Anthony Cunningham forced to stand down

A noticeable amount of galway lads who took such joy in the mayo debacle, have had little to say on this topic. Same old story with the galway lads, always a different story when it is themselves involved.

TheMaster (Mayo) - 17/11/2015 08:57:20

Why don't you comment in the actual topic instead of bringing your usual pettyness and chip on the shoulder cheap shot maintality to every discussion.
God love you but you are a sad case.

SLLY (Dublin) - Posts: 463 - 17/11/2015 09:09:21    1807772

It shouldn't be forgotten that any match is won over 70 minutes, not just in one half! While Galway did appear to implode in the second half Kilkenny were never going to go down in the Final without a fight. So let's not take away due credit from the Cats in our rush to condemn the Galway players.

Anthony Cunningham should have walked weeks ago and I can't understand why he hung around for so long. He clearly wasn't wanted so why bother?

He mentioned forces outside Galway been involved. It has been suggested that he was referring to the GPA who appear to demonstrate double standards when it suits them. Just recently they condemned the RTE documentary on the football All Ireland because the players were unaware that the ref was mic'd up. I don't remember the GPA expressing the same concerns when a similar documentary was made back in 2013 when Barry Kelly and other refs were mic'd up. It was mentioned in a Sunday newspaper article that the GPA were fairly silent regarding the two Clare players who were harshly treated during this year and then ironically the current chairman of the GPA joins Davy as coach/selector. Strange happenings in the GAA world.

Where all this is leading is anybody's guess but certainly worrying.

westisthebest (Galway) - Posts: 444 - 17/11/2015 09:12:20    1807777

has been all very odd form the start of this that you would want rid of someone who has taken you so close to the pinnacle of the game but fair play to him for getting everything off his chest before he left.

hurler in the ditch (Louth) - Posts: 439 - 17/11/2015 09:14:28    1807778

1807765 A noticeable amount of galway lads who took such joy in the mayo debacle, have had little to say on this topic. Same old story with the galway lads, always a different story when it is themselves involved.

Master what is it with you and Galway.. did you have a bad experience in our wonderful county growing up as a young lad? Did the football glory days of 98 and 01 or all the hurling years of the 80s rub you up the wrong way, and the jealousy just overtook you.. You have a terrible attitude on here in general..

Anyways as I wrote earlier but it wasn't posted for some reason, I am behind Athony 100%, I think the players are a disgrace especially the so called senior players who brought about this heave.. They were the ones who couldn't walk the walk in the second half of the All Ireland when the sXXt hit the fan and now knowing that their careers are on the line they thought by bringing in a new man it would prolong their time. The majority of the fans are disgusted by this and really feel for Anthony..

Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 17/11/2015 09:20:18    1807780

I'm glad to see some of the Galway lads supporting A Cunningham here.Looks like it's not just neutrals and Galway supporteres from outside the county that are angry and disappointed with the players heave.I have a feeling some of the players may live to regret this course of action.There are no winners in this.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 17/11/2015 09:32:04    1807789

TheMaster is still upset over 98 and 2001...

lowballplease (Galway) - Posts: 935 - 17/11/2015 09:33:21    1807791

Silly.
Why don't you comment in the actual topic instead of bringing your usual pettyness and chip on the shoulder cheap shot maintality to every discussion.
God love you but you are a sad case. (The Master)

Well said Silly, this guy is a indeed a sad case with his 14000 posts.. I hate the fact that he even uses that name, as he indeed is no master. when I was growing up we had one of the greatest GAA footballers of all time known as the master Sean Purcell living near us and he is still my hero. and now I have to read this guy from Mayo coming on here spouting off his usual rubbish and pettyness

Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 17/11/2015 09:36:11    1807794

Do the players and the GPA not get the irony of a "vote of no confidence" in the management associated with Galway senior hurlers - it beggars belief.
Using the same logic they wont have any issue with most of this team being dropped from the 2016 panel after their 2nd half performance (or lack of) in the AI Final.

Interesting times ahead for this group but no neutral will support them after this fiasco.

There is a wider context in all of this and we are all guilty to varying degrees of how players behave and are expected to behave today - Brolly summed it up at the weekend in the indo

http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/joe-brolly-elitism-is-destroying-our-games-and-our-players-34201462.html

Tim_Burr (Down) - Posts: 460 - 17/11/2015 09:39:22    1807796

Anthony can walk away with his head held high. Thank you very much for four years of relative success. A Leinster title and two all Ireland final appearances in a time when Kilkenny are virtually unbeatable. It's a disgrace the way he's been treated and puts unreal pressure on the players next year. I hope it's worth it and we reach the promised land, but this could set us back years.

tribeinbrum (Galway) - Posts: 4155 - 17/11/2015 09:52:56    1807802

Well Cunningham certainly laid into those players with that statement.Will the players respond I wonder? I believe they have to because as it stands they are being portrayed as a bunch of bottlers who are willing to blame anyone but themselves for their shortcomings.
Watch this space.

Condorman (Dublin) - Posts: 983 - 17/11/2015 09:56:09    1807806

Westisbest
Excellent post.. Anthony Cunningham should have resigned weeks ago. This was one battle he was never going to win. The Gaa need to reel the GPA in as they're becoming seriously misguided in what their role is within the organisation. As for the Galway players they have now placed huge pressure upon themselves as anything less than an AI victory will be considered a failure.

