McMahon awaits if he is to face charges

downredhand

If the lad gets a ban he gets a ban, so what he has met all of football targets for the season and those can't be taken from him.
He plays his football on the edge reminisent of McMenamin from my own counties team of 10 or 12 years ago and some days boys like that just get caught the wrong side of thet edge. But job done and a ban from a couple of Jan/Feb matches would be seen as no big deal by him or Dublin weighed against the prize won.

----
Agreed. Let him take the ban. It will serve a number of purposes...

- stop some of the high court judges from calling for his head on this forum
- give Philly something to reflect on
- set a precedent for other teams so that they don't start playing victim if they are sanctioned later in the year for similar
- most importantly of all, force Philly to take some down time for OBC and league matches in Jan/Feb, so resting him for the 2016 assault on Sam

Hit him with all guns is what I say. Mission accomplished this year with four trophies on show in the gym. Fitfood all round me thinks.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 25/09/2015 18:54:59    1792492

An eye for an eye.... ;)

pati (Meath) - Posts: 80 - 25/09/2015 18:56:33    1792493

With Donaghy feeling no ill-will towards Philly McMahon despite the incident between the pair, reports claim the Kerry full forward will not be pushing for any sanction to be handed down to McMahon.

"What happens on the field stays on the field and that's the way I've always played it.

"An All-Ireland final is a one-off game and whatever happens I'd leave it at that. I wouldn't be carrying anything into next year." - Kerry's Kieran Donaghy

Angus (Dublin) - Posts: 283 - 27/09/2015 11:56:44    1792684

So going by that anology you could take a hatchet on to a pitch, cut a fella's arm off then claim no comeback because "what happens on the pitch stays on the pitch"?. It's a ridiculous statement, the GAA must have discipline and rules which are seen to be implemented which they aren't at the minute. Tyrone and Tiernan McCann didn't get as much understanding and sympathy nor did Paul Galvin when he knocked the book out of the ref's hand.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 27/09/2015 12:37:14    1792692

STAR just couldn't be bothered giving up his time and money going to tribunals and D R A hearings and for what ? Every1 knows that he'll get away with it. It's a total joke but that's the GAA for you, just think what example he is setting for every young lad in the country , that you can stick your fingers in fellas eyes and headbutt them and feign injuries to get lads sent off and get away with it.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 27/09/2015 13:54:37    1792713

Philly is the best corner back this year, but controversy has surrounded him. Which is a pity. I have no problem if he has a case to answer , because footage while not conclusive didn't look good. I don't like this stuff on a GAA pitch.
Don't need lectures Kingdomboy on what kids aspire to. Kennelly was the worst act on a GAA field in the last 20 years. So get off your high horse.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 27/09/2015 14:30:42    1792721

Angus I know you only want to stick up for your player but some of the stuff you say is really not practical. If everything that happened on the field stayed on the field then it would be a free for all, you'd need five referees to catch up with all the off the ball stuff. Donaghy (please stop calling him STAR) just didn't want to rock the boat it doesn't mean McMahon should get away with it.

In my opinion, forget about what he has or hasn't done in the past, there is enough evidence in the footage to charge him with eye-gouging. Gav whether it is specified in the rule book or not, you can not think gouging is only worthy of a one-game ban, it has no place in any game.

And Angus it could very easily have been avoided if McMahon didn't have his hand around Donaghy's eyes when the ball was nowhere near them.

wee_yo (Mayo) - Posts: 63 - 27/09/2015 16:08:40    1792740

KingdomBoy1

STAR just couldn't be bothered giving up his time and money going to tribunals and D R A hearings and for what ? Every1 knows that he'll get away with it. It's a total joke but that's the GAA for you, just think what example he is setting for every young lad in the country , that you can stick your fingers in fellas eyes and headbutt them and feign injuries to get lads sent off and get away with it.

