Dubs crying about money!

Brand your ****.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 08/12/2015 16:19:25    1812092

1812086 costm
Do Dublin posters ever actually talk about a subject when it involves them or do they always try and change the subject?

This fella really has your number jimbo. Id say you are frantically googling Laois gaa finances

_______

That's just your opinion

And so far... on this thread

It's obvious to see that your opinion especially in relation to me is one born out well.. hmmm let me think

I'm not so sure.. it seems you have personal dislike of me on a very in depth and personal level

Which is odd but funny to me at the same time

I mean it's no wonder you like his contributions so much

Born out of nothing but a willingness to attack me without contributing to the actual point of the thread

He has one number - 1800-Troll

I'm just glad he doesn't have mine.. I'd be getting heavy breathing in the dead of night... hahaha

Again... I couldn't care less about what Costello said.. it's more down to the bare faced ignorance of some posters while ignoring the massive contributions that the Dublin GAA brand brings into the central coffers

Costello could do well with not feeding the trolls

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 08/12/2015 16:23:28    1812093

1812090 Jimbo, you expect people to go cap in hand to Dublin, thanking them, when each dub doesn't give any more than any single person of any other team...

____

Again.. when did I say anything about fans?

I honestly have no idea how you came to that conclusion - the only way you could come to that conclusion is because you're not reading my posts properly.

The Dublin GAA brand is very lucrative to the GAA - it's quite simplistic to imagine its just bums on seats themaster...

Television rights, sponsorship etc etc... the amount of air time that Dublin receives on Irish TV is happening for a reason

IMHO opinion I can see why Costello's points would seem distasteful for some

But again.. I never once defended them

I just find it equally distasteful to see such a complete lack of gratitude and acknowledgment when it comes to what Dublin GAA actually brings to the table.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 08/12/2015 16:39:02    1812098

Themaster

Lets just clear up your complete lack of acknowledgment

No other county contributed more to central coffers in 2015 than Dublin

Through various sources of revenue generating mechanisms - do you know how much Setanta pays for the Spring Series alone, attach all the sponsorship then to that... almost all of that goes straight back to everyone.. and that's only the spring series... an initiative invented by the Dublin CB and GAA.. how many millions has that brought in alone.. to the benefit of everyone

I think you will find that Setanta pay for live coverage of Saturday night league games not the Dublin games alone, they show at least two games per Saturday night throughout the leagues and sometimes three - in your arrogance are you trying to tell us this is simply down to the Dubs? Saturday night coverage on Setanta started long before the so called spring series.

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 08/12/2015 16:53:41    1812104

KerryKillers

I don't think I'm biased

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 08/12/2015 16:55:41    1812105

:D

KerryKillers (Dublin) - Posts: 711 - 08/12/2015 17:02:30    1812109

benched

_____

They have broadcast the Dublin Spring Series for a number of years now

i.e

They have broadcast many additional games that wouldn't exist without the direct input of Dublin CB who spear headed this initiative

Have you seen their picks this year?

They are basically Dublin TV again this year... big money.. rights / sponsorship / ad sales

If it comes across as arrogant for saying such to point out a complete lack of acknowledgement

Then so be it.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 08/12/2015 17:06:15    1812110

Poor dubs. Sure they only have 1.5 million population and million deal with Vodafone. Sure even though ballyboden alone have more underage players than some county teams, sure your biased if you mention Dublins imaginary advantage.

sceptical (Cavan) - Posts: 544 - 08/12/2015 17:42:28    1812121

Nothing like a thread about the Dubs to get posters going.
I dont think Dublin should get more money for the holiday fund, any spare money should be earmarked for the Mayo backroom expenses next year, its going to be quite a bill.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 08/12/2015 19:23:49    1812148

I've been saying for a long time that the Dublin monster will eventually destroy the GAA. For most counties, especially in Leinster, it's a bit like a 12th century army with bows and arrows taking on 21st century army equipped with tanks, guns and airplanes and the GAA keeps supplying the Dublin forces with all the ammunitions they want. People, especially kids, will ultimately become bored and drift away to soccer, rugby etc.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 08/12/2015 20:44:40    1812177

Jim or whoever you are, looking for gratitude? Gratitude for what exactly. Smaller counties get damn all from the GAA as most of their grants etc for coaching are based on size of population! Therefore the Dubs get far more than anyone else from the GAA. which is a ridiculous concept.

"Brand Dublin" - what are you on about. Your brand at the minute say to me "professional athletes competing in a amateur environment", that's what I think of when I see the jersey. Fair enough as things stand people are competing for the funds and Dublin are quite rightly marketing themselves to the best of their ability. That's just how it will be as the GAA will take decades to change anything.

The problem I have however is that they come in to the media crying about a few thousand and shouting about it being unfair! wise up!

On another note Kerry after announcing 900K profit for the year put forward a motion to put all games on free to air is the most ironic thing I have seen in the GAA. People whooping and patting them on the back need a reality check!

redhanddefender (Tyrone) - Posts: 913 - 09/12/2015 09:05:53    1812199

Why is the Kerry motion about free to air ironic?

The Kerry Co. Board has done brilliant work fund-raising throughout the last few years for their centre of excellence project, that is why they recorded that profit this year.

Do you think it was all given to them by sky or something??

