Dublin worthy winners of Sam.

Jimin10
Yes Dublin were by far the best team this year but at the same time Mayo posed plenty of problems over the two games.
As you saying Dublin can win the next three AI's I doubt it. You only mention Kerry and Mayo.
But how do you know that another team can arrive on the scene and arrive quickly.
Take 2010 for instance and we had Cork v Down final. Now where were Donegal then. ?? Where were Donegal two years later. ? All Ireland champions in 2012.
Now I'm only using Donegal as an example. But the sme thing can happen again. And I think Tyrone will challenge big time next year.
Now if any team hope to beat Dublin next year their defence will have to be properly set up for starters. Also we saw how Derry made life so difficult in the league this year , think 08-to0-4 was the final score. So I would not rule out Tyrone, a lot of young players with a years more experience, the most tactical aware manager in the game ( Micky Hart) a defensive setup I thought was very good against Kerry and that was without the main lynchpin of the defensive system-- Joe McMahon
There are not many more counties you can fancy at the moment but it only takes one.

SamOnErrigal (Donegal) - Posts: 1427 - 24/09/2015 21:32:18    1792123

Jimin 10,
Would you say our AIG sponsorship contributed to ye losing to WestMeath.
Should you not be wondering how Donegal can compete at the highest level , Monaghan and Tyrone also. Yet they didn't receive an AIG sponsorship.

Here's a clue , especially for Tyrone and Donegal . They have invested heavily in underage structures.
Like Dublin , money is needed , but time and commitment is no 1, without this you have nothing.
But sure once you have someone to blame for your shortcomings , it probably makes you feel better.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 24/09/2015 21:51:04    1792133

Can we change the title of this thread...?

It should read

Dublin the worthy winners of absolutely everything

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 24/09/2015 21:52:15    1792134

Dublin are indeed worthy winners of Sam. Dublin had been been favourites all year and it proved to be fully justified. Dublin have now won three All-Irelands in five years and three National Leagues in a row. After this great win, this Dublin team will now go down in the history books as a great team. A team that plays attractive, exciting football and have enriched Gaelic Football. To those that said they were bottlers and a League team, this Dublin team have now given those people their answer. I think this Dublin team will make wonderful ambassadors for the game.

fainleog (Limerick) - Posts: 598 - 25/09/2015 13:19:33    1792318

Absolutely .

100% the best side in the land .

I had many disputes with Dublin posters on here but let's be fair ; they are at the moment ahead of the rest .

Well done to Dublin and kudos to their manager Jim Gavin for learning from last year .

I cannot wait for next year .

The whinging must stop : we all need to plot their downfall . For now though enjoy having Mr . Maguire because it's totally deserved .

TheRightStuff (Donegal) - Posts: 1688 - 25/09/2015 15:18:10    1792405

fainleog
County: Limerick

1792318 Dublin are indeed worthy winners of Sam. Dublin had been been favourites all year and it proved to be fully justified. Dublin have now won three All-Irelands in five years and three National Leagues in a row. After this great win, this Dublin team will now go down in the history books as a great team. A team that plays attractive, exciting football and have enriched Gaelic Football. To those that said they were bottlers and a League team, this Dublin team have now given those people their answer. I think this Dublin team will make wonderful ambassadors for the game.
_________

Ah here where's the like button...

Good man yourself fainleog

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 25/09/2015 15:40:14    1792425

fainleog

1792318 Dublin are indeed worthy winners of Sam. Dublin had been been favourites all year and it proved to be fully justified. Dublin have now won three All-Irelands in five years and three National Leagues in a row. After this great win, this Dublin team will now go down in the history books as a great team. A team that plays attractive, exciting football and have enriched Gaelic Football. To those that said they were bottlers and a League team, this Dublin team have now given those people their answer. I think this Dublin team will make wonderful ambassadors for the game.

Can't fault anything there. Tis hard to dislike how they go about their business.
They do need to do back to back to set themselves apart from other great teams. They won't be far off that next september

Superglue (Kerry) - Posts: 1283 - 25/09/2015 16:12:19    1792444

Course they are worthy winners. Alan Brogan was a great young player who like all great players got better as he matured. As did his brother and the bold Dermo. Not really sure why folk would say money had anything to do with the efforts and time those type of guys put into to becoming great players of the game. Cluxton is famous for staying back in training to practice his kicks. This fine group of player earned their success.

poguemahone (Dublin) - Posts: 365 - 25/09/2015 20:31:46    1792506

25/09/2015 13:19:33
fainleog

Dublin are indeed worthy winners of Sam. Dublin had been been favourites all year and it proved to be fully justified. Dublin have now won three All-Irelands in five years and three National Leagues in a row. After this great win, this Dublin team will now go down in the history books as a great team. A team that plays attractive, exciting football and have enriched Gaelic Football. To those that said they were bottlers and a League team, this Dublin team have now given those people their answer. I think this Dublin team will make wonderful ambassadors for the game.
Fair play to you fainleog,
Your comments are refreshing as all too often its easier to pick up on the begrudgers and negativity that is all too prevellant on this forum.OK,we ain't perfect but some people cant help themselves when it comes to showing their dislike.

Dubh_linn (Dublin) - Posts: 2312 - 25/09/2015 20:40:40    1792508

They are very worthy winners. Lets stop the sucking up now, wouldnt want them to be getting a big head or anything, besides, it is a full week after the all ireland now and thoughts are about 2016 already

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 27/09/2015 13:10:27    1792702

Tir Conaill Abu

Haven't had the opportunity since last Sunday to post until now but congrats to Dublin on winning the AI. I felt they were the best team I've seen this year, just marginally better than Mayo but are miles ahead of everyone else and playing good football in the process. The conditions were awful on Sunday and IMO on a better day they would have really put an average enough Kerry team to the sword. Enjoy the celebrations lads and lassies!!

Seriously appreciate , if memory serve me correct most congrats coming from Donegal , at least the most genuine anyway , Joncarter total respect also from Galway consistent in posts .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 27/09/2015 15:39:56    1792735

The money thing is tiring lads.. Dublin current success is due to the change in underage structures in the county 20 years ago.. there has also been sone grumblings in the county over the last 10 years due to the amount of money the hurling side has got..

The likes of dave billings and andy kettle done some unbelievable work in changing the structures of GAA in Dublin.

All the big counties spend big.. kerry and mayo are able to raise huge money stateside and along with tyrone raise a lot of money here in Ireland..

All the money in the world won't buy success without talent and hard work.

AthCliath87 (Dublin) - Posts: 345 - 28/09/2015 08:24:37    1792867

Stupid Trend.....If you win Sam of course you are worth winners. These guys put themselves through torture to walk up the steps of the Hoganstand come September.

rebeltrev (Cork) - Posts: 344 - 28/09/2015 09:36:13    1792899