Dermo Connolly different class

JayP
Grandstanding?
Jasus, again, I never said he was streets ahead of everyone else.
I think he is the best player in Gaelic football at the moment, and has been over the last 2-3 seasons.
He is elite amongst the elite players in the game at present.
My criteria is.......do you watch Gaelic Football?

I agree he is among the top players in the game. Just like Keegan, Murphy, O'Shea, Brogan etc etc. If that was what was claimed on the thread then I would agree with that. Maybe start a thread on that and I'll agree with you.
But Im looking for the criteria to support this thread. By the sounds of things, you should be looking for it too.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 29/10/2015 15:12:49    1802896

dubshurling7
Did you even bother to read the initial comment? The poster said he is playing better than anyone else at the moment in CLUB football.

Dermo Connolly is playing at a totally different level to everyone else right now , ok it's club football but I've watched all the games on tg4 and no one is doing what Connolly is doing right now the man is different class. His point taking right now is ridiculous no one else in Gaelic football is on this man level and I mean no one. Here's only a little clip of what he's doing in every game for

Seems like it wasn't me who didn't bother reading it.

Have a read again Dermo is playing at a totally differentnt level to everyone right now. Ok it's CLUB FOOTBALL and no one is doing what Connolly is RIGHT NOW. So from my viewing I believe Clondalkindub in suggesting that Connolly is on a different level to anyone who is currently involved with club teams there is no mention of county teams last year or the past it clearly states he is kicking scores in the Dublin Coub Championship that are not being kicked in any other club championship games which are on Tg4 and the performances he is putting in so far in the club championship are better than any of the performances seen in the club championship to date in other counties which is where it's being stated nobody else is on his level.

dubshurling7 (Dublin) - Posts: 1017 - 29/10/2015 16:47:45    1802940

29/10/2015 16:47:45
dubshurling7

Did you even bother to read the initial comment? The poster said he is playing better than anyone else at the moment in CLUB football.

Dermo Connolly is playing at a totally different level to everyone else right now , ok it's club football but I've watched all the games on tg4 and no one is doing what Connolly is doing right now the man is different class. His point taking right now is ridiculous no one else in Gaelic football is on this man level and I mean no one. Here's only a little clip of what he's doing in every game for

Seems like it wasn't me who didn't bother reading it.

Have a read again Dermo is playing at a totally differentnt level to everyone right now. Ok it's CLUB FOOTBALL and no one is doing what Connolly is RIGHT NOW. So from my viewing I believe Clondalkindub in suggesting that Connolly is on a different level to anyone who is currently involved with club teams there is no mention of county teams last year or the past it clearly states he is kicking scores in the Dublin Coub Championship that are not being kicked in any other club championship games which are on Tg4 and the performances he is putting in so far in the club championship are better than any of the performances seen in the club championship to date in other counties which is where it's being stated nobody else is on his level.

Not worth the hassle of explaining to this Bozzo man.

SLLY (Dublin) - Posts: 463 - 30/10/2015 16:55:15    1803203

Can't help but think he is only playing at 3/4 pace there in that clip

pati (Meath) - Posts: 80 - 30/10/2015 19:33:55    1803232

Wouldn't be as good as Michael Murphy but some player alright.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 30/10/2015 21:16:05    1803253

Did I seriously just read someone claiming Aidan O Shea is more influential than Diarmuid Connoly? Please tell me this was a joke, for me Connolly has been the best player over the last couple of years. Im a big fan of M.Murphy but id still pick connolly over him. AOS doesnt do it on the big day like the connolly's or the murphy's, you can even look at the mayo sfc final for proof of that. Think of Connolly against castlebar 2years ago, it was his final, i think he scored 2-04. Think of one of the best games ever against kerry in '13 i think it was, alot of people forget connolly was man of the match that day and he was marking tomas o se. 3 All Irelands and 2 Club All Irelands. Wow, speaks for itself. The worrying thing is I can see him adding to both.

