Why Kerry lost the Final

Dublin scored more. It's pretty straight forward really.

True but it seems to be causing aggro amongst some Dublin fans who feel they are not getting the credit they deserve :-)

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 08/10/2015 11:24:14    1797019

Slayer - Dublin do not need any more credit. They have three All-Irelands in five years and three National Leagues in a row. The medals give them the credit.

fainleog (Limerick) - Posts: 598 - 08/10/2015 12:32:39    1797059

In fairness, I thought it was a sign of insecurity if you are looking for credit. I dont think they need credit, dublins performances over the year have been self revealing.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 08/10/2015 13:12:31    1797078

Slayer,
Some will give credit some wont. That's life. Not all that important really once you have won, I don't mind either way. Doubt it will make a whole pile of difference to the lads with the medals.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 08/10/2015 13:54:57    1797098

When you win the double All-Ireland and National League, it is fairly obvious Dublin are the best team.

fainleog (Limerick) - Posts: 598 - 08/10/2015 14:12:57    1797108

Slayer,
Some will give credit some wont. That's life. Not all that important really once you have won, I don't mind either way. Doubt it will make a whole pile of difference to the lads with the medals.

Exactly but it seems to matter to some fans here. To be fair Dublin have been the best side over a 5 year period and as my fellow County man has pointed out, their medals are proof of them being the best.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 08/10/2015 14:19:42    1797110

fainleog
County: Limerick

When you win the double All-Ireland and National League, it is fairly obvious Dublin are the best team.

Doesn't seem to be obvious to some Dublin supporters when accuse Kerry of sour grapes and making excuses.
If someone can point out these excuses and sour grapes then we'll try an rectify it and double our efforts at heaping praise.

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 08/10/2015 14:42:35    1797128

Slayer, Some will give credit some wont. That's life. Not all that important really once you have won, I don't mind either way. Doubt it will make a whole pile of difference to the lads with the medals. Exactly but it seems to matter to some fans here. To be fair Dublin have been the best side over a 5 year period and as my fellow County man has pointed out, their medals are proof of them being the best.

slayer (Limerick) - 08/10/2015 14:19:42

You can't please all the people all the time ;-)

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 08/10/2015 15:37:52    1797159

Superglue, I'd say the reason comes down to the fact that nobody likes their achievements to be undermined. Kerry people hated it when some kept going on about them winning All-Is in the last decade but not beating Tyrone, and all that. It's a simple fact that Kerry people are masters of saying everything and nothing. Yis probably have 131 All-Is in that code.

To say that less of a break is a "huge advantage" is really saying the All-I was won and lost because of an advantage outside of the playing and coaching of the teams. John O'Keefe is a journalist, he's not the Kerry manager, his job is to give objective analysis. The coach will always say what he feels is best for his team. Too many Kerry journalists and pundits seem to be "part of the team", doing their bit. And by jaysus there is some amount of them in the media!

Capitalist (Dublin) - Posts: 47 - 11/05/2016 13:20:14    1854000

It was Kerry selector Ger O Keeffe who made that comment not John O Keefe. So he is part of the Kerry set up and not a journalist as far as i know. Bryan Cullen said exactly the same thing and im not sure you can accuse him of being part of the Kerry media

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 11/05/2016 13:37:52    1854015

Bryan Cullen was just being magnanimous!

Capitalist (Dublin) - Posts: 47 - 11/05/2016 16:24:14    1854107

Dublin beat Kerry that day, and twice since, because Dublin are simply a better team with better footballers.
It has nothing to do with desire, heart, fight, mentality, weather etc etc etc
Dublin are a better team than Kerry with better footballers than Kerry
it really is THAT simple.....

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 11/05/2016 16:46:13    1854124

Bryan Cullen was just being magnanimous!

Capitalist (Dublin) - Posts:47 - 11/05/2016 16:24:14

Again your incorrect..he said it before the game so hard to be magnanimous without knowing the result!

Liam your right there..finally someone with an accurate post

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 11/05/2016 18:30:59    1854163

Cant disagree with that Liam to be fair

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 11/05/2016 20:22:17    1854203

Dublin beat Kerry that day, and twice since, because Dublin are simply a better team with better footballers.
It has nothing to do with desire, heart, fight, mentality, weather etc etc etc
Dublin are a better team than Kerry with better footballers than Kerry
it really is THAT simple.....

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts:6639 - 11/05/2016 16:46:13 18

Correct.
This is possibly Dublin's best ever team. The current Kerry team are down the list of great Kerry teams.
You'll come out on top most of the time but we've always a chance :-)

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 12/05/2016 14:44:27    1854413

waiting for hermits reply to my point..... :)

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 12/05/2016 14:55:32    1854419

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts:6640 - 12/05/2016 14:55:32 185

=============================================================

Maybe it will be along the lines of use having scumbags and been Dublin greatest team but not one of the great teams......

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 12/05/2016 15:22:48    1854436

Sure every team has scumbag's it just depends if you can warm to them or not.

They'll have to do the back to back to be regarded as the greatest Dublin team IMO

They'll have to do it as well IMO to be considered on par with the Kerry team of 2004-2009

But at the moment they're defo on par with the brilliant Tyrone side of a decade ago.

That's my take on it anyway Liam.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 12/05/2016 15:43:37    1854444

ah no, Hermits ok, he wouldnt say that kinda rubbish
But, he does seem to think we only beat Kerry these days cos we are hungrier and have more desire :)
There is a complete failure to admit its nothing to do with heart/desire and all to do with Skill and natural ability!!
Kerry most likely want to beat us even more than we want to beat them, hunger/heart, it aint!!

But these things are cyclical, like every winning streak, it too will end and Kerry will beat us again sooner rather than later.
Wont be this year tho

UP THE DUBS!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 12/05/2016 15:53:33    1854446

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts:6640 - 12/05/2016 14:55:32 185

=============================================================

Maybe it will be along the lines of use having scumbags and been Dublin greatest team but not one of the great teams......

witnof (Dublin) - Posts:925 - 12/05/2016 15:22:48

If ye practice really really hard then one day it just might happen....

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 12/05/2016 15:56:51    1854448