Burns calls for removal of tricolour and anthem

"Also, this rubbish about running for the gaa presidency. Have you actually stopped to consider that scenario in any way? How is saying something that alienates many, going to win you votes? What popularity manual did you read that one in? It is complete garbage."

Sorry bumpernut I went through every post twice on this with my morning coffee and cannot see where I mentioned the GAA presidency. Please enlighten me if you will

"Can you imagine asking the British goverement to take their flag down to accomodate a few catholics lets be realistic there is no Unionist who would play gaelic cant believe Burns coming out with a statement like that if the english want to play our native game they play it on our terms"

Wfkerry didn't you hear about the union jack being removed from beflast city hall and all council buildings?

Yup bad.monkey good point about ravenhill. Think it was part of the reason bowe left and part of the reason he came back. As you say bigots on both sides love a good fleg to dance around

"Wait, so you'd favor getting rid of a flag that at least tries to represent both traditions (green and orange), for a flag from 300 years ago? Doesn't seem very inclusive."

Yes that what the words said but read between the lines and sense the tone. Im making the point that times, flags, songs, everything changes and they don't really matter

"You equate are entire culture to 1 song that's just over 100 years old and that was originally wrote in English, it's either that or you were lying about the rugby boys selling our culture, which is it?"

Ha ha great point. A lot of people forget this. Some must think Cuchulain wrote it himself

"I honestly can't see how the removal of the Tri colour and National Anthem being done away with could benefit the Gaa .The Gaa gives us our identity all over the world."

Fair enough but please explain how a flag and song define you as irish and how it would be non-beneficial to the GAA?

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 30/09/2015 08:22:54    1794002

At the end of the day think how much better this and many countries would be without flags, anthems and lines on maps. How many people have died and suffered due to tribalism and religion all over the world. Id advise all to travel and live abroad and see that most people dont care and just want a good life for them and their families. I thought it sad how many american backpackers wear canadian flags on their bags in order to make their travels easier when they are just good decent people similarly how my southern friends would ask if their car would be safe up north with a southern reg. What a wasted life having to worry about such things. True there are some violent idiots out there on both sides but it shouldnt stop normal decent folk getting on with their lives. Its amazing how many people outside this country dont know about our 'troubles' and when they find out what we are fighting over i think some are in shock. If taking the flag down or stopping the anthem at smaller games encourages even one person who has never seen a match to attend or even take part then thats a start and all we can hope for. I dont think anyone is pretending that it will change 100% over night and the orange lodge GAC will be set up but if we take steps now and be the bigger person it will change in the long run and I for one want to be part of that change. It might not work but sure you will never know if you dont at least try.

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 30/09/2015 08:30:20    1794006

Offside_Rule

Now that the board is closing can everyone please stand for the national anthem.

….bands don't play no more……too much fighting on the dance floor"

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 30/09/2015 08:30:27    1794007

"We have the G AA since 1884 , it's our (Irish people)national game , reminds us of our heritage and long may it continue but we must keep to the ideas of the founders."

Long before the tricolour and anthem so i fail to see how thats the idea of the founders! Sound like an american say we should be allowed guns because a few guys over 100 years ago said we can!!!!

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 30/09/2015 08:38:18    1794008

Why do we play the National Anthem before games? There is no international dimension so why play it.I agree with Jarlath on this one.

Condorman (Dublin) - Posts: 983 - 30/09/2015 08:40:47    1794010

"The East Derry MP Gregory Campbell who recently lampooned the Irish language in the Northern Assembly with his "curry my yogurt, a can coca coalyer" comment has told Sinn Féin it will never get an Irish language act.
Mr Campell said at the DUP annual conference that Sinn Féin would love nothing more than to lull unionists into agreeing to "costly projects" such as a bill of rights, and "their long demanded Irish language Act".
"On behalf of our party let me say clearly, and slowly so that Caitriona Ruane and Gerry Adams understand, we will never agree to an Irish language act at Stormont and we will treat their entire wish list as no more than toilet paper. They better get used to it," he said.

And anytime in elections where there is a danger of a Unionist seat being taken by a Nationalist or Republican politician they draw up pacts just so that it doesn't go in to Green hands.

And these are the people who posters on here think we should be changing our ways to appease. Wise up people and see things for what they are. There is nothing Unionists would love more than to see the flag and anthem removed from GAA pitches across the North but if you think they will then rush to participate in the Association then I worry for you."

