McGuinness and Gallagher

Curlew66
County: Roscommon

Yes I agree, huge difference between a coach writing a book a year after leaving the set up compared to a player secretly colluding with a journalist (unknown to team mates and management) while still a member of the team .. against their expressed wishes.

Agree with this. Jimmy was correct in what he done .

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 31/10/2015 12:32:06    1803308

One other stat. Before he became manager of the u21s. We were in 3 all - Ireland finals in our history...2 u- 21s and 1992. Over the 5 seasons in which he was in charge of a county team we were in 4...3 directly under him.

The positive change he brought to the county was unreal. We were blessed to have him. Just wish he was still there in some capacity.

RunOfThePigs (Donegal) - Posts: 131 - 31/10/2015 12:33:38    1803309

neverright
County: Roscommon

The rumour at the time within DonegaL was that he wanted Gallagher and the others to take all of the training/coaching during the week and that he would join them at the weekend. They were not prepared to go along with that so there had to be a parting of the ways.

I never heard that rumour, and I live right on the border with Donegal and half of my family are Involved with various clubs within Donegal.

Heard plenty of other rumours, which are probably nonsense. But never that one.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 31/10/2015 14:27:48    1803341

McGuinness doesnt strike me as a particularly good man.
He seems like the type of guy who chases results and doesnt give a dman about who or what gets hurt in the process.
Its unfortunately the type of ruthlessness you need to succeed in modern sport /business/politics so from that point of view fair play to him.
No way would Donegal have succeeded without him.
I do think though that his treatment of Cassidy was nasty and unnecessary.
As for the book, I think its a good thing hes revealing this stuff. Might be a very interesting read. There are enough boring sports books out there.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 31/10/2015 21:47:30    1803403

man anybody else sick of hearing from wee jim over last few days
easily known he has a book out
whinging about everything and anything it seems

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 01/11/2015 11:10:25    1803423

didnt he once part ways with a lad called cassidy over a book
now jimmys telling tales

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 01/11/2015 11:26:10    1803427

hill16no1man

man anybody else sick of hearing from wee jim over last few days
easily known he has a book out
whinging about everything and anything it seems

That tends to be the case when a book is out, it is promoted to sell copies.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 01/11/2015 11:28:54    1803428

hill16no1man

didnt he once part ways with a lad called cassidy over a book
now jimmys telling tales

Yes and they won the All Ireland without him. Cassidy broke the rules, and players since then have said the whole panel agreed not to speak to anybody outside the camp about anything, no matter how trivial. McGuinness is no longer the manager and won't be managing that group again so he is entitled to write the book. Cassidy isn't exactly publicity shy and it wasn't a surprise to anyone in Donegal that he was the man who took part in a book.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 01/11/2015 11:40:11    1803433

joncarter

1803403 McGuinness doesnt strike me as a particularly good man.
He seems like the type of guy who chases results and doesnt give a dman about who or what gets hurt in the process.
Its unfortunately the type of ruthlessness you need to succeed in modern sport /business/politics so from that point of view fair play to him.
No way would Donegal have succeeded without him.
I do think though that his treatment of Cassidy was nasty and unnecessary.
As for the book, I think its a good thing hes revealing this stuff. Might be a very interesting read. There are enough boring sports books out there.

I think your first line is a bit unfair. He is known to be a proud Donegal man, who has spent untold hours meeting and greeting with fans and as a result he is held in exceptionally high regard.

Kevin Cassidy has a lot to answer for himself, both at Club and County level. He represents what was wrong with Donegal for so many years, abundance of talent and total disrespect for authority. Kevin Cassidy strikes me as the type guy who came to believe he was above any manager or regime. It is probably for the good of Donegal football that he got axed, as he would have continued to be a disruptive Influence moving forward.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 01/11/2015 13:36:08    1803451

but I thaught his mantra was to keep things that happened in house
seems a bit pot kettle bringing out a book slating everybody and anybody
after dropping a player for being interviewed for a book
who says he wont manage dun na gall again
doesnt strike me like the type who wouldnt go back to take the helm again

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 01/11/2015 14:09:11    1803456

plus hes quite happy to whinge about dublin and kerry getting ahead of the chasing pack
but is quite happy to partake in the scottish premier league
that ironically has had two superpowers dominate for the last century
bit pot kettle stuff dont you think

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 01/11/2015 14:19:56    1803460

If you bothered to read what McGuiness says, he is saying that Dublin and Kerry have access to lots of funding and fair play to them. He actually says fair dues. He's not going out about them.

