The Roc The Greatest

KingdomBoy1

1796908 Damo
Ye need a hughhunt to start ye'r appreciation threads :-)

Hughhunt , the best named poster since his brother totalHunt

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 08/10/2015 11:09:41    1797010

Lilypad - Mick Lyons style of play was not admirable and he would not survive long on the playing field in the present day. Rory O'Carroll is a far superior full back.

fainleog (Limerick) - Posts: 598 - 08/10/2015 12:07:17    1797049

Jaysus fainlog, you better run for cover from the royal lads after that :)

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 08/10/2015 12:18:54    1797053

HughHunt24
Before the Jimmy McGuinness era McGee was regularly coughing 1-5 to his man

Indeed. O'Carroll has taken his fair share of one on one skinnings in his time himself. For that reason, I would say that both are over-rated.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 08/10/2015 13:19:25    1797080

McGee couldn't lace O'Carroll's boots yet McGee has more All Stars. Aye, that makes sense alright ... Nonsense rubbish thread

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 08/10/2015 13:37:15    1797086

08/10/2015 13:19:25

1797080 HughHunt24
Before the Jimmy McGuinness era McGee was regularly coughing 1-5 to his man

Indeed. O'Carroll has taken his fair share of one on one skinnings in his time himself. For that reason, I would say that both are over-rated.

I suppose there no Gerry McCafferkey. Best full back in the country

HughHunt24 (Cork) - Posts: 841 - 08/10/2015 14:00:05    1797101

Donegal-abroad. The full back position has a key role in defending and Rory O'Carroll has done that brilliantly in Dublin's three All-Ireland wins and one All-Ireland under 21 victory, O'Carroll was a towering figure in all of those victories and N.McGee cannot equal that feat. With regard to All-Star awards, they are very much secondary but I am sure Rory O'Carroll will receive another All-Star this year.

fainleog (Limerick) - Posts: 598 - 08/10/2015 14:58:15    1797140

Rory is effective. Not particularly stylish but his timing and his ability to read the game and disrupt attacks is a very important component in Dublin's success.

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 08/10/2015 15:49:56    1797170

How Donegal lads can say McGee is the best full back in the game is laughable when everyone knows he's the most protected full back in the history of Gaelic Football also laughable is a certain Mayo poster saying there overrated when he was saying his full back was the best only two seasons ago now that is laughable. It's funny how he's gone quiet on that one. One more thing on McGee where was all his all stars before Donegal had 15 players in there own half under Mcguiness?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 09/10/2015 10:21:48    1797328

09/10/2015 10:21:48

1797328 How Donegal lads can say McGee is the best full back in the game is laughable when everyone knows he's the most protected full back in the history of Gaelic Football also laughable is a certain Mayo poster saying there overrated when he was saying his full back was the best only two seasons ago now that is laughable. It's funny how he's gone quiet on that one. One more thing on McGee where was all his all stars before Donegal had 15 players in there own half under Mcguiness?

Result like below before McGuinness came along. We hammered them in 09

Sunday 2 August
All-Ireland SFC quarter-final
At Croke Park
Cork 1-27Donegal 2-10
Cork - A Quirke; R Carey, M Shields, K O'Connor; N O'Leary, G Canty (0-1), J Miskella (0-4); A O'Connor, N Murphy; P Kerrigan (1-4), P O'Neill (0-2), P Kelly (0-2); D Goulding (0-3), C O'Neill (0-2), D O'Connor (0-4, 3f). Subs - F Gould (0-2) for A O'Connor (45); F Lynch (0-1) for C O'Neill (50); M Cussen for N Murphy (53); P Kissane (0-2) for Miskella (56); J Hayes for Kerrigan (61)
Donegal - M Boyle; F McGlynn, N McGee, K Lacey; B Dunnion, B Monaghan (0-1), E McGee (0-1); B Boyle, K Cassidy; R Kavanagh (1-0), B Roper (0-1), L McLoone; C Dunne, M Murphy (0-6, 3f), C McFadden. Subs - S Griffin (1-0) for Roper (HT); D Walsh for McLoone (HT); D Gallagher for B Boyle (48); A Hanlon (0-1) for C Dunne (50); E Wade for E McGee (56)
Ref - Maurice Deegan (Laois)

HughHunt24 (Cork) - Posts: 841 - 09/10/2015 10:42:45    1797343

Agree with Clondalkin regarding McGee.. It is hard for McGee not to come across as glowing!! You see it at club level now too, full backs you would have hopped off in years gone by are now looking solid because the defence is packed and they only have a small space to mark now..