Few good points although I didnt think youd be the person to believe a single word that comes out of cambpells mouth but i stand corrected. And you cant say all unionists are the same. Yes lots would like to see the flags removed the same way lots of nationalists would like the jack removed (and that has taken a small step) Dont you think it would be better to compromise and get rid of all flags and just get on with leading happy normal lives where the bigots are left behind?

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 30/09/2015 08:41:16    1794011

29/09/2015 14:11:16 Tim_Burr
Names of clubs and the anthem are irrelevant and not an issue so leave them alone.
Id rather Jarlath and Croke Park deal with the problems for those of us in a management or coaching role within local clubs are having to deal with. Hurling is struggling outside of the top 8 counties and theyre doing nothing especially in Ulster to address this. Im sure most people are finding many issues within their clubs and counties much more important than this nonsense.
Names of clubs is certainly not irrelevant if we're discussing issues in the North and getting British Nationalists/Protestants/Unionists involved in the association in some form....

Ormondbannerman - wrong. If you seriously think a fine club like Kevin Lynch Dungiven or O Donovan Rossa in Belfast will change their names to be more inclusive youre totally deluded. Its not going to happen, shouldnt happen and there is no need for it to happen and Jarlath Burns knows this.
There are children playing for clubs in Down and the rest of Ulster who are from a unionist background, some from English/foreign backgrounds and their parents couldnt give a fig about names or symbols.
These children are having fun with their friends and their parents love being part of a wider community spirit. As i said earlier those who wish to take part are very welcome and those like the DUP and their ilk wont have anything to do with the GAA but will try to use comments from Jarlath Burns and others, who are after positions of power within the GAA, for their own narrow agenda.

Tim_Burr (Down) - Posts: 460 - 30/09/2015 08:54:24    1794021

Sorry, but have a read of the posts and experiences of DerryCityFC?

The Master, these are made up experiences, this walter mitty character has been caught out telling lies on numerous occasions.

I know Jarlath personally and would regard him as a friend, he is from a good republican family in south Armagh (google funeral of Brendan Burns Crossmaglen) who have suffered alot at the hands of the british forces, however Jarlath has always been very driven and it is no secret whatsoever that he wants to be President of the GAA and Jarlath will do and say whatever it takes to achieve that aim.

Tom1916 (Armagh) - Posts: 2001 - 30/09/2015 09:28:12    1794030

Even if we put a union jack outside every GAA ground and played God Save the Queen before every match in an effort to welcome Unionists it wouldn't be enough to attract the vast majority of them. The simple fact is that Unionists in the north are led by bigots who want to keep their own traditions and trample down anyone elses (and I'm not just talking about Catholics either, ask Eastern Europeans or the Muslim community). This may not be every Unionist's belief but the bigots are voted in time and time again and do their best to poison the GAA and Irish culture on a regular basis without shame.

Playing Gaelic football in Belfast I have seen Dutch, Polish and African lads playing for their local club but with the exception of a Protestant lad with a Catholic mother that I know(who is well respected for who he is at the club), there are none from the Unionist side of the community that show any interest for the game that I know off.

I can honestly say that if I got a feeling that the Unionist community would embrace our games in great numbers with a few simple tweaks then I would support that change. But the overriding feeling I get is that Northern Ireland Unionists reject a multicultural society in many ways and with many cultures and I have absolutely no problem singing my national anthem loud and clear to irritate the ears of bigots, and for Unionists who are not bigoted they shouldn't find offence in a lad singing his national anthem.

SaffronDon (Antrim) - Posts: 2386 - 30/09/2015 09:36:22    1794038

slayer

So you will support the removal of the National Flag and National Anthem but you still want to wear the county colours? Do you see a paradox there?

To be fair there is no paradox there at all slayer, you're clutching at straws here, you wear your county colours because your county team is playing (that's pretty straight forward, and anyway you can wear whatever you like, I'm no fashion-nazi), but why would you play the national anthem when the national team is not playing? I'm yet to see a logical explanation to that.

I have to say if Burns' proposals are adopted that would more or less end my interest in GAA for good.

I have to say I find this astonishing, so if they got rid of a flag and an anthem then you would no longer be a fan of Hurling (a sport) or Gaelic Football (a sport). I'm sorry but I would find it hard to acknowledge people like that as real sports fans, political fans yes, fans of recent history yes but not sports fans, I'm genuinely not being smart here but I can't for the life of me understand that attitude.

We should be proud of who we are and encourage people to join, not pander to a tiny minority of people who have little or no interest anyway.

