Joe Brolly and Kerry.

Hermit,you say Kerry have won 37/50 finals.I believe this to be incorrect.Kerry have indeed lost 22 All Irelands so 37/59 is more accurate according to my records.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 30/09/2015 12:45:56    1794183

Which is a fantastic record.Kerry are the aristocrats of the game.The records speak for themselves.However Brollys article on the Gooch has some merit and fact.Gooch has been pretty ineffectual in quite a few big games.Great player obviously,but i never believed him to be out on his own as the greatest forward of his era.There were others like S O Neill and P Canavan that were as good.Declan O Sullivan was my favourite Kerry forward of that time.Just my personnel preference.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 30/09/2015 12:54:31    1794186

TheHermit

AthCliath, you know as well as I do that Kerry gets far more of this bile than any other county.

Just look at the ungracious reaction to our All Ireland last year on this and other forms and look at how many people are dancing on Kerry's grave for our non-performance in the final this year.

Yes the Dubs, Tyrone etc get their fill of it, but there seems to be a special place in the heart of these people for pouring scorn on the Kingdom and all our achievements.

Hermit, you are looking at this the wrong way, people are fixated with kerry and love to see them being beaten because they are the best and have a great tradition. It's when people pay no heed to Kerry that you have to worry ;-)

Tom1916 (Armagh) - Posts: 2001 - 30/09/2015 12:59:45    1794187

Jaysus we've been in nearly 60?

I should have know that..

Well it just goes to reinforce how competitive we are over the decades, something the mighty Joe again chose not to acknowledge.

Although saying that, a 37 out of 59 record could be a little better ;)

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 30/09/2015 13:01:14    1794189

Tom, I know that. I accept that everyone will always want to beat Kerry and every wants to do it on the way to winning the Cannister to make it that bit more special.

I've no issue with that at all.

Sure I love to see Kilkenny get beat in the hurling and was roaring on Galway a few weeks ago.

But, I still have massive respect for Kilkenny and what that county has achieved. I would never claim Kilkenny won 'soft' All Ireland's or that they were 'lucky' to win or had an 'average' team that somehow got over the line by some miracle.

Yet when you look at how people react to Kerry winning the All Ireland (last year being the classic example) it all seems to be down to us being 'lucky' that the ref gave us everything going, that we somehow have an 'average' undeserving team etc etc.

I've said it on here many times its remarkably the difference in the narrative between hurling fans on Kilkenny and football fans on Kerry.

Anyway I've made my point.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 30/09/2015 13:10:18    1794202

Fair enough TheHermit, I can't disagree with anything you said. No All Irelands are handy and Kerry can only play what's in front of them.

Tom1916 (Armagh) - Posts: 2001 - 30/09/2015 14:17:12    1794246

A certain Mr Spillane might be contributing in a negative way to the Kerry cause. He always seems to be damning teams with feint praise whenever anyone but Kerry win an All Ireland.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 30/09/2015 15:21:43    1794306

Anyone who wins an All Ireland in any code deserves it and has worked bloody hard for it( not that I'd know being from Kildare!). I'm no Dublin fan but I have no problem acknowledging they were the best team this year as were Kilkenny in hurling and both deserve their crowns. Kerry are right up there to and are constantly up there so for Brolly to be digging at them is just his usual attention seeking bull. He's getting rather boring now and far too much kudos is given to his opinions. Maybe if he put that energy into Derry like Colm O'Rourke challenged him to during the summer he could come back and talk then!

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 30/09/2015 15:22:20    1794307

TheHermit

AthCliath, you know as well as I do that Kerry gets far more of this bile than any other county.

Just look at the ungracious reaction to our All Ireland last year on this and other forms and look at how many people are dancing on Kerry's grave for our non-performance in the final this year.

Yes the Dubs, Tyrone etc get their fill of it, but there seems to be a special place in the heart of these people for pouring scorn on the Kingdom and all our achievements.

The Hermit,
It depends where you want to look. Donegal got slated for defensive football, Spillane was one who vilified them, last year ye got praised for doing the same. EF was lauded as a genius for the final .
We won in 2013 , got a great run going in 2014 and the country went into meltdown about splitting us up , we were told our players were nearly proffesional that they didnt hold down proper jobs, when in fact we have probably the most diverse selection of occupations. Understandably every county rejoiced when we were beat by Donegal.
Tyrone have got berated by many for their All Irelands. Some of the national papers were a disgrace in what they wrote.
Ye see all winning counties get their fill of it.
Although funnily enough Kerry usually escape it in the national papers because of the high presence of Kerry jourmos employed , it on forums that you see people slagging Kerry.
Some justified , a lot of it is not. But like i said we all get it.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 30/09/2015 20:41:50    1794448

The Hermit fair play for winning last year but it was so freaky you's were the 4th best team last year but somehow fluked it but the team of the 00's was ridiculously good and The Gooch as that teams main man they were outstanding but I stand over last years team were blessed to win Sam.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 30/09/2015 20:46:16    1794452