Burns calls for removal of tricolour and anthem

Spot on seany. what does it achieve? Preaching to the converter is a waste of time and thats what this song does when we have to hear it all year round

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 29/09/2015 14:52:10    1793690

Yeah can be a bit of an eyesore alright though thankfully up in the Glens we don't have to worry too much about flags (though someone recently stuck a few Ballycastle and Cushendall flags up which could have caused some trouble). Derry isn't free from it yet either though. Quick google putting in 'Derry Flag Flying' and the following is the second item returned: http://www.derryjournal.com/news/anger-after-provocative-flags-erected-in-waterside-1-6891256

Funny the parents were down staying in a hotel in Dublin not too long ago and got speaking to some tourists from England who were over on a Coach trip. The Mother was asking them did they go up North at all and the couple they were talking to said they did but the woman in particular was saying that she actually found it very intimidating with all the flags flying and wouldn't feel safe going there by herself - and that was the Union Flags she was talking about.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 29/09/2015 14:57:16    1793695

This reaching out is ALL one way, it is ALWAYS about the GAA and Irish Nationalists having to give and appease others just for it to be thrown back in our faces all the time. There are many people outside Ulster who just have no experience or concept of this horrible anti-Irish sectarianism; they really haven't a clue. Jarlath seems to be preoccupied with his own self interests within the GAA because no one I know shares his beliefs; he has alienated many Gaels on the island with this. I also think Jarlath should have a look at the GAA rulebook and the ethos of the Association, it is at total odds with what he is saying

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 29/09/2015 15:00:25    1793698

Well said Jarlath Burns WELL SAID
this is sport not religion not politics just sport.
Symbols are a very divisive thing and northerners know that fine well. Many posters seem to crave this need to wave flags or banners to demonstrate their political view, to stamp the GAA as OURS as our sides game. To play the anthem at every chance to again brand the GAA as OUR sides. I couldnt give a damm if the tricolour or anthem was never heard again at a GAA match. WHO CARES...NOT ME

AnBuachaillGlas (Fermanagh) - Posts: 287 - 29/09/2015 15:02:22    1793702

hurlinspuds

GAA already lost allowing people onto the pitch thanks to Louth.

Spuds would you like to care and explain please?

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 29/09/2015 15:10:10    1793707

An Buachaill Glas

Well said Jarlath Burns WELL SAID
this is sport not religion not politics just sport.
Symbols are a very divisive thing and northerners know that fine well. Many posters seem to crave this need to wave flags or banners to demonstrate their political view, to stamp the GAA as OURS as our sides game. To play the anthem at every chance to again brand the GAA as OUR sides. I couldnt give a damm if the tricolour or anthem was never heard again at a GAA match. WHO CARES...NOT ME

Should we get rid of county colours too so. Just have two jerseys for every game. Black and white - and leave it like that? A toss up ten minutes before the game. Ban supporters' colours?

A lot of people go to inter county games for the atmosphere and the occasion. Colours, scarves, flags, Amhrán na bhFiann, programmes etc etc. Don't mess with it. Its not broken. Theses things are part and parcel of our games. No one is forcing this on anyone but all are welcome.

15BACSAM (Dublin) - Posts: 142 - 29/09/2015 15:18:59    1793712

The GAA is a major part the Irish Republic & 1 of the corner stones of the countries tradition. It is engrained into our heritage and this should not be allowed to be diluted in certain areas. Modern history entwines the association with the development and growth of us as a nation and IMO is a very positive influence on us as people. I'd be astonished if the tri colour or the anthem were removed from our games. MR Burns I think is looking for a few votes here and a seat at the top table, he best be careful he might get a backlash with this 1. Maybe he thinks he is being revolutionary but I just can't agree with him. There are no bars for the Unionists/Protestants playing our games in our Association and Brend is spot on if they understand what the tri colour depicts it includes them already… The green white and ORANGE is the perfect flag and all inclusive for the whole of Ireland… The divisive flag again if honest in Ireland is the Union Jack which the Unionists hold so dear. The question Mr Burns needs to ask himself and them is who exactly needs to move on from a flag because that is the real question?

