Anthony Cunningham forced to stand down

Not second guessing cuedarocket, just stating a certainty. If we had lost that game with Callinan running riot and no action from the sideline, the clamour fora new manager would have been deafening. Cunningham is a decent man and I dont like the way he has been got rid of, but I think the fault for this fiasco has 3 legs..the County Board, the players and Cunningham and his management team.
It's all the same to me if every neutral in the country is against Galway next year but I do maintain, if that's their reason it is very petty.All that matters is that Galway fans unite behind the team and new management whoever that may be.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1903 - 17/11/2015 12:04:56    1807873

I agree,I do not like the trend of managers essentially been axed by players.Galway were in the All-Ireland final last year remember too.Mayo took Dublin to a replay and gave Dublin their toughest games of the year.Bad from from both counties imo.I know I complain about Meath management,but we didn't do what Galway or Mayo did in their campaign..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 17/11/2015 12:05:31    1807874

Belclare1

Silly.
Why don't you comment in the actual topic instead of bringing your usual pettyness and chip on the shoulder cheap shot maintality to every discussion.
God love you but you are a sad case. (The Master)

Well said Silly, this guy is a indeed a sad case with his 14000 posts.. I hate the fact that he even uses that name, as he indeed is no master. when I was growing up we had one of the greatest GAA footballers of all time known as the master Sean Purcell living near us and he is still my hero. and now I have to read this guy from Mayo coming on here spouting off his usual rubbish and pettyness

It's predictable and only to be expected from this individual. Obvious complex of some sort or other and always on the defensive and acting the victim. Just hope they don't have too much influence over anyone as you can sense the bile and negativity in every post. Embarrassing for anyone to be that sore at the world.

SLLY (Dublin) - Posts: 463 - 17/11/2015 12:05:51    1807875

I have nothing against Galway or Mayo,but I hope they both do worse than last year

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 17/11/2015 12:07:01    1807877

Because we see player power in full swing.If every team around the country that had a gripe with their manager refused to play we'd have a lot of managerless teams.I don't like having to watch A Cunningham squirm in anguish on RTE News,with sadness and anger in his voice.
What is the players problem?Lets hear it.In full.What was so bad that they chose to humiliate a fellow county stalwart?Why ridicule,and tarnish forever,the reputation of a dignified man whos given his life to Galway GAA?Was it only one more year A Cunningham had left?Were things so badly run that the players cudn't endure one more year.After playing some brilliant hurling last year v Dublin,Cork,Tipperary and one half v Kilkenny?What was so bad that they needed to press the nuclear option - public humiliation?Lets here it Galway players.Lay it on the line.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 17/11/2015 12:09:09    1807880

Maybe Cunningham should have had no confidence in the players after their 2nd half performance rather than the other way about. Canning and Co have won nothing and if they keep going missing when the chips are down they will never win anything regardless of who is the manager. Who gets the blame next year when they get beaten. I say when because it will happen. It always does with Galway! Bottlers... Bottlers with an opinion of themselves ... And that's the worst type!

Awwwwnow (Cavan) - Posts: 1050 - 17/11/2015 12:10:14    1807881

Very bad day when Anthony Cunningham is forced to step down because the players can't acknowledge their own failings. Cunningham fairly laid into the egos who can't accept their day is past. It is not acceptable that players decide who is their manager in any code. As posted already the malign influence of the GPA is behind this notion of player power. Vey bad for the GAA if this is allowed. I notice that 26 players have no confidence in the manager, while 23 would not play for him next year, a reduction of three. That is an anomaly to me,

Galway hurlers have to deliver in 2016, or they will be seen as all talk and nothing to back it up.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1741 - 17/11/2015 12:12:59    1807882

PoolSturgeon,

Who would you have put on Callinan? When the switch was eventually made the guy had to speartackle Callinan to try to stop him. The man was unmarkable on the day!

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 17/11/2015 12:52:29    1807901

Agree with the posts above,and also the players stay cloak and dagger in the whole thing,it doesn't say much for their attitude imo

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 17/11/2015 12:55:29    1807903

Tough luck on Mr Cunningham. But he had his chances. As a fan he had 2 chances to win All Irelands. And failed each time. Would it be 3rd time lucky? I doubt it. Anyway a bright dawn is ahead for Galway hurling. Onwards and upwards. Finally County board need to examine their performance. Madness to appoint Cunningham without sussing out the players first in my opinion.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2519 - 17/11/2015 13:14:37    1807912

keeper7,let me say I fully understand Cunningham's problem on the sideline in the semi final (ie that Galway did not have a proper experienced quality fb available to quieten Callinan) but I am certain had we lost that game,the majority of my fellow countymen would have been a lot less forgiving had we lost. But there was one move that could have been made which could have put a limit on the damage Callinan created. Collins, an experienced player with fb experience and with ability in the air, was sitting in the subs. He could have been brought on to marshall Callinan. It may or may not have worked but it was worth a try.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1903 - 17/11/2015 13:24:37    1807916

