Mayo players vote out management

Trouble brewing in Galway. Wonder will their players get as much abuse online as our players...doubtful

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11232 - 03/10/2015 21:07:13    1795549

http://gaeliclife.com/2015/10/brian-mcguigan-mayo-players-have-shown-a-lack-of-loyalty/

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 04/10/2015 13:51:36    1795618

Well that was relatively bloodless in the end. The onus is on the players to back up their words now. Nothing less than an AI would prove them right. It could have been a lot worse

flack (Dublin) - Posts: 1054 - 04/10/2015 15:45:22    1795644

flack
Well that was relatively bloodless in the end. The onus is on the players to back up their words now. Nothing less than an AI would prove them right. It could have been a lot worse

In fairness, when 80%of those involved come to the same conclusion, then it has already been proven right. Winning an all ireland doesnt come into i, although people who want to have a cut at them will push that angle.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 04/10/2015 21:01:07    1795751

http://indo.ie/SZLcC

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 04/10/2015 21:09:53    1795756

"Winning an All Ireland doesn't really come into it"

It sure doesn't

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 04/10/2015 21:21:45    1795761

Because the majority of players voted for this doesn't make them right or the decision any more valid. When player power takes over we can all go home. Mayo have form for disingenuous decisions. The sacking of Micky Moran for reasons other than football was disgraceful. This latest episode is just another one in what is unnecessary baggage for Mayo football. It will ensure that, until this panel leaves the stage, Mayo's failure to win an All Ireland will continue.

Glensboy (Antrim) - Posts: 290 - 05/10/2015 10:16:28    1795825

Nonsense from O'Rourke. Mayo public will back players and the new manager 100%.

glensboy... Don't ye be worrying about Mayo's treatment of managers and failing to win an All Ireland. If ye start dealing with some of ye're own "baggage" and "disgraceful" carry on ye might get out of Division 4.

It was a nasty enough business but I think the players, County Board and Holmes and Connelly all deserve credit for dealing with it like mature adults.

It'll all be forgotten by the start of the FBD League.

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 05/10/2015 13:06:03    1795946

Rouundball- Lets not deflect from the topic by discussing our respective successes in the last 50 odd years. (Although, quite similar records)

This 'debacle' in Mayo will run and run. Unnecessary, self inflicted pressure on the players. As if they didn't have enough.

Glensboy (Antrim) - Posts: 290 - 05/10/2015 13:58:56    1795983

roundball

Your defence of all things Mayo is admirable

You take away from a lot of my fun

;)

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 05/10/2015 14:03:09    1795989

Glensboy

Because the majority of players voted for this doesn't make them right or the decision any more valid. When player power takes over we can all go home. Mayo have form for disingenuous decisions. The sacking of Micky Moran for reasons other than football was disgraceful. This latest episode is just another one in what is unnecessary baggage for Mayo football. It will ensure that, until this panel leaves the stage, Mayo's failure to win an All Ireland will continue.

It absolutely does make it more valid. A lot more valid. Because these are the lads who are slogging it out in the muck and rain for nine months of the year for the honour of the county, with little to expect in return.

I feel sorry for Holmes and Connelly, who have given a lot to Mayo football over the last 25 years or so. But it seems to me that the players tried to keep it in-house, but someone got wind of it somewhere and it ended up in the local media. If the players had no faith in the management team, then they were right to tell them privately, as it seems happened in this case.

A lot of people say that if Mayo had held out against Dublin, then the grievances of the players would have been forgotten. Perhaps. But equally, if Mayo were to win the All-Ireland next year, do you think the players will have regrets about this? I don't.

The Mickey Moran thing was another example of a fiasco by the county board, who are pretty expert at creating messes. However, the fact that Mayo had just been hosed in the All-Ireland final and that an All-Ireland winning manager was living locally may have had a lot to do with it also.

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 05/10/2015 14:49:52    1796018

Haha...

Jimbo I think I'm on record about my soft spot for Mayo. They do tend to divide opinion. There'd be no craic on here if it weren't for the Dubs and the Mayo boys so don't let me spoil your fun! Fact is that Dublin v Mayo is nearly the only fixture left that you can be guaranteed some form of entertainment from. The 2016 championship needs a strong Mayo- even if they fail to win it... again.

Glenboy...

Your records over the last 50 years.... Exactly when was it Antrim last won a championship match in Croke Park? I don't think this crisis will run and run. I think it's dealt with.

I'd love to see Antrim put their house in order and challenge in hurling and football at the same level these Mayo players are competing. There are great GAA people in Antrim and a bit of talent as well. My point is that counties like Antrim could learn more from what these Mayo players, the County Board and Holmes and Connelly have done right than what they have done wrong.

