Kerry- sore losers

TheRightStuff

1803039 I actually think Dublin would have beaten Kerry by more than seven had it been a dry day. For me the rain should have suited Kerry : particularly the likes of Donaghy whom Eamonn Fitz should of played from the start. Taking of JOD was a joke in my eyes .

Dublin are the best side in the country.

Kerry beat a poor Cork side this year and struggled V Tyrone : a side we beat in May.

Dry day or wet day , Dublin are the best side in the country.

ps : Id love a craic at the Dubs again next year )

Be careful what you wish for lol...

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 30/10/2015 10:30:57    1803046

So maybe less of the bs, thanks.

The only bs, on here is coming from one very bitter Mayo man thanks.

superbluedub (Dublin) - Posts: 2837 - 30/10/2015 10:39:56    1803049

Having to listen to a Mayo man trying in vain to belittle a team for beating Kerry in an All Ireland final

You couldn't make it up :)

Stick to building outlandish vanity projects and bankrupting yourselves...it's all you're good for

Sure at least you have your rich sugar Daddies who obviously don't mind wasting their money to keep Mayo circus on the road

Education time

Dublin have played Kerry in All weather conditions over the last number of years and won

3 times on the trot in the championship, in the league home and away and 5 wins on the trot in Croke Park

So it was nice to add a truly wet day in there

Proves we're better under any sort of condition

Just a pity that we couldn't get one of those goals chances - it was more of 7 point victory performance - like the Mayo game.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 30/10/2015 10:40:30    1803050

Just read O'Connor's comments on the home page.

Absolutely nothing wrong with them, he did say on the day Dublin were worth it.

The way I'd look at the sides recent clashes is this: 2009 Kerry got out of the blocks early & mauled Dublin by 17 points. Since then Dublin have won 3 narrow wins (granted the 2013 meeting was a 7 point win but was close right to the death).

I know what I'd rather - the 3 wins, regardless of rain, replays or whatnot. Dublin have just been better since 2011 onwards.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 30/10/2015 11:13:53    1803060

What's so different about the Dublin players that means they are less affected by wet conditions?

Trying to go back to my Junior Cert geography here but I seem to remember that the Liffey Valley is in fact the driest part of the country ;)

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13711 - 30/10/2015 11:48:48    1803069

Jimbo..didnt kerry beat us in croker in the league 2 years ago????

Master, u are some man for one man. Your anti Dublin chip is literally hilarious, and when we see the likes of you being SO bitter it actually makes winning even sweeter to know how much it bothers you :)
It must KILL you to see where we are right now, and no amt of bitching re money, croker, favouritism etc etc etc will change that, no matter how much u want in to :)

The really good Mayo lads here like Yew Tree must bristle when they see your name......

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 30/10/2015 11:55:55    1803075

Btw, it's not a dig at the Kerry posters on here, who were genuine after the match on this forum. In fairness they took the loss better than some of us took the loss to Donegal

flack (Dublin) - Posts: 1054 - 30/10/2015 12:00:43    1803076

Time to put a roof on croke park just to suit Jack O' Connor and Kerry. Maybe a retractable one would be best and at least then depending on how the game is going the GAA can decide to open or close it. Also could be an idea to get Met Eireann involved for weather forecasts so further ensuring the kingdom don't have to get wet playing in the rain.

Adamski (Dublin) - Posts: 339 - 30/10/2015 12:23:17    1803081

I see Paddy Power has Dublin strong favourites for Sam 2016, he must be expecting a lot of rain in September!

sligo joe (Dublin) - Posts: 684 - 30/10/2015 13:02:25    1803108

Adamski

Time to put a roof on croke park just to suit Jack O' Connor and Kerry. Maybe a retractable one would be best and at least then depending on how the game is going the GAA can decide to open or close it. Also could be an idea to get Met Eireann involved for weather forecasts so further ensuring the kingdom don't have to get wet playing in the rain.

The GAA have done enough for ye already ;-)

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 30/10/2015 13:28:58    1803119

The master.
Dublin missed a lot of goal chances because of players slipping at vital moments , this is why mc Guinness ,Dolan and Canavan said Dublin would of won by more if it had of been a fine day, but irrelevant of this we still won.
If the roles had of been reversed and Kerry had of won in the manner Dublin did , you would be pointing out Kerrys missed goal chances as evidence of superiority .
The fact that you are playing the card that a dry day would of suited Kerrys football philosophy is laughable. This is the emperors clothes myth that Dublin have exposed since 2011. Sadly in your part of the world ye still believe it and will continue to suffer beatings from them.
You really dont like the Dubs, but sure ill be in Westport this weekend with my Dublin jersey on enjoying a pint with the locals, thankfully none are as bad as you and i will enjoy some craic .

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 30/10/2015 15:02:11    1803156

Dublin by far the best test team in the country and lucky for Kerry it was raining cause they could have been hockeyed if it was dry and Dubs got their running game going. How many Kerry players would get into the Dublin team?

centerfield (Mayo) - Posts: 360 - 30/10/2015 20:36:07    1803240

As the saying goes, 'show me a good loser and I'll show you a loser!' In many ways, it's quite understandable to see some begrudging analysis come out of Kerry, and they are not unique in this reaction. However, I find some of the proposed alternative history out of Kerry rather laughable because it's all so one way. If they played KD from the start, if Killian Young kept his footing, if JOD was kept on, if Tommy Walsh was brought on, if the day was dry, if Dublin did not have a replay, it could all have been so different. Could it? Really? I don't believe so!

