Kerry- sore losers

Yesterday's contest shows that Dublin are well ahead of the chasing pack and will be mighty difficult to stop this term. I was a bit disappointed in Kerry, they seemed heavy-legged and struggled to deliver any sort of quality ball into their full-forward line (Gooch was visibly frustrated with the service he was getting yesterday). Some of the more senior Kerry players struggled badly when Dublin ran at them. Does anyone know why it flared up between Sheehan and Flynn at the end?

Kerry should be strengthened for the summer if they can get the likes of Geaney, JOD, Johnny Buckley etc. back, so it's not all doom and gloom for them.

As an aside, if some Kerry fans think that they get some rough treatment on HS, try being a Mayo fan for a day! Though we have some beauts posting on here, it would have to be said.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 25/04/2016 13:43:46    1849150

No problem with Kerry fans yesterday, bit of craic in pubs, passing general opinions most of which couldn't be classified as representing sore losers. Its fan in a nutshell. They are all different. Some take it personal but I find most GAA generally philosophical in defeat. What we need to , what we could have done etc..

Folk talking about the Hill booing is equally silly. Lots of Kerry fans regularly booed Cluxton when he took the frees.Think this booing topic has been done to death but to suggest that's is the Hill's fault and unique to Dublin is simply not true as anyone who has attended a match at CP can vouch for.

poguemahone (Dublin) - Posts: 365 - 25/04/2016 14:10:31    1849170

i think we should have a minutes silence for the death of kerry football and the rise of the whinger.
#whinger is the new kerry supporter work

heresam (Dublin) - Posts: 156 - 25/04/2016 14:37:46    1849207

Booing happens at most games sure certain Kerry fans booed one if our greatest players down in the parc.
I would say that the Dubs are great crack and particularly the ones affiliated with a club.
I didn't like the oles with each pass like in 01 but you just have to take it on the chin...

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 25/04/2016 14:55:09    1849231

Kerry are no sore losers on this occassion

But EF will really needs to calm down before giving interviews.. he's just lucky that his comments haven't been picked up yet

Making such comments in a very public manner is daft, and not becoming of his position and without doubt are quite offensive in the scheme of things at this level.

He'll be lucky to avoid some extra attention....

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 25/04/2016 14:56:29    1849232

The Butter men melted when the heat was on, like I said recently, Kerry's main export these days is butter, not beautiful football.

As for the Dubs, they are ahead of the chasing pack, but I don't think they are unbeatable and I think most Dublin fans themselves will agree with the old "No All Ireland's handed out in April or May" statement.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 25/04/2016 15:10:18    1849247

hate this self righteous stuff. "Ah its a disgrace that people were booing the free taker".let them boo.So it may affect the free taker. Whats the big deal? If thats the case why not stop fans cheering their own team for fear of affecting the opposition?

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 25/04/2016 15:13:01    1849253

Not to bothered, about picking apart the rights and wrongs of being condimently second, recent games Vs Kerry have been lost in their own heads,

Dublin should just focus on hunting down the overall All-Ireland winning record in the next 10-20 years, that should be Dublins next goal,

TheUsername (Dublin) - Posts: 4445 - 25/04/2016 15:19:38    1849258

i think we should have a minutes silence for the death of kerry football and the rise of the whinger.
#whinger is the new kerry supporter work

heresam (Dublin) - Posts:99 - 25/04/2016 14:37:46 1

and spare a though for the genuine Dublin supporter who'll be done out of tickets by the bandwagon hoppers

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 25/04/2016 15:25:04    1849260

The Butter men melted when the heat was on, like I said recently, Kerry's main export these days is butter, not beautiful football.

As for the Dubs, they are ahead of the chasing pack, but I don't think they are unbeatable and I think most Dublin fans themselves will agree with the old "No All Ireland's handed out in April or May" statement.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts:2276 - 25/04/2016 15:10:18

That's really catchy

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 25/04/2016 15:29:17    1849265

I'm not going to get too into this thread as I think the tone does set a fair reflection of Kerry players / management / supporters. I do think that there's an unfair narrative around Kieran Donaghy's perceived lack of equal treatment. Picking up any of the papers today you'd swear Donaghy was a marked man who was treated badly by both the Dublin players and the referee.
I'm not sure how it looked on television and I'm sure I'll be accused of bias here but I think the referee may have balanced the books somewhat when it came to frees for and against him.
You could argue the penalty call, I don't think it's as clear cut as some have made out, it's one of those where you can see them given one day and not the next.
Kerry had racked up a number of fouls which largely went unpunished. I lost count of the number of times Kerry players fouled a Dublin player from behind who had just collected the ball. Although they weren't black card material, they were tactical in nature. I know these fouls happen all the time but Eddie Kinsella allowed this to continue without branding yellow cards for the frequency that they were occurring.
Donaghy himself went unpunished for a number of times he backed into Dennis Bastick to prevent him jumping for kickouts. Donaghy also clocked Paul Flynn (correct me if I'm wrong with the player name) in the first half after he played the ball. This was a clear yellow card and although Kinsella noted it, he didn't book him.
Kinsella was trying his best to let the game flow but Kerry were testing what they could get away with throughout the game. I think it's a bit disingenuous of Eamon Fitzmaurice to be talking about 'rape and pillage' when his players have an underlying tactical fouling game plan. I'm not knocking such a plan, most successful teams will always have a degree of this, Dublin certainly do. But in his eyes it's a case of Donaghy being more sinned against than sinning. Mickey Harte and Tyrone supporters have been getting a lot of grief for taking a similar stance on here yet there seems to be a lot of double standards when it comes to Kerry in the same regard.