He is making a good point that there is a huge gulf now between county setups, more than ever before. The point is that in an amatuer organisation, can some uniform rules be brought to bear around funding.

As for the Celtic thing, it's professional sport. Football clubs are businesses. Hardly his fault he's the only GAA manager to be employed on such a basis. If he was a Dubliner he would be a national icon for his remarkable progression, bringing Donegal from zeroes to All Ireland Champions and then onto working with the first team at Celtic. So what he has a few days in the limelight on RTE, beats being suffocated with Bernard Brogan, Brian O'Driscoll and the usual suspects. No offence to those wonderful athletes but Ireland exists outside Dublin too.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 01/11/2015 14:44:01    1803464

I was surprised that McGuinness, who seemed to emphasise 'togetherness' did not seek the opinion of the rest of the group before dumping Cassidy in the manner he did. It seems that the only opinion that counted was his. It has brought the sought after results in the short-term but such a system could not survive once success dropped off. It's sad that Kavanagh can only now understand the social problems that the public axing led to for Cassidy.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 01/11/2015 15:05:34    1803468

A few things are worth mentioning after reading the posts today.

McGuinness should not have mentioned Gallagher in his book, out of both respect and fair standard. I know that he is not involved with the county set up any more, but this is not the point. It puts a lot of unnecessary heat on the manager at the moment knowing that history wont lie down, and players likewise can be influenced by these remarks.

I would say that he is correct in his assessment about funding for the big counties. Dublin are enjoying unprecedented success, and are also on the crest of a financial wave. Kerry likewise. He said that donegal wouldnt have won the all ireland in 2012 without the requisite funding, which is a very fair comment to make considering he could have gone down the golden vein of talent route that other counties fall back on in victory, or excessive self praise.

Celtic is a professional club so it is impossible to equate the gaa with such.

But fair perspective would be that all the top teams need a lot of money to win. It is a mater of how this is accrued that can be scruitinized. I think that any team out there who wants an all ireland, needs about 1.5 million per annum to keep the thing afloat.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 01/11/2015 15:40:11    1803472

Kevin Cassidy was a class footballer but spare me the victim rubbish. He loves publicity. He has a column for the Gaelic magazine which is laughable at times. Wrote an article about what was wrong with his own club a few weeks back, now if you know his club and the exodus of players from it come the summertime it is some craic for the likes of Cassidy to be pointing fingers, and as for you Hill? What are you on about? Who is he having a go at left right and centre? Clearly you haven't read the book or seen any extracts, bar the Gallagher one?

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 01/11/2015 15:40:16    1803473

Kevin Cassidy revealed training methods and team tactics, surely no player could expect to get away with that. Before McGuinnness took over Donegal got severe criticism for being an ill-disciplined team, so something had to be done if the team were gou to be successful.

I see Rory has had his say on the matter in the media this morning. I think this boils down to a power struggle between Rory and Jim at that time, maybe it was inevitable given their personalities.

JimTheLegend (Donegal) - Posts: 247 - 02/11/2015 09:53:26    1803625

Donegal are lucky to have them both

Jim will def be back one day

Still a young man... can see him back in the top seat in the future

Donegal wont be a million miles away next year

I'd be surprised if they didn't make the 1/4 Finals.. and from there they are still capable of beating anyone on the day

Big year ahead for Rory

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 02/11/2015 10:47:01    1803652

come off it
hes trying to publically stir up trouble with the present donegal manager
thats bad form, just let it go become one with the wind ans snow!!!!!!!!!!!!

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 02/11/2015 10:48:56    1803653

Gallagher responded well imo. He made his point without going into too much detail, and defo has my respect.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 02/11/2015 11:00:12    1803666

joncarter
McGuinness doesnt strike me as a particularly good man.

Good guys come last. Jim and his family have been through more than enough. Loosing two brothers is tough. He used that to drive him on and succeed. Fair play to him. I hope we see him back in charge of a GAA team again in the future.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11236 - 02/11/2015 11:33:39    1803687