If they refuse to play our games because of the tri colour they fail to grasp and understand the meaning behind it. Would you want them involved if they couldn't accept ALL inclusive…….

What will he want us all to do next stop calling our children Patrick or Sean because they are to Irish… Get a grip Jarlath!

Got to say on this point about The Solders Song being played at every game, it isn't played in club games over here not sure about Ireland happy to be enlightened though? It is played at Club County finals and IMO it does enhance the feel & the importances of the game. County games are IMO a similar level so I think the anthem has a place at them also…

It is a bit of a difficult 1 as Gaelic Games are not played internationally. This in theory is the fitting place for a national anthem… But I really do see it as a big part of the tradition of our games but I must add how many Protestants were Republicans from the past i.e. Wolfe Tone, Plunkett, Parnell and of course Sam Maguire who we all fight for each and every year just to name a few…;) Learn to embrace and understand the Association 1st I'm afraid, if they can't then they have no place at the table unfortunately.

Mancirish (UK) - Posts: 2200 - 29/09/2015 15:19:04    1793713

Exactly my point doirecity, the Saxons as a people don't even exist anymore, I don't think anyone identifies themselves as a saxon enough to get offended about a song about fighting them hundreds of years ago. On the other point, the song celebrates all people who fought for our freedom, not just those who (semi) achieved it

flack (Dublin) - Posts: 1054 - 29/09/2015 15:21:30    1793719

Offside_Rule

1793695 Yeah can be a bit of an eyesore alright though thankfully up in the Glens we don't have to worry too much about flags (though someone recently stuck a few Ballycastle and Cushendall flags up which could have caused some trouble). Derry isn't free from it yet either though. Quick google putting in 'Derry Flag Flying' and the following is the second item returned: http://www.derryjournal.com/news/anger-after-provocative-flags-erected-in-waterside-1-6891256

Funny the parents were down staying in a hotel in Dublin not too long ago and got speaking to some tourists from England who were over on a Coach trip. The Mother was asking them did they go up North at all and the couple they were talking to said they did but the woman in particular was saying that she actually found it very intimidating with all the flags flying and wouldn't feel safe going there by herself - and that was the Union Flags she was talking about.

Now that you mention it Offside, it made me think about the lack of tricolours flying in the West of Belfast and most nationalist areas now. This is an obvious sign of how our community has moved on.
This certainly hammers the myth peddled by some on here that somehow nationalists are obsessed by flags as much as the brethren across the divide.

bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 29/09/2015 15:25:35    1793723

Many posters seem to crave this need to wave flags or banners to demonstrate their political view, to stamp the GAA as OURS as our sides game. To play the anthem at every chance to again brand the GAA as OUR sides. I couldnt give a damm if the tricolour or anthem was never heard again at a GAA match. WHO CARES...NOT ME

I for one have no cravings for anything AnBuachaillGlas - I am quite content in who I am and what I am and you won't find a prouder Mongolian this side of the Bosphorus. I am also quite content for those who see themselves as British or whatever to be what they want.

My issue is around those who are calling for the removal of the Flag or Anthem from the GAA and I would ask them what do they see as the end result being? If these people really believe that removing them will suddenly see an influx of Unionists flocking to and participating in the games then I am sorry to say but you/they are delusional. As a young lad I enjoyed going to the Cinema in Ballymena but wasn't overly happy that they always played GSTQ come the end with Security placed at the doors to stop anyone who tried to leave prior to it being played. Did it stop me going to the cinema - no. I just accepted that I was attending a cinema in a Loyalist town and that was they way they rolled.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 29/09/2015 15:27:11    1793727

Symbols are a very divisive thing and northerners know that fine well. Many posters seem to crave this need to wave flags or banners to demonstrate their political view, to stamp the GAA as OURS as our sides game.

Why not ban jerseys and colours so? Each game will see everyone in grey stands and no entry to the game unless you are wearing a completely grey outfit. The captains toss for who wears what jersey - one team white the other black. All talk of the country we are in, directions to & from the ground should be banned.

County teams should be disbanded and teams should only play based on being like minded individuals.