There's a flip side to many of those what ifs! In some of the Kerry analysis it seems to be forgotten that Dublin missed goal scoring chances too! Maybe if the day was dry, the stronger and better balanced Dublin forwards would have ran up a cricket score. Paddy Andrews had his direct opponent in serious bother - maybe if Dublin had played him more there would have done a a lot more damage. Is anyone seriously going to suggest that some of skidding wet ball sent into Bernard Brogan would not have been collected in dry conditions?

No my friends and no again! Some Kerry supporters can delude themselves all they want but the reality is they lost and were well beaten by a far superior team, even if the final score does not reflect it. They were beaten fair and square in weather conditions that were the same for both sides.

In my view, Kerry can consider themselves lucky they only lost by 3 points because it should have been a lot more.

JamesH (Mayo) - Posts: 465 - 30/10/2015 20:55:49    1803249

not sore losers... just not used to frequently losing maybe

crikey (Australia) - Posts: 355 - 31/10/2015 12:09:59    1803303

crikey - Kerry have lost five out of six in this decade.

fainleog (Limerick) - Posts: 598 - 31/10/2015 13:39:44    1803322

Liam I get what you are saying but I still disagree :-)
Nearly everyone I was speaking to was sickened with Kerry's performance.
I dont think we thought we had the better team but we thought we had the better midfield...which was wrong also as Fenton was the best midfielder on show.

As for a post there by Cuchulainn mentioning the 1920's....god man you would want to start something else other than bitter lemon :-)

Come on the Blues....Everton of course :-)

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 31/10/2015 14:18:05    1803336

Kerry were shocking against Dublin last September.
Their players couldnt string 3 passes together, and even allowing for the rain that is a disgrace.
To be honest I hope that defeat is bothering them. They were that bad they deserve every bit of slagging they get.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 31/10/2015 14:54:06    1803344

30/10/2015 20:36:07
centerfield

Dublin by far the best test team in the country and lucky for Kerry it was raining cause they could have been hockeyed if it was dry and Dubs got their running game going. How many Kerry players would get into the Dublin team?

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Actually, I answered this question before the All Ireland final in the HS All Ireland final thread.
http://www.hoganstand.com/forum/MessagePage.aspx?PageNumber=4&TopicID=94590

There I wrote,'Actually of all the Kerry forwards, perhaps only JOD would get a starting place in the current Dublin team. The Colm Cooper of 2013 would certainly walk onto the Dublin team but Gooch is not the Colm Cooper of 2013 anymore.'

I had a bit of to and fro with the hermit who could not accept it. I argued that 'For arguments sake, we're out in the backyard picking two teams from the Kerry and Dublin squad. I'm taking the entire Dublin half forward line and the majority of people would and I think you know that. As for the full forward line - be realistic now. Everyone is picking Bernard Brogan - there's just no argument. At full forward, I'm taking Paddy Andrews. Andrews is in the form of his life and currently the best full forward in the country. He's scored 10 points in his last 3 Championship games and is a shoe in for the all-star at full forward this year, no question. This leaves a corner-forward spot, which I would give to JOD of Kerry.

I'll play your team any time with those forwards and back them to win. I repeat the Kerry forwards are brilliant but Dublin's are slightly ahead for me and I honestly think many others would share my view, perhaps even in Kerry but they would never admit it.' http://www.hoganstand.com/Forum/PostPage.aspx?TopicID=95187

The hermit could not accept this view beforehand of course but the All Ireland final confirmed the cold hard truth of my argument. According to the hermit I was talking out my Mayo A beforehand but I didn't read a word from the hermit after the final, nor did I need to. The truth of my argument is there now for all to see.

JamesH (Mayo) - Posts: 465 - 01/11/2015 11:44:31    1803435

But JamesH, the hermit is a fair, rational and unbiased poster......dont u know ;)
BTW i agree 100%, JOD would get in the Dubs team but only JOD from the Kingdom forwards.

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 02/11/2015 16:22:07    1803778

Jack O Connor clearly says that the 4 week period between the semi final and the final didn't help us just as it didst help the dubs last year. That is not an excuse its a simple fact that anyone involved in training teams or coaching would understand.

I disagree with him in terms of the rain being a disadvantage to us as I feel the dubs have some very skillful players and that type of weather didn't suit either team.

Its easy to see why there are only a small handfull of Kerry posters left on this site. In instead of posters been able to air there views on games the constant sniping towards Kerry from people on here is laughable.

Dublin's fans memory's seem to be short, I may be wrong but i seem to remember threads full of excuses when Donegal beat ye last year. I haven't seen any threads as to why Kerry lost. The only comments on the match are of one or two ex players or coaches coming out with comments in the media which do not represent what the whole county of Kerry think.

After the final 99% of Kerry fans believed that Dublin were by far the better team and everyone I have spoken to since then have said we weren't close to winning that game and I do think many have said so on here in the weeks after the final.

Hopefully we can have another crack at the dubs next year but that is a long way off yet and they will be very hard to beat.

I know people love to kick us when we are down so I think its best for my head to stay away from here for a while and hopefully the sniping at us may cool down in 6 months or so. -)

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 02/11/2015 18:10:34    1803809