I'm happy to be Irish and never wanted to be from anywhere else but I've never been interested in national pride either, however I agree that we should encourage as many people as possible to join, we have 2 great sports to share. As for pandering to minorities, well we shouldn't pander to anyone, minorities or majorities, pandering is not good, which is why I don't support the removal of the anthem to appease Unionists, that's a pointless exercise anyway.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 30/09/2015 09:36:58    1794039

Would we have the nordies up in arms then if it was for unification? No they would call the rest of us partionist for wanting to keep them.

Sorry but this just shows how little you know about us 'Nordies'. I am all for inclusivity and would have no issues with a new flag and anthem if it was required for re-unification and was the will of the people. What I have an issue with is the constant bending over for those who will in now way ever reciprocate it and who would love nothing more than to see any symbol of Irishness being removed in the North. Those whose ultimate goal is to never have a United Ireland. That is the difference.

DoireCity - again your facts are a wee bit out. The Irish Tri-colour has been in existence since 1848 which pre-dates the Organisation by 40 odd years. The 'Soldiers Song' was penned in 1907. So the GAA was not founded 'long before the tri-colour and anthem'.

And as for believing or not believing Campbell or whatever sort of person you think I am that you feel the need to stand corrected - that was a small windown in to the Unionist mindset with regards to all things Irish. Question is do you think that he and his are just making up this stance and that deep down they really love all things Irish? I don't know what age you are as some days from comments I take you to be quite young but then other posts you talk about having lived in places around the world for numerous years which would suggest you aren't that young - but what I do know is that I have been around this place long enough to know exactly what the mindset is and know that history dictates they are happy to call for compromises of others but never happy to compromise themselves. From that point I say that if Edwin, Gregory or whoever are as genuine as they appear over their concerns then lead by example, remove all flags from all sporting events and all anthems. In fact only this morning on the Radio they were talking again about the OO striving to be more inclusive so I wonder will they then also remove any flag, legal or illegal, and stop their FTP bands playing 'hymns' on their marches? Given that at the recently opened Orange Museum they said they had flags to represent every country that had lodges yet it was pointed out to them that they didn't have the Irish flag yet there are many lodges in the South. The representitive of the OO trying to explain it away was cringeworthy. I am confident enough that this will never happen to even consider what Burns et al are suggesting for the reasons they are suggesting it.

Oh and final point - it is not the 'Jack' but the Union Flag. It is only the Union Jack when it is being flown from the Jack mast on a ship. Thought you of all people would know that.... :-)

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 30/09/2015 09:38:57    1794042

DoireCityFC

Ha ha great point. A lot of people forget this. Some must think Cuchulain wrote it himself

Haha, you'd wear he did write it with some people's attitudes.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 30/09/2015 09:40:21    1794043

I know Jarlath personally and would regard him as a friend, he is from a good republican family in south Armagh (google funeral of Brendan Burns Crossmaglen) who have suffered alot at the hands of the british forces, however Jarlath has always been very driven and it is no secret whatsoever that he wants to be President of the GAA and Jarlath will do and say whatever it takes to achieve that aim.

Having read everything on this thread to date, this looks to be the case.

The better Presidents have had a defining moment to mark their tenure, such as Kelly facilitating Croker to be opened for rugby & soccer. If Mister Burns wants to do something that would mark him out as a potential President I'd suggest raising the standard of hurling in the province of Ulster, helping teams there into the McCarthy Cup, rather than holding a hand out to people who will only shake it if he is not wearing GAA colours.

I hope to God he forgets this idea asap and focuses on other things.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 30/09/2015 09:42:07    1794045

and on and on we go
take down the flag will ye....stop the anthem will ye ? I say NEVER ..............NEVER...............NEVER... we'll keep doing what we've been doing for hundreds of years..keep marching kepp banging the drum keep flying the flags ...keep every single tradition you ever had lest we forget who we are. Build them fences up higher boys...get them fires burning brighter
Many posters on here that want to keep the flag and anthem at every turn keep referring to the Brits for reference which is a laugh
Lets have a look at their national sport SOCCER....Sunday league match down the park ....imagine the pre-match banter ..."'ang on a minute Baz where's the bleeding union jack ? avd you remembered your cd of god save the queen. we cant ave no kick off then ahhh bugger that mate"
Lets all remember its a GAME of gaelic football or hurling

AnBuachaillGlas (Fermanagh) - Posts: 287 - 30/09/2015 09:52:05    1794051

tom1916

"The Master, these are made up experiences, this walter mitty character has been caught out telling lies on numerous occasions."

