RTE's All Ireland Day

Coldrick showed huge respect throughout which is not the same with all refs at intercounty stage.

Not saying he's not a good man

But perhaps with him knowing that his every word was being recorded to be played on RTE1 in primetime

May have resulted in him being on top of his game.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 11/11/2015 11:01:05    1806296

fainleog
County: Limerick

It was clear at the match and on television (live) that Aidan O Mahony was at fault in regard to time wasting.

Twas fierce loud there that day. How could he hear the ref and he nearly 40 years of age? The hearing doesn't be great by then

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 11/11/2015 11:02:30    1806299

I assume the teams get something from RTE towards their holiday fund etc. for being broadcast for a documentary?

It would be a bit of a disgrace if, on top of not being told they were being recorded by the referee mick, that they got nothing for being the centrepiece of the programme.

Good to see the referee being the centre of attention (for mostly the right reasons this time).

Its high time they were more protected/respected at all levels.

I would love to see the GAA introduce a scheme to encourage ex inter county players to become inter-county referees, like in the old days.

You would see the back chat disappearing pretty quickly if you had the Rock O'Sullivan or Francie Bellew standing next to you with a whistle in his hand...

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 11/11/2015 11:05:43    1806304

Superglue - What did he expect from the ref.? a clap in the back.!!!

fainleog (Limerick) - Posts: 598 - 11/11/2015 11:17:19    1806313

Disgraceful that amateur plays were treated with such disrespect. It will be interesting to to see if any legal action is taken against the GAA, the programme makers and even the ref, who was complicit in the act. Phone tapping made the headlines in recent times but to secretly record the players and then play it on TV was appalling.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 11/11/2015 11:18:54    1806314

fainleog
County: Limerick

Superglue - What did he expect from the ref.? a clap in the back.!!!

Sure he wasn't expecting a card cos he fell awkwardly in the conditions so went back into position for the free

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 11/11/2015 11:29:57    1806319

neverright
County: Roscommon

1806314 Disgraceful that amateur plays were treated with such disrespect. It will be interesting to to see if any legal action is taken against the GAA, the programme makers and even the ref, who was complicit in the act. Phone tapping made the headlines in recent times but to secretly record the players and then play it on TV was appalling.

Cant agree , Yes players should have been made aware but come on I was at the game did TV reveal anything that we weren't expecting don't think so , would we have had altar boys if players had known don't think so . Im going to a minor championship semi final this weekend , there will be pulling and dragging and fella,s trying to get an advantage , offenders will lie point blank to the ref,s face itswhat happens
As for the GPA those clowns straight out with the its a disgrace line when totally silent on the real blight of the game the treatment of club players championships, club fixture congestion and the turning of provincial and county games into glorified blitzs

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 11/11/2015 12:12:13    1806343

. Not saying he's not a good man But perhaps with him knowing that his every word was being recorded to be played on RTE1 in primetime May have resulted in him being on top of his game.

jimbodub (Dublin) - 11/11/2015 11:01:05

In fairness he probably got the gig because he's on his game all the time.Always seems fair to me.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 11/11/2015 12:37:03    1806354

neverright
County: Roscommon

Disgraceful that amateur plays were treated with such disrespect. It will be interesting to to see if any legal action is taken against the GAA, the programme makers and even the ref, who was complicit in the act. Phone tapping made the headlines in recent times but to secretly record the players and then play it on TV was appalling.

Legal action! Are you for real? That says an awful lot of what is wrong with this country nowadays.
Does anyone really believe that any man playing in an All-Ireland final would do anything different just because the ref is mic'd up or would even be conscious of it once the game has started? If they did, they probably shouldn't be there.

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 11/11/2015 12:43:26    1806359

Dubh_linn

1806354 . Not saying he's not a good man But perhaps with him knowing that his every word was being recorded to be played on RTE1 in primetime May have resulted in him being on top of his game.

In fairness he probably got the gig because he's on his game all the time.Always seems fair to me.
_________

I'm not questioning that whatsoever - he got the gig because he was judged to be the best.

But knowing that your voice is being recorded for prime time TV - Is of course going to influence how you speak and act.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 11/11/2015 12:45:12    1806360

11/11/2015 12:45:12

Dubh_linn

1806354 . Not saying he's not a good man But perhaps with him knowing that his every word was being recorded to be played on RTE1 in primetime May have resulted in him being on top of his game.

_________

I'm not questioning that whatsoever - he got the gig because he was judged to be the best.

But knowing that your voice is being recorded for prime time TV - Is of course going to influence how you speak and act.

I agree insofar as how you speak but in terms of carrying out his duties as a ref I doubt it would make any difference as to how he acts.Never looked like a ref that ranted and raved either any time I watched him.
His manner came across as fairly natural and helped keep things calm considering the occasion and conditions.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 11/11/2015 13:37:01    1806404

Yes, was very enjoyable to watch, great piece on John Kerins and his family. Yes fellow dubs, Philly can be a bad boy and more than likely did what we think he did, but Donaghy caught him slyly around the face/neck before that, and there was no ball there. Enjoyed the ref, thought he was very genuine.

O'Mahony was just allowing his management time to replace him by having selective hearing, quite funny really in fairness.

More programs like this please.

KerryKillers (Dublin) - Posts: 711 - 11/11/2015 13:37:43    1806405

Top class programme, well done to makers, Loosehorse productions, Roscommon poster is surely on a wind up regarding legal action, if not then cop on to yourself, what a ridiculous thing to post, similar in levels of ridiculousness to the infantile statement issued by the gpa earlier through Sean Potts, players should be apologising for their antics towards each other and the lack of respect shown towards David Coldrick by Aidan O Mahony, Potts labelled the players 'warriors', laughable how these warriors regularly seem so sensitive to how they're treated and portrayed, not a good day for the gpa, always looking to make the sensational comments but rarely interested in doing the work that won't get headlines.

kawaifive0 (Westmeath) - Posts: 112 - 11/11/2015 13:59:02    1806421

David Coldricks voice seems not to have broken yet.

He would want to shout a bit louder for an auld lad like O Mahony to hear him.

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 11/11/2015 14:31:52    1806442

Really enjoyed the program - well done to every person involved. I think it touched the true spirit behind the GAA.

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 11/11/2015 14:38:45    1806447

why do not not accept some posts on here! So annoying! Nothing controversial, complementing David Coldrick, the Rocks and Kerins.. very annoying after writing a post!

AthCliath87 (Dublin) - Posts: 345 - 11/11/2015 14:41:27    1806450

Yes AthCliath, half my posts dont make it on here!

KerryKillers (Dublin) - Posts: 711 - 11/11/2015 14:59:10    1806459

KY4SAM2015

David Coldricks voice seems not to have broken yet.

He would want to shout a bit louder for an auld lad like O Mahony to hear him.

Ye lads can hear the grass grow ,when it suits ;)

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 11/11/2015 17:27:03    1806510

a heartwarming programme.

kavvie (Clare) - Posts: 505 - 11/11/2015 18:33:32    1806528