-----
Ah now Kingdomboy, you're not suggesting that 'Star' sets a great example for kids are you? Hitting goalkeepers off the ball, mouthing at officials. Hardly a shining example for a young up and coming Bomber Liston.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 27/09/2015 17:07:48    1792747

Athcliath
Absolutely your right, what Kennelly did to Nicholas Murphy was criminal ,I have never condoned it nor have any of the Kerry lads on here as far as I know.
But what McMahon has done to star has no place in any sport and he should be punished for it , but I just can't see the GAA taking any action against their cash cow. Also why didn't Ciaran wheelan ask Jim Gavin to come out and apologise publicly for McMahons dive in the mayo game like he asked Micky Harte to do in the tiernan McCann Incident?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 27/09/2015 17:39:35    1792755

Joxer
I don't remember STAR hitting any goalkeeper but I could be wrong, I remember STAR shoving clux to get a move on coz he was taking the p**s with his free kicks, I think there was 10 mins lost to 5 cluxton free kicks , but the ref shoud have dealt with that and not STAR, but all in all I think considering the treatment STAR gets on the field that he manages to keep his head means he's a great role model for kids every where.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 27/09/2015 18:43:10    1792772

The moniker 'Star' is embarrassing in my opinion. Donaghy is a good player but just that. Have to also agree, Tadgh Kennelly's elbow on Nicholas Murphy was one of the worst things seen......then totally ignored on a Gaelic pitch. It was shamfelly dismissed by the GAA pundits and media because it didn't suit the fairytale storyline of a fella winning the Aussie Rules Championship then winning an All Ireland. He then had the audacity to boast about in it his book and the GAA still took no action.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 27/09/2015 20:07:43    1792802

KingdomBoy1

Joxer
I don't remember STAR hitting any goalkeeper but I could be wrong, I remember STAR shoving clux to get a move on coz he was taking the p**s with his free kicks, I think there was 10 mins lost to 5 cluxton free kicks , but the ref shoud have dealt with that and not STAR, but all in all I think considering the treatment STAR gets on the field that he manages to keep his head means he's a great role model for kids every where.

----
Good Lord! Love is blindness I suppose.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 27/09/2015 20:30:36    1792813

As usual elements of the Dublin media today churning out 'let's all luv Philly' articles. A bit nauseating and sickening if you are Tiernan McCann.No wonder Tyrone boycott most of this crowd.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 27/09/2015 21:14:44    1792832

Ulsterman
In fairness the GAA couldn't have done much to Kennelly since he went back to Australia that October. And the cheek of the man to put it in his book was fair bad all right.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 27/09/2015 22:02:26    1792857

The hand was where it shoul not have been and deserves a man.. There is not a county that has not had players get involved in some sort of act like this..

Along with berno brogan, Philly is the POTY for me.. can't pick between the two

AthCliath87 (Dublin) - Posts: 345 - 28/09/2015 08:04:53    1792858

KingdomBoy1, his name is Kieran Donaghy not STAR (in capital letters).

CroiGorm (Dublin) - Posts: 1547 - 28/09/2015 10:16:17    1792919

wee_yo

The "What happens on the pitch stays on the pitch" quote was uttered by donaghy himself in an interview not my own opinion.

I do agree that players who were found guilty should be punished. In Philly Mcmahon's case however it wasn't proved yet officially but he has been punished already. McMahon was Sunday Game's first choice for All Ireland Man of the Match but the panel controversially reversed their decision and declared Brian Fenton instead. He was exceptional in the final, but the controversial incident rob him off that title sadly.

Angus (Dublin) - Posts: 283 - 28/09/2015 13:05:13    1793057

Philly McMahon did not deserve man of the match, nobody robbed Philly McMahon of anything. Brian Fenton got man of the match and was a popular choice. I thought James McCarthy should have been given serious consideration.

fainleog (Limerick) - Posts: 598 - 28/09/2015 13:21:27    1793068

I'd hardly call it 'sad' that he didn't get motivated and in his own words he ' didn't give a sh*t ' about anything now that he has his all Ireland. And fair play to him for doing so. But what he did was disgraceful and deserves a ban but it will be tokenistic at best even if he does receive one. He won't really care, the Gaa can say they dealt with him and that'll be it. He has played well this year but hasn't been class in other regards but Dublin and the top 3 or 4 teams seem to get away with things the rest don't. Makes you wonder why we bother or where the Gaa is going.

kildare73 (Kildare) - Posts: 854 - 28/09/2015 13:41:22    1793084

fainleog
County: Limerick

read http://hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=244830

Angus (Dublin) - Posts: 283 - 28/09/2015 13:45:56    1793091