Begrudgers

ConnollyDub

hahhaahahha

Angus (Dublin) - Posts: 283 - 25/09/2015 13:07:23    1792312

To be fair there was a fair few begrudgers of Tyrone during the 00s. Pat Spillane was very vocal obviously but there were a fair few more. These boards at the time were rife with it if my memory serves.

That Tyrone team were one of the very best I've witnessed. The fact that this current Dublin team can be mentioned as up with them is a massive compliment to Dublin, something that makes me very proud as a Dublin supporter too.

Tyrone supporters took a lot of flack during those years and it was totally wrong.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 25/09/2015 13:14:42    1792314

I must be the only Dub that misses Meath as a force , now I don't want the feckers beating us Im not that stupid , but for me theres nothing like going into HQ huge crowd against Meath and NOT KNOWING the result beforehand .
Im scared from Meath , their players roll off my tongue as easily as any Dubs team , but to be honest Leinster is a boring duller place without them IMO , if they were a force it would add to achievement of winning Leinster .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 25/09/2015 13:16:40    1792317

Your last 3 All Irelands weren't real all Irelands cause ye didn't beat a good Meath team haha. Ah all joking aside Dublin deserve to be All Ireland Champions(Jesus That Hurt)and anyone who makes excuses or thinks otherwise is not a Gaa person. By far the best team all year and coasted in the final. I'm not a begrudger and i believe you earn your success and Dublin have done that.

PS: The prick next door got a new Car......Wouldn't be caught dead in myself. Horrible piece of sh**e if ever i seen one

chriscart580 (Meath) - Posts: 376 - 25/09/2015 13:28:25    1792324

Connollydub
4, can't put two all Ireland finals back to back. ;-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 25/09/2015 13:51:12    1792339

KingdomBoy1

1792339 Connollydub
4, can't put two all Ireland finals back to back. ;-)

Ha was waiting for that one to be fair

ConnollyDub (Dublin) - Posts: 2007 - 25/09/2015 13:57:34    1792345

Shocking new figures have revealed that kids wanting to attend College is 30 % down on last years figures in Meath and Kildare .
The local parents are blaming the Dubs, their Kids think Berno works in Supervalue and want to be just like him.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 25/09/2015 14:18:44    1792359

Damothedub

I must be the only Dub that misses Meath as a force , now I don't want the feckers beating us Im not that stupid , but for me theres nothing like going into HQ huge crowd against Meath and NOT KNOWING the result beforehand .

I love going to Croker knowing that we're gonna beat Meath.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 25/09/2015 14:36:56    1792370

Dublin 2015 were quite clearly the best team in the country. Ditto Dublin 2013 (though only just) and Donegal 2012.

Kerry 2014... I'm not so convinced. The Dubs fell asleep against Donegal and probably would have beaten Kerry in a final. They had a major helping hand from Cormac Reilly and Mayo's penchant for self sabotage in the semi final and but for a freak kick out from Durcan might not have beaten Donegal in the final. Fitzmaurice sets Kerry up to capitalise on opposition errors while limiting their own. Dublin on the other hand, apart from the odd lapse against Mayo or Donegal after a handy of run games, go out to beat the opposition- really go after the game. I admire them for it.

Now what you are mistaking as begrudgery is the frustration surrounding actions by Dublin players that have little effect on winning or losing. In fact I believe it's counter-active to what they're trying to achieve yet their fans deny it, the media brush it under the carpet and the CCCC more often than not either turn a blind eye or can't make the charges stick. And then Gavin and McMahon come out and talk about "values" and "principles". Dublin just need to be held to account, that's all. They're the best team in the country, with or without the stamping, headbutting or gouging.

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 25/09/2015 14:37:57    1792371

Dublin were by far the best team in the country this year. Mayo to their credit gave them a very good couple of games, before eventually the Dubs emptied the bench and did the business.