Honestly it's absolute b***ox this suggestions from Burns. Flags, colour and geographical pride are part of what makes the GAA.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 29/09/2015 15:31:05    1793730

I think he is spot on. I know for a fact it is a big reason why parents keep their kids away from playing from the protestant side of the community. In knowing that we should undertsand that its intimidating and in the very least take it out of ulster football. Open the game up.

For those who are saying "its taking our culture, its taking our identity, its taking our flegs" who are you starting to sound like?

I don't need a flag or an anthem played before a match to be an irish man

redhanddefender (Tyrone) - Posts: 913 - 29/09/2015 15:34:54    1793735

Ailteoir
@TheMaster - You haven't a clue. The bottom line is they have no time for GAA full stop. Dropping the national anthem and the tricolour isn't going to change their attitude. It's just tokenism that won't change anything, except to keep one individual in the media spotlight with a view to a future run at the GAA Presidency

Sorry, but have a read of the posts and experiences of DerryCityFC? I think you will find that it is yourself who doesn't have a clue. All you seem to do is talk about 'their' attitude. Id ask you, have you considered your own attitude at all? It seems to me you don't want 'them' having any part in gaa.

Also, this rubbish about running for the gaa presidency. Have you actually stopped to consider that scenario in any way? How is saying something that alienates many, going to win you votes? What popularity manual did you read that one in? It is complete garbage.

The sad reality is, we are just going to have to wait another 20 years, but this will inevitably happen - same as everything before it.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 29/09/2015 15:39:07    1793736

The National Anthem isn't played at any club league games, how many unionists go to them?

turkeyplucker (UK) - Posts: 137 - 29/09/2015 15:40:38    1793739

"Yeah can be a bit of an eyesore alright though thankfully up in the Glens we don't have to worry too much about flags (though someone recently stuck a few Ballycastle and Cushendall flags up which could have caused some trouble). Derry isn't free from it yet either though. Quick google putting in 'Derry Flag Flying' and the following is the second item returned: http://www.derryjournal.com/news/anger-after-provocative-flags-erected-in-waterside-1-6891256

Funny the parents were down staying in a hotel in Dublin not too long ago and got speaking to some tourists from England who were over on a Coach trip. The Mother was asking them did they go up North at all and the couple they were talking to said they did but the woman in particular was saying that she actually found it very intimidating with all the flags flying and wouldn't feel safe going there by herself - and that was the Union Flags she was talking about."

Yeah a few idiots have put some up but the council neighbourhood wardens take them down if they can. id say a 90% reduction from what it used to be

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 29/09/2015 15:40:53    1793740

IrelandUnited, not one word of that has anything to do with sport. It has no place in the argument. This is the problem - people attaching other things onto what is a sporting contest between two teams.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 29/09/2015 15:40:59    1793741

Ulsterman
This reaching out is ALL one way

So to recap, unionists have to sing the irish national anthem while standing attention to the irish flag, if they want to play a game of football...

And we are reaching out, you say... When do we actually start?

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 29/09/2015 15:43:36    1793743

"Exactly my point doirecity, the Saxons as a people don't even exist anymore, I don't think anyone identifies themselves as a saxon enough to get offended about a song about fighting them hundreds of years ago. On the other point, the song celebrates all people who fought for our freedom, not just those who (semi) achieved it"

Same way the celts dont exist but many people still think they are celtic

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 29/09/2015 15:44:44    1793746

Never thought id agree with you on something redhanddefender but i know when to

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 29/09/2015 15:58:34    1793754

Seems like alot of southern posters need the anthem need the national flag lest anyone forget 1916 or our founding fathers, sure didnt Michael Collins solo the ball round the GPO and knock off Black n Tans with his trusty hurl
Look lads its a GAME an IRISH game. I dont think that will be lost on anyone if we stop playing the anthem as we've always done or stopped flying the national flag every time there's an under14 league match(yes thats the way it is in some grounds near me) and stop doing the things we've always done or stopped going to or returning from our lodge gatherings along the route we've traditionally taken cause we wouldnt want to get entranched into not moving not one inch no way no surrender

AnBuachaillGlas (Fermanagh) - Posts: 287 - 29/09/2015 16:09:09    1793764