As regards this other issue of what the Dublin Board are given from match day revenues, well I think it is only fair that if Dublin enjoy playing in Croke Park the costs they save by doing so should be deducted from the proportion of the attendance revenue they are earmarked to receive.

As someone mentioned earlier, for teams coming up to Dublin for big championship games the cost of hotel accommodation, transport etc for a modern inter-county panel set up at that time of year would be very significant.

Dublin, by virtue of not having to travel, would not incur the same expense.

There has to be a fairness and balance involved or else the GAA is completely fecked!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 09/12/2015 10:24:34    1812218

It is not about the money it is about the principal, "Secretary John Costello points out that the €15,000 granted to the Dubs was less than one-third of what other counties have been given in the same situation."

That is the issue and the only issue in the said article, players cannot be paid, players only reward for bringing in vast sums of money to the GAA is the above, but not in the case of the DUB players it seems.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4897 - 09/12/2015 10:58:42    1812233

Arock, would the other 2/3 of that money - the €30,000 - cover the expense of the Mayo team travelling up to Dublin for the game and the summer tourist season rates charged by a decent hotel for a 30-50 people involved with the set up to stay in the night of the game?

Somehow I doubt it. So isn't it fair enough??

Others are mentioning the fact Dublin bring big crowds therefore there should be a bigger financial reward for that, but they bring big crowds because their supporters aren't being asked to travel on a 4 hour round trip to get to a big championship game.

Jesus if Kerry were allowed play their All Ireland Q-finals and Semi Finals in Killarney, Fitzgerald stadium would be sold out fairly quick!!!

Dublin bringing bigger crowds is not an indication that their support base is any more loyal than another counties or even all that bigger than other large counties, its simply that more fans will go to games when they are more convenient to them.

I think it would make for a good article for someone to get an average attendance figure for Dublin's home League games in 2016 and compare it to the average of the other Division 1 teams. Taking into account the vast difference in the population size between Dublin and the rest, I'm not sure the Dublin supporters attendance rates would be all that impressive.

If say Dublin attract an average of 25,000 to their League games and Kerry attract and average of 9-10,000, does that argument really hold up?

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 09/12/2015 11:26:41    1812243

Jaysus we've little to be talking about wha!

Disagree with Costello's comments to be honest but at least it got some action going around here!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13717 - 09/12/2015 11:39:14    1812248

_____

They have broadcast many additional games that wouldn't exist without the direct input of Dublin CB who spear headed this initiative

Additional games that wouldn't exist with the direct input of the Dublin CB - you've totally lost me on this one. Which games wouldn't exist without the Dublin County Board? As I said earlier Saturday games and Setanta coverage was here long before re-branding of league games into this so called Spring Series was ever heard of.

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 09/12/2015 11:42:45    1812249

Where do some of ye lads get the energy,time or want to argue incessantly,to and fro,about very little for days,if not weeks,on end?Ridiculous carry on.Anyway,ill get the Happy Xmas's in early as im out of here until the start of the National Leagues.A man could go stir crazy on here.I fear a few have already.Until next year fellow Gaels!

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 09/12/2015 11:53:10    1812253

benched

Apologies benched.. I should have made that clearer

Games broadcast live from Croke Park on a Saturday night in prime time as part of the Spring Series

Far more marketable and money generating - be it increased TV rights money, (which Setanta had to fight to hold onto when the package became available once again a couple of years) sponsorship, ad sales - there's several other avenues too - an initiative spear headed by the Dublin CB - that simply didn't exist beforehand

Of course the games were going to be played regardless - but in no way would they have generated the same revenue as a prime time Saturday night slot live from Croke Park, there have been a number of games purposely switched so that they would feature in Croke Park.

Those counties then directly benefited to the tune of 10's of thousands because of the Spring Series.

Listen there's no denying it

The Dublin GAA brand is a cash cow to the GAA and will continue to be - and for those questioning that Dublin GAA isn't a brand, well TBH they are just showing complete ignorance and a lack of understanding and really should educate themselves a wee bit, Several high profile companies have attached themselves to Dublin GAA for that very reason - they want to be attached to the Dublin brand. The same logic applies to advertising and sponsorship around these games.

Many millions are generated every single year because of Dublin GAA - With a vast % of that filtering right back into the grass roots.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 09/12/2015 12:32:14    1812267

Jim, catch a grip of yourself. Dublin is the capital city with an enormous population obviously its going to generate more revenue and marketing pull. Without a strong GAA and competitive interesting GAA then it will dwindle away.

Brand Dublin GAA are absolutely nothing without the rest of us. Dublin GAA should be thanking the rest of us for helping create "Brand Dublin". But its okay, we don't ask for acknowledgement as that's not what the GAA is about. The GAA is about putting in and not asking for more back.

This has clearly went over your head completely and you are discussing it on business/commercial terms or alternatively you are just determined to defend Dublin at all costs and won't admit that Dublin have turned into some professional outfit which go against any ideals which ever existed.

You seem to want congratulated here because your supporters roll out of bed and walk over to croker on any given sunday or because more people tune in worldwide tune in to hope the opposing team beat the ulmighty professional collussus that is "brand Dublin"

redhanddefender (Tyrone) - Posts: 913 - 09/12/2015 12:43:43    1812270

Again

It's nothing to do with fans.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 09/12/2015 12:53:44    1812273