Mayo players vote out management

Hahahaha
Yeah.. by McStay

And Whelan, and tomas o'se...

And it was then clearly shown (when properly looked at) that it wasn't a head butt
Clearly shows AOS pulling up Philly by the Collar
It wasn't even deemed necessary to be investigated by the GAA
So no it want a "head butt" - another player pulling up you into his face... is not a head butt
All that was clear from that incident is that AOS was made look very foolish indeed.. (on and off the pitch by Philly :)
Making up rubbish to get another player in trouble after the fact
Where have you been themaster...??

'Properly looked at'. So just to clarify, you mean when you 100% ignore the universally accepted slowed down and magnified version, where you can clearly see McMahon's shoulders, neck and head move forward independently of the force on his jersey to connect with o'shea's forehead, thereby completely undermining the jersey pull theory, and instead focus solely on one camera phone angle that is just a crap angle which doesn't actually show anything at all? Then you keep saying it over and over and over, in the hope that nobody notices you are talking out of your backside?

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 29/09/2015 16:24:13    1793789

1793763 lowballplease
TheMaster he was not headbutted. He almost was.
Bit like hes almost won an all ireland.

There was a headbutting motion, his head struck O'Shea. That constitutes a headbutt. This was highlighted unanimously by the pundits of the sunday game. Is Ciaran Whelan lying about his own county?
As for the all Ireland jibe. That is the name of the game at the top level. You lose a game and people take notice. Not like losing in the Connacht semi final, where many people didn't even know it was on. What would be really depressing, would be if people were patting us on the head for 'fronting up', despite losing to a team in second gear.

No not lying

They just didn't do their job properly

Which is absolutely not good enough

Additional angles show no head butt and that AOS clearly pulls him into his face by the collar of his jersey

It was incredibly poor on the Sunday games part, not to properly look at that incident and jump to conclusions

But I have a feeling that McStay wanted to make as much noise as he could about it

Thankfully it didn't fool the real authorities.. like it fooled some of the less informed individuals (Including C Whelan)

It wasn't even deemed necessary to be investigated in the end and rightly so...

Once the hot heads calmed down.. it became clear when properly looked at...

Hence.. in the real world... Philly was perfectly clear to play, as it was not a head butt.

Thankfully the Sunday games terrible effort didn't have the impact that some had wished.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 29/09/2015 16:28:01    1793790

Master ye have a good team now but it goes in cycles...like 96/97 and what happened in 98 and 01....

lowballplease (Galway) - Posts: 935 - 29/09/2015 16:30:31    1793794

The Players have to take a look at themselves cant put all the blame on management
any new manager would need to get rid of half the team and start from scratch with
the future in mind

wfkerry (USA) - Posts: 933 - 29/09/2015 16:42:12    1793801

No not lying
They just didn't do their job properly
Which is absolutely not good enough
Additional angles show no head butt and that AOS clearly pulls him into his face by the collar of his jersey

Angles, plural? Can you list them please?
There were only two of the entire incident. One was used on the sunday game and was quite conclusive, the other was of poor quality taken off a camera phone that just shows their heads coming together. The reality is the first one goes much further, as you can see McMahon's body move independently of the force on his jersey. His jersey goes limp as his shoulders, neck and head comes forward together. If it was AOS pulling him in, how could his jersey go limp jimbo?
But hey, keep spinning that spiel. It only underlines how low you are willing to sink.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 29/09/2015 16:59:01    1793811

wfkerry

The Players have to take a look at themselves cant put all the blame on management
any new manager would need to get rid of half the team and start from scratch with
the future in mind

You should change your title to WTF kerry. Are you seriously suggesting that the only team who gave Dublin a game of it this year should dump half their team and start from scratch. Kerry should do the same by that logic. The reality is Mayo had the semifinal wrapped up if Keegan had gone for goal when he got his chance with 15 min to go. They then took off their midfield and sweeper and gave away 3 soft goals. Dublin had all their subs on with 15 mins to go and Mayo put on a corner forward with 30 seconds left despite their half forward line being out on their feet with 15 mins to go. The fact that Dublin had 5 fresh men on and up to match speed with 15 min to go won them the game against a team with no midfield, half forwardline or sweeper for the last 15 mins..
A bit more tactical know how on the Mayo sideline (i.e how and when to use subs against the fittest team in the country) could have won that game.

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1109 - 29/09/2015 17:49:01    1793840

I don't follow Mayo football overly closely but what more could the Mayo management do this term? They won another provincial title and were the only team to truly trouble the Dubs, who are by a mile the best team in the land with the pick of players that they have. Am I missing something, what more was expected of them?

IamADragon (Cavan) - Posts: 305 - 29/09/2015 17:57:05    1793845

themaster

Sink?

Sure everyone got on with it themaster?

I'm not the only one to claim that wasn't a head butt

Don't be getting angry now making unfounded claims and brining my character into it for some bizarre reason

It has nothing to do with the argument. Just shows how personally your taking it, and you'd question someone to judge the incident fairly who obviously feels so strongly about it

Very like McStay in fact

I've seen posters from many counties.. who would have a far more impartial view on it, more than you or I would, saying it wasn't a head butt

Again.. the incident wasn't investigated (justifiably so)- no charges were made

It's just your opinion that it was head butt - which means very little to me

100% officially - PMc had nothing to answer for and the Sunday game obviously did a poor analysis of that incident

Not at any stage was it made clear that he was pulled up into his face by the Sunday game panel, it wasn't even mentioned as a possibility

They missed it and jumped to an obviously unfair conclusion

If AOS wanted a face full and try to man handle PMc - well he got his wish

He looked right into the eyes of a winner. Wonder what that felt like for him...