ROC is a super full back, won't get the plaudits he deserves because he does everything simple and Dublin's attackers are always the ones that get the nod until this year with Phily (even though he is getting congratulated on his attacking style as much as his defending) The general rule of thought is that Dublin can't defend, well that has well and truly been killed off now...unfortunately for us, was great coming in under the radar in terms of defending

AthCliath87 (Dublin) - Posts: 345 - 09/10/2015 14:14:40    1797491

Before McGuinness, After McGuinness, kind of an irrelevant point. McGee improved immeasurably under Jim and the whole squad did.. Not just Neil. The point I'm making is that Neil McGee has 3 All Stars and Rory O'Carroll has (1) I think? Or 2 maximum. So now All Stars mean nothing and you judge a player on who the manager was at a certain time.. Clondalkin Hates Donegal anyway so anything he says is completely and totally meaningless

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 11/10/2015 09:31:09    1797770

Limerick Man, I agree that Rory O'Carroll is a very good defender. You won't find me slamming him like Clondalkin likes to do with Donegal players. Neil McGee kept James O'Donoghue scoreless last year in the All Ireland final and scored himself in fact. He was immense in the 2012 final also, so this thing of saying it's All Ireland finals and not All Stars which matter... okay fair enough, but McGee has stood up on the big occasions regularly too if that's your criteria.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 11/10/2015 11:29:00    1797787

O'Carroll is consistently good. He won't feature very heavily in a montage of Dublin's year but he does most things right.

Everyone knows defending nowadays is less about the one-on-ones and more about the collective effort of everyone. You look at the player of the year nominations, two Dublin defenders nominated McMahon and McCaffrey. Then you read this thread. There was a similar one about James McCarthy and I actually thought Johnny Cooper was Dublin's best back this year. The common denominator seems to be that they are all doing the right things and impressing different people at different times.

There's probably an element of those around O'Carroll making him look better and him making them look better.

Former_Poster (Meath) - Posts: 394 - 11/10/2015 11:30:58    1797788

11/10/2015 09:31:09
Donegal_abroad

Before McGuinness, After McGuinness, kind of an irrelevant point. McGee improved immeasurably under Jim and the whole squad did.. Not just Neil. The point I'm making is that Neil McGee has 3 All Stars and Rory O'Carroll has (1) I think? Or 2 maximum. So now All Stars mean nothing and you judge a player on who the manager was at a certain time.. Clondalkin Hates Donegal anyway so anything he says is completely and totally meaningless

If you think a manager who came in and completely changed Gaelic football by having 15 players in there own half isnt irrelevant then your in cuckoo land. When Donegal played man on
Man football no one ever heard of Neill McGee but the minute he has 15 players in his own half and is the most protected full back in gaa history he becomes a star if you think that's irrelevant then your deluded.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 12/10/2015 12:45:23    1797995

Former_Poster:

Everyone knows defending nowadays is less about the one-on-ones and more about the collective effort of everyone.

Exactly, well said.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 12/10/2015 13:25:12    1798016

Man on Man ? - Are we talking about Fussball or subutteo or Net ball or something

So if we change the rules so that Donegal defenders aren't allowed go forward - The forwards aren't allowed cover back
The corner backs are only allowed outside the large square - then Rory O carroll would the greatest footballer of all time

If that helps you sleep at night then Ok lets pretend

Given that ROC he has played in semi finals for five years in a row and played in 3 all Ireland finals - and has only one all star - Its a pretty poor return - and shows that the likes of McGee, Higgins, McGlynn are more highly regarded by the people that pick these things

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 12/10/2015 14:34:15    1798053

Not at all but before Donegal had sweeper after sweeper no one ever heard of McGee I wonder why that is? Even this year with all the cover he gets he was roasted in donegal's two biggest games of the season. The Roc is the greatest full back we've ever seen I think you's all realise that now. Billy O Shea famous quote; you could be 40 years old and still play full back on the Donegal football team.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 12/10/2015 14:45:01    1798059

Seamus Moynihan, John O'Keefe, Mike McCarthy, Sean Walsh would be four players from one county who would be streets ahead of O'Carroll in terms of full back play.

pdempsey (Mayo) - Posts: 1313 - 12/10/2015 15:06:58    1798071

Whatever anybody thinks of him , We're glad to have him . Top player and always a real handful for any forward he marks.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 12/10/2015 15:28:08    1798078