Examples please! direct quotes if you dont mind. i know you usually dont back the majority of your posts up with any substance but id appreciate if you could do so for this one as it is a direct attack on me simply as i have different views from yourself. im not smart enough to hold a lie.

P.S the walter mitty you refer to in many post, im afraid i dont know him

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 30/09/2015 09:54:10    1794053

but why would you play the national anthem when the national team is not playing? I'm yet to see a logical explanation to that.

Because we live in Ireland, this is an Irish organisation. Removing the flag and anthem say from the Munster Hurling Championship would in effect reduce it to a game between two counties within one part of Ireland, nothing to do with Ireland. I think the link to our country needs to remain and having the flag and anthem present at inter county games keeps that link.

I have to say I find this astonishing, so if they got rid of a flag and an anthem then you would no longer be a fan of Hurling (a sport) or Gaelic Football (a sport). I'm sorry but I would find it hard to acknowledge people like that as real sports fans, political fans yes, fans of recent history yes but not sports fans, I'm genuinely not being smart here but I can't for the life of me understand that attitude.

I would still be a fan, but why then take part? It might as well be ice hockey between (for example) Limerick and Tipperary if we lose all sense of Irishness. There is nothing political at all in my thinking. No problem if you don't understand the attitude but I am just trying to put my point across, definitely not looking for a row of any sort.

I'm happy to be Irish and never wanted to be from anywhere else but I've never been interested in national pride either, however I agree that we should encourage as many people as possible to join, we have 2 great sports to share. As for pandering to minorities, well we shouldn't pander to anyone, minorities or majorities, pandering is not good, which is why I don't support the removal of the anthem to appease Unionists, that's a pointless exercise anyway.

If you are happy to be Irish but are not interested in National pride, then there is no need to sing the anthem or face the flag. As mentioned here yesterday, the American National anthem is sung before the superbowl, 'God Save the Queen' is sung before the FA Cup final. I watch both, I completely respect the right of both countries to have those anthems sung. I am glad you agree about not removing them to pander to anyone.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 30/09/2015 09:56:54    1794054

wasnt given constitutional status til 37. The point being flags, anthems and national symbols change. We had the harp, we have the tricolour, who knows what we will have in 1 or 2 hundred years!

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 30/09/2015 10:03:37    1794059

and on and on we go
take down the flag will ye....stop the anthem will ye ? I say NEVER ..............NEVER...............NEVER... we'll keep doing what we've been doing for hundreds of years..keep marching kepp banging the drum keep flying the flags ...keep every single tradition you ever had lest we forget who we are. Build them fences up higher boys...get them fires burning brighter
Many posters on here that want to keep the flag and anthem at every turn keep referring to the Brits for reference which is a laugh

Hey man, chill pill needed there :-) Looks like you had a few people talking to yourself there in that post.

People are expressing different opinions - we disagree, that is life.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 30/09/2015 10:05:27    1794062

My club has a national flag somewhere. It wouldn't be flown very often as the local scallywags would probably cut it down (having a laugh of course-vandalism is a hobby around here)! The national anthem is hardly ever played unless you reach the championship final. While we are at, I might as well say, hardly anybody in the club goes to mass (if they are under 60). We are not openly very 'Irish' at all (whatever that means anyway). We do like, love perhaps, hurling and gaelic football though.

Taking away the national flag and not singing the anthem when it is sung just to appease a few people is not something that I do not openly support. That said if it happened, I wouldn't worry that much either. Hurling and football would go on. Cork would still struggle at inter county level and my club at every level. Ultimately that is what interests me.

I agree with Slayer on one point. If Jarlath Burns wanted to focus his energies on something, it could be to bridge the divide between hurling and football people within the GAA (I realise that the term 'hurling person' etc is controversial). There are some people in this country that would rather see the union jack flown than allow somebody to play hurling on their field. I am exaggerating here obviously.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 30/09/2015 10:09:23    1794064

a tolerant society recognises what symbols and signs intimidate your neighbour! Its not panbdering to the hard line unionist community who will never change.

I am talking about the average joe protestant in ulster. If taking down a flag and stopping an anthem helps welcome them into the fold then surely as a tolerant people we should do it.

It is not enough to say, sure they won't do this or they won't do that we have to as the GAA has on many occasions take the first stap!

I understand southern posters not wanting it which is why I have said make it exclusive to ulster, but it is the responsible tolerant think to do and a great example to our children as people on here are so used to referring to

redhanddefender (Tyrone) - Posts: 913 - 30/09/2015 10:09:35    1794065