But, and it is a very important point, begrudgery and discipline are 2 non related points in this instance. If this were rugby, there would be a sighting, and a disciplinary procedure would follow, without farce. Everybody in that sport seems to accept sanction and get on with it. We dont, for reasons that are still very mysterious. We need to give a good strong message out there that this is a game played the correct way, and nothing less will do. What more can we say on the issue, someone will get seriously hurt and then it will be too late. Most of the rte and media seemed to focus on feigning and sledging this year, which are not savory behaviors, but they are non violent. Time for everyone to stop playing favorites with who or what they want to criticize and call messing and thuggery for what it is.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 25/09/2015 15:06:43    1792395

aidan64

I am getting sick of the begrudgery and people trying to taint another teams victory. We had it in the Munster Final. All the talk of the penalty. We had it in Mayo-Dublin semi final - Diarmuid Connolly, Lee Keegan, Cillian O'Connor incidents and again we had it in the final - Cluxton timewasting, Philly McMahon.

Last year Kerry were undeserving winners as they were not "good enough" and were too cynical etc. This year Dublin got it mostly due to Connolly and McMahon. It is starting to ruin the game. Also it seems like the ones who are doing most of the giving out are those from counties who have not on an All Ireland in many years. The top 3 teams targetted are Kerry, Dublin and Tyrone. In fairness the media give it mostly to Tyrone out of these 3.

This crap of trying to pin point McMahon from the final this year makes me laugh. Is McMahon a great player? Yes he is. Is he a bully. Most definitely. Is he a dirty cynical player? No he is not. Would I like him to be playing for Kerry? You bet I would.

Finally well done to Dublin this year. The better team on the day won. You will get no sour grapes from me.

It is def an Irish thing. Not just with sport but with everyday things. The best thing to do with the begrudgers is stick the two fingers up at them, keep the head high and keep smiling. They are usually the ones with the issues.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 25/09/2015 15:10:04    1792397

Connollydub
I was thinking that was a bit easy all right :-)

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 25/09/2015 15:13:15    1792399

Interesting some of the biggest begrudges were the lads first to congratulate , now I get it , it was to get it out of the way so they could get onto the real business at hand , dismantling all or any achievements , like Velcro through enough shi7 at us hope it sticks sit back and wallow .
Genuine fansThank you , the rest sure you haven't disappointed after 40 years I wasn't expecting anything else .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 25/09/2015 15:41:42    1792429

Lads maybe quicker of give out on a forum rather than praise cause its always a faster way to form interaction. So I'm not sure if "begrudging" is accurate.

One thing I've noticed on this site is how fast people are to post the most negative thing from any given match. Sometimes I wonder do they enjoy the match at all!

Nice initial post from the Kerry man

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 25/09/2015 17:37:28    1792477

Miss Meath games of old, the in-laws are all Meath, it is nice going on and on and on about the Dubs in their company though.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4898 - 25/09/2015 18:29:07    1792484

1983 - we were the dirty dozen. Everyone begrudged us the title because we had 3 sent off. We were cynical.

1995 - the Charlie fiasco and Tyrone disallowed point meant that we cheated

2011 - we were 'lucky'. Kev Mc ran 20 yards for his goal so we cheated again

2013 - we were cynical in the last few minutes in slowing the game down and winning by 1 point

2015 - Philly McMahon's attempted eye gouge meant that we should only have been playing with 14 for the last few mins of the the game. Kerry would have scored 1-1 during that period and retained Sam. Dublin were cynical.

2016 - ah I'm sure there'll be some begrudgery when we retain it!!!!

Haters gonna hate!

Joxer (Dublin) - Posts: 4700 - 25/09/2015 18:42:38    1792486

Damothedub, the only one here thinking outside the box and seeing how Meath's decline is bad for GAA in Leinster overall. I would rather win a Leinster medal knowing I had a tough game and competition, rather than a walk over.

Personally I would not and have not ever begrudged an entire team, but there are defo various players on various teams that I would be reluctant to admire and be more inclined to begrudge.

pati (Meath) - Posts: 80 - 25/09/2015 19:13:06    1792497

Pity though that the Dubs ruined it for themselves and everybody else.

Miler (Mayo) - Posts: 1015 - 25/09/2015 20:50:44    1792510

A nation of whingers who love a moan. Liveline is the most listened to radio show in the country, says it all really.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7907 - 25/09/2015 20:57:19    1792513

For some reason we are never comfortable with people unless we can categorise them. Now that posters have decided that anybody who has a complaint about players or a winning team is a 'whinger' we are happy and can get on with posting about whatever interests us.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 25/09/2015 21:38:42    1792519