Begrudgers

A lot of Dublin fans are up in arms as I raised the drinking culture issue. I was trying to highlight the issue as a bad example to kids. If I have caused any offence or have appeared to begrudge in any way I apologize.

25/09/2015 08:57:48
CroiGorm

Jimin10

I'd be more worried about the drinking culture being promoted by the team over the last few days along with the needless Bavaria sponsorship. And the unknown former player caught drink driving.

Shame on them! How dare a bunch of young lads that have sacrificed their weekends/lives for the past 6 months (if not longer) go out and have a few drinks after winning an All Ireland. Awful behaviour altogether!!!

Haha Jimin10, I think I'm going to enjoy reading your bitter, anti-dub tripe here!! Keep it coming :)

Croi Gorm could you please point out anything else bitter or anti-Dub I have written. Please take a look at my Dublin worthy winners of sam thread and anything I have said is positive.

Jimin10 (Meath) - Posts: 783 - 25/09/2015 21:51:00    1792523

Damothedub

Interesting some of the biggest begrudges were the lads first to congratulate , now I get it , it was to get it out of the way so they could get onto the real business at hand , dismantling all or any achievements , like Velcro through enough shi7 at us hope it sticks sit back and wallow .
Genuine fansThank you , the rest sure you haven't disappointed after 40 years I wasn't expecting anything else .

Thats only your interpretation of things. Dublin were truly the best team in the country this year. If you want to believe that the whole country is against you because of the antics of one of your players, or see it for the issue that it really is, a feature that is worth pointing out and drawing attention to on its own merits, its up to you.

I would like to see a few more teams play with the same style and direct running as the dubs next year, it seems to be the way to go.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 26/09/2015 12:01:12    1792557

Donegalman

Damothedub

Interesting some of the biggest begrudges were the lads first to congratulate , now I get it , it was to get it out of the way so they could get onto the real business at hand , dismantling all or any achievements , like Velcro through enough shi7 at us hope it sticks sit back and wallow .
Genuine fansThank you , the rest sure you haven't disappointed after 40 years I wasn't expecting anything else .

Thats only your interpretation of things. Dublin were truly the best team in the country this year. If you want to believe that the whole country is against you because of the antics of one of your players, or see it for the issue that it really is, a feature that is worth pointing out and drawing attention to on its own merits, its up to you.

I would like to see a few more teams play with the same style and direct running as the dubs next year, it seems to be the way to go.

Count the threads and whats in them and you may see where Im coming from , of course your right the whole country is not against us I was refering to those on HS only , I welcome your comments , I feel every lad from every county will get uppitty if you win an all ireland and all you hear are negatives , Tyrone and Donegal lads should know that better than most .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 26/09/2015 14:32:20    1792580

Joxer - you have lost serious credibility on here man .

Look at all the people that have congratulated Dublin . Posters from all over Ireland and many from my own have gave the Dubs kudos .

It's not that posters had a problem with Dublin ; rather it's Tyrond people that feel aggrieved that they got unfair treatment - which they did .

For the 20th time , Dublin were by miles the best side . Who's begrudging Dublin ?

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 26/09/2015 14:36:11    1792581

Theirghtstuff, Donegal werent slated when they won the all ireland in 2012, not to my recollection anyway. Ye got alot of stick in 2011, but winning the thing in 2012 was an amazing achievement.
Some of the off the ball stuff cost Tyrone alot of friends in 2003, and they deserved the stick they got that year imo, but those who say they played defensively in 2005 and 2008 were being unfair. A great footballing team.
I know that some Ulster gaels may not like to hear this but for me the two teams who suffer the most from begrudgery are Kerry ad the Dubs, without question.
Kerry with their so called soft all Irelands, the Dubs with their vast population/resources, people are always way too quick looking for a way to downplay a Kerry/Dublin all Ireland win.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 26/09/2015 15:33:31    1792592

Wow wow wow TRS. Chill man! That post from me was tongue in cheek. Stop taking everything so seriously. Granted I didn't put the smiley faces on there but come on. I don't give two hoots who congratulates us and who doesn't, we did the job that's all that matters. I suppose though, if you cast your mind back to threads that ran on this forum following the 11, 13 and now 15 win, I'm not far off. There is always a host of begrudgery threads setup following a Dublin win. But again who cares? It's just an obervation. Thanks for the congratulations by the way.

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 26/09/2015 15:46:57    1792594

Don't talk to me about begrudgers, we weren't crowned all Ireland champions for 5 minutes last year when clondalkin set up a thread called as a dub I'm sickened. I think it ran to 20 pages or so. I'd love to find it again and we'd see who the real begrudgers are.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 27/09/2015 11:03:26    1792678

When Meath were winning All-Irelands that is whe we got the worst abuse...

Dublin deserved what they got this year,they are the best team in the country.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 27/09/2015 15:32:46    1792734

I dont understand why you care so much. Feck what anyone else thinks Dublin are all ireland champs no matter who likes it or not!... Everyone hated Meath when they had great teams and were winning All Irelands and we wouldnt have wanted it any other way. You dont play football to make friends lads!

Meath10 (Meath) - Posts: 183 - 27/09/2015 16:13:42    1792742

Cork and Mayo do. Kerry love them to bits as they always allow them to hammer them.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 27/09/2015 20:13:18    1792803

Joxer - I'm calm now .

No probs - it was the most deserved All- Ireland in a few years .

I suppose all the top sides get it but to be fair most people on here have congratulated yourselves .

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 27/09/2015 21:52:05    1792854