All Ireland Club Championships

yew_tree Couldn't agree with any of that. Maybe take off the Mayo specs.

icehonesty (Wexford) - Posts: 2553 - 13/02/2016 21:45:05    1825201

WELL DONE CASTLEBAR!!
What a match! Great courage, belief and class football on display. Fantastic result for Castlebar and for Mayo football in general!

JamesH (Mayo) - Posts: 465 - 13/02/2016 21:48:03    1825202

Couple of things from this game. 1. Cross were the better side but kicked the game away, the Cross sides of old would have closed the game out long before the end. 2. Castlebar did brilliantly to not only hang in the game but push on and win. Mayo football had toughened up considerably over the past 3/4 years. 3. The referee was extremely poor and did seem to penalise Cross at every turn, the GAA will have to seriously look at his performance. 4. The scenes at the end on and off the pitch will have to be addressed. While Cross have a real sense of grievance they will maybe know how other teams now feel when they play Cross who have benefited from a lot of decisions in the past and whose fans are always telling others to "just get on with it". Touche.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 14/02/2016 12:39:24    1825253

what's this? the resident forum town crier partitionistman from that fortress of the GAA co antrim is almost siding with a team from outside his 6 counties. Castlebar are a great club and team who played the game in the right spirit, good hard football and no complaining and whinging. Best of luck to all 4 teams in the final. As for the laois man sure cross would expect nor need no favours from the likes of them.

Tom1916 (Armagh) - Posts: 2001 - 14/02/2016 13:29:21    1825260

'm just being honest Rossy I thought Clonmel threw it away but I like Boden the main man MDMA plays for them how could we not?

My god pass my the bucket. The main man......would you say that if he was playing against you're club in the Dublin championship? Oh yeah I forgot.....a lot of Dub fans only support Dublin.....no club allegiance what so ever.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts:32 - 13/02/2016 20:47:31 1825182

Some generalisation there , sure ignorance is bliss . look forward to some more informative posts .

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 14/02/2016 13:45:00    1825264

Dubs have no club allegiance? Ridiculous comment of the month right there. So because some of us support the team that's representing our county we have no allegiance to our own club?

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 14/02/2016 14:12:21    1825268

The Fridge ALL your posts are having a pop off some county or other usually the Dubs..Wonder who you are?

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 14/02/2016 15:35:08    1825276

Felt very sorry for Clonmel there. Should have closed out that game.
Castlebar deserved the other semi. Held Clarke well in second half.
Can't understand the remarks about the referee at all. Had his usual top class game.

CmonAymonow (Laois) - Posts: 160 - 14/02/2016 15:42:58    1825278

Inexperience cost Clonmel big time. A few dodgy decisions from the ref didn't help. The young Clonmel midfielder looks a very good prospect. The game in Breffni was a dogged affair. It's unusual to see Cross give away a big league. Maybe we are seeing the end of an amazing era for them. Castlebar were the better team once they got through the initial twenty minute period when nerves seemed to get the better of them. It should be a good final.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 14/02/2016 16:41:09    1825284

Couple of things from this game. 1. Cross were the better side but kicked the game away, the Cross sides of old would have closed the game out long before the end. 2. Castlebar did brilliantly to not only hang in the game but push on and win. Mayo football had toughened up considerably over the past 3/4 years. 3. The referee was extremely poor and did seem to penalise Cross at every turn, the GAA will have to seriously look at his performance. 4. The scenes at the end on and off the pitch will have to be addressed. While Cross have a real sense of grievance they will maybe know how other teams now feel when they play Cross who have benefited from a lot of decisions in the past and whose fans are always telling others to "just get on with it". Touche.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts:7610 - 14/02/2016 12:39:24

Jaysus, I actually agree with the majority of that post.

I've always had huge respect for what Crossmaglen have achieved, especially given the harassment that they have endured in the past. And it may well be that they were on the end of a few harsh decisions yesterday. But if one were to read the reaction of many of their supporters on social media to their defeat, then it would be hard to feel very sorry for them. But perhaps a noisy minority doesn't reflect the attitude of their broader community.

At the end of the day, football is all about ball in net and ball over the bar; if you don't take your chances, you can have no complaints if the game doesn't go your way.

If, as some suggest, some Mitchels supporters were involved in ugly incidents with Cross players, then I would condemn it, but I suppose we'll have to see what evidence emerges,

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 14/02/2016 17:49:53    1825305

Trotted along to Breffni last night as a neutral.
Very enjoyable game.
Both teams went out to play football. Pitch was very dead and heavy so credit to the players for the standard.
Durcan superb for Castlebar. Clarke had a great first half for Cross but faded after the break.
Thought Kinsela had a fine game. Watched the game back on TG4 later and couldn't see him do much wrong.

Breffnilad (Cavan) - Posts: 2 - 14/02/2016 18:03:14    1825314

4 different Dublin teams in the final the last 8 years some achievement for a soccer county hehehe.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 14/02/2016 19:48:06    1825335

I know Crossmaglen lost but what they've the last 20 years is incredible and no doubt they'll be back again next year unbelievable club how do they keep producing players at such a high club standard?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 14/02/2016 19:51:16    1825336

Disgusted for Clonmel, the sending off was the turning point cos Ballyboden were stretched and it looked like Clonmel were going to go four points up.

But the salt in the wounds was the amount of steps taken for the equaliser. I really worry that the lower standard of refereeing in GAA at the top level. That was a routine call for the referee and his team.

That said Ballyboden did great to force extra time and took complete control in extra time.

It's a big shame cos having a Tipp football team in Croke park on St Patrick's would have been something else.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 14/02/2016 20:34:32    1825344

Two exciting club games. Have to say Boden probably better equipped to tackle castlebar. But the decision to allow the equalizing point was as poor as I've seen. I mean it's the key decision of the game. The Guy takes ten strides and more importantly uses these steps to break the tackle. It s so annoying especially when you see midfielders being surrounded without a prior chance to release the ball and get blown after a few seconds.

Malonemagic (Laois) - Posts: 767 - 14/02/2016 20:56:42    1825351

Could and probably should be a Clonmel v Cross final

But it's not and all credit to both Castlebar and Ballyboden

A hard final to call but BB haven't been overly impressive, probably their most complete performance coming against Vincent's and with Castlebar knocking out Cross and the fact that they had that final appearance 2 years ago, I think they'll be favourites for the title

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 14/02/2016 21:02:17    1825356

Kinsella played a blinder. Some of the soft tap-over frees he gave C'bar in first half and some of the odd momentum-breaking frees he gave C'bar in the second showed what a detailed understanding of the rules he has. Even with the benefit of the slo-mo replay, on some occasions, I struggled even to notice an incident, never mind a foul;
so it was great to have that opportunity to learn about the finer points of Ethical Eddie's rule book. A future in Irish politics surely beckons.

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 15/02/2016 10:29:29    1825404

Cross v Castlebar was the final for me. Can't see Boden getting near Castlebar to be honest.

Boden have overachieved massively in getting this far. I was shocked they managed to get a Leinster title out of their run. They've ridden their luck on occasions but fair play to them I suppose.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 15/02/2016 11:44:32    1825438

Essmec, you could have a big future as a panelist on the Sunday Game. Such insight into the game has to be appreciated.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 15/02/2016 11:44:36    1825439

Boden weren't expected to get out of Dublin, let alone Leinster and go onto make the final and we have rode our luck on more than one occasion in the championship so will be big underdogs in this one I think but that will suit us fine and I think the players will give a good account of themselves on the day.

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 16/02/2016 09:52:55    1825668