NavyNBlue (Dublin) - Posts: 1357 - 25/04/2016 15:37:04    1849271

It's a ridicous comment to come from the kerry management - rape,
If any other manager said this there would be outrage......As I noted here before Kerry don't lose - they have been cheated or hard done -by,
The reason why Kerry lose like all team lose is that the opposition is better!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

This was a shocking comment from the Kerry manager

cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1676 - 25/04/2016 16:51:13    1849347

The Hermit Dublin supporters on the hill have been booing free kick takers for over 40 years now , Dublin supporters always ole ole when we're hammering a team and passing the ball around and we didn't boo Kerry at the presentation we boo'd Donaghy cause he came up on the big screen at the same time Cluxton mention Kerry. Also you've a short memory kerry supporters boo'd and jeer'd Cluxton in last years final every time he took a kick out or free kick

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 25/04/2016 16:55:45    1849356

It'll be interesting to see how and if Kerry can react to being given another lesson by the Dubs. It was very evident that The Kingdom's players badly wanted to halt Dublin's gallop yesterday, but simply lack the athletes to compete for the full 70 in Croke Park against what's become a footballing machine. Players like JOD are not the answer, as flair was in plentiful supply with Kerry yesterday. Kerry need to find another 3 or 4 Donnacha Walsh types and bring them through. Players who can run up and down the pitch for the full game and tackle without fouling. They might consider the merits of getting into the other side of the draw... a straight run to a semi-final meeting with the Dubs might be better avoided this year. Meeting the Dubs in the final with a bit of pressure on retaining their title might be Kerry's (or anyone's) best chance. Based on what we've been seeing it has come to that.

Pericles (Mayo) - Posts: 2521 - 25/04/2016 18:21:48    1849400

Very, very poor choice of words and he should apologise for them. He's right that Donaghy was battered about a bit but please spare me the hypocrisy. Being accused by Kerry of getting roughed by their opponents is like being called fat by Billy Bunter. Just ask Donegal or Mayo what Kerry get up to and get away with. Kerry have ALWAYS been bad losers. They whinged and yapped when Down beat them in the 60's, they moaned when Tyrone and Armagj beat and they have a reputation for it. Grow up Kerry, if you can't take it don't give it out.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 25/04/2016 18:29:42    1849405

Navy blue. What an excellent and fair assessment of the game and Kerry.

dubarra (Wicklow) - Posts: 541 - 26/04/2016 10:26:23    1849556

Eamonn completely right about Donaghy.shouldnt have to apologise for his words

dbirdkyforsam16 (Kerry) - Posts: 56 - 03/05/2016 13:09:59    1851588

Ulsterman,
That is a load of rubbish. Armagh won of the best AI ireland finals I was ever at. That period between 2000-2002 was unreal as a Kerry supporter even if we got slaughtered by Meath in 2001 and lost to Armagh in 2002. We has some jousts with Armagh during that period. We won some we lost some.

You whinge enough with every decision given against an Ulster team especially if it against Kerry.
We gave Donegal as good as we got in 2012 and came on the right side of the result where we beat team playing their style. But best you not give any credit for that cos you are the "Ulsterman"
Every single incident be it little or large Kerry do you are jumping on it like a cat on a mouse. Grow up a small bit please and give a bit of fair play in your analysis.

Donaghy was bullied in the League Final and he got no protection from the referee. Donaghy's past antics with complaining and abusing have probably not helped him with referees but it still didnt change the fact Eamon Fitz had the very right to question the referees performance. I for one am not one of EF's biggest fans and critisise him enough myself for his performance on the sideline. before the Dubs jump on this..yes we deservedly lost

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 03/05/2016 15:15:44    1851656

Woops...... I think you and other Kerry supporters have blinkers on. Donaghy went full Donaghy in the League final. More concerned with throwing slaps and tripping guys up than playing football. He punched Jonny Cooper in the back of the head in front of the umpire after 10 mins. Nothing done. Tripping guys up when running by them.
And you cant cry wolf all the time. Poor Kieran. Referees are sick of his antics at this stage. When you see him live you understand why fans dislike him. He's a bully. And is trying constantly to wind people up. Notice the Dublin boys don't get too bothered by it. That's what he wants!

JayP (Dublin) - Posts: 1772 - 03/05/2016 18:04:17    1851742

Donaghy was bullied in the League Final

Are you for real?!? How he got to the 72 minute without being booked I'll never understand. He gets away with murder.

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 04/05/2016 10:56:45    1851863