Lads just a few facts before yee start giving your opinions,
the players had no confidence in Cunningham during the league and held a secret meeting to get rid of him but decided it was too far into the year and would only result in even worse preparation,
another point , many people are saying antony cunningham got them to an all ireland final and these older players should be ashamed of themselves, I heard numerous times during the year when things were going both good and bad for galway that the older players on the panel stood up and took the responsiblity into their own hands to ensure that the preparation was up to scratch, they even had a meeting with management to inform them of the grievences they had with their mangement style,
two players left the panel this year as a result of the disrespect they recieved from Anthony,
if he want's respect he must learn to give it first,
many people are giving out about the player power and that the players should play for whoever is put in front of them,
why would the players play for someone who they clearly dont have faith in (26 votes to 6) it is the players that do the training it is the players that make the sacrafices it is the players that recieve the critism and the blame for when something goes wrong and they only have a limited playing career so why waste time,
it is not the supporters that give their lives to hurling or the county board or the management( management is not always on voluntary basis for many it is their job) so ultimetly if the players are un happy the decision should lye with them.

bommer14 (Galway) - Posts: 44 - 17/11/2015 13:26:45    1807917

Galwayford... U mention Cunningham and the chances he had, U mention the County Board and their failings. But you fail to mention the performance of the players??? Why? They not the ones the suppose to be doing the business on the field of play??

Awwwwnow (Cavan) - Posts: 1050 - 17/11/2015 14:03:54    1807936

If I were Cunningham and had the backing of the clubs and co board like he did , I would have just dropped the poisonous ones ?
I mean they obviously do not want to play for Galway , without a few provisos so commitment is an issue . Also the GPA couldnt butt their over inflated self entitled nose in - as the dropped players would no longer be county players. Or do they also represent dropped players too ?

That scenario will happen very soon somewhere and the GPA will be toast .... the sooner the better hopefully .

Finsceal (None) - Posts: 559 - 17/11/2015 14:39:50    1807955

Keeper7,

Callanan was brilliant on the day and would have been a handful for any back assigned to mark him.That said of the 6 backs who lined out for Galway that day I'ld say only Aiden Harte (possibly) would have been a worse choice than young Mannion.It was obvious to all of us at the game that Mannion was at a huge physical disadvantage against Callanan.
Mannion is a superb hurler and will be a fixture on the Galway team but he was not the man for Callanan something which was apparent to most of us before the game and was made apparent to everyone after 46 seconds of the game.

Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 17/11/2015 14:50:07    1807963

I seldom come on here to post messages but I am an active reader of most hurling related topic threads. Given the seriousness of these for my own beloved Galway I feel the need to come on here and say my piece.

Firstly can my fellow Galweigans stop posting utter BS, claiming this rift was created long ago, secret meetings during the league, 3-4 players pulling the strings, players a have an outside guy lined up bla bla. Yes of course some this could be true and but also many of it is probably not, and unless you are you in know which many of us claim to be but in reality are not these such things are completely unfounded.

Anthony to he's credit done a fine job. He guided Galway to U21 success and took many of that team forward to become week in week out inter county senior hurlers. He led Galway to a Leinster final and two All-Ireland's in a three year spell. For most counties (including our own) this is a very good return given the competitive and elitist nature of the games today. But of course in Galway our greed for glory without a foot to stand on makes for a disastrous recipe as we continue to expect results every year while ignoring the issues on out doorstep

I for one believe our hurlers have gone down a very dangerous path. I am not going to speculate which way it unfolded as it is not my business and my comments would be just gossip, but for a panel, whether as a whole or be it just a fraction to act in the manner it has is truly disgraceful. As a supporter of Galway hurling and a member of all our various supporters organisations and groups I find myself feeling disrespected by our county panel.

Quite clearly a team could not perform to the levels they did without cohesiveness, togetherness and organisation - all of which can not be achieved without a strong player/management relationship, which would lead us to think that a smaller fraction of players may have orchestrated the coo. If so, they are not Galway hurlers, or GAA men in my eyes. Galway will always be bigger then any one GAA men/women and I would not like to see some of these guys in a Galway jersey again.

TheFullBack (Galway) - Posts: 110 - 17/11/2015 15:05:55    1807969

Galway lads,if as some of ye say,the players had lost all faith in A Cunningham during the league,why didnt they have the balls to change the "S Callinan"situation themselves against Tipp.Afterall once the Kilkenny lads cross the white line,B Cody has full trust that his players will take it upon themselves sometimes to make changes when neccessary of their own accord.Where was the Galway leadership here??Surely,as ye say,its their careers on the line and they wanted AC gone,why didn't they sort out this glaring problem themselves instead of following directions from a "doomed"manager?

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 17/11/2015 15:28:34    1807980

Hard hitting post fullback.Exactly how i feel.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 17/11/2015 15:32:43    1807983

Anyone actually think that AC wasn't good enough ?

I'm sure the players realised that he's not up to it .

He's clearly quite stubborn if it took him this long to make his decision .

The players most definitely have more info than we do . Surely they ain't all wrong ( well most of them )

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 17/11/2015 15:41:04    1807986

TheRightStuff

Galway have been closer to an All-Ireland under his guidance,time will tell,but its a case of be careful what you wish for..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 17/11/2015 16:02:44    1807999