Greenwood (Meath) - Posts: 210 - 17/11/2015 10:03:44    1807811

I feel today for Galway hurling people who deep down know a poor thing has happened , I feel for AC shocking way to bow out truly shocking , no one has won, as a GAA fan its a sorry state of afairs , would find it very hard to support Galway as Ihave done in the past after this .
Some amount of pressure on that group of players going into next year , theres obviously no mirrors in the galway dressing room .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 17/11/2015 10:09:09    1807815

Cuetherocket, you say most neutrals will hope Galway get beaten next year because of this affair? Well,if you and they do, ye will be taking pettiness to a new level! The ironic thing is that if Galway had been beaten by Tipp in the semi final, there would have been almost unanimous agreement in Galway that it was time for a new manager.Imagine, there would be complete unity had we lost that game! Anthony Cunningham is gone.He had only one more year left on his contract and I think the players should have stayed their hand but what's done is done and we have to move on.This is a controversy that could have been avoided if the County Board hadnt been in such a mad rush to reappoint him.Lessons to be learned all round. The players have put themselves under needless pressure next year but I hope they will be able to rise to it.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1903 - 17/11/2015 10:36:09    1807824

Yes pool,even reading through all the posts on this thread so far it is quite apparent that these Galway players have lost a huge amount of respect and goodwill by their actions.Granted there are always two sides to a story,but A Cunninghams resignation statement is fairly cutting and damning of his former charges.I dont like seeing a good GAA man like AC hung out to dry by player power and as a result i wont be cheering Galway on in next years championship.Not until the leading protagonists(i have my suspicions who,but will no doubt find out)have hung up the boots.Right now,thats how i feel anyway.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 17/11/2015 10:48:31    1807829

I am surprised there is so much support for Anthony Cunningham. When you have lost the dressing room after 4 years it is usually time to go.

People are saying that he brought them to two All Ireland finals and won them a Leinster title. How do any of us know what role Anthony Cunningham played in those achievements. Maybe he was integral to everything or maybe the tactics and game plans were driven by the players. Without being in the group we really don't know if he helped or hindered the situation.

If Seamus Callinan had scored that penalty for Tipp in the semi final this year everyone would be saying the players were right and he has to go after his failure to act while Callinan ran riot.

The fact is there is very little we can be sure of from the outside. If the players vote was a secret ballet as suggested I would think they likely have just cause for their actions.

dahayeser (Cork) - Posts: 337 - 17/11/2015 10:52:20    1807836

T'was a messy situation in Galway alright, although a million miles away from the bitterness of the Cork strike, so all is not lost.

The Leaders in the Galways hurlers need to lead now and on the field of play as that is the one thing they sorely lacked in September when Kilkenny went at them with their teeth bared!

bricktop (Down) - Posts: 2503 - 17/11/2015 10:53:32    1807837

Pool,why try and second guess what may have happened if ye lost to Tipp in semi final?The fact is ye didn't lose,deservedly won a thriller of a game,playing great hurling and reached a second final in four years.If you can't understand why a lot of people are going to turn a bit sour now towards this Galway team,well i find that hard to comprehend.I think it's quite a natural reaction to perceived wrongdoing.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 17/11/2015 10:54:35    1807839

Belclare1
Master what is it with you and Galway.. did you have a bad experience in our wonderful county growing up as a young lad? Did the football glory days of 98 and 01 or all the hurling years of the 80s rub you up the wrong way, and the jealousy just overtook you.. You have a terrible attitude on here in general..

Nothing, I like galway teams, and cheer for them at every opportunity. I was roaring donnallan, joyce and co home in the AI finals. My point was about the galway posters who thought they could have a good snipe at their neighbours and then stay quiet when the exact same thing came to their door, and nobody would notice, or even worse, make a big song and dance when someone returned the favour - how does that double standard work exactly?

You can say that makes me petty, but I disagree. I was actually just a little disgusted that the galway lads were so petty towards their neighbours in the first place, and are so predictable on that front. The fact is, I wouldn't be on this thread saying this if they hadn't acted the way they did, I have no interest in sticking the knife into my neighbour, but I wont be lying down and taking it either and I wouldn't expect anyone else to. Strange that you expect me to.

That is the thing with galway and mayo, you dislike mayo and look down your nose at them, mayo don't mind galway either way, they treat them as their neighbour and concentrate on themselves. How many mayo people were sticking the knife into galway over the course of this topic? Zero. The mayo thing happened over a weekend, there was a ream of galway men posting intently on the topic. Even now, you think I am jealous of you and that is why I am posting - jealous of what exactly? Winning an all Ireland 15 years ago? Come on like.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 17/11/2015 10:57:08    1807842

Cuederocket,

The key word in your last post is 'perceived '.Why is everyone rushing to blame the players? Especially when we only have one side of the story?
Strange.

Condorman (Dublin) - Posts: 983 - 17/11/2015 11:40:51    1807860

People are saying that he brought them to two All Ireland finals and won them a Leinster title. How do any of us know what role Anthony Cunningham played in those achievements. Maybe he was integral to everything or maybe the tactics and game plans were driven by the players. Without being in the group we really don't know if he helped or hindered the situation.

That's a strange logic dahayeser, you could then argue that the Kilkenny players have won 11 All-Irelands and Cody had nothing to do with it! Although it was a strange substitution by Cunningham in that first half of the final.

commercials1 (Limerick) - Posts: 115 - 17/11/2015 12:02:21    1807872