There was no official investigation and suspension handed out - because none was warranted

I think that's important rather that our obviously biased opinions

Anyway man

Better to concentrate on the present...

There's enough to discuss surrounding the current situation rather than bringing up AOS

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 29/09/2015 17:57:58    1793846

It would seem that the players are burying their heads in the sand. The number of players who were found wanting in the semi-final was too great to win at this stage/level. A look a the scoring totals of some of the forwards will show a great number of them came from frees, just like the Kerry forwards could not produce in the final. Did the Mayo management make mistakes? Yes. Did the Kerry management do likewise? Yes. John Evans had to leave Roscommon despite the fact that it was the players that failed to produce.
It appears that players who may not be part of a team's composition next year, no matter who is in charge, have the arrogance to select or deselect management.

Gaa Fan (USA) - Posts: 749 - 29/09/2015 18:18:17    1793856

This is not a good scenario no matter how it turns out now. Maybe it was done right with the players having a vote and talking to the management but it's not behind close doors any more. I hope there was a serious reason for it. If it's that training and things aren't up to standard just talk to them. If they refuse to listen to the players fair enough have a vote. But now that it's public the spotlight will be on Holmes and Connelly if they stay on and the players will look bad if they don't.

wee_yo (Mayo) - Posts: 63 - 29/09/2015 18:24:38    1793861

McMahon did not headbutt O Shea, end of story. He did gouge Donaghy, end of story.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7902 - 29/09/2015 18:57:45    1793873

Wouldn't it be gas if Roscommon beat Mayo next year with McStay in charge...

Think about it...

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 29/09/2015 19:35:47    1793882

Im not taking it personally at all. I just see someone knowingly telling lies on an internet forum, Im pointing that out. You are the guy who keeps talking about the incident on every thread remotely connected to mayo, dublin, mcmahon, o'shea, semi finals, replays, Im half expecting you to mention it on the rugby thread. We cant talk about anything else it seems. Same old routine, insinuate that it was proven to be false by some phantom camera angles (there were only two, one proved it conclusively, so what these angles are is anyone's guess), and that O'Shea is basically a liar and he made the whole thing up. That is actually a bit nasty. You knows mcmahon meant to connect with him with his head the same as I do. I dont think it was a serious thing, but he did mean it. So this thing of trying to paint the guy as a liar clearly shows it is something personal for you. For what reason, who knows. Maybe the woman fancies him or something. Maybe she asked you to grow a dodgey fringe. Whatever it is, it is getting boring for the rest of us. The game is over, no need to keep the propaganda going.

The sad part is, if the roles were reversed and AOS was a dub, you would be saying the complete opposite.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 29/09/2015 19:36:57    1793885

Can't be that bad a management after drawing with the all Ireland champs.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 29/09/2015 19:37:07    1793886

Yeah Jimbo because letting the players pick the manager has worked out really well for Cork hurling. They were used, abused and spat out by the GPA for their own ends.
The manager is not there to be liked by the players, hes there to get the best out of them. For their sake I hope Mayo dont give in to 'player power'

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4624 - 29/09/2015 20:05:52    1793900

bad.monkey

They failed in their ultimate aim in Cork. Would be interesting to hear from Cork posters on whether they'd be better off down there had they succeeded.

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 29/09/2015 20:13:22    1793902

Well put Flaker. The McMahon headbutt has been done to death on this forum. There was nothing in it. O'Shea dragged Mcmahon towards him and to be fair to O'Shea he was looking away and felt contact, but the headbutt was caused by himself dragging McMahon's collar in my opinion. McMahon's dive though was another story. Was in the Hogan right in front of the incident and cringed at what I was seeing. Embarrassing stuff by the Dublin man who goes to 'war'. But what he did to Donaghy cannot be condoned. As much as I dislike Donaghy I think the lad is still entitled to his sight! Living in Dublin for many years now and haven't met a Dub who is comfortable with McMahon's style of play. He makes Diarmo look like an altar boy!

Equineburger (Mayo) - Posts: 30 - 29/09/2015 20:20:20    1793909

I'm inclined to believe Aidan O'Shea. He gave a direct answer to a direct question. He wasn't seeking out a journalist to whinge about it. The idea he tried to manufacture a headbut is a convenient yarn the Dubs are sticking by. On the other hand McMahon clearly didn't do him any damage and I'd wonder if he even meant to make contact at all, could have just been, eh... gesticulating. It certainly would have been too difficult to prove intent to bother charging him. Love McMahon as a player but wish he'd clean up his act.

In any event I don't see the relevance of that little incident to the mess that's brewing out west. Could get nasty but I still suspect it'll be all forgotten about by the August bank holiday weekend 2016. Unless McStay comes back to haunt them...

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 29/09/2015 20:21:53    1793910

No.. Sad thing is

You actually want to believe that :)

If one of our lads went crying to the media about being head butted when he clearly wasn't... It would be embarrassing

Philly was elbowed in the face in 2013 AI final... Big gash and swollen cheek

While being interviewed at the end.. When quized on it by the interviewer

Didnt say anything... Didn't mention a name or how it happened

Said he wouldn't have it any other way...

Good man Philly

No suspension, no investigation, Sunday game failed to mention or even recognise that AOS pulled him..

Rushed analysis, quick turn around, a poor job done

Philly has no case to answer... Completely in the clear

At least the likes of TheFlaker can admit it... I admire that

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 29/09/2015 20:25:32    1793914

Bad Monkey

Do you honestly believe that the Cork hurling dispute is responsible for their decline?

I thought you liked hurling?

In saying that they were seconds away from an AI win in 2013...

Cork structures at underage has a lot more to do with it and that predates all of that

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 29/09/2015 20:32:23    1793919