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 05/10/2015 15:05:49    1796028

To be honest gleebo, even if they don't win sam next year, as long as what was wrong in preparation has been put right, then I don't think they will regret it. If you aren't doing everything in your power to prepare properly, then you haven't a hope of winning. While winning is generally a byproduct of the getting your preparation right. So if the lads weren't up to county standard in their preparation then, well meaning as they may have been, the bottom line is we were going to win nothing. So now we have to roll the dice again. It is up to the county board to appoint someone who will prepare to the correct standard. Hopefully they wont fail in that task a second time.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 05/10/2015 15:22:20    1796041

what I don't understand about player powe is :

Who are the "the Mayo Players" it could be said about any county after the championship has finished.
who has decided that this bunch are "the Mayo Players"
surely a panel is picked before the season starts and once the season is over that panel is no longer.
Players are not on a contract , they represent a county. they are chosen on form by a selection panel.
so who is to say that any one of these players will be playing next year.

what I am getting at is that the playing panel is not a fixed entity so who gives them a right to decide on who the manager will be.
some of these players may never play for Mayo again. (they may not be picked).

after the season has ended , the panel should be disbanded and a new panel chosen when the new season commences.

I the meantime there is NO panel. there are NO MAYO PLAYERS. currently there is no Mayo team.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 05/10/2015 15:37:37    1796052

If Mayo don't collect next season, all the blame, rightly or wrongly, will go with this present situation!

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 05/10/2015 15:46:11    1796057

Mayo county board should teach them a lesson and appoint John Maughan as manager.

It wont be long before they will be sick of army style drills running up and down Croagh Patrick

KY4SAM2015 (Kerry) - Posts: 898 - 05/10/2015 16:18:34    1796078

Roundball- Ahh, I see how you play. We have both won the same in the last 50 years, nada. However you try to break this down, that is the end result. We can learn nothing from this Mayo debacle. Player power will achieve absolutely nothing. Although it will give another excuse if Mayo do not win the All Ireland next year, which they wont! Much talent etc etc etc, but something not right on the production line, and some sneaky political dealings on the Conty Board.

Glensboy (Antrim) - Posts: 290 - 05/10/2015 16:30:29    1796085

Glensboy

You're deluding yourself with this 50 year record thing. The Mayo footballers operate in a different universe to either your hurlers or footballers. 5 years of relative stability and consistently competitive performance, a group of players who demand a high performance environment and a county board and management that are willing to put the Mayo cause above personal interests. When a crisis emerges it's dealt with within a week.

Antrim on the other hand have a football set up where the manager seems to change on an annual basis and they're stuck in Division 4, where the best hurlers won't play for the county, the senior hurling manager is tearing his hair out because he can't get 15 players out to train for an U21 All Ireland semi-final and his county board decide to schedule senior football championship matches to clash with said semi-final.

Mayo, for all the faults and failings of the individuals involved on all sides, have established an elite environment. Antrim are way off doing that in either code. Whether you believe they're cursed, disloyal, lacking ruthlessness or suffering from some psychological flaw unique to the Mayo gene pool the fact that they haven't won an All Ireland in 50 years does NOT mean they're on a par with Antrim in 2015.

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 05/10/2015 18:43:21    1796132

Roundball -Ahh, I see how you play. I am not deluded at all. This thread is about the Mayo footballers voting out their management team. I am quite happy to have a discussion about the ills of Antrim and Mayo hurling and Antrim/Tipperary football another time. Though it is a fact that Mayo and Antrim have the same number of All Ireland football championships in the last 50 years. None.

Just explain to me how the County Board decision to sack Micky Moran was above personal interest? I feel it is you who are deluded about this issue. Tell the truth or get informed, and then comment.

Personally speaking, if I was operating in what you say is 'an elite environment' and continued to get 'chinned', I would probably feel deluded, though maybe not see it. I might even resort to comparing my underachievement to a 4th level set up.

Glensboy (Antrim) - Posts: 290 - 05/10/2015 19:34:30    1796145

Glensboy

I'm glad we have such clarity on the matter of how I "play" that you have taken to reiterating the point.

Mickey Moran? Jesus wept man that's nearly a decade ago! What relevance is that to the current group of players or the current county board or anything for that matter?! What about the heave against Brian McDonald in '92 is that relevant? I know Sean Flanagan banning county board figures from training before they won in 1950 is probably irrelevant as it falls outside your magic half century time span.

Sure it was as recent as 2010 that Mayo football was in an abysmal place. They've turned it around in the last 5 years to become All Ireland contenders. And yet rather than question how they achieved that and what we might learn from it some people in weaker counties, including Tipp, are more content to snigger in to their sleeves and bemoan this "player power" malarky because it makes us feel better (not that Tipp people need to feel better about ourselves, sure didn't we invent hurling ;)).

It's only the Dubs and Kerry who can afford to be sniggering in to their sleeves about Mayo right now.

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 05/10/2015 20:43:20    1796176