Burns calls for removal of tricolour and anthem

Horsebox77

I'm sorry are we totally losing our identity?

I always cringe when I read or hear someone waffle on about "losing our identity", how in the name of jaysus does someone lose their identity anyway? I've often lost my phone, the tv remote and my keys etc but my identity, no, just no. I'm Irish, always have been, always will be, and whether or not the Gaa decides to play some song or raise a flag with a few colours on it doesn't change our identify one iota, "losing our identity" is nothing more than an insecure stuck for an argument, argument.

Ps, I couldn't care less about the Unionists or their sensitivities about Gaelic games, I just don't see the need for this over the top patriotism, I go the see Gaa matches because I love the sport, not for flags or anthems.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 29/09/2015 13:26:43    1793616

Your missing my point doirecity, there's no reason for unionists to be offended by our flag or anthem. I know a lot of nationalists from the north, and they always struck me as very reasonable in what they expected from unionists. Noone ever did or will oppress or discriminate against them (even the IRAs beef was with the 'occupying forces' not unionists per se) the flag itself is an act of conciliation and the anthem celebrates the bravery if the men who gained our freedom, without running anyone down in particular.
But then again, these days everyone loves being 'offended' by everything that doesn't fit into their narrow minds. They're usually people who bleat on about how open-minded they are

flack (Dublin) - Posts: 1054 - 29/09/2015 13:27:37    1793617

I don't mind the getting rid of the playing of the national anthem as it gets boring playing it before every match.Save it for big occassions.

The other stuff about the flag is purely aimed at Jarlath appearing progressive while at the same time knowing their isn't a hope in hell of something like that happening and I don't see what getting rid of the tri colour would do to reach out to the unionist community.It'sding over rather than reaching out and unionists have to accept that the vast majority of people on the island are represented by the tri colour.

BTW I don't care if I never see another flag at a GAA match but there is no need to get rid of them purely to suck up to people for the sake of it.

uibhfhaili1986 (Offaly) - Posts: 1296 - 29/09/2015 13:42:14    1793628

How about we put a giant roll of Andrex in place of the tricolour and sing 'humpty dumpty' in place of the National Anthem?

Actually, let's just keep them the way they are, they are fine.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 29/09/2015 13:43:52    1793629

Talking to some Gaels in Belfast today about this who said they would now actively oppose and campaign against him if he were to run for GAA President or other high office within the Association.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 29/09/2015 13:51:08    1793634

Not sure where my previous post went - must have just been missed by the mods with all the traffic. Anyways, to paraphrase:

DUPs Edwin Poots on the Radio now today picking up on this and calling for the GAA to remove the Flag and Anthem so that Unionists will feel more inclined to attend GAA matches and events.
I say lead by example Edwin and get GSTQ and the Union Flag and that unofficial NI flag removed from the events where it is played and flown e.g. NI Matches, Road Races etc etc and we will take it from there...

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 29/09/2015 14:00:20    1793639

flack

But then again, these days everyone loves being 'offended' by everything that doesn't fit into their narrow minds. They're usually people who bleat on about how open-minded they are

I agree that the world is very pc at the minute and plenty of people line up just to be offended and that we shouldn't pander to them. But again my question with the playing of the anthem and flying of the flag has nothing to do with not wanting to offend anybody I just can't see the point of it, what purpose does it serve? Do people actually go to games to hear the anthem and see the flag or do they go for the sport?

I honestly don't get it, what is a national anthem and a national flag at an event where no national team is present doing for people?

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 29/09/2015 14:08:38    1793647

Jarlath is obviously playing a long ball game with president in the future his ultimate goal, good luck to him but there are many more pressing issues with the GAA than getting Edwin Poots children or his grand children to play hurling.

To be honest, I couldnt care less the number of unionists who play or dont play GAA - if you wish to participate then all are welcome.
Look at the nonsense with Irelands Call, and thats called compromise but to most of us its just plain embarrassing.
Names of clubs and the anthem are irrelevant and not an issue so leave them alone.

Id rather Jarlath and Croke Park deal with the problems for those of us in a management or coaching role within local clubs are having to deal with. Hurling is struggling outside of the top 8 counties and theyre doing nothing especially in Ulster to address this. Im sure most people are finding many issues within their clubs and counties much more important than this nonsense.

Tim_Burr (Down) - Posts: 460 - 29/09/2015 14:11:16    1793648

"celebrates the bravery if the men who gained our freedom, without running anyone down in particular."

wasnt it written 10 years or so before freedom and it does down "the saxon foe"

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 29/09/2015 14:17:24    1793652

Offside_Rule hard to bleieve comming from derry that you still have flag issues. Both sides here got over that a few years ago and in general neither lfag is flown on mass anywhere in the city

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 29/09/2015 14:18:27    1793654

"how in the name of jaysus does someone lose their identity anyway? I've often lost my phone, the tv remote and my keys etc but my identity, no, just no. I'm Irish, always have been, always will be, and whether or not the Gaa decides to play some song or raise a flag with a few colours on it doesn't change our identify one iota, "losing our identity" is nothing more than an insecure stuck for an argument, argument."

