2015 10:45:18    1812610