candlewax (Galway) - Posts: 284 - 01/11/2015 10:28:23    1803413

the most dissapointing thing for most of ye on here
is that you wont see him play today
yet again tg4 have continued their blackout of the dublin championship final
in favour of wait for it yes wait for it
drum roll ...........................................
the laois hurling champions!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! da da

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 01/11/2015 11:08:29    1803422

Why wasn't he he playing today ?
Didn't hear him mentioned on the radio

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 01/11/2015 17:33:02    1803515

He was certainly in a different class this afternoon. Glad to see the back of the vins- robbed one too many players from other clubs for my liking.

rcarragh (Dublin) - Posts: 305 - 01/11/2015 17:35:25    1803517

Who have they robbed I no Fennell thought most of the others were local lads or lads living in the area? Not defending Vincents just wondering who else they poached as I don't no?

dubshurling7 (Dublin) - Posts: 1017 - 01/11/2015 18:11:54    1803529

hill16no1man

the most dissapointing thing for most of ye on here
is that you wont see him play today
yet again tg4 have continued their blackout of the dublin championship final
in favour of wait for it yes wait for it
drum roll ...........................................
the laois hurling champions!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! da da

What's wrong with Laois hurling? We get wall-to-wall Dublin GAA all summer so what harm if the lads from Clough-Ballacolla get their slot on a Sunday in November?

We spend so much time banging on about what we can do to promote the games in weaker counties but when we put a Laois hurling team on national TV we get derision. I think it's great. I'm sure we'll get to enjoy Diarmuid Connolly on RTE in 2016 and if the Dublin championship means so much to you why not get yourself up to Parnell Park or stream it!

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 01/11/2015 18:41:56    1803540

Not a big fan of Vincents having said that I wouldnt be aware of them being a poaching type of club , if Im wrong please share , everyone knows about Fennell but that was seriously instigated by the player , he was allways leaving his club was just a matter of which club he was going to .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 01/11/2015 19:48:59    1803568

The forever inconsistent Dermo Connolly held scoreless today.

Mr_Pundit (UK) - Posts: 677 - 01/11/2015 19:52:07    1803572

Congrats to Boden

Superb start and never looked back

Hard luck to Vincent's 3 in a row would have been special

Now.. for the first time in a number of years

Connolly and co gets to have a rest

Could end up being a good thing for Dublin in 2016

Now gives the Vincent's lads a chance to challenge for positions

They've been tied up with the Club for a few years

Expect to see them now in the NFL Div 1 team

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 01/11/2015 20:28:45    1803580

I guess when a thread like this is set up it will only end in tears .
Still best player in Ireland in my opinion and now after a long time without a break for club and county finally gets a rest.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 01/11/2015 21:30:25    1803594

roudball
i was in parnell park yesterday and saturday
and every other weekend over last month watching club games.
the point i was making was not about connolly
it was the fact that yet again tg4 continue to never show the dublin final

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 02/11/2015 10:42:26    1803646

you could hardly blmae connolly yesterday
or pick him out in any different to the other players
the entire vincents team and management all turned up in the exact same form
a howler of an off day collectivly
these things happen their not robots
fair play to boden though on the day deserved the win
beating crokes, plunketts and vicents to win the dublin title is an impressive stat
considering how strong the three are.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 02/11/2015 10:44:51    1803648

TG4 never show the Fermanagh championship final either Hill. I don't see where you are going with this?

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 02/11/2015 12:08:36    1803697

Or the Tipp football final and it was played on Stephens Day last year when there was nothing else on!

Joe_Bloggs (Tipperary) - Posts: 186 - 02/11/2015 12:18:18    1803700

the point is dublin clubs have been in two of the last three all ireland finals
and have won the last three leinster titles
dublin are the all ireland champions at inter county level
yet they continue to have a blackout on club football in the capital

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 02/11/2015 12:18:47    1803701