Amazing. People do feel insecure all over the world and tribal attitudes do come out and people grasp to a so called identity to make them feel secure in a larger group of their peers

The flag in discussion here wasnt even regarded as our national flag before 16 and not given official status until the late 30's. The green harp flag was in use from 1640 odd so really we should be more upset at losing that as it was the flag of the irish 300 odd years. The united irishmen never even heard of a tricolour......and neither did anyone on this island until the french made it and passed it on to us

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 29/09/2015 14:23:30    1793656

"I don't see the problem. The unionist are welcome to enjoy our anthem and salute our flag, etc. Plenty foreign-born players do already, I can't see how it could be a problem for them. And if it really upsets them, just let them do a James McLean on it. I'd gladly teach them the words!"

I think you dont see the problem as you may not have many unionist friends. Everything in the north is symbolic to the masses.

Id love to teach a few of my southern mates the original words that where written in english. My mate from stradbally doesnt even know what hes singing ha ha

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 29/09/2015 14:24:23    1793658

Questions as to the flag and the anthem in the GAA are questions which will be asked more generally in Ireland in the next few years.

I don't feel like the Unionists have ever made much effort to make nationalists feel welcome while they have been the majority, even since civil rights have been extended to the whole community. I don't see why nationalists should have to compromise their traditions and beliefs when they become the majority.

The olive branch needs to be extended to the many moderate unionists who don't mind that we have our own flag and anthem and will happily attend things where they are found just like many nationalists don't mind going to an event where their anthem and flag are present. Forget trying to appease extremists, they are never satisfied.

GAA already lost allowing people onto the pitch thanks to Louth. We shouldn't lose other things that really add to games.
June sundays in Thurles with the anthem playing is where it's at. I'm sure that's just as true in salthill, wexford park and casement park.

hurlinspuds (Cork) - Posts: 1494 - 29/09/2015 14:26:08    1793659

But playing it before every game is different to the final of the cup - that is a national day. We could play it before the AI final in the same way. At the end of the day this is a sport. Sport is all-inclusive, playing one particular national anthem before every game isn't inclusive. It is in fact overtly divisive. Like we are talking about GSTQ being played before games in the north - we are doing the same thing here. Can people not see that?

Reading the comments here, the only conclusion I can come up with is most people don't actually want to be inclusive at all. They want everyone to play by their rules. Well fair enough, but maybe less of the lip service about wanting to be inclusive then.

Honest to God what an absolute load of high almighty crap. Inclusive? Reach Out? FACT is its all one way traffic when it comes to inclusiveness. As Irish people up north we are restricted to flying green flags up here on Saint Patrick's Day, up North is basically the only place in the word where you can't be Irish or display symbols of Irishness on our Country's National Day.
That's ONE day of the year we should get to celebrate our culture, but we are even denied that by our Unionist Imperial Masters.
I'm all for getting on and learning from our past mistakes, but this is all one way traffic. Compare that to the Twelfth and marching Season that is now basically a SIX month festival of ramming everything BRITISH in our faces. Even the English ain't as obsessive in professing their Identity, oh yes that's right the TWELTH MARCHING SEASON is different as it is a celebration of Religious identity and it's their God given right to take over the roads and march wherever they want as it's their Queen's Highway! Honestly celebrating a War/Battle in 1690 or celebrating any WAR is in direct confliction with supposed Christian teaching. TRIUMPLULISIM dressed as culture!!
The removal of the Union Flag on state buildings to make the working environment more inclusive, was met with fierce standoffs and violent protest. The Eleventh Night Bonfires openly Burn symbols of their Catholic Neighbors Religion, be that effigies of the pope, Virgin Mary and on top of the Annual Burning of Irish Flags and Effigies of Irish Political figures. This is the reality in which we live in up here, Jarlath Burns needs to open his eyes and take a realty check. If ever Irish Culture or celebrating St Patrick's Day turns into the same such disgusting thing that the TWELTH MARCHING SEASON is, then come an lecture us on Reaching Out And removing Our National Anthem at GAA Games in the pursuit of inclusiveness.

IrelandUnited (Tyrone) - Posts: 77 - 29/09/2015 14:31:10    1793666

I expected the Derry lad to be all over this one like a rash and sure enough, every 2nd or 3rd comment will be from himself.

Good post from Tim Burr there, rational and to the point, I've said my peace now so I'm handing this thread over to the Derry boy, fill your boots lad.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 29/09/2015 14:36:01    1793671

Offside_Rule hard to bleieve comming from derry that you still have flag issues. Both sides here got over that a few years ago and in general neither lfag is flown on mass anywhere in the city

eh?

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 29/09/2015 14:36:15    1793672

Offside_Rule i was trying to say i find it surprising so many flags are still flown in antrim and down areas. must look terrible for tourists. Vast majority of estates have mediation here and only fly flags for a very limited time if at all. We are more concerned with getting more jobs up here

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 29/09/2015 14:40:09    1793674

Playing the national anthem before every game is a joke. It doesn't require a gesture to Unionism to make that point. There is no need to play it and I'd actually argue it's embarrassing to be in small grounds listening to people hum it like a funeral liturgy. It's an outmoded vestige of a bygone era.

Save the anthem for finals where it actually fits into the pre match build up nicely.

I don't have a strong opinion of flags, flags are endemic at sporting occasions and are hardly obtrusive.

It's actually laughable the response the anthem gets at low key games.

seany16 (Dublin) - Posts: 1658 - 29/09/2015 14:44:27    1793676

"Forget trying to appease extremists, they are never satisfied."

yup on all sides

DoireCityFC (Derry) - Posts: 1580 - 29/09/2015 14:48:15    1793684

Down with this sort of thing!

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 29/09